Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Backheel:  "That's great news will we leave you to "the easy fix " of a poor quality in our club game?
Give me the first three things that you would do, that would sort out the standard of club football in the Leitrim. Looking forward to the answers.Fair play to you a great future awaits."
The "great players" mentioned in a previous post are mediocre at best, yes they are absolutely great in the Leitrim club scene. But very poor once they operate outside of the county boundaries . The quality of player available to the senior inter county manager is extremely poor. They look great in our club leagues and championships but are extremely limited in reality. The club scene is where the changes need to happen - not the county manager. That is my honest and steadfast opinion.

You asked for three changes to make the club scene better:

1. Have senior, intermediate and junior championships all first teams from clubs only, no second teams allowed- let them compete in junior B and C.

2. Reduce number of teams in each championship to 8 in senior, 8 in intermediate and 7 in junior for our 23 clubs.

3. Three divisional sides of Leitrim North, south, east and west to play in senior champ. Each made up of the best players from whatever current intermediate and junior clubs in their division to play in senior championship. Bulking up senior champ to 8 club teams and 4 divisional teams, so a 12 team senior champ. Giving every player in Leitrim the chance to win a senior club championship and the experience of playing senior championship club football.

There you go:

That's just for a start. There is three changes to make. Give that structure 4-5 years and then the quality of players becoming available to the inter county set up would be smarter, better, faster and stronger. And the guys coming in 10-15 years time would be top class.

Will it happen?? Well for it to happen the clubs have to vote for it and pass it. As a previous poster said - turkeys don't vote for Christmas. Clubs are so self involved and most have dinosaurs voting for them. Dinosaurs are extinct - we still have them captaining our ships.

"Bring it forward to your clubs" - they say! "Get involved" they say. I have! It's never brought forward! It needs to happen - it won't happen!

And we'll go round and round and round again and again and fail over and over and over again and again, and remain in division 4 and then change manager over and over again and say we have great club players but the manager isn't getting the best out of them….. etc… etc… etc….

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 643 - 04/06/2023 22:01:32    2484061

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "The "great players" mentioned in a previous post are mediocre at best, yes they are absolutely great in the Leitrim club scene. But very poor once they operate outside of the county boundaries . The quality of player available to the senior inter county manager is extremely poor. They look great in our club leagues and championships but are extremely limited in reality. The club scene is where the changes need to happen - not the county manager. That is my honest and steadfast opinion.

1. Have senior, intermediate and junior championships all first teams from clubs only, no second teams allowed- let them compete in junior B and C.

2. Reduce number of teams in each championship to 8 in senior, 8 in intermediate and 7 in junior for our 23 clubs.

3. Three divisional sides of Leitrim North, south, east and west to play in senior champ. Each made up of the best players from whatever current intermediate and junior clubs in their division to play in senior championship. Bulking up senior champ to 8 club teams and 4 divisional teams, so a 12 team senior champ. Giving every player in Leitrim the chance to win a senior club championship and the experience of playing senior championship club football.

There you go:

That's just for a start. There is three changes to make. Give that structure 4-5 years and then the quality of players becoming available to the inter county set up would be smarter, better, faster and stronger. And the guys coming in 10-15 years time would be top class.

Will it happen?? Well for it to happen the clubs have to vote for it and pass it. As a previous poster said - turkeys don't vote for Christmas. Clubs are so self involved and most have dinosaurs voting for them. Dinosaurs are extinct - we still have them captaining our ships.

"Bring it forward to your clubs" - they say! "Get involved" they say. I have! It's never brought forward! It needs to happen - it won't happen!

And we'll go round and round and round again and again and fail over and over and over again and again, and remain in division 4 and then change manager over and over again and say we have great club players but the manager isn't getting the best out of them….. etc… etc… etc…."
The players I mentioned in my post are well able to operate at division 3 standard under the right management. They more than capable of holding their own, I think "mediocre at best" is an unfair comment.

Your suggestion of divisional teams is certainly worth a look at. And I also agree turkeys won't vote for Christmas so we need strong leadership at county board level to see real change.

