Sligo GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "There won't be much in it. We will give a good account of ourselves. I'm not expecting many people to travel. The Hyde has to be one of the worst venues in Ireland. Will people be happy to spend fantastic summer weather in a traffic jam in Tulsk. Then head on and hope to find a parking spot reasonably close to the pitch. Markievicz Park isn't great but at least you have good infrastructure leading to Carrowroe."
The Hyde is one of the most accessible GAA grounds in the country for me. Plenty of different access roads, can park well out the Athlone Road or back the town side. Good access for trains and buses, though I know ye won't travel by train. Definitely the most accessible of the 5 Connacht venues.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 01/06/2023 20:59:41    2483465

"The Hyde has to be one of the worst venues in Ireland" is utter nonsense but if that's your attempt to grab some attention eoinog then go ahead and knock yourself out.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 01/06/2023 22:23:29    2483471

Replying To ShellyGael:  "Was that when Conor Cox dived as per usual, and had us down to 14 early on. It would have been much closer only for that. Ros are the Rory McIlroy of GAA, bottlers of the highest calibre. Clare last year and it'll be someone else this year, and I can't wait for that. Up Sligo"
Id we are Rory McIlroy what are Sligo, Paul Dunne or Colm Moriarty?

Anyway was a strike last year its a red all day, One of Sligos other defenders was lucky to not have seen red just before hopefully Sligos discipline has improved but doubt it with the manager ye have. He can always write ye a character reference

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 02/06/2023 10:01:29    2483508

I don't know what's with all the bad blood here. Whoever wins wins. If Sligo put in a performance and are competitive I will be happy.

Anyways I feel as if the forum needs some predictions this year to keep it more active week to week as it usually dies off during the leagues.
Division 1
Shamrock Gaels v Molaise - Molaise
Farnans v Bunninaden- Bunninaden
Curry v Mary's - Mary's
Tubbercurry v Tourlestrane- Tourlestrane
Calry v Coolera - Coolera

Some of these games are hard to predict. You can't imagine calry being too strong but after Coolera losing so heavily to Curry you'd expect a response from them even without their county players. Tourlestrane I don't think will lose especially as Tubber struggled against Mary's it seems. Mary's I think will edge Curry although after last weeks results I'm unsure. I can't see Molaise losing until the county lads are back to every club. Farnans and Bunninaden will both need the points and going by last weeks results I think Bunninaden will win.

Div 2
Harps v C/M - C/M
Geevagh v Castleconnor- Geevagh
DRP v St Pats - DRP
Michael's v Ballymote - Michael's
Easkey v Owenmore Gaels

Can't see Easkey, DRP or C/M losing. Michael's should beat ballymote I would expect. Geevagh v Castleconnor is a big game for taking the 2 points home. Think Geevagh will win.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 02/06/2023 10:55:42    2483531

Replying To eoinog:  "Ah the cuckoo is back. Loves to go on other county sites to antagonize and spew his ****. Speaking of rolling over I think the Rossies U.20 did that to perfection in the Hyde a few weeks ago. That fancied team who had won Connacht at minor level whipped on a sunny evening. Back to back losses or home and away whichever way you wish"
Come out and support your seniors there the flagship team.
Your u20s were a fine team there day is over your seniors need u.
Make the effort.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 02/06/2023 11:52:54    2483551

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I don't know what's with all the bad blood here. Whoever wins wins. If Sligo put in a performance and are competitive I will be happy.

Anyways I feel as if the forum needs some predictions this year to keep it more active week to week as it usually dies off during the leagues.
Division 1
Curry v Mary's - Mary's

Some of these games are hard to predict. You can't imagine calry being too strong but after Coolera losing so heavily to Curry you'd expect a response from them even without their county players. Tourlestrane I don't think will lose especially as Tubber struggled against Mary's it seems. Mary's I think will edge Curry although after last weeks results I'm unsure. I can't see Molaise losing until the county lads are back to every club. Farnans and Bunninaden will both need the points and going by last weeks results I think Bunninaden will win.

