Wexford Hurling 2025

What did Doylerwex said that was so ridiculed?
I want my young lads to be the best they can be. I'm not berating them every time they miss a ball or anything but I do tell them things they need to work on, e.g. I can see when my 2nd lad takes his eye off the ball once it hits his hurl he thinks he has it in a match.
Its a huge mistake to not drive your children on once you are not OTT about it.
GAA in Wexford as a whole is all way to "happy clappy" for me. "We're a great dual county, treating both games equally", "nobody should be out after the group stages", "the focus is on enjoyment", "we lost to Laois but as long as we beat the other team its fine". To me this talk is retch inducing. Wexford are really poor at both games, uncompetitive with the top counties in both codes. Matches need to be important and teams need to bust a gut for every match.
The excuses on here after every Wexford loss are all ifs, buts and maybes.
Top level sport is a ruthless amphitheatre and those who work hardest and don't accept second best win nearly all the time. The "happy clappies" get their day now and then. What do Wexford want to be?
GAA needs to be fun up to u12 but it just cannot always be that way. At some point, the focus has to become winning and being the best we as clubs, coaches and players can be and working hard enough, doing everything at a higher level and just not accepting second best.
The post above about Tipp being "a top 3 county" as a retort to it not being a good comparison says it all about the Wexford psyche.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 05/06/2025 20:09:50    2615199

Replying To WEXILE:  "I agree, we have won one Leinster in 21 years.

Repeat that, 1 Leinster in 21 years and we needed Davy voodoo to win that even tho we had an excellent team. Something wrong in the county.

Mind you it could have been worse Dublin only have won won in 62 years or so and most counties some win any"
Not trying to make excuses but it didn't help our cause in Davy's first 2 years anyway in 17 and 18 that Galway reached their peak and were miles ahead of us when it mattered in the championship, blew us away in Croke Park in 17 in the second half, and in the Park the following year.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 05/06/2025 22:05:09    2615218

Replying To countyman2022:  "I wish he was my Dad."
Same.

My old man took zero interest in me or things I was passionate about. The biggest regret of my life is not reaching my own potential in hurling. I really believe with the right intervention and encouragement I might have had a chance at my dream of wearing a Wexford jersey.

My old man only ever discouraged me. If he ever felt I was "getting a big head", he'd say something to cut the knees from under me. Asked him to come to one of my games one time and he said to me after "that was quare boring". Believe it or not I actually followed him into his sport passion and became really successful at it. Always regretted taking a pile of years break from hurling to focus on it but I'd have spent hardly any real time with him if I hadn't.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 05/06/2025 22:53:35    2615224

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "What did Doylerwex said that was so ridiculed?
I want my young lads to be the best they can be. I'm not berating them every time they miss a ball or anything but I do tell them things they need to work on, e.g. I can see when my 2nd lad takes his eye off the ball once it hits his hurl he thinks he has it in a match.
Its a huge mistake to not drive your children on once you are not OTT about it.
GAA in Wexford as a whole is all way to "happy clappy" for me. "We're a great dual county, treating both games equally", "nobody should be out after the group stages", "the focus is on enjoyment", "we lost to Laois but as long as we beat the other team its fine". To me this talk is retch inducing. Wexford are really poor at both games, uncompetitive with the top counties in both codes. Matches need to be important and teams need to bust a gut for every match.
The excuses on here after every Wexford loss are all ifs, buts and maybes.
Top level sport is a ruthless amphitheatre and those who work hardest and don't accept second best win nearly all the time. The "happy clappies" get their day now and then. What do Wexford want to be?
GAA needs to be fun up to u12 but it just cannot always be that way. At some point, the focus has to become winning and being the best we as clubs, coaches and players can be and working hard enough, doing everything at a higher level and just not accepting second best.
The post above about Tipp being "a top 3 county" as a retort to it not being a good comparison says it all about the Wexford psyche."
I think the main reason was that as it read it came accross as the sole purpose of a club is to produce county players capable of winning an all ireland .
If that was the case why don't county boards just cherry pick players thet think are county standard and are not allowed to play with their club ever unless released from the county set up permanently.
County teams could train and play all year round if that's what the general public want .
As could the clubs there would be no crossover, no split season the simplest solution .
If any club feels they are there for that sole purpose they would not have a problem with that .
Put it in a motion to convention see where it goes.
I d say there would not be 1 club in favour, which in my opinion shoots the club purpose is solely to produce all ireland winners out of the sky completely.
The club is for everyone and any county standard players are the bonus we getxas many to the highest level we can through sheer hard work and dedication .

