Wexford Hurling Thread

I would go as far to say, that tactically speaking among other things, we are the worst prepared team in the All Ireland series. Even Kildare, for all their limitations, at least have an identity and know how they want to play

We seem to go into every game on a wing and a prayer, and if we can't even bring intensity, then that's half the battle lost already.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1539 - 27/04/2026 12:28:44    2669168

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Is it true if we dont beat Kilkenny on Saturday we are more than likely out? Sounds like we have a good minor team this year would be a huge boost if we can get a breakthrough at minor or U20"
If we were to lose to Kilkenny, we would need Laois to beat Westmeath

If we were to draw with Kilkenny, we would need Laois either to beat or draw with Westmeath

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1120 - 27/04/2026 12:36:45    2669172

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I fear if he leaves we will find it hard to get anybody who wants the position."
Skippy?

Joe Fortune would surely want it

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1120 - 27/04/2026 12:38:16    2669174

Replying To Fulgrim:  "All I'll say is fair play to Viking and Senor on staying so positive. Felt pretty dejected coming out of Nowlan park Saturday, thinking we're probably 5th in leinster now and relying on beating the teams coming up from Joe MacDonagh to stay in Leinster."
Tbf, when you consider all the lads who technically aren't retired who didn't play a minute on Saturday, I think that if we were to get most of them back involved in the set-up, we'd be an awful lot better

Martin's the best club side in Leinster and yet only two starters on Saturday, that's not because there's some anti-Martin's agenda on the line but it goes to show that a lot of the best hurlers in Wexford aren't hurling for Wexford for various reasons

If we can change that, we'll improve

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1120 - 27/04/2026 12:46:04    2669177

Replying To Pikeman96:  "If it's any consolation, I don't really think the different throw-in times will actually make a huge difference in practice.

Laois were so poor on Saturday that we'd expect your lads to beat them all right, and move to four points in the group. And if you beat them, our lads have to beat Kilkenny. Whether you beat them at the same time as the Wexford v Kilkenny match, or an hour or two earlier, doesn't actually change that, unless you give Laois an unmerciful hiding altogether and overturn the 34-point difference in score difference that currently exists between Wexford & Westmeath.

Really the only way that your match being earlier would make a difference is if Laois somehow happen to win it, and then Wexford & Kilkenny would go into their match knowing that both are already through anyway. So long as Kilkenny don't give our lads an unmerciful beating of the order of 35 points or more!"
Tbf, Laois lost to Galway by four points the previous week so they could well bounce back, you'd imagine they're a lot better than what they showed on Saturday

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1120 - 27/04/2026 12:50:58    2669180

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Yeah, I'd say it was done with good intentions all right. I don't believe any CCC ever sets out to deliberately stack a competition in favour of any particular teams. Again, putting myself in their position and trying to imagine the thought process:

- We have four Tier 1 teams (Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin, Wexford). All the others will go into Tier 2 first, and whoever comes through that will join the Tier 1 teams in the championship.
- Tier 2 teams are Wicklow, Antrim, Carlow, Offaly, Laois, Kerry, Meath, Kildare, Westmeath.
- If we bring four of them through, third & fourth would probably be relatively weak, get big hidings, and that's no good to anyone. So we'll have two qualifiers.
- Now we have six teams in Tier 1. Two groups of three.
- But just two group games is hardly enough for the teams only entering the championship at that stage. Let's give them a third by using this "cross-play" thing that's suggested sometimes, and see how it works out.

Unfortunately, it hasn't worked out too well. Even if they'd said "the four teams with the best record go through, no matter which group they're in", it would have been better."
Would've been better had we played the teams in the same group (Westmeath and Galway) and then 1st went straight through to the SFs, with 2nd playing 3rd in the other group in the QFs

Would've guaranteed three games for everyone

Problem is that it would've taken an extra week and they'd argue it would remove the jeopardy from the group stages (I don't think these are good reasons tbh but I'm guessing that's what they'd argue)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1120 - 27/04/2026 12:55:10    2669183

Replying To Timbertony:  "Cillian Byrne got two when he came on. Maybe missed another 2 or 3. One thing I noticed with him was when the ball went near him it stuck. First touch was spot on. Starting to fill out a bit too. Rowley too, maybe missed a couple but he's fast and direct. Start them both the next day. Banville and Redmond are fine club hurlers but were miles off it."
Agree on Banville absolutely hate being critical of any player online but he looked way of it. Think Jack is better suited to half forward line but you may be right we might be better off going with Rowley and Cillian Byrne

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1005 - 27/04/2026 12:55:56    2669184

Replying To Pikeman96:  "If it's any consolation, I don't really think the different throw-in times will actually make a huge difference in practice.

Laois were so poor on Saturday that we'd expect your lads to beat them all right, and move to four points in the group. And if you beat them, our lads have to beat Kilkenny. Whether you beat them at the same time as the Wexford v Kilkenny match, or an hour or two earlier, doesn't actually change that, unless you give Laois an unmerciful hiding altogether and overturn the 34-point difference in score difference that currently exists between Wexford & Westmeath.