Div 2
Harps v C/M - C/M
DRP v St Pats - DRP
Easkey v Owenmore Gaels

Can't see Easkey, DRP or C/M losing. Michael's should beat ballymote I would expect. Geevagh v Castleconnor is a big game for taking the 2 points home. Think Geevagh will win."
I seem to have been the catalyst that ruffled the Rossies feathers. I made an innocent remark that I wasn't expecting a big crowd as it's a watery championship game and coming from Sligo it's a very difficult route and wow did I prod a hornets nest. There wasn't many in croker and it was a double header. So we will leave all that and discuss the league games.
I would guess a draw match between Molaise and Shamrock Gaels. Tourlestrane will beat Tubber and the bunnies should take Farnans who surely can't be as poor as they were last week. Mary's should beat Curry and finally Coolera to beat Calry.
I'm going to go for Harps to beat Coolaney.
They won the East division league, then the Benson Cup and beat Ballymote last week. Michaels will beat Ballymote , Geevagh will take Castleconnor , Drumcliffe to beat Pats . Drumcliffe have a very good young team, made a huge blunder in their development by not playing the U.19 competition last year. Mulligan is a huge loss to Pats but they are a big physical team and won't be beaten easily . Finally Easley will beat Owenmore Gaels.
Some clubs badly affected by missing Co players and I will say that a lot of them will probably take a break for a week or so when Sligo exit the Championship to get refreshed for the club Championship

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 02/06/2023 12:56:31    2483568

Roscommon lads, calm down, it was one post and it wouldn't be shared by most Sligo fans. Hyde is probably the venue in Connacht I have been to most and would have a lot of time for Town, the ground and people of Roscommon. We have plenty of great memories from there. Easy to get to, for the North Sligo folk as we always take the Roosky Lanesborough route and avoid all the traffic. Last years game was a bit strange given we were down to 14 men so early and I don't think that will have any bearing this year. Roscommon have improved since then imo and were very impressive against Dublin. For our team its all about being competitive and learning the lessons as we continue to develop.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1635 - 02/06/2023 16:31:43    2483620

Bunnies got their arses handed to them will be in a battle to stay up with rubber and calry. Molaise going well but missing very few, at 25/1 at the time of championship draw were great odds but long gone now I'm sure. In Div 2 it's hard to see past DRP and Easkey going up, with owenmore Gaels and Michaels most likely to give down.

sligosham (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 03/06/2023 00:58:04    2483646

Replying To eoinog:  "I seem to have been the catalyst that ruffled the Rossies feathers. I made an innocent remark that I wasn't expecting a big crowd as it's a watery championship game and coming from Sligo it's a very difficult route and wow did I prod a hornets nest. There wasn't many in croker and it was a double header. So we will leave all that and discuss the league games.
I would guess a draw match between Molaise and Shamrock Gaels. Tourlestrane will beat Tubber and the bunnies should take Farnans who surely can't be as poor as they were last week. Mary's should beat Curry and finally Coolera to beat Calry.
I'm going to go for Harps to beat Coolaney.
They won the East division league, then the Benson Cup and beat Ballymote last week. Michaels will beat Ballymote , Geevagh will take Castleconnor , Drumcliffe to beat Pats . Drumcliffe have a very good young team, made a huge blunder in their development by not playing the U.19 competition last year. Mulligan is a huge loss to Pats but they are a big physical team and won't be beaten easily . Finally Easley will beat Owenmore Gaels.
Some clubs badly affected by missing Co players and I will say that a lot of them will probably take a break for a week or so when Sligo exit the Championship to get refreshed for the club Championship"
When sligo exit the championship…sure it'll be nearly August then!!!

Bunnies were well beaten but they had a bereavement by looks of Facebook so fair enough. Shamrock Gaels beating was the one that stood out for me. Perhaps Molaise are the big dogs of the league and will put it up to the perceived top teams. As I said this 3 point carry on from round 5 or 6 I forget will make a muck of the thing. At the moment Calry are as good as gone and Tubber look it but one win and they leap over a lot.

