Alcohol in Croke Park

i think if people are excessively drunk at a gaa match and engaging in abusive behaviour,we should have adequate stewarding to eject them from the ground,just like any other public place.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/08/2013 12:27:06    1468314

26/08/2013 12:27:06
perfect10
County: Wexford

i think if people are excessively drunk at a gaa match and engaging in abusive behaviour,we should have adequate stewarding to eject them from the ground,just like any other public place.

Hold on a second a lot of stewards are volunteers , not trained in security work , if you are going down that route and Im not suggesting for a minute we do , then your talking trained licensed staffing = cost = increase in price of match ticket .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/08/2013 12:38:58    1468329

I think making the drink only available under the stand forces people to pound their drinks like animals. We should be trusted to be able to relax with a beer in hand in our seats

more alcohol I say!

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 273 - 26/08/2013 12:43:16    1468332

I've seen people removed from the stadium for being drunk. Before your natural assumption kicks in they weren't nordies or dubs either

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 26/08/2013 12:47:03    1468339

drunken fans should
1 - not be allowed into stadium
2 - chucked out if they are annoying other fans

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 26/08/2013 12:53:22    1468343

cavanman

you have been on the hill twice in your life
i have been going since i was 3 years old,
do you expect me to take your opinion over my life experiances ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/08/2013 12:53:59    1468345

I seen plenty of young lads pissed and slabbering and taunting people who just wanted to watch a game of football my own county has their fair share at the match yesterday but others also the stewarding and guards did little to warn these boys about their abusive and foul language .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 26/08/2013 13:01:23    1468353

I think we Irish have a problem with alcohol. The behaviour associated with it is not tolerated in most countries. When you get talking to natives you realise how this carry on is letting Irelands image down badly. We need to grow up recognise there is a problem and face up to it. For that reason I feel we need to take radical action such as breaking the link between drink and sport. Sponsorship advertising etc.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 26/08/2013 13:06:55    1468364

ormond

the government are the leaders of this country.
if you want to set a culture change it must come from the top and they are the top.
trying to use sports as a scapegoats is all they are doing if your going to implent zero tolerance on alcohol then surely the government building should not have alcohol available to the tds while at work its a disgrace

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/08/2013 13:14:03    1468375

Personally i never drink meself in croke park. I know a lad who does though and he would go for a pitt stop at least 4-5 times threw out the game bit annoying when he comes back an says what did i miss. Also why pay into a game if your going to be away for most of it best going the pub for it does,nt make sense. Its always going to happen always will get a majority that cant hold there drink and will be rude loud, and foul mouthed unfortunately...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 26/08/2013 13:14:56    1468377

Drink certainly makes imbeciles more obnoxious and loud, but most people who have a pint before a game are perfectly well-behaved. The imbeciles tend to be no less obnoxious without drink on them, but I do agree it is a major factor in giving them the Dutch courage to inflict themselves on those around them. Funnily enough stands seem to be worse now than the Hill for this sort of behaviour. Not seen anything untoward on the Hill this year and theres been good mixture of opposing supporters at most games, football and hurling.

Have to say in response to my Cavan frined I have never seen anyone 'shooting up' on the Hill. The whole notion is laughable. Do you seriously beleive that heroin addicts go to GAA games :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/08/2013 13:22:01    1468387

Cherno_Samba
County: Louth

1467774 Just in from Croke Park. Great game, well done Mayo.

For me however the day out was totally ruined by 4 clowns about 4 seats in front of me in the lower Cusack.
These lads were only teenagers, but they were hammered. The abuse they were roaring at opposing players was disgusting, but the way they turned round after every score and taunted an elderly supporter of the opposing team really made my blood boil.
A couple of people mentioned it to the stewards at half time but nothing happened.

I deliberately haven't mentioned what county they were supporting because it is irrelevant.

I still don't know how do these clowns got in?

All I could think of during the second half was why is alcohol for sale in Croke Park?
I'm guessing that these lads were hammered before they even got into Croker, but they missed the first 5 minutes of the second half so they could finish the drink they bought at half time.

Am I the only person who thinks that Croke Park should be an alcohol free zone?
It may not eradicate the problem, but at least it sends a message.