We don't need to reinvent the wheel, we need to see what is working in other counties and copy it.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 04/06/2023 22:23:47    2484071

Just watched the few minutes shown on Sunday game Jesus lads players jogging round the pitch - co board paying alot of money to have Andy there does t look like money we'll spent. - no love lost between Roscommon n Leitrim but sad to see ye bottom of table n a group with Antrim and Wexford to be honest

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 616 - 04/06/2023 22:29:59    2484073

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Great Post. We are not serious about our football in Leitrim, we are too quick to make excuses, I could list our lads that are good quality footballers, Darragh Rooney, Pierce Dolan, Keith Beirne, Donal Casey, Ryan O'rourke, Paddy Maguire, Jack Heslin, Mark Plunkett, Cillian McGloin, Jordan Reynolds, Barry McNulty off the top of my head.... We have plenty of talent if it's used correctly and fit. Andy needs help in an experienced head coach if he is staying but I've seen nothing from the last two years to suggest he should stay. The club game needs to be fixed that should be an easy fix."
Out of all the players you've named there there's about 3 of them good quality players and 2 of them moved from Leitrim to play club football. The rest you could take and leave them tbh. Darragh Rooney was out best player today and was Judes best player in the DSFC last year. Most of who you named there wouldn't even make a club team in Dublin. Its time the county board stopped wasting money on the senior team that boat has well and truly sank. Look st Louth Sligo and Derry today teams we could compete with only a few years ago. We need to go back to the underage with all our money and coach them properly and proper s and c. But senior team don't deserve massive money anymore they ran out of legs in every game we've played this year we need all the money wasted on the senior team to be put into the underage, get back competitive and reep the rewards, a few more years like this one is ahead of us anyways so aswell spend the money away from the seniors. Set up a proper team of coaches and go sit down with Limerick Hurlers or Pat Gilroy on how to develop proper standards.
Rant over #mayoforsam

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 12 - 05/06/2023 00:10:03    2484088

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "Although an outsider, I watched your last few years of results with interest. Andy Moran appears to be well willing but struggling to get yous moving forward. Perhaps it is your club scene but I wonder were you hasty in moving on from Terry Hyland. In my own county, most would agree that he managed to bring us from a very low base to a stable position where we were a match for anyone in Ulster. Towards the end, he was even beginning to develop a more attacking game. Maybe Moran needs more time also. However, Hyland was, until the train wreck that was covid, moving you in the right direction. Don't give up, though. Success isn't an easy thing to achieve in sport."
I was the first person on this forum many years ago to mention Terry Hyland as a suitable candidate for Leitrim. Unfortunately his tenor was blighted by Covid but I firmly believe he would kept Leitrim in Division 3... in the bottom half but he would have done it. Terry realised our limitations, got the best out of the panel he had at the time and tactically set the team up accordingly, which admittedly was negative enough. One game on the road I'll always remember was the 1 point win down in Limerick... a massive win for what would have been a bogie team for Leitrim in the past. As for Andy... I'll always remember a comment he passed after Galway bet us by 20 odd points... it was something along the lines of... ah shur we went toe to toe with Galway for 20 minutes... and that he openly admitted that he probably shouldn't have set the team up like that as we didn't have the players to do it. Crazy stuff. Andy doesn't need more time... he needs to go.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 05/06/2023 00:32:12    2484091

Replying To Backheel:  "That's great news will we leave you to "the easy fix " of a poor quality in our club game?
Give me the first three things that you would do, that would sort out the standard of club football in the Leitrim. Looking forward to the answers.Fair play to you a great future awaits."
Another easy fix for you Backheel that the county board could subsidise clubs for players to get individual strength and conditioning programmes, there are plenty of young people getting qualifications in S & C and they would be glad of the experience. You have Cathal Cregg in Connacht that would pass on his expertise. This would not break the bank.

Underage coaches brought into to more coaching seminars. These are very popular all over the country. Davy Burke done one in Drumlish, Mick Bohan, Stephen Poacher, Colm Nally these guys do this all the time. I haven't seen this done in leitrim in the last few years.

Andy is free for the summer now he could run a few coaching clinics for underage coaches in the county.