When I say enjoyment is m not talking about fun .
But life is too short to be serious sll the time .
Sometimes the best coaches/sessions have an element of fun from nursery to county
I guarantee you if they enjoy it they ll come back and train better and harder who needs pressure constantly and be dogged day in day out.
I replied to doylerwex re his young lad about not too much pressure on him. I felt a bit ridiculous when he stated he was 18mts old .
I agree we are off the pace and need to seriously look at ourselves as a county with honesty .
Thats not easy to look into your soul and accept we have failed to a degree .
Where do we start , who should lead it , are the egos willing to change direction . How do we change the mindset . The biggest question are we good enough to do so . But I believe we should do everything we can to try .
I think people want more games and are getting confused thinking the best way is to have less jeopardy
In these competitions . It does nt work in my honest opinion . Takes the edge off . Complacency and 2 nd 3rd 4th chances don't work . There has to be a consequence for losing games.
It's more complex than just the championship set up in wexford but yiu could start by changing it to more competition in all games .
We could hold a root and branch review but the people foing it would probably be the ones sailing the ship at present .
Unless we look hard at ourselves and take responsibility for our failings and are willing to change for the good of the game we will continue to linger on the brink of Joe mac until we finally take that drop .
We need someone to put together a plan forbus to progress now dome insider an outsider who can be honest and would know the in and outs of wexford gaa.

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 368 - 06/06/2025 08:49:28    2615244

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Same.

My old man took zero interest in me or things I was passionate about. The biggest regret of my life is not reaching my own potential in hurling. I really believe with the right intervention and encouragement I might have had a chance at my dream of wearing a Wexford jersey.

My old man only ever discouraged me. If he ever felt I was "getting a big head", he'd say something to cut the knees from under me. Asked him to come to one of my games one time and he said to me after "that was quare boring". Believe it or not I actually followed him into his sport passion and became really successful at it. Always regretted taking a pile of years break from hurling to focus on it but I'd have spent hardly any real time with him if I hadn't."
Lot going online this message .
Our dreams are not our kids dreams and unwittingly we can be detrimental to their progress in their choosen path .
Fine line between guidance and pressuring .
the reality of parenthood is we want the best for our children snd know what's right and wrong but we don't know what's right or wrong for them .
Show them the paths which one they take we walk with them .
they should nt walk ours whilst we hold their hand.
My parents took zero interest in my sports but yet still supporred me if that makes sense . too many other siblings to look after. I walked my own path had a level of success but not what it should have been for my reasons/choices only .
Part of today problem is parents micro analysing decisions of theyr children and then coaches running scared of being accused of something that affects their mental health. Not all but they are out there

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 368 - 06/06/2025 09:21:54    2615248

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Same.

My old man only ever discouraged me. If he ever felt I was "getting a big head", he'd say something to cut the knees from under me. Asked him to come to one of my games one time and he said to me after "that was quare boring". Believe it or not I actually followed him into his sport passion and became really successful at it. Always regretted taking a pile of years break from hurling to focus on it but I'd have spent hardly any real time with him if I hadn't."
That's such a sad (maddening) story, for you and for him. If he's still alive, I hope he comes to an awareness of this and has the courage to apologies to you. If not, that's a burden that he's left for you to carry but it was his shortcomings and issues and all you can do is do your utmost, to be different for your children.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 06/06/2025 09:30:24    2615251

Lads this all got very deep.... I only wanted to have a conversation about our collective ambitions for Wexford hurling.