I really hope we're not on the slippery slope towards a venomous style soccer atmosphere creeping into our game - rant over!
25/08/2013 18:34:17

100% agree with you the Old Croke Park didn't have a public bar so why does this one need to have bars all over it. This is a sporting venue which has at its heart young children and families as its most important fan base so why allow drink to flow so readily. I have said it before I like a drink myself but the GAA is promoting a behavioural side to Irish culture which has been a stain on our society for far to long.

Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 26/08/2013 13:23:07    1468388

25/08/2013 21:53:16
Gleebo
Well, similar to most professional sporting events, I would designate those on the turnstiles and stewards as those who make the judgement.
The general criteria for ejection would fall under that wonderful Irish phrase 'acting the maggot'- i.e. patrons can have a few drinks before the match if they are capable of behaving themselves afterwards. If they fail to do this- examples of which including harassing or threatening other fans, being drunk and incapable, or abusing players/ officials- then they don't get in or are ejected from the match.
If someone wants to drink all day before a match, fine, I can't stop them and wouldn't try to. But why should my enjoyment of the game be spoiled, if I am seated near drunken oafs as in the OP's scenario?
I can't believe that I'm having to explain this to a presumably grown man, TBH.
those on the turnstiles and who are stewards are volunteers in the main and in no way qualified to make the judgement. Harassing/threatening other fans yes but being drunk is not an issue if they are just with their friends not affecting anyone else.
I have been to plenty of games where people with a few drinks taken have affected my viewing of the game but never would I look to have them ejected from the ground or not allowed in at all unless they were causing serious trouble.

25/08/2013 21:53:18
07_LK_1973
Cherno Samba will you go way and play a game of CM 01/02 for yourself.
I think the problem lies with letting these embiciles into the ground in the first place. People who are clearly hammered should be arrested on route to the ground if they are being a nuisance. This type of carry out would not be tolerated in most civilised countries. I'd enjoy 2 or 3 pints of Bulmers before a Championship game on route to the stadium and like to take in the atmosphere but these idiots who are getting hammered clearly have no interest in our games. Difficult one but I think a zero tolerance approach should be taken and these type of fellows should be escorted to the exit if they gain entry and picked up by the gardai nd get to spend a night in the cell. Until we as a country start getting serious about this we will forever be known as a country of clowns who cannot handle there alcohol. I type this as I enjoy a nice glass of Chianti :)
you don't know If those who are getting "hammered" have no interest in the games. In many cases they do. For all big tipp hurling games in cork/Dublin you will always see big groups of youngsters from nenagh and surrounding areas(where im based) heading to the game and stocking the bus of drink. They will all be members of their local clubs and play senior club hurling/quite a few will have played inter county at various levels.

26/08/2013 08:42:34
GreenandRed
If there was an incident with a drunken supporter falling and injuring himself/herself or someone getting hurt in a row involing drunken supporter(s) Croker Park would be very quick to put security on every entrance to see who's under the influence.
no they wouldn't. they would change how the bars inside the ground are run and they wouldn't put security on the entrances. the cost would be enormous and would lead to ticket price increases

26/08/2013 12:53:22
valley84
drunken fans should
1 - not be allowed into stadium
2 - chucked out if they are annoying other fans
How do you quantify who is and who is not a drunken fan and how do you define annoying other fans?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/08/2013 13:29:56    1468397

As a former paid and voluntary steward, it makes no difference. All get the same training and all are expected to take action if a complaint is made. When it comes to drink, there is a basic rule of cop on. Plenty of people might have "drink taken" who are in a very postive mood. Why should they be excluded? To even try and exclude them could turn a nothing situation sour.Golden rule is if someone makes a complaint it has to be addressed. Usually a quick word with offending parties will sort it out. If not, then a subsequent warning that continued errant behaviour will result in being removed (and let the guards know). Then you let the guards know if the situation hasn't resolved. It doesn't have to be drink related - consistent swearing in front of kids, smoking, racist comments etc. Certain behviour will warrant instant removal.

Bawner (Sligo) - Posts: 39 - 26/08/2013 13:31:33    1468402

26/08/2013 13:06:55
mod
I think we Irish have a problem with alcohol. The behaviour associated with it is not tolerated in most countries. When you get talking to natives you realise how this carry on is letting Irelands image down badly. We need to grow up recognise there is a problem and face up to it. For that reason I feel we need to take radical action such as breaking the link between drink and sport. Sponsorship advertising etc.
as has been mentioned by irish sporting organisations where would the money that would be lost from alcohol companies sponsoring sporting teams and events be made up. Other issues with regard to booze need to be fixed before banning sponsorship and advertising.