Players in the clubs in county need benchmarks the need to know what the standards is for your runs at different distances, the benchmark for your bench press etc, this is information that can be easily obtained and worked towards.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 05/06/2023 08:21:37    2484111

Leitrim might as well leave Andy there. Any project of this nature, needs a 3 year timespan to fully evaluate. if progress a la promotion from Div. 4 and decent showing in the Tailteann Cup (Forget Connacht SFC) is not achieved in 2024, then Andy and his backroom team should be thanked for their services and moved on.

In terms of improving the club scene, i agree that 8 Senior, 8 Intermediate and 7 Junior Clubs should be the structure. I believe that a few Divisional teams should be entered for Senior Championship also. Eslin, Annaduff, Bornacoola and Gortletteragh = South Leitrim, Aughavas, Carrigallen, Cloone, Drumreilly = Leitrim East . Kiltubrid, Allen Gaels and Ballinaglera -Mid Leitrim - Drumkeerin, Dromahaire and Glenfarne = North Leitrim.

As teams got promoted and relegated up and down from Intermediate to Senior and vice versa, , these parish combinations would be tweaked slightly from year to year. That way, stronger players' from a weaker club would get some exposure to a higher level of football. Those of us long enough in the tooth remember back in 1974 when Sheemore Gaels, a combination of St. Mary's, Kiltubrid and Fenagh won the Leitrim Senior Championship, so there is a precedent for this.

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 05/06/2023 12:18:27    2484151

Best for both that Andy Moran departs now, high profile former Inter county player with little management experienced was gamble that hasn't paid off matter of fact Leitrim have regressed since he's arrived. Andy will need to return to club management now and build up his CV before dipping his toes in inter county management again.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3336 - 05/06/2023 15:11:04    2484170

The team have really felt the hit of injuries this year having missed some big names all year has made us stoop to playing the likes of Tom prior and jack heslin in forwards who I sometimes think are trying not to score

spudlow123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 06/06/2023 12:23:34    2484366

With Attendances fairly low in the SAM and very poor in the Tailteann round robin stages, perhaps a different format is required for the latter. How about a Saturday and Sunday weekend kind of Blitz in Croke Park where teams could play each other to get to the quarter final stage?

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 06/06/2023 15:18:09    2484448

Replying To spudlow123:  "The team have really felt the hit of injuries this year having missed some big names all year has made us stoop to playing the likes of Tom prior and jack heslin in forwards who I sometimes think are trying not to score"
I think this type of post is typical of someone who won't know a football from a cricket ball! Shame on you for posting such rubbish and criticising individuals who have given it all for their county. You have no idea the sacrifices and hardship the whole 35+ of the panel have given since last November when you were scratching yourself in front of the fire
And no, I have no allegiance to the clubs of either players or the county board or Andy Moran for that matter

Forgodssakeref (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 06/06/2023 15:50:11    2484467

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Best for both that Andy Moran departs now, high profile former Inter county player with little management experienced was gamble that hasn't paid off matter of fact Leitrim have regressed since he's arrived. Andy will need to return to club management now and build up his CV before dipping his toes in inter county management again."
I can never understand CBs who appoint managers like this based on their playing career. Very rarely ever works out.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 06/06/2023 18:41:57    2484536

Replying To Forgodssakeref:  "I think this type of post is typical of someone who won't know a football from a cricket ball! Shame on you for posting such rubbish and criticising individuals who have given it all for their county. You have no idea the sacrifices and hardship the whole 35+ of the panel have given since last November when you were scratching yourself in front of the fire
And no, I have no allegiance to the clubs of either players or the county board or Andy Moran for that matter"
Jack Heslin and Tom Prior are two good footballers, youd be hoping to build your team around guys like them.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 06/06/2023 22:56:00    2484590

With the real club action starting now that the county players have returned I've ran through all the big teams in the Senior Ranks.
Worrying that Manor are the only North Leitrim club anywhere near this.

Can't see anyone else bar St Mary's winning everything in their path if they can get it going again.