Really the only way that your match being earlier would make a difference is if Laois somehow happen to win it, and then Wexford & Kilkenny would go into their match knowing that both are already through anyway. So long as Kilkenny don't give our lads an unmerciful beating of the order of 35 points or more!"
We are already through as are Dublin. Given the score difference between yourselves and Laois all that's up for grabs between ourselves and Dublin is positional first or second.

Sloweddie (Kilkenny) - Posts: 22 - 27/04/2026 13:00:54    2669186

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads after a few days to reflect on saturday night..its not all doom and gloom yet wil have to wait till after our next 2 results to determine that..on saturday night i think kk were there for the taking..if we had of got anything out of our forwards i think we could of won..jack o still not fit banville and redmond clearly not up to it... chin out numbered and even if he broke it no one to pick up scraps only kk defenders...foley our best forward on the night..taking off roche even though he was quite but still scored 2 points baffled me while bamville and redmond stayed on...s reck best one of the best man markers in the game and never gets the plaudits...i would have moved damien back on keoghan...can see patsy and donohoe starting against dublin with lawlor pushed to midfield and o leary and carley missing out..nice to see liam ryan get 60 mins back in the legs and i presume he was taken off as a precaution as game was done..."
Will Patsy be fit to start hasnt played in a long time? I would imagine Donohoe will start and his experience is welcome in such a big game for us

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1005 - 27/04/2026 13:02:07    2669187

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbf, when you consider all the lads who technically aren't retired who didn't play a minute on Saturday, I think that if we were to get most of them back involved in the set-up, we'd be an awful lot better

Martin's the best club side in Leinster and yet only two starters on Saturday, that's not because there's some anti-Martin's agenda on the line but it goes to show that a lot of the best hurlers in Wexford aren't hurling for Wexford for various reasons

If we can change that, we'll improve"
I dont agree there is an anti Martins agenda at all . Who from the Martins has been getting a raw deal? I would say Conor Firman might have been given more of a chance other than that I think your point is nonsense

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1005 - 27/04/2026 13:05:56    2669192

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Still coming to terms with how poor we were on Saturday. Our intensity from the off was very poor . I think our main problem was in our forwards . Our backs were under so much pressure because of our inability to compete in the air , win any 50/50s and poor use of the ball going forward. Shane Reck and Damien Reck were good while Jippo done okay on TJ for his first game back. I said before the game Lee needs help and only Kevin Foley stood up to the task we wont win any championship game if the other 4 forwards arent contributing. We now face a must win game against our bogey team Dublin. If we cant raise ourselves for that there is something seriously wrong. County board needs to adopt same initiative as the KK county board with the amount of underage teams parading at half time. We need as many in the park as possible and hopefully the lads can really raise there game for what is now definitely the defining game of the season.
Hopefully we have Cian Molloy , Darren Codd and Cian Byrne available to come off the bench
Team I would go with is
1 Fanning
2. S Reck
3. Liam Ryan
4. Donohoe
5. C Foley
6. D Reck
7. Lawlor
8.Hearne
9. Wickham
10. Jacko ( Im hoping he will be sharper after another 2 weeks training but he knows himself we need an awful lot more
11 Redmond ( Is not an inside forward hasnt the pace but I think could do damage where he plays his best hurling for Rathnure in half forward line)
12. Chin ( Play him where he cant be double marked and is a puckout option for us)
13, K Foley
14 Roche ( Wouldnt have took him off in Kilkenny he will come good
15 Cillian Byrne ( Has to start let him run at the Dublin defence)

We need to back the lads like Kilkenny fans to be fair to them did on Saturday their backs were also to the wall. We need to play with intensity , compete for every 50/50 ball and use the ball much better than we did Saturday.
We can beat Dublin but it will take the best performance of the year so far."
On my team agree with another poster that Rowley could be a good option in that case I would put K Foley at 11 and Rowley at 13 . See a full forward line of Rowley , Roche and Cillian Byrne would actually be exciting

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1005 - 27/04/2026 13:08:53    2669196

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK crowd back to their patronising worst the other night alright. Wexford back down to the level Laois were a few years back on that evidence. Miles off it - tactically, skill levels, conditioning, decision making. Only both Recks, Lawlor (in first half) and Kevin Foley looked up to the required standard."
We are not in a position to patronise anyone at the moment. Lots of work needed across the board in Leinster at the moment from what I see. All Leinster counties are at a low point with Kildare and Offaly on an upward curve but a long way off the pace in comparison to Munster. Unfortunately I think the silverware looks lightly to cross the Shannon.

Sloweddie (Kilkenny) - Posts: 22 - 27/04/2026 13:13:02    2669197

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Would've been better had we played the teams in the same group (Westmeath and Galway) and then 1st went straight through to the SFs, with 2nd playing 3rd in the other group in the QFs

Problem is that it would've taken an extra week and they'd argue it would remove the jeopardy from the group stages (I don't think these are good reasons tbh but I'm guessing that's what they'd argue)"
If we lose to Kilkenny we will have lost twice out of 3 games and deserve to be out .