26/08/2013 13:14:03
hill16no1man
ormond, the government are the leaders of this country.
if you want to set a culture change it must come from the top and they are the top.
trying to use sports as a scapegoats is all they are doing if your going to implent zero tolerance on alcohol then surely the government building should not have alcohol available to the tds while at work its a disgrace
the dail bar has its uses and is a place for tds and their guests etc to go after work. It is as much a private members club where members of dail can go and unwind after work. yes while working they shouldn't be in the bar but get rid of it. no

26/08/2013 13:14:56
DUB1
Personally i never drink meself in croke park. I know a lad who does though and he would go for a pitt stop at least 4-5 times threw out the game bit annoying when he comes back an says what did i miss. Also why pay into a game if your going to be away for most of it best going the pub for it does,nt make sense. Its always going to happen always will get a majority that cant hold there drink and will be rude loud, and foul mouthed unfortunately...
that's your choice not to drink. For many others a game in croker is a day out and is as much a social occasion as sporting event and that's for diehard supporters as much as the less diehard. If they want to spend their time going to bar for a drink that's their choice and the majority of people can hold their drink and its certainly only a small minority who are rude/loud etc

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/08/2013 13:40:40    1468409

Its a wider societal issue unfortunately, you are deemed a dry sh*te and no fun if you give out about drunken behavior in Ireland. I listened to an interview recently about how our beautiful beaches were ruined during the 2 week heatwave and the radio panel were racking their brains on how to solve the problem. The obvious elephant in the room was the fact that the anti-social behavior was by drunken fools. I texted in saying as much and my text was ignored. A half an hour later the radio presenter was interviewing this Irish guy who "done good" in the states. Most of the interview was about his brewing company in Kentucky and the craft beer expedition in the conference centre that he had organised.

That little story to me sums the whole thing up. I bet those 4 fans are all underage, so from the publicans/off-license who served them, to the cops and stewards they met between the pub/bus shelter on their way to Croke park all condoned their behavior. The stewards who didn't throw them out or get a cop to do it are a joke. I remember a steward in Croke park threatening to throw a friend of mine with a bodhran out for standing slightly on the aisle at one of the soccer matches, he wasn't causing any trouble or hassle to other fans in the ground.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 26/08/2013 13:56:18    1468430

A good course of action could be a name and shame policy where the offenders are filmed or photographed and publically humiliated in either a national paper or on the gaa website. It would expose the idiots for what they are. I dont agree with bans on alcohol, it is a minority that cause the trouble.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 26/08/2013 14:02:07    1468438

Snufalufagus

1467811 cavanman47
better than the shooting up on the hill but still, not acceptable.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

I didnt notice this happening today!....but then again, thats because it never does!

sure it would be lines a Charlie and moet & chandon in the circles you mix in snuf

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 26/08/2013 14:04:28    1468443

ormond

you say its a place for tds to unwind and is a private members club ,then why do the tax payers have to foot the bill for these tds to enjoy themselves after work!!!!
no other job in the world would you get away with that.
if they want to crack down on alcohol it must come from the top and they are the top not sports people.
its like the gardai wanting to crack down on mobile phone use while driving yet how many garda cars do you pass with one using the mobile while driving.
if you dont lead by example nobody will respect your rules

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/08/2013 14:09:57    1468453

nothing wrong with lads havin a feed a drink and some lively banter with the opposition fans, sure all this anti-drink nonsense is just the usual oul pc health n safety claptrap.
lads goin on about the continent and how sensible foreigners are with drink. sure most of the foreigners ive ever drank with wouldn't drink their way out of a paper bag.
the irish have a long and proud tradition of bein able to stomach a feed of pints and stand our round like a man - a couple of attributes you wont find in too many of these continental characters. as a rule the slavs are solid enough but the western continetals wouldn't be worth a fiddlers when it comes to drink. you only have to look at the record of the likes of the Italians and especially the French in the world wars to see how delicate their fibre is. if that's level we are lookin to attain then good luck to us.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 26/08/2013 14:14:18    1468464