They won 4 AIs over two decades, we were the same, it's a straightforward comparison to make because it's not as if that many other counties have won exactly 4 AIs over the same time period historically
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 927 - 03/03/2026 13:19:52 2659749 Link 0 |
Would be a big boost to seal promotion in Ennis. Important to finish the league strong anyway, couple of years back Cork came down to Wexford Park in the last round and hammered us. Kind of stung us a bit and Rossi seemed to change tactics afterwards (back to route one with Mac & Chin). Molloy and Ryan likely back in the squad? Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 518 - 03/03/2026 13:21:31 2659750 Link 0 |
That's not what Paddy power had yesterday.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4293 - 03/03/2026 13:48:13 2659757 Link 0 |
Can't see Ryan or Molloy being available unfortunately I could be wrong. Think if we do get a result in Ennis we still need to win at home to Kildare to guarantee promotion
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 908 - 03/03/2026 13:51:13 2659758 Link 0 |
My mistake so . I assumed it was 2027 before they were to be taken away . Still no fools takiing bets on non runners Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 543 - 03/03/2026 14:12:16 2659765 Link 0 |
Tipp have done it twice this millennium? 2000-2019, and 2010-present? Even if you want to ignore the current streak as they might win more there are plenty of other instances- Kilkenny- 1910-1929, 1950-1969, 1980-1999. Cork- 1910-1929, 1920-1939, 1950-1969, 1980-1999, 1990-2009. Tipp- 2000-2019, 1900-1919, 1930-1949. Limerick won 4 in an exact 20 year period twice, but not exact decades, 1918-1937 and 1921-1940. Dublin- 1910-1929, 1920-1939. So its not as rare a feat as you would imagine, aside from Wexford and Offaly, 4 or maybe 5 depending on how you define 2 decades, 5 other counties have done it a combined 15 times. Sorry ElGranSenor, Im just killing time waiting on the kids finishing school ;-) Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 14:28:04 2659770 Link 0 |
Unlikely, neither would have done the 5 weeks the GPA recommend. Depends what shape they were in when they came back too though.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 14:41:19 2659773 Link 0 |
Only bookie who I ever heard of going bust was a former local TD
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 14:42:29 2659774 Link 0 |
We do. 2 tough games. Just what we need.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 14:43:02 2659775 Link 0 |
Hopefully being captain for the year will inspire Jacko to be the best version of himself on the pitch. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 15:05:41 2659780 Link 0 |
I think it's 3 out of 4 points we need A draw with Clare and a win over Kildare or vice-versa would be enough to guarantee promotion ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 927 - 03/03/2026 15:21:13 2659782 Link 0 |
Really don't know what to expect in Ennis we usually perform well down there, we've won the last 3 games down there in 21,22 and last year so it's probably our happiest hunting ground in Munster, not sure if you can read too much in to the game last year given the year they were coming off of in 2024, Lohan also took off of the likes of Fitzgerald Malone and Conlon very early iirc. OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 340 - 03/03/2026 15:28:55 2659783 Link 0 |
Your 100% right ElGranSenor 3 points will do it for us. Would take your hand off for a draw in Ennis!
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 908 - 03/03/2026 15:42:53 2659788 Link 0 |
All 3 of those lads they took off were poor that day. Conlon and Fitzgerald were only back in in fairness to them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18619 - 03/03/2026 15:55:25 2659793 Link 0 |
Are Shane O Donnell Tony Kelly and Peter Duggan available for Clare this weekend? I seen Jack Kirwan replaced Tony Kelly in the starting team in Carlow last weekend.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 908 - 03/03/2026 16:30:06 2659801 Link 0 |