Replying To Pikeman96: "Occurs to me that with two rounds played, we're now at the stage where in a proper championship you'd be saying things like "so-and-so are already in trouble" or "the next match really is crucial for whoever".
But in this system we're stuck with, teams still have more than two months to try get things right before the serious business starts. Preliminary quarter-finals will be September 13th & 14th.
Even if I was Ferns, Oulart-The Ballagh or the Rapps (all pointless so far), I still wouldn't be hugely concerned, as I think all three are capable of better and still have plenty of time to improve.
As for Crossabeg/Ballymurn (the other pointless team) - I'd expect them to struggle all right, in any system." Seems no one agrees with this format it's such a simple fix. 2 groups 6 teams, top 4 from each group into Quarter Final, bottom 2 into relegation semi final. This format is not allowing for any upsets. Look at Cloughbawn last year won 2 or 3 games and got relegated where they should have been in a Quarter Final. Championship is Championship and teams should be ready to go straight away not have 2 months to move through the gears.
Graham915oc (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 06/07/2025 11:25:24
Replying To WexfordWarrior: "You were saying?" Stand over what I said still think when it comes down to it they have good forwards but very poor backs and will be found out!!! Doing well now though fair play to them
theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 06/07/2025 11:31:33
Replying To Graham915oc: "Seems no one agrees with this format it's such a simple fix. 2 groups 6 teams, top 4 from each group into Quarter Final, bottom 2 into relegation semi final. This format is not allowing for any upsets. Look at Cloughbawn last year won 2 or 3 games and got relegated where they should have been in a Quarter Final. Championship is Championship and teams should be ready to go straight away not have 2 months to move through the gears." I did like the Oulart proposal last year, bottom team to relegation, 1st to 3rd into quarters, preliminary for 4 to 5th and 6th to relegation. But have to agree no jeopardy, said I would give the format last year to see how it works but it was poor. Whether it's top 4 or 5, has to be some sort of form for doing well or poor in the league.
alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 493 - 06/07/2025 15:30:47
The harriers Oulart game last night was very poor. Watched online. Harriers will need to improve a lot if they are to make any headway in this championship. Oulart while poor, I'd expect them to improve and I would think they would be better than Ballymurn which seems to be the weakest team so far.
alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 493 - 06/07/2025 15:33:01
Replying To Graham915oc: "Seems no one agrees with this format it's such a simple fix. 2 groups 6 teams, top 4 from each group into Quarter Final, bottom 2 into relegation semi final. This format is not allowing for any upsets. Look at Cloughbawn last year won 2 or 3 games and got relegated where they should have been in a Quarter Final. Championship is Championship and teams should be ready to go straight away not have 2 months to move through the gears." It's largely caused by clubs sending in delegates to the relevant meeting without having properly considered it in advance, and deciding how they'd vote. Then those delegates are swayed by a passionate talk by somebody like Adrian Fenlon of the Hurling Development Committee, and when the time comes for a show of hands vote, they're reluctant to vote against it.
What surprised me was that the top table (which I think has 16 or 18 votes) all voted against it the first year, but then voted for it this year. One of them told me it was because they'd decided between themselves that anything new should be given at least two years before being changed again. If they decide next year that all their 16 or 18 votes should be against it, that might bring about the end of it all right.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2970 - 06/07/2025 15:47:23
Replying To alwaysasub: "The harriers Oulart game last night was very poor. Watched online. Harriers will need to improve a lot if they are to make any headway in this championship. Oulart while poor, I'd expect them to improve and I would think they would be better than Ballymurn which seems to be the weakest team so far." Yea I'd agree the oulart v harriers match was brutal really,I watched it on clubber and it looked to be a really flat game,no intensity in it,thought the harriers probably just did enough really to win it with chin getting a few scores to get them over the line,I would have said the harriers had a chance but on there first 2 appearances like oulart and crossabeg and barntown and rapps ferns they seem to be struggling!!!though Simon Roche was good Billy dunne played well!! Anthony Roche did a ok job on chin even though he's always goin to score!! For harriers cassin wing back,Richie kehoe brilliant in second half,chin good in second half!!! Both teams need to produce more if they are goin in the mix!!!all the games so far have been poor and it must due to the nature of the championship!!! I don't think it's goin to stay goin forward
theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 06/07/2025 16:25:20
I think the old format will come back and while I think it would be a big improvement on what we have now, I still think we can do better
IMO, 1st in each group should go straight to the SFs, 2nd should play 3rd in the other group, 4th and 5th are done for the year, and 6th plays off in the relegation final
You play five group games in the Championship which is more than enough, no-one should be entitled to a knockout game, having fewer teams advance should mean that there's more cut and thrust to the championship, would also be a big enough incentive to come 1st as you'd go straight through to the SFs and could rest up a little bit
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 600 - 06/07/2025 18:36:34
Replying To ElGranSenor: "I think the old format will come back and while I think it would be a big improvement on what we have now, I still think we can do better
IMO, 1st in each group should go straight to the SFs, 2nd should play 3rd in the other group, 4th and 5th are done for the year, and 6th plays off in the relegation final
You play five group games in the Championship which is more than enough, no-one should be entitled to a knockout game, having fewer teams advance should mean that there's more cut and thrust to the championship, would also be a big enough incentive to come 1st as you'd go straight through to the SFs and could rest up a little bit" I think that might be too much of a change. How about 1st 2nd and 3rd in each group qualify. 4th play 5th to qualify. 6th into relegation final. 1st seed play the winners of the 4th v 5th match. 2nd play the opposite 3rd.
Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 207 - 06/07/2025 21:10:36
Replying To Paull: "I think that might be too much of a change. How about 1st 2nd and 3rd in each group qualify. 4th play 5th to qualify. 6th into relegation final. 1st seed play the winners of the 4th v 5th match. 2nd play the opposite 3rd." I still think there are too many games. 4 groups of 3 or 4 would be preferable. But if we have to stick with 2 groups of 6 then I think the idea posted earlier would be the best, top 4 into QFs, bottom 2 into relegation SFs.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 06/07/2025 21:30:49
Replying To Viking66: "I still think there are too many games. 4 groups of 3 or 4 would be preferable. But if we have to stick with 2 groups of 6 then I think the idea posted earlier would be the best, top 4 into QFs, bottom 2 into relegation SFs." I did like the old format a number of years ago when there were groups of 4. At least there was a bit of novality in who you were drawn with in the group and weren't playing the same teams every year. You could have top 2 teams in each group into quarters with two best 3rd placed teams. That would mean 4 teams would be gone and keep groups competitive until the last round with maybe 3rd getting through. Also the four teams knocked out into relegation semis. So four games at least for everyone and also allows for free weekends etc.
alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 493 - 06/07/2025 22:13:32
I've attended quite a few games for the first 2 rounds - senior / intermediate / junior and to be honest the standard on show is poor. Yes we can blame the current format but I think the standard of our club championship has been poor for the last 5-6 years.
For me a lot of it is caused by outside managers trying to justify their fees - junior teams trying to play a short game or a sweeper and never once practiced it in training. Our basic defending is missing, hooking blocking. As soon as a forward gets a ball now he is usually fouled by a tug or drag back when 90% of the time they have no hope of scoring.
As a matter of interest is there any current player here on this forum that has been involved in the senior championship this season .. or anyone that has won a senior championship .. be interested to hear your thoughts
MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 206 - 07/07/2025 09:54:11
Replying To alwaysasub: "I did like the old format a number of years ago when there were groups of 4. At least there was a bit of novality in who you were drawn with in the group and weren't playing the same teams every year. You could have top 2 teams in each group into quarters with two best 3rd placed teams. That would mean 4 teams would be gone and keep groups competitive until the last round with maybe 3rd getting through. Also the four teams knocked out into relegation semis. So four games at least for everyone and also allows for free weekends etc." That would be my preferred option too
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 07/07/2025 10:21:48
Our entire set up is akin to an adult version of go games in all honesty.
No jeopardy, no pressure sure just hurl away boys and have a go for a few months.
Take a week off there for the fleadh aswell boys sure can't have ye missing that (although to be fair i think thats more and administrative reason) and there's session in a field in Laois there aswell, heaven forbid ye might have to take a bit of responsibility and make a tough decision or two. Sure it's grand lads go off an take your holidays, I know we changed the entire gaa calendar and threw out over 100 years of tradition so ye could know when to take a holiday but head off anyway in the middle of championship for your holidays.
We must have one of the softest touch championship set ups in the country and as the saying goes "soft times breed weak men"
We have basically developed a club culture around excuses, comfort and a lack of jeopardy, then wonder why we struggle as a county when the pressure comes on. We're breeding it.