St Mary's:

Manager: Alan Flynn

Everything is in place for Mary's to dominate Leitrim football for the next few years. Their underage is eating every other club alive at all ages. It's so impressive yet has to be worrying for the overall health of the game in Leitrim and will also be a challenge for St Mary's to retain so many of these players they have coming through.
On this year they should win the championship. They have the best coach by a distance and have the best overall squad if not any standout individual players just yet/ Paul Keaney may become that but he has a lot to prove as his lacklustre performances with the county have shown. In Ben Guckian, Adam Reynolds, and Jack Casey they have three potential inter-county players for 10 years. The game changer for them I feel is Killian Gaffey in goals - I think it'll be shown how wrong Andy Moran was for not using him in the Tailteann cup. Likes of Conor/Daire Farrell, Kelleher and O'Connell are brilliant club players then that would be main men on most other senior teams.
St Mary's are red hot favourites but Keaney, Diffley Reynolds etc. are heading to the USA for the summer so that may take an edge off them when they return. Other than that not having a scoring forward is their main concern.

Fenagh:

Manager: Joe & Tommy McCormack

The Spurs of Leitrim football. All the talent in the world but fail to perform when it matter and then put all the blame on the coach when they get knocked out.
They have had a poor start under the McCormacks but have been missing a huge amount of players. Ryan O'Rorurke who in my eyes is the best player by a distance in the county is back training and if they can keep him fit they should be a match for any team. Along with Oisin McLoughlin and Riordan O'Rourke they have as much potential in the forwards as any club team anywhere.
Out from Conor Dwyer (who is injured) they suspicion is that they don't have enough quality in defence to win a championship. Jack Gilheaney has been moved between 6/8 so it'll be interesting to see where he is positioned. No doubt they have the talent to win it though.

Ballinamore:

Manager: Ray Logan

Struggled to find a manager which is never a good sign - Talk is that Mickey Graham is in the background 'helping out'.

In Shane Moran, Dean McGovern, Tom Prior, Dillon Beirne, Paul Moran, Wayne McKeown and Michael McKiernan they have a lot of talent but they are very inconsistent and have suffered a lot through emigration - losing the likes of Oisin McCaffery and Niall McGovern. I'm not sure if they have enough depth to win a championship but if they get on a role and build momentum they could shock a few teams. They will be very strong down the middle and are capable on their day but I'm not sure if there is a championship in them.

Glencar-Manor:

Manager: Glen Young

Manor have gone back to the future by appointing Glen Young who led them to numerous county championships previously.
All doesn't seem well however as they've had to recall the old guard in James Glancy and Gerry Hickey etc. for their first league game and then conceded their second game against Ballinamore due to a stag doo. They should have more than enough players that they don't have to be playing men in their 40s or conceding games so something is not right.
In saying that I think they could be dark horses for the championship.
Barry McNulty, Evan Sweeney, James Rooney and Paddy Maguire will give them a chance in every game and then they have experienced players around them to help them over the line. Be interesting to see how they fair out now that the league is really starting with the county players returning.

Aughawillan

Manager: Cathal Murphy

Arguably the most interesting team who have a chance of winning a championship. Some would say they have underachieved in the last few years and others argue that they are just past it. That group of players have 3 championships, and the argument is that they havent freshened it up enough or don't have the playing numbers to do so. They are probably the team left with the most County level experience with the three Plunketts, Pearce Dolan, Barry Prior, Fergal McTague and Ciaran Gilheany. Do they still have it in the legs or the hunger to compete is the question? They should be dominate in the middle of the park with Dolan and Mark Plunkett and the scores of Gilheany and Gary Plunkett will give them a chance but do they have the depth or anyone else to step up. St Marys have hammered them the last few years so they will need to pull something out of the bag or do something different. Anything is possible with them however.

Mohill:

Manager: Eamon O'Hara

In what could have been an era of dominance for Mohill has turned a small bit sour. Many clubs would bite your hand off for what they have achieved in the last few years but they have also came up short on the big day more than any other team.
They've lost Oisin Madden through emigration and Jordan Reynolds to injury for the year so can Shane Quinn and Keith Beirne keep them going? I have my doubts. No doubt they'll have talented youngsters coming through but I feel we are going to see a major drop off from them this year unless Beirne can do something incredible. However, he has looked burtn out in the last 3/4months. There was also a lot of criticism from within Mohill about O'Haras abilities last year so that will be interesting to see how it plays out.

