I had to laugh at some of the response to not having games the weekend of EP. Its a great idea.
The current structure is week on week, the demand on players unbelievable. Especially given the fact most players will be dual, so essentially they are dedicating every weeekend from the first weekend in July to at least mid September. And you thinking giving one week off for lads to potentially go and enjoy themselves for a weekend makes a joke of the championship? We've alot bigger issues going on rather than giving a weekend off.
To me its badly needed, whether it's the weekend of EP or not, it gives lads a chance to recover and try get over a knocks heading into the business end of championship.
JT22 (Wexford) - Posts: 52 - 08/07/2025 14:43:22
@formertownie & JT22 -
I've no objection to having a free weekend or two or maybe even three during championship. I'm just not sure it's reasonable that one of them has to be EP weekend.
Say that next year, our championships start a week later than this year (because our senior hurlers reach the All-Ireland quarter-final again). There'd be no Fleadh here, so we'd have that as a free weekend, and say clubs vote to get rid of the extra round in hurling, so we'd have another.
Also say we have 18 calendar weeks to run what would be 16-round championships (eight hurling, eight football). To me, logical thing would be something like: - Play weeks 1 to 6 - Free weekend 7 - Play weeks 8 to 13 (i.e. finish the groups & play the quarter-finals in both codes) - Free weekend 14 - Semi-finals and Finals in both codes across weekends 15 to 18
But if EP falls on say weekend 10 or 11, it would throw all that out. You'd be playing maybe the first 10 weeks in a row anyway, instead of having a break after six, just so a probably fairly small minority can go on the lash.
I'll say one thing for EP - they've done some job with marketing if they've convinced so many young lads that it's unmissable. Maybe this is a very naive question from somebody of an older generation, but what's wrong with the other music festivals that take place before club championships start at all?
And @formertownie - in fairness, you're not comparing like with like as regards volunteers/Fleadh and players/EP. The volunteers are still giving up their own time to help run things for the enjoyment of others. But being blunt about it, players wanting to go to EP are thinking only of themselves.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2970 - 08/07/2025 16:22:50
Replying To Pikeman96: "@formertownie & JT22 -
I've no objection to having a free weekend or two or maybe even three during championship. I'm just not sure it's reasonable that one of them has to be EP weekend.
Say that next year, our championships start a week later than this year (because our senior hurlers reach the All-Ireland quarter-final again). There'd be no Fleadh here, so we'd have that as a free weekend, and say clubs vote to get rid of the extra round in hurling, so we'd have another.
Also say we have 18 calendar weeks to run what would be 16-round championships (eight hurling, eight football). To me, logical thing would be something like: - Play weeks 1 to 6 - Free weekend 7 - Play weeks 8 to 13 (i.e. finish the groups & play the quarter-finals in both codes) - Free weekend 14 - Semi-finals and Finals in both codes across weekends 15 to 18
But if EP falls on say weekend 10 or 11, it would throw all that out. You'd be playing maybe the first 10 weeks in a row anyway, instead of having a break after six, just so a probably fairly small minority can go on the lash.
I'll say one thing for EP - they've done some job with marketing if they've convinced so many young lads that it's unmissable. Maybe this is a very naive question from somebody of an older generation, but what's wrong with the other music festivals that take place before club championships start at all?
And @formertownie - in fairness, you're not comparing like with like as regards volunteers/Fleadh and players/EP. The volunteers are still giving up their own time to help run things for the enjoyment of others. But being blunt about it, players wanting to go to EP are thinking only of themselves." Yeah I think its pandering to the minority really.
I'm all for young lads being allowed enjoy themselves every so often, and wouldn't begrudge anyone wanting to skip a match for whatever reason. In fact, I have noticed that clubs are perhaps a bit more lax in letting chaps go off on holiday more now than even a couple of years ago.
But it shouldn't be specifically built into the schedule as a free weekend. I'm sure there are examples of players who booked their own wedding day for a date that doesn't clash with a game that is now thrown up in the air. Festivals are over-hyped anyway.