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 13:14:18    2669198

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Skippy?

Joe Fortune would surely want it"
Skippy turned it down before Keith was asked seemingly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19353 - 27/04/2026 13:15:32    2669199

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Still coming to terms with how poor we were on Saturday. Our intensity from the off was very poor . I think our main problem was in our forwards . Our backs were under so much pressure because of our inability to compete in the air , win any 50/50s and poor use of the ball going forward. Shane Reck and Damien Reck were good while Jippo done okay on TJ for his first game back. I said before the game Lee needs help and only Kevin Foley stood up to the task we wont win any championship game if the other 4 forwards arent contributing. We now face a must win game against our bogey team Dublin. If we cant raise ourselves for that there is something seriously wrong. County board needs to adopt same initiative as the KK county board with the amount of underage teams parading at half time. We need as many in the park as possible and hopefully the lads can really raise there game for what is now definitely the defining game of the season.
Hopefully we have Cian Molloy , Darren Codd and Cian Byrne available to come off the bench
Team I would go with is
1 Fanning
2. S Reck
3. Liam Ryan
4. Donohoe
5. C Foley
6. D Reck
7. Lawlor
8.Hearne
9. Wickham
10. Jacko ( Im hoping he will be sharper after another 2 weeks training but he knows himself we need an awful lot more
11 Redmond ( Is not an inside forward hasnt the pace but I think could do damage where he plays his best hurling for Rathnure in half forward line)
12. Chin ( Play him where he cant be double marked and is a puckout option for us)
13, K Foley
14 Roche ( Wouldnt have took him off in Kilkenny he will come good
15 Cillian Byrne ( Has to start let him run at the Dublin defence)

We need to back the lads like Kilkenny fans to be fair to them did on Saturday their backs were also to the wall. We need to play with intensity , compete for every 50/50 ball and use the ball much better than we did Saturday.
We can beat Dublin but it will take the best performance of the year so far."
No way to Jacko starting! If Donohue wasn't even brought on in KK then Clarke might come into the corner. Thought he got nowhere near the pace of it either but KK were rampant at that stage. Is Niall Murphy on panel still? Carley and Foley can't play in there again anyway. I'd be reluctant to move D Reck out of where he has been playing very well. Don't have a 6. Expecting Molloy to be championship match fit is too much. Maybe Foley or Carley into midfield next to Hearne. Dublin are strong in midfield. Agreed on Chin to 12.

What's our sub keeper like? Fanning made some great saves but his distribution was terrible. Not comfortable at all finding a man around half back line and that's a big problem for a team that can't win a ball in the air.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 551 - 27/04/2026 13:23:59    2669204

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Would've been better had we played the teams in the same group (Westmeath and Galway) and then 1st went straight through to the SFs, with 2nd playing 3rd in the other group in the QFs

Problem is that it would've taken an extra week and they'd argue it would remove the jeopardy from the group stages (I don't think these are good reasons tbh but I'm guessing that's what they'd argue)"
Yeah, that would have been another option, but as you point out, would have had its flaws as well.

To be honest, think the real problem is Tier 2 taking so long in the first place. Every team got two games there before the play-offs to decide who'd go to Tier 1. Maybe a straight knock-out would be better, with all the unsuccessful teams then going into a separate Tier 2 anyway, where they could play all the group games they want.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3545 - 27/04/2026 13:39:32    2669214

Poor performance the weekend obviously, bit shocked David Codd st martins not getting any game time, I think he definitely should be starting?

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 538 - 27/04/2026 13:45:58    2669216

Replying To Sloweddie:  "We are not in a position to patronise anyone at the moment. Lots of work needed across the board in Leinster at the moment from what I see. All Leinster counties are at a low point with Kildare and Offaly on an upward curve but a long way off the pace in comparison to Munster. Unfortunately I think the silverware looks lightly to cross the Shannon."
Fair enough pal. Was sore enough seeing Reid get the goal at the end, thought he was brutal and that just rubbed salt in the open wounds at that stage! Cian Kenny has developed into a fantastic player but think you need to find a few more before being realistic AI contenders again.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 551 - 27/04/2026 13:57:47    2669223

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbf, when you consider all the lads who technically aren't retired who didn't play a minute on Saturday, I think that if we were to get most of them back involved in the set-up, we'd be an awful lot better

If we can change that, we'll improve"
Just to show that I'm not always of the same mindset as you!

Think it's a bit simplistic to assume that county champions should have more on the county team, or that if they don't, that it's a sign that a lot of the best hurlers in the county haven't committed to actually play for the county. Look at the other sides last weekend:
Kilkenny - 2025 champions Balllyhale - three on starting team
Dublin - 2025 champions Na Fianna - one on starting team
Galway - 2025 champions Loughrea - none at all on starting team

Kildare are the outlier with eight from Naas, but that's primarily to how Naas are generally so much stronger than the rest there, and how they've a relatively small number of clubs compared to the other counties anyway.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3545 - 27/04/2026 14:00:59    2669226

Shane reck broke his thumb at the weekend

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1205 - 27/04/2026 14:05:56    2669230