Leitrim Gaels:

Manager: Paul Prior

Probably the team punching above their weight the most. They have lost Brendan Flynn who is now playing in goals for St.Judes. Talk is that David Bruen will be returning for championship which is huge for them as he is their main man.
Out from Bruen it is hard to see who is going to bring them to that next level that's necessary to win a championship. Their power and height around the middle wins them a lot of games early in the year but they get found out during the height of the summer. In Goldrick and Moreton they have two decent forwards but I can't see them challenging for honours.

Aughnasheelin:

Manager: Terence Reynolds

Probably the team who most will see as the weakest in the senior ranks after getting promoted last year. But to be where they are after rumours a few years ago they could fold is impressive.
Conor Cullen is a huge loss for them and hopefully they have him back next year.
In Ciaran Cullen they arguably have the best young talent in the county - and most likely the fastest along with Jack Heslin.
Aaron Hoare should give them a good platform in the middle third and Fitzpatrick is a decent free taker but out from that I think they will struggle. Lots of good young players but they won't see the benefit for that for a few years if they can keep them together.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 08/06/2023 13:02:23    2484919

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "With the real club action starting now that the county players have returned I've ran through all the big teams in the Senior Ranks.

Can't see anyone else bar St Mary's winning everything in their path if they can get it going again.

St Mary's:

Everything is in place for Mary's to dominate Leitrim football for the next few years. Their underage is eating every other club alive at all ages. It's so impressive yet has to be worrying for the overall health of the game in Leitrim and will also be a challenge for St Mary's to retain so many of these players they have coming through.
On this year they should win the championship. They have the best coach by a distance and have the best overall squad if not any standout individual players just yet/ Paul Keaney may become that but he has a lot to prove as his lacklustre performances with the county have shown. In Ben Guckian, Adam Reynolds, and Jack Casey they have three potential inter-county players for 10 years. The game changer for them I feel is Killian Gaffey in goals - I think it'll be shown how wrong Andy Moran was for not using him in the Tailteann cup. Likes of Conor/Daire Farrell, Kelleher and O'Connell are brilliant club players then that would be main men on most other senior teams.
St Mary's are red hot favourites but Keaney, Diffley Reynolds etc. are heading to the USA for the summer so that may take an edge off them when they return. Other than that not having a scoring forward is their main concern.

Fenagh:

The Spurs of Leitrim football. All the talent in the world but fail to perform when it matter and then put all the blame on the coach when they get knocked out.
They have had a poor start under the McCormacks but have been missing a huge amount of players. Ryan O'Rorurke who in my eyes is the best player by a distance in the county is back training and if they can keep him fit they should be a match for any team. Along with Oisin McLoughlin and Riordan O'Rourke they have as much potential in the forwards as any club team anywhere.
Out from Conor Dwyer (who is injured) they suspicion is that they don't have enough quality in defence to win a championship. Jack Gilheaney has been moved between 6/8 so it'll be interesting to see where he is positioned. No doubt they have the talent to win it though.

Ballinamore:

Struggled to find a manager which is never a good sign - Talk is that Mickey Graham is in the background 'helping out'.

In Shane Moran, Dean McGovern, Tom Prior, Dillon Beirne, Paul Moran, Wayne McKeown and Michael McKiernan they have a lot of talent but they are very inconsistent and have suffered a lot through emigration - losing the likes of Oisin McCaffery and Niall McGovern. I'm not sure if they have enough depth to win a championship but if they get on a role and build momentum they could shock a few teams. They will be very strong down the middle and are capable on their day but I'm not sure if there is a championship in them.

Glencar-Manor:

Manor have gone back to the future by appointing Glen Young who led them to numerous county championships previously.
All doesn't seem well however as they've had to recall the old guard in James Glancy and Gerry Hickey etc. for their first league game and then conceded their second game against Ballinamore due to a stag doo. They should have more than enough players that they don't have to be playing men in their 40s or conceding games so something is not right.
Barry McNulty, Evan Sweeney, James Rooney and Paddy Maguire will give them a chance in every game and then they have experienced players around them to help them over the line. Be interesting to see how they fair out now that the league is really starting with the county players returning.