We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1532 - 07/07/2025 11:03:07
Replying To tearintom: "Our entire set up is akin to an adult version of go games in all honesty.
No jeopardy, no pressure sure just hurl away boys and have a go for a few months.
Take a week off there for the fleadh aswell boys sure can't have ye missing that (although to be fair i think thats more and administrative reason) and there's session in a field in Laois there aswell, heaven forbid ye might have to take a bit of responsibility and make a tough decision or two. Sure it's grand lads go off an take your holidays, I know we changed the entire gaa calendar and threw out over 100 years of tradition so ye could know when to take a holiday but head off anyway in the middle of championship for your holidays.
We must have one of the softest touch championship set ups in the country and as the saying goes "soft times breed weak men"
We have basically developed a club culture around excuses, comfort and a lack of jeopardy, then wonder why we struggle as a county when the pressure comes on. We're breeding it.
We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs." Well said.
richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 10 - 07/07/2025 12:32:47
Replying To tearintom: "Our entire set up is akin to an adult version of go games in all honesty.
We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs." Fantastic post.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3822 - 07/07/2025 14:09:47
We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs." 100%
YellowShadeOfPurple (Wexford) - Posts: 55 - 07/07/2025 14:19:50
We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs." Absolutely
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 07/07/2025 14:21:23
I'm another who agrees wholeheartedly with tearintom.
In fairness, there are valid reasons for leaving Fleadh weekend free. Some clubs around Wexford town use their grounds as campsites for visitors, so they wouldn't be able to train properly that week. Also, many of the people who normally volunteer at GAA matches (stewards/gate people/etc.) also volunteer at Fleadh, so they obviously couldn't do both things at once.
But I think the EP weekend thing is nonsense. All right, so it can be done this year because the championships started a week earlier than we would have liked. But I reckon it should have been kept "on hold" in case it was needed for a replay of a county final.
We're now in a situation where if a final is level at end of extra time, it'll have to be decided on penalties. Think of the controversy that would cause. But a fitting response would be "well, we'd have had a free weekend for a replay, if lads didn't whinge so much about not being able to go drinking cans in a field in Laois for a couple of days".
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2970 - 08/07/2025 11:05:39
Replying To Pikeman96: "I'm another who agrees wholeheartedly with tearintom.
In fairness, there are valid reasons for leaving Fleadh weekend free. Some clubs around Wexford town use their grounds as campsites for visitors, so they wouldn't be able to train properly that week. Also, many of the people who normally volunteer at GAA matches (stewards/gate people/etc.) also volunteer at Fleadh, so they obviously couldn't do both things at once.
But I think the EP weekend thing is nonsense. All right, so it can be done this year because the championships started a week earlier than we would have liked. But I reckon it should have been kept "on hold" in case it was needed for a replay of a county final.
We're now in a situation where if a final is level at end of extra time, it'll have to be decided on penalties. Think of the controversy that would cause. But a fitting response would be "well, we'd have had a free weekend for a replay, if lads didn't whinge so much about not being able to go drinking cans in a field in Laois for a couple of days"." Not having go at you pikeman as I kniw you have string views on different things . But I think its a good call on the EP weekend . Lads can now go and not cause anxiety to themselves or team mentors for anyone going and for everyone else its a chance to take stock and rest the bones inc the volunteers, mentors etc Next year take out the extra hurling game . No fleadh and potentially have 2 to 3 free weekends which I think is a great chance to re evaluate teams for injuries etc and give everyone a rest . And if any teams wanted to postpone a game with both agreeing could take pressure off if weddings etc . And play the free weekends . Right now its too much week on week . If yiu are an 18 yo playing dual you might never get the chance to attend EP until u are in your 30s and retired .. If we keep pushing lads more and more will walk away Why is it ok to give free weekend for fleadh for volunteers but not ok to give free weekend for EP. Are volunteers more important than players . I think both should be treated with respect and given same thought . Would nt it be great to know Lads inc players mentors and volunters can book EP . Holiday etc as they know they won't miss games on specific weekends . Sometimes you have to think outside the box to gain momentum and gain respect by giving respect . Not do as I say
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 379 - 08/07/2025 12:47:17
Whats the crossover with the football championship is it two weeks hurling - two weeks football?
Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 93 - 08/07/2025 12:57:13