They'll be freeing up the calender to accommodate Oasis next.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 08/07/2025 17:22:53
Its the right thing to do to take a break for the weekend of Electric Picnic. Were none of you ever young lads, I would be certain many of you would have been raging if in the 1990's there was lots of matches on the weekend of Feile and no matter what year you went it was "but we're playing Oulart on Saturday". If young lads can't just plan 1 weekend off from GAA then its a bad thing. I also think, all the talk about split season and players wanting it etc is missing a beat. Players wanted a certain calendar, I think many would like proper matches in April-May-June and not just some rushed 18 week non-stop calendar with no break and no time to get an injury. No less than Cyril Farrell or somebody of that stature was recently saying on a podcast somewhere that there needs to be club weeks in the inter county calendar, for supporters and fringe players especially. It just seems like no one is ever happy, the traditionalists don't want AI final in July, there's complaints about a weekend free for Electric Picnic. And the same people complaining would complain about a young man saying "grand so, **** the lot of you I'll go do something else with my time". Is that the best outcome?
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1427 - 08/07/2025 17:48:23
@pikeman96 absolutely spot on.
I've no issue with having breaks throughout the championship. In fact I'd personally be in favour of less games with something actually riding on those games and more breaks.
But I 100% agree that those breaks should be based around what best for everyone not just the minority that want an excuse not to have to make a decision or have that hard conversation all because they want to have a session in a field in Laois.
And what's more holding back a weeks grace for the unpredicted events that can tend to crop up or replays of finals is of far more benefit to everyone, not just the few.
Absolutely all for breaks but breaks that suit the majority or suit the structure of our championship not dictated by a weekend on the booze and this is nothing against EP, I've done it myself and loads of others, in fact only back from one yesterday.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1532 - 08/07/2025 18:16:08
Replying To Pikeman96: "@formertownie & JT22 -
And @formertownie - in fairness, you're not comparing like with like as regards volunteers/Fleadh and players/EP. The volunteers are still giving up their own time to help run things for the enjoyment of others. But being blunt about it, players wanting to go to EP are thinking only of themselves." I disagree about the Fleadh as its become. It's not a music festival any more, and it's certainly not free. It's a commercial exercise designed to bleed the maximum amount of money out of people, especially parents. I spend countless hours a week doing voluntary stuff, every week since I was a teenager, but I draw the line at being used so that other people can line their own pockets. As regards EP we have 11 players going, so it's a very significant minority. All these lads are playing championship football and hurling week in and week out at this time of year, and being some of the younger members most of these were most of the lads at training on cold nights in February. I certainly don't see the problem giving them a week off tbh. As regards more serious lads with designs on playing intercounty there's nothing stopping them putting in the time addressing whatever their weaknesses are instead for the weekend.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 08/07/2025 18:41:11
Replying To beano: " Replying To Pikeman96: "@formertownie & JT22 -
And @formertownie - in fairness, you're not comparing like with like as regards volunteers/Fleadh and players/EP. The volunteers are still giving up their own time to help run things for the enjoyment of others. But being blunt about it, players wanting to go to EP are thinking only of themselves." Yeah I think its pandering to the minority really. I'm all for young lads being allowed enjoy themselves every so often, and wouldn't begrudge anyone wanting to skip a match for whatever reason. In fact, I have noticed that clubs are perhaps a bit more lax in letting chaps go off on holiday more now than even a couple of years ago. But it shouldn't be specifically built into the schedule as a free weekend. I'm sure there are examples of players who booked their own wedding day for a date that doesn't clash with a game that is now thrown up in the air. Festivals are over-hyped anyway. They'll be freeing up the calender to accommodate Oasis next." If it was just an odd lad wanting to go I'd agree Beano. But it's 11 lads from our club. And as regards planning weddings or whatever that only applies to one code players, of whom there are probably less in the county than lads going to EP.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 08/07/2025 18:43:38
Replying To Viking66: " Replying To Pikeman96: "@formertownie & JT22 -
