Wexford Hurling Thread

Interested to see our match day 26 when it's announced tonight or in the morning . Will be interesting to see if Simon Donohoe , Cian Molloy and Darren Codd are included and who drops out . I would expect as always 1 or 2 changes before throw in to the starting 15 also .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 990 - 23/04/2026 14:09:52    2668127

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Interested to see our match day 26 when it's announced tonight or in the morning . Will be interesting to see if Simon Donohoe , Cian Molloy and Darren Codd are included and who drops out . I would expect as always 1 or 2 changes before throw in to the starting 15 also ."
Imagine it wont be named til late Friday night at the earliest

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19309 - 23/04/2026 14:17:03    2668129

Replying To Viking66:  "Imagine it wont be named til late Friday night at the earliest"
I think normally for Saturday games its normally Thursday evening or Friday morning team news comes through

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 990 - 23/04/2026 14:27:45    2668137

Replying To Viking66:  "Imagine it wont be named til late Friday night at the earliest"
Yeah, it's always late the night before for some reason

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 667 - 23/04/2026 14:50:57    2668142

Replying To Viking66:  "Back in his day there were maybe only 3 or 4 underage games a year in Wexford"
True. I reckon Cleary's about ten years older than me, but even when I was playing underage in the 1980s, there were times we got as few as two matches per year in either hurling or football. Particularly from U12 up to U16.

It was all run on a District basis, and we were always one of either three or four clubs in our District to be put into Premier. You'd play the other clubs in group games, then the top two would play a District Final. Thing is, one of the other clubs was particularly strong at the time, and won every District Final going.

The most we ever got in either code was four matches, if there were four teams in the group and we came second before losing the District Final. Some years we only got two, if there were just three teams in the group and we finished third.

So, we used to go off to hurl in other places too, like Carnew, St. Mullin's, The Rower/Inistioge, and Glenmore. One of the men over the team had spent a lot of time living and working in Bray, so Bray Emmetts was another regular spot. And once, we even went on an overnight trip to play a team in Cork, staying with host families from the other club in a way that wouldn't be allowed now due to Garda vetting requirements, etc.

Anyway, enough reminiscing. Let's just say that while some things have changed quite a bit, others haven't changed much at all.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3533 - 23/04/2026 15:12:52    2668145

Here's one for ye….

Who was the last Craanford player to hurl Senior for Wexford?

I honestly don't know but Ryan Doran last night for me thinking

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 23/04/2026 15:17:37    2668148

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I think normally for Saturday games its normally Thursday evening or Friday morning team news comes through"
Hasn't been the case so far this year

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19309 - 23/04/2026 15:51:21    2668158

Replying To Pikeman96:  "True. I reckon Cleary's about ten years older than me, but even when I was playing underage in the 1980s, there were times we got as few as two matches per year in either hurling or football. Particularly from U12 up to U16.

It was all run on a District basis, and we were always one of either three or four clubs in our District to be put into Premier. You'd play the other clubs in group games, then the top two would play a District Final. Thing is, one of the other clubs was particularly strong at the time, and won every District Final going.

The most we ever got in either code was four matches, if there were four teams in the group and we came second before losing the District Final. Some years we only got two, if there were just three teams in the group and we finished third.

So, we used to go off to hurl in other places too, like Carnew, St. Mullin's, The Rower/Inistioge, and Glenmore. One of the men over the team had spent a lot of time living and working in Bray, so Bray Emmetts was another regular spot. And once, we even went on an overnight trip to play a team in Cork, staying with host families from the other club in a way that wouldn't be allowed now due to Garda vetting requirements, etc.

Anyway, enough reminiscing. Let's just say that while some things have changed quite a bit, others haven't changed much at all."
Remember those days well . Can u imagine the lodgitics of a team manager trying to get lads notice of those games .
No what's app,
very few phones
Word of mouth and driving round giving notices out .
That was in town back then . I do remember notices going in through letter box hand delivered.
Checking local paper for fixtures
Backvthen there Were reports on local paper on lots of matches inc underage you be rushing home aftrr school to see did u get a mention for plying well . If yiu didn't yiu were disappointed and if you did you were 10ft tall . Innocent times . Not enough games but you did work hard for the few you got . And looked forward to them we were lucky enough to win a few Premier titles back in the day . Still hold cherished memories maybe its rose tinted glasses but they are my memories and hold them dearly. They were my all irelands I m still friendly with loads of those lads that are still around.

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 580 - 23/04/2026 16:06:15    2668161

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Here's one for ye….

I honestly don't know but Ryan Doran last night for me thinking"
That is some question.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 979 - 23/04/2026 16:10:50    2668163

Im going to Wexford games for 25 years and dont remember a player from Craanford even playing a league game. Fair play to them they have 2 on the u20 panel now and Ryan Doran looks like a great prospect

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 990 - 23/04/2026 16:25:00    2668167

Replying To countyman2022:  "That is some question."
I'm going through the clubs and thinking who was their last senior hurler

Other ones I'm struggling on are Marshalstown, OLI, St Fintan's, Kilmore, and Gusserane

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 23/04/2026 16:27:30    2668169

Replying To Viking66:  "Hasn't been the case so far this year"
I think it's different for Championship, have to have the team named before 11AM on the Friday of the game

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 23/04/2026 16:29:19    2668170

Replying To Pikeman96:  "True. I reckon Cleary's about ten years older than me, but even when I was playing underage in the 1980s, there were times we got as few as two matches per year in either hurling or football. Particularly from U12 up to U16.

Anyway, enough reminiscing. Let's just say that while some things have changed quite a bit, others haven't changed much at all."
He was also on about using districts rather than development squads, not sure I agree with his arguments in full but there was some merit to them, advantage of district teams was that you expanded the fishing net, think a more modern approach would be to have the Districts playing each other in trials all through winter and early spring and then having 72 (Three teams) in development squads rather than 48 (Two teams)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 23/04/2026 16:31:32    2668172

U20s away to Laois at 2PM on the Bank Holiday Monday per Leinster GAA

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 23/04/2026 16:41:35    2668176

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I think it's different for Championship, have to have the team named before 11AM on the Friday of the game"
Yes I think the team was named at that time last week

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 990 - 23/04/2026 16:46:15    2668179

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'm going through the clubs and thinking who was their last senior hurler

Other ones I'm struggling on are Marshalstown, OLI, St Fintan's, Kilmore, and Gusserane"
Mitch Jordan. Legend.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4463 - 23/04/2026 18:03:36    2668192

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'm going through the clubs and thinking who was their last senior hurler

Other ones I'm struggling on are Marshalstown, OLI, St Fintan's, Kilmore, and Gusserane"
Marshalstown is probably Mitch Jordan

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 354 - 23/04/2026 18:22:25    2668196

Was it a lad called Luke Finn back in the 80's/90's?

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 23/04/2026 18:32:29    2668198

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "He was also on about using districts rather than development squads, not sure I agree with his arguments in full but there was some merit to them, advantage of district teams was that you expanded the fishing net, think a more modern approach would be to have the Districts playing each other in trials all through winter and early spring and then having 72 (Three teams) in development squads rather than 48 (Two teams)"
We have District (ish) squads at u14 this year. 4 groups of 30 lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19309 - 23/04/2026 18:37:25    2668199

Lukie Finn is the one I remember, but that's a while back

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 239 - 23/04/2026 19:11:31    2668207