Aughawillan

Arguably the most interesting team who have a chance of winning a championship. Some would say they have underachieved in the last few years and others argue that they are just past it. That group of players have 3 championships, and the argument is that they havent freshened it up enough or don't have the playing numbers to do so. They are probably the team left with the most County level experience with the three Plunketts, Pearce Dolan, Barry Prior, Fergal McTague and Ciaran Gilheany. Do they still have it in the legs or the hunger to compete is the question? They should be dominate in the middle of the park with Dolan and Mark Plunkett and the scores of Gilheany and Gary Plunkett will give them a chance but do they have the depth or anyone else to step up. St Marys have hammered them the last few years so they will need to pull something out of the bag or do something different. Anything is possible with them however.

Mohill:

In what could have been an era of dominance for Mohill has turned a small bit sour. Many clubs would bite your hand off for what they have achieved in the last few years but they have also came up short on the big day more than any other team.
They've lost Oisin Madden through emigration and Jordan Reynolds to injury for the year so can Shane Quinn and Keith Beirne keep them going? I have my doubts. No doubt they'll have talented youngsters coming through but I feel we are going to see a major drop off from them this year unless Beirne can do something incredible. However, he has looked burtn out in the last 3/4months. There was also a lot of criticism from within Mohill about O'Haras abilities last year so that will be interesting to see how it plays out.

Leitrim Gaels:

Probably the team punching above their weight the most. They have lost Brendan Flynn who is now playing in goals for St.Judes. Talk is that David Bruen will be returning for championship which is huge for them as he is their main man.
Out from Bruen it is hard to see who is going to bring them to that next level that's necessary to win a championship. Their power and height around the middle wins them a lot of games early in the year but they get found out during the height of the summer. In Goldrick and Moreton they have two decent forwards but I can't see them challenging for honours.

Aughnasheelin:

Probably the team who most will see as the weakest in the senior ranks after getting promoted last year. But to be where they are after rumours a few years ago they could fold is impressive.
Conor Cullen is a huge loss for them and hopefully they have him back next year.
In Ciaran Cullen they arguably have the best young talent in the county - and most likely the fastest along with Jack Heslin.
Aaron Hoare should give them a good platform in the middle third and Fitzpatrick is a decent free taker but out from that I think they will struggle. Lots of good young players but they won't see the benefit for that for a few years if they can keep them together."
Credit to you. A lot of work gone into that

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 09/06/2023 11:00:47    2485091

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "With the real club action starting now that the county players have returned I've ran through all the big teams in the Senior Ranks.

St Mary's:

Fenagh:

Ballinamore:

Glencar-Manor:

Aughawillan

Mohill:

Leitrim Gaels:

Aughnasheelin:

Aaron Hoare should give them a good platform in the middle third and Fitzpatrick is a decent free taker but out from that I think they will struggle. Lots of good young players but they won't see the benefit for that for a few years if they can keep them together."
Great work Leitrim1234. We'll done.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 09/06/2023 15:13:18    2485142

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "The "great players" mentioned in a previous post are mediocre at best, yes they are absolutely great in the Leitrim club scene. But very poor once they operate outside of the county boundaries . The quality of player available to the senior inter county manager is extremely poor. They look great in our club leagues and championships but are extremely limited in reality. The club scene is where the changes need to happen - not the county manager. That is my honest and steadfast opinion.

There you go:

And we'll go round and round and round again and again and fail over and over and over again and again, and remain in division 4 and then change manager over and over again and say we have great club players but the manager isn't getting the best out of them….. etc… etc… etc…."
I agree with the suggestion about the regional/ divisional teams. There is expectational players up and down the county that have not and most likely will not get the opportunity to play senior football. Surely, exposure to this level would bring them on further and only benefit the county team long term.