In Div2 no real surprises bar the draw in Keash.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 03/06/2023 07:50:12    2483649

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I don't know what's with all the bad blood here. Whoever wins wins. If Sligo put in a performance and are competitive I will be happy.

Division 1
Curry v Mary's - Mary's

Div 2
Harps v C/M - C/M
DRP v St Pats - DRP
Easkey v Owenmore Gaels

Can't see Easkey, DRP or C/M losing. Michael's should beat ballymote I would expect. Geevagh v Castleconnor is a big game for taking the 2 points home. Think Geevagh will win."
I think you got 7 out of the 10 fixtures correct beating my score of 6. Didn't see Molaise giving that drubbing to Shamrock Gaels. Gaels have a wedding today, not sure if that impacted the team or not. Molaise are still waiting on the return of Towey and Keaney so they will be happy. No idea how Farnans managed to get a score like that after hardly getting any score the week previous.As was pointed out by another poster a funeral may have impacted team selection there. I still think the Bunnies will get enough points to stay up but they have no one involved in the Co set up so they need to keep the foot on the gas before teams are back to full strength. Other Div 1 games went as expected. I had predicted a win for Harps as I don't think Coolaney will be in the running for promotion . They drew in Keash. They are missing a lot of bodies. Harps would be at full strength and will probably finish in the upper half of the table.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 03/06/2023 10:03:10    2483656

Add in the current heatwave, a lot like myself will be heading away with the family for long weekend, it's just not a good weekend and although we can dream of a positive result, it's just not likely with Roscommon forwards against our watery defence. I wonder how much of an influence McGowan has had on Roscommon as his reputation continues to grow

Wouldn't pay much notice to any of the early club league results as teams are down numbers one week to the next. Again by bringing in the new format, they have taken away the importance of early rounds and it is showing

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 441 - 04/06/2023 08:50:18    2483865

Disappointed with the performance today. Thought we would be much closer to them at the end of 70 mins. If Kildare lose by less to Roscommon than we lose to Dublin then Kildare will limp into the next round and I am happy to exit the Championship. Some players limitations have been exposed in the last 3 games, playing in the Tailteann Cup might not have shown this up. . Next game could be tough as Dublin will try to shoot the lights out in order to top the group.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 04/06/2023 19:50:57    2484010

Replying To eoinog:  "Disappointed with the performance today. Thought we would be much closer to them at the end of 70 mins. If Kildare lose by less to Roscommon than we lose to Dublin then Kildare will limp into the next round and I am happy to exit the Championship. Some players limitations have been exposed in the last 3 games, playing in the Tailteann Cup might not have shown this up. . Next game could be tough as Dublin will try to shoot the lights out in order to top the group."
We have improved. Playing in this tier was never going to be easy.
We were still in the game up until the Roscommon goal. It took the life out of us. We switched off and let them run straight through our D. 10 wides in the first half not good enough. Our own errors cost us. It was deflating when we weren't doing bad but then gifting them scores drained the energy from the crowd and players. Gave them atleast 1-4 from them.
You're right some players limitations have been found.
Defensively we played good at times, towards the end we switched off, ran out of steam and dropped the heads. There is positives to take from it though.
We struggled in the middle 1/3.
The kickout press didn't work.
In attack we didn't make enough of our chances. Too many wides. Too lateral at times. I get Roscommon had bodies back but we need runs to cut through their line not just one run and that being our only option. They did it to us. All the big teams are so good at these things. They weren't built over night. We have come on loads from last year. No doubt we will come on again next year. You can't change everything in the space of a year.
It's all a learning process as McEntee says.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 04/06/2023 22:49:10    2484077

With 20 minutes to go, we were within two points of Ros but unfortunately they finished stronger. Ros forwards were just too good and quality too plentiful in the end. We're in serious need of a midfielder or two to compete at this level, which we may not have to compete at again for some time. A centre back to hold the fort and to build the defence around is also desirable. I can't think of anyone though in the Adrian McIntryre mould coming through?
When we ran at them though, we opened them up every time. Our unforced errors / sloppy handling killed us again and resulted in many of their scores. It's a pity that Spillane and Walsh didn't start as they both eased through the Ros defence in the second half. As I said here last week, they'll bottle it sooner rather than later. They have the dark arts mastered too. Throwing away our keepers kicking tee off the ball whenever they could, ongoing diving whenever possible. Their forwards go to ground with the slightest contact but they do it really well. Davy Burke has enough motivation though to put a number up on Kildare so we could get lucky and hope Con and Kilkenny are missing for the Dubs. But the reward would be away to the likes of Kerry or Tyrone. I'd probably rather we just sailed off into the club scene gracefully at this stage.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 05/06/2023 08:02:11    2484109