And @formertownie - in fairness, you're not comparing like with like as regards volunteers/Fleadh and players/EP. The volunteers are still giving up their own time to help run things for the enjoyment of others. But being blunt about it, players wanting to go to EP are thinking only of themselves." I disagree about the Fleadh as its become. It's not a music festival any more, and it's certainly not free. It's a commercial exercise designed to bleed the maximum amount of money out of people, especially parents. I spend countless hours a week doing voluntary stuff, every week since I was a teenager, but I draw the line at being used so that other people can line their own pockets. As regards EP we have 11 players going, so it's a very significant minority. All these lads are playing championship football and hurling week in and week out at this time of year, and being some of the younger members most of these were most of the lads at training on cold nights in February. I certainly don't see the problem giving them a week off tbh. As regards more serious lads with designs on playing intercounty there's nothing stopping them putting in the time addressing whatever their weaknesses are instead for the weekend." I would say many more might go if they knew in advance it was a free weekend. Or do something else instead. A free weekend that everyone enjoys not just the players. Never underestimate the effect a good enjoyable break away from the constant pressure will bring . It may just light the spark of the championship on resumption. We forget if we dont have the players or volunteers we have nothing . And including myself on this get worn out between coaching mentoring and attending games . A weekend or 2 off during adult campaign would be nice to recharge. Ask the players themselves if any on here which weekend they would like off. I m sure the highest percentage would be for EP . We have to listen to them . How many of us on here would get burnt out or worn out if we worked 2 separate jobs 11 weeks in a row without a weekend off and still held down our day job so to speak .
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 379 - 08/07/2025 22:20:43
If you want to give players one week break, would it not make more sense to play one round of Championship across two weeks?
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 600 - 09/07/2025 13:03:57
Yes, EP would be the most popular weekend break by a mile. It was a constant source of arguments a few years ago in our club and others. One manager told us "sure, go to EP and sure enjoy the rest of your summer while you are there....." and he had to take it back when he found that the lads went ahead and 6-7 of the starting 15 didn't show for training on Tuesday. He thought his threat of dropping those going would work, but he had to eat humble pie on the Wednesday after it.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1895 - 09/07/2025 13:05:07
Replying To StoreysTash: "Yes, EP would be the most popular weekend break by a mile. It was a constant source of arguments a few years ago in our club and others. One manager told us "sure, go to EP and sure enjoy the rest of your summer while you are there....." and he had to take it back when he found that the lads went ahead and 6-7 of the starting 15 didn't show for training on Tuesday. He thought his threat of dropping those going would work, but he had to eat humble pie on the Wednesday after it." Did he still seek his training expenses . Realistically though this is going to happen more and more especially with journeyman coaches trying to dictate how lads live their lives whilst they get the expenses znd move on the following year loyalty comes from within not from being told to be fully committed from a mercenary . . Times have changed young lads dont have the same gra or loyalty . Looking back i feel I missed out on a lot that I would nt like ny own lads to miss out on . There has to be a balance somewhere wont suit everyone but compromise is the key . Play the games and enjoy them dont let it be a burden or make ur sporting life unsustainable . .yes there has to be sacrifice but nit to the point where u wants to pack it all in .
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 379 - 09/07/2025 22:27:26
Hey folks, long time follower here. It's usually great before and after a round of Championship to get some insight to what's going…..Electric Picnic seems to have taken over this week. Was anyone at any actual matches as weekend? Thoughts?
WexTail (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 10/07/2025 09:10:11
Replying To Formertownie: "Did he still seek his training expenses . Realistically though this is going to happen more and more especially with journeyman coaches trying to dictate how lads live their lives whilst they get the expenses znd move on the following year loyalty comes from within not from being told to be fully committed from a mercenary . . Times have changed young lads dont have the same gra or loyalty . Looking back i feel I missed out on a lot that I would nt like ny own lads to miss out on . There has to be a balance somewhere wont suit everyone but compromise is the key . Play the games and enjoy them dont let it be a burden or make ur sporting life unsustainable . .yes there has to be sacrifice but nit to the point where u wants to pack it all in ." No offence but if a player wants to pack it all in cos he's missing EP then that's on the player and to be quite frank if that's his attitude then he's not a player I'd personally be relying on.
Likewise if a manager is dictating that lads are finished and not playing again because they want to go to EP then that's on the manager and the club for allowing that situation.