The championship may get saturated with games but perhaps reduce the number of group games in the normal championship group to make room for said championship.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 10/06/2023 06:35:36    2485218

I see that Laois had a good win over Fermanagh this evening even with a 1 man advantage. It kinda reaffirms my view of where Leitrim will be in 2024 (i.e. still in Division 4, I hope I'm wrong and I will happily eat my hat if I am... ). If Andy is staying for 2024 (which looks increasingly likely now) he will need to get it put out there fast what his plan is for the year ahead (for promotion...) as it will be definitely the last chance saloon. Leitrim supporters deserve better and need to know exactly what the story is... no bull. I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than willing to facilitate him with an in-depth interview and perhaps might be able to facilitate supporters with the opportunity to put forward a few questions. If this is a 'project' as he says himself and not another bullsh1t buzzword, I'd expect to see him and Mike Solan regularly around Carrick and other grounds during the summer. Any backroom deficiencies should be well ironed out during the summer... after all Mike was able to assemble a fairly strong backroom team for his push for the Mayo job... granted Eamonn O'Hara and Aiden O'Rourke were part of that but I'm sure he'll have no problem putting the feelers out for others. While we're also at it, it might be time for our county board chairman to give us an update of how he feels things are going... funny enough I haven't heard from him in the media for a while. As I've said, Leitrim supporters need to know. Again, I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than happy to facilitate along with a few Q&A's.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 10/06/2023 21:41:07    2485384

Replying To Square_B:  "I see that Laois had a good win over Fermanagh this evening even with a 1 man advantage. It kinda reaffirms my view of where Leitrim will be in 2024 (i.e. still in Division 4, I hope I'm wrong and I will happily eat my hat if I am... ). If Andy is staying for 2024 (which looks increasingly likely now) he will need to get it put out there fast what his plan is for the year ahead (for promotion...) as it will be definitely the last chance saloon. Leitrim supporters deserve better and need to know exactly what the story is... no bull. I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than willing to facilitate him with an in-depth interview and perhaps might be able to facilitate supporters with the opportunity to put forward a few questions. If this is a 'project' as he says himself and not another bullsh1t buzzword, I'd expect to see him and Mike Solan regularly around Carrick and other grounds during the summer. Any backroom deficiencies should be well ironed out during the summer... after all Mike was able to assemble a fairly strong backroom team for his push for the Mayo job... granted Eamonn O'Hara and Aiden O'Rourke were part of that but I'm sure he'll have no problem putting the feelers out for others. While we're also at it, it might be time for our county board chairman to give us an update of how he feels things are going... funny enough I haven't heard from him in the media for a while. As I've said, Leitrim supporters need to know. Again, I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than happy to facilitate along with a few Q&A's."
Bottom line is that if Andy is staying and as you say it looks more than likely he is at this stage he needs to freshen up his backroom team. It's too inexperienced in my opinion. Luke Bree hasn't improved things, Is Andy's former Ballaghdreen club mate our goal keeping coach? If he is staying he needs to change things up!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 10/06/2023 22:32:44    2485398

Replying To Square_B:  "I see that Laois had a good win over Fermanagh this evening even with a 1 man advantage. It kinda reaffirms my view of where Leitrim will be in 2024 (i.e. still in Division 4, I hope I'm wrong and I will happily eat my hat if I am... ). If Andy is staying for 2024 (which looks increasingly likely now) he will need to get it put out there fast what his plan is for the year ahead (for promotion...) as it will be definitely the last chance saloon. Leitrim supporters deserve better and need to know exactly what the story is... no bull. I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than willing to facilitate him with an in-depth interview and perhaps might be able to facilitate supporters with the opportunity to put forward a few questions. If this is a 'project' as he says himself and not another bullsh1t buzzword, I'd expect to see him and Mike Solan regularly around Carrick and other grounds during the summer. Any backroom deficiencies should be well ironed out during the summer... after all Mike was able to assemble a fairly strong backroom team for his push for the Mayo job... granted Eamonn O'Hara and Aiden O'Rourke were part of that but I'm sure he'll have no problem putting the feelers out for others. While we're also at it, it might be time for our county board chairman to give us an update of how he feels things are going... funny enough I haven't heard from him in the media for a while. As I've said, Leitrim supporters need to know. Again, I'm sure the Observer and Final Whistle would be more than happy to facilitate along with a few Q&A's."
We beat Laois 3 months ago

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 11/06/2023 00:09:42    2485409