Replying To eoinog:  "Disappointed with the performance today. Thought we would be much closer to them at the end of 70 mins. If Kildare lose by less to Roscommon than we lose to Dublin then Kildare will limp into the next round and I am happy to exit the Championship. Some players limitations have been exposed in the last 3 games, playing in the Tailteann Cup might not have shown this up. . Next game could be tough as Dublin will try to shoot the lights out in order to top the group."
Disappointed but not surprised. Currently there's a big gap in class,but player limitations in some areas has been glaringly obvious for quite awhile. Protecting the D is a basic whether it's D1 or D4 and we are unable to offer any resistance there other than flooding it with numbers.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 05/06/2023 08:50:51    2484116

Replying To Sligonian:  "Shane Curran tweeted after the groups were confirmed that Roscommon would be coming off a beating from Dublin but its all good because then they have a "home banker" against Sligo. There is only one answer to that. Hopefully we have a lot more support on Sunday than we had against Kildare. Sligeach abu."
Fair play to Shane he called it from day one. A banker. Played our worst game since Clare last year and won by 10 points pulling up.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 05/06/2023 09:04:59    2484120

I agree, I dont want to go naming names but yesterday showed up our quality for where we are at. Hopefully we can keep the scoreline down against Dublin and exit the championship with dignity. We showed some really good signs yesterday but when the Rossies wanted they just upped the gears and drove through us. Its a good learning curve but the sooner we can introduce some of the under 20s the better. The Rossies are a good side to be fair but I think if we keep developing we can be at their level in 2/3 years. Its not a monster gap and giving div 3 a good shot will also bring us on. One other thing, is it just me or do the media tend to be very negative on Sligo? Like give us some credit, we had a right cut at the game yesterday. We could've been ultra defensive like Louth but we didnt, we went toe to toe. 10pts was not a true reflection but I'd rather lose by 10 with our boots on as oppose to lose by 1 in a terrible spectacle

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 05/06/2023 14:59:23    2484167