That stuff particularly the managerial overreach needs to be rooted out not pandered to, basically rather than deal with the real issue at hand people seem happy to not face that down in clubs rather push for everyone else to sort for them. I don't get that.
My approach as coach and manager has always been to let me know if you're away ASAP be it EP or whatever and you've obviously lost your place and will have to fight to get it back, if your replacement performs then the jerseys his. No ultimatums, no demands.
I can't understand the other approaches I've heard from coaches or understand why ckubs allow it and why people simply want to appease it rather than having it stamped out. If young fellas want to go then go but accept responsibility for the decision. I've huge respect for the chaps that have in the past come to me and had that conversation, it's character building in many ways.
And the last thing for me is yes there absolutely should be breaks, in fact the more the better imho but breaks that suit everyone. Not just the players who want to go to EP. Breaks that suits our championships first and everyone else, managers, coaches, wexford park staff, administrative staff, referees, physios and the hundreds of volunteers up and down the county who give up their time to ensure these championships go ahead. There's more at play than the players.
I've been the player and I've been the coach and I can tell you straight off I've put in far more time as coach on championship week than I ever did as a player, way way more time.
But first thing is to change the ridiculous hurling championship structure we have that's actually lessened competitiveness and availability for breaks, it's actually bonkers when you think about it.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1532 - 10/07/2025 09:25:33
Very conflicted by the EP debate.
We are constantly saying that as a hurling county we lack the seriousness of a true top tier county and are too happy to 'be there' and as a result we've way off the pace. Within the county panel this seems to manifest if we listen to Des Mythen. This EP 'break' would surely raise legitimate questions on this front. Add to this, we have upended the intercounty season, cosigned 100 years of tradition including the September All Ireland finals for the stated benefit of club players and yet this seems to now not be enough.
We, crazily, play our county finals a week after the semi finals, leaving no time for a real buzz to build, flags to go up etc, all due the lack of time in calendar and yet now we find a week for a music festival in Laois.
We have to live in the real world I know and I'm guessing many panels would be decimated that weekend but we have to be clear sighted and reflect on this decision and the culture that underpins it.
wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 121 - 10/07/2025 09:58:32
Replying To wexford2012: "Very conflicted by the EP debate.
We are constantly saying that as a hurling county we lack the seriousness of a true top tier county and are too happy to 'be there' and as a result we've way off the pace. Within the county panel this seems to manifest if we listen to Des Mythen. This EP 'break' would surely raise legitimate questions on this front. Add to this, we have upended the intercounty season, cosigned 100 years of tradition including the September All Ireland finals for the stated benefit of club players and yet this seems to now not be enough.
We, crazily, play our county finals a week after the semi finals, leaving no time for a real buzz to build, flags to go up etc, all due the lack of time in calendar and yet now we find a week for a music festival in Laois.
We have to live in the real world I know and I'm guessing many panels would be decimated that weekend but we have to be clear sighted and reflect on this decision and the culture that underpins it." I agree it's a compromise that has to be reached. What has to be borne in mind is that most players at clubs further down the pyramid don't have the aspirations of playing intercounty, or winning Senior titles. Or even being a Senior Club at all, mostly because they dont have the pool of players to reach that goal in the first place. If many of these lads want to go to EP then alot of Junior B players would have to play that weekend to replace them. These lads are then going to miss the rest of the season as they can't go back playing Junior B. And the clubs concerned then can't field Junior B teams either. Which means older lads who want to keep playing at some level for the craic and fitness won't get a game either. So we end up with the situation that we have less people playing Hurling and/or Football rather than more.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 10/07/2025 10:53:32
Replying To tearintom: "No offence but if a player wants to pack it all in cos he's missing EP then that's on the player and to be quite frank if that's his attitude then he's not a player I'd personally be relying on.
Likewise if a manager is dictating that lads are finished and not playing again because they want to go to EP then that's on the manager and the club for allowing that situation.
That stuff particularly the managerial overreach needs to be rooted out not pandered to, basically rather than deal with the real issue at hand people seem happy to not face that down in clubs rather push for everyone else to sort for them. I don't get that.
My approach as coach and manager has always been to let me know if you're away ASAP be it EP or whatever and you've obviously lost your place and will have to fight to get it back, if your replacement performs then the jerseys his. No ultimatums, no demands.
I can't understand the other approaches I've heard from coaches or understand why ckubs allow it and why people simply want to appease it rather than having it stamped out. If young fellas want to go then go but accept responsibility for the decision. I've huge respect for the chaps that have in the past come to me and had that conversation, it's character building in many ways.
And the last thing for me is yes there absolutely should be breaks, in fact the more the better imho but breaks that suit everyone. Not just the players who want to go to EP. Breaks that suits our championships first and everyone else, managers, coaches, wexford park staff, administrative staff, referees, physios and the hundreds of volunteers up and down the county who give up their time to ensure these championships go ahead. There's more at play than the players.
I've been the player and I've been the coach and I can tell you straight off I've put in far more time as coach on championship week than I ever did as a player, way way more time.
But first thing is to change the ridiculous hurling championship structure we have that's actually lessened competitiveness and availability for breaks, it's actually bonkers when you think about it." Excellent post, we hear about the 'sacrifice' players make all the time and I've some sympathy with this but players also get so much back from clubs too, there are many rewards (tangible and intangible). While coaches, club officers, people who line pitches etc get look for little and get even less credit at times.
wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 121 - 10/07/2025 11:11:10
Replying To wexford2012: "Excellent post, we hear about the 'sacrifice' players make all the time and I've some sympathy with this but players also get so much back from clubs too, there are many rewards (tangible and intangible). While coaches, club officers, people who line pitches etc get look for little and get even less credit at times." Agree about coaches, especially underage, and groundspeople. But I do think good club officers are far more appreciated than some of them think themselves, I know we have had, and still have, excellent people on our Executive. As regards rewards the main reward for everyone is the club being healthy on and off the pitch as time goes on, and new generations come up from u6. I don't really see that there can be a better reward for volunteering to help out. It's not about money or benefits, otherwise that defeats the whole point of volunteering in the first place.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 10/07/2025 12:00:06
Viking you ve hit on one of the biggest problems not allowing free weekemd for EP 2 seniors decide to go 2 go up can't play 2nd team again 5 2nd team go 7 from 3rd team have to play up Leaving 3rd team struggling no 3rd team would have the player pool to withstand that amount taken out of equation . Been involved where this has happened and 3rd team could nt field team leaving maybe 10 without any hurling for rest of the year I ve no interest in EP but I m savvy enough to kniw what the right thing is to do . Not just for the players but fir the greater good of championship. We d be fairly niave to think by denying them the opportunity to go will help the standard of hurling or football. And improve the numbers playing it is actually detrimental . On the des mythen saying are we serious .maybe he should look at why there is 5 week break from 4th to 5th round . Hurling first as they wanted get 4 games in before fleadh . Let football have next 2 weeks after fleadh lads be dying aftr fleadh . Anyone that was at fleadh will know every team in the county had lads drinking it out fjr the week they had a ball more power to them . Could nt hurl after that . Let football have the next 2weeks . Now theres the break for Ep . There was never going to be a case when hurling clashed with EP . U can tell me I m wrong about the above but our championship is set up to promote hurling first . Pity they ****** it up with new format. The hurling advisory committee have too many egos to admit that got it badly wrong what works for kilkenny does nt fit our needs . Come up with a wexford model that suits wexford if they think they know best . Of course without banning gaelic football first . .
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 379 - 10/07/2025 14:35:00
The best break weekend is the one which causes the most consternation in clubs. This is the weekend of EP from what I hear in my club. End of debate.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2025 23:21:57
Replying To StoreysTash: "Yes, EP would be the most popular weekend break by a mile. It was a constant source of arguments a few years ago in our club and others. One manager told us "sure, go to EP and sure enjoy the rest of your summer while you are there....." and he had to take it back when he found that the lads went ahead and 6-7 of the starting 15 didn't show for training on Tuesday. He thought his threat of dropping those going would work, but he had to eat humble pie on the Wednesday after it." So club players want a fixed calendar, fine. But not if it clashes with EP or the Fleadh, what's next? Maybe senior club players need to make some sacrifices too if standards are to improve.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 11/07/2025 01:17:38