Replying To ShellyGael:  "With 20 minutes to go, we were within two points of Ros but unfortunately they finished stronger. Ros forwards were just too good and quality too plentiful in the end. We're in serious need of a midfielder or two to compete at this level, which we may not have to compete at again for some time. A centre back to hold the fort and to build the defence around is also desirable. I can't think of anyone though in the Adrian McIntryre mould coming through?
When we ran at them though, we opened them up every time. Our unforced errors / sloppy handling killed us again and resulted in many of their scores. It's a pity that Spillane and Walsh didn't start as they both eased through the Ros defence in the second half. As I said here last week, they'll bottle it sooner rather than later. They have the dark arts mastered too. Throwing away our keepers kicking tee off the ball whenever they could, ongoing diving whenever possible. Their forwards go to ground with the slightest contact but they do it really well. Davy Burke has enough motivation though to put a number up on Kildare so we could get lucky and hope Con and Kilkenny are missing for the Dubs. But the reward would be away to the likes of Kerry or Tyrone. I'd probably rather we just sailed off into the club scene gracefully at this stage."
I don't think we are bad in midfield, we dominated the division 4 in midfield, probably will be strong next year too in the 3rd division. And we put it up to Roscommons midfield also. We just have no depth to change up our options if we need to change our style of play, kickout strategy or if it's just not clicking for someone on the day. We can change any other line of the pitch because we have depth. I Think we protected our D relatively well until their goal and after that all shape was lost as we had to push out on them and chase the game. We got our matchup on Smith wrong. He was the difference. Cox in my opinion has been strong at 6, Cummins can play their also, Lavin too. That's not to mention some lads in the club scene who could come in next year. I don't think it was the centre backs fault at all yesterday when they cut through us for the goal. And the others times they cut through us it was from the sideline in. How can one man stop 3/4 lads running at him. We simply didnt track runners from our own half forward line and midfield. Maybe it was the heat, step up in intensity, I don't know. It's always easy to point the finger at one man but when you've 4 lads infront of him not doing their job it's always going to happen. We can't afford to switch off for 10 seconds the way we did.
Look at Conor Loftus with Mayo. His first year playing at centre half back and hes doing just fine because Ruane and Oconnor in midfield are able to track back and make turnovers as well as their half forward line. Conan Marren?, Cathal Henry?, Kevin Banks?, Adrian Frain? Joe Keaney?, Canice Mulligan?, Gavin Gorman?, David Barrett? . Any more ?? I'm also not giving out about our current midfield because for the league we were excellent and against Kildare thought they played good too. But we don't have any depth in that position. If one lad isn't have a good game we've no option to change it up. I remember Marren against Roscommon last year and he had a great game. Then didn't hardly get a run in the tailteann. I know some of them lads have been tried before but clearly not given enough of a chance considering they dominate the club scene. They are all lads that spring to mind off the top of my head.
We aren't smart enough also I agree with that. Not communicating under high balls, 2/3 lads waiting for the other to pick up the ball, bringing the ball into 2/3 men, not getting out of our 21 and D fast enough for kick outs, not slowing the game down when we have to, not injecting pace when we need to. Those are the fine margins that set the teams apart.
Look I think there's plenty to be happy with, we got promoted, we improved greatly, we will learn from this competition, a competitive club scene, player recruitment, a plan in place for next year and a clear vision of getting to division 2. I don't think we are far away from division two. If we fix our own errors and learn more game smarts we will be there or thereabouts. Hopefully some of the u20s from this year and last year are really worked on over the next few months to get them ready for senior. Over the next 2 years you'd expect a lot of the past and current u20 lads to be getting into the senior squad especially as there is 11 underage next year from this years 15. Some lads currently training with them from this years team and then you've got the lads who were training this year but didn't get much game time. After the championship you'd expect there will be places up for grabs as coaches I'd say now have doubts over a few lads. I agree with McEntee not playing them if they're not performing in training but also think lads should be given a shot now that some lads have "found their limitations".
Sligeach Abú!!!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 05/06/2023 17:41:10    2484202

Replying To Sligonian:  "Roscommon lads, calm down, it was one post and it wouldn't be shared by most Sligo fans. Hyde is probably the venue in Connacht I have been to most and would have a lot of time for Town, the ground and people of Roscommon. We have plenty of great memories from there. Easy to get to, for the North Sligo folk as we always take the Roosky Lanesborough route and avoid all the traffic. Last years game was a bit strange given we were down to 14 men so early and I don't think that will have any bearing this year. Roscommon have improved since then imo and were very impressive against Dublin. For our team its all about being competitive and learning the lessons as we continue to develop."
Thanks for those positive comments Sligonian. Roscommon supporters totally accept that the poster involved does not represent genuine Sligo Gaa people. He is obviously a very sad individual with his own problems and a very negative and aggressive mindset. The best thing Roscommon supporters could do is to totally ignore him.
Fair play to the Sligo supporters who travelled to the Hyde yesterday. With your good under 20 teams over the last couple of years the future looks bright for Sligo football. Playing Galway, Dublin, Roscommon and Kildare should provide a lot of learning both for the management team and the players. Louth got hammered by the Dubs, learned from the experience and really put it up to Mayo on Sunday. No reason why Sligo can't do the same in a couple of years.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 492 - 05/06/2023 18:25:03    2484207

Carrabine was man marked yesterday by a up and coming star from ros and genuinely the 2 were excellent.
It was worth the admission alone to watch the pair on and off the ball.
Sligo were decent yesterday, substitutes were the decider on the margin of victory
The future for both counties is hopefully bright.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/06/2023 22:10:12    2484236