Thanks a million to everyone who shared stories. We're all just doing our best and there are learnings in these conversations.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 06/06/2025 10:09:13    2615259

Replying To Formertownie:  "I think the main reason was that as it read it came accross as the sole purpose of a club is to produce county players capable of winning an all ireland .
If that was the case why don't county boards just cherry pick players thet think are county standard and are not allowed to play with their club ever unless released from the county set up permanently.
County teams could train and play all year round if that's what the general public want .
As could the clubs there would be no crossover, no split season the simplest solution .
If any club feels they are there for that sole purpose they would not have a problem with that .
I d say there would not be 1 club in favour, which in my opinion shoots the club purpose is solely to produce all ireland winners out of the sky completely.
The club is for everyone and any county standard players are the bonus we getxas many to the highest level we can through sheer hard work and dedication .

Sometimes the best coaches/sessions have an element of fun from nursery to county
I guarantee you if they enjoy it they ll come back and train better and harder who needs pressure constantly and be dogged day in day out.
I replied to doylerwex re his young lad about not too much pressure on him. I felt a bit ridiculous when he stated he was 18mts old .
I agree we are off the pace and need to seriously look at ourselves as a county with honesty .
Where do we start , who should lead it , are the egos willing to change direction . How do we change the mindset . The biggest question are we good enough to do so . But I believe we should do everything we can to try .
I think people want more games and are getting confused thinking the best way is to have less jeopardy
In these competitions . It does nt work in my honest opinion . Takes the edge off . Complacency and 2 nd 3rd 4th chances don't work . There has to be a consequence for losing games.
It's more complex than just the championship set up in wexford but yiu could start by changing it to more competition in all games .
We could hold a root and branch review but the people foing it would probably be the ones sailing the ship at present .
Unless we look hard at ourselves and take responsibility for our failings and are willing to change for the good of the game we will continue to linger on the brink of Joe mac until we finally take that drop .
We need someone to put together a plan forbus to progress now dome insider an outsider who can be honest and would know the in and outs of wexford gaa."
Just to be very clear, I never meant sole purpose. There are hundreds of benefits from clubs. I meant their primary purpose is to reach the highest level they can, and my belief is they can do that by reaching for county players like tj, Tony Kelly, sod etc. There's no upper limit to a lads potential, and I think clubs need to actively recognise that.

Progress means many things to many people, but for me anyway, the whole fun of playing was dreaming of what I could achieve and hitting the ball every evening against the wall imagining I was in croke park. I knew dozens of lads doing the same thing.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 06/06/2025 10:14:11    2615261

Replying To Formertownie:  "I think the main reason was that as it read it came accross as the sole purpose of a club is to produce county players capable of winning an all ireland .

We need someone to put together a plan forbus to progress now dome insider an outsider who can be honest and would know the in and outs of wexford gaa."
"I think people want more games and are getting confused thinking the best way is to have less jeopardy"

That's a good line. Maybe we need a preliminary seeding/grading competition each year with smaller groups followed by a smaller group championship set up, rather than so many group games in larger groups.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 06/06/2025 10:19:04    2615263

Replying To Formertownie:  "Lot going online this message .
Our dreams are not our kids dreams and unwittingly we can be detrimental to their progress in their choosen path .
Fine line between guidance and pressuring .
the reality of parenthood is we want the best for our children snd know what's right and wrong but we don't know what's right or wrong for them .
Show them the paths which one they take we walk with them .
they should nt walk ours whilst we hold their hand.
My parents took zero interest in my sports but yet still supporred me if that makes sense . too many other siblings to look after. I walked my own path had a level of success but not what it should have been for my reasons/choices only .
Part of today problem is parents micro analysing decisions of theyr children and then coaches running scared of being accused of something that affects their mental health. Not all but they are out there"
Coaching and getting qualified as a coach involves far more these days than just teaching a bunch of chaps the skills of the games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 06/06/2025 10:20:13    2615264

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Lads this all got very deep.... I only wanted to have a conversation about our collective ambitions for Wexford hurling.

Thanks a million to everyone who shared stories. We're all just doing our best and there are learnings in these conversations."
Sorry about that, I just wanted to say I think it's great you're setting your kids up for success in hurling if they want. Contrasted with my own experience I think what your doing is great, I would like to take the same approach with my own kids when they come.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 06/06/2025 10:52:20    2615279

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Sorry about that, I just wanted to say I think it's great you're setting your kids up for success in hurling if they want. Contrasted with my own experience I think what your doing is great, I would like to take the same approach with my own kids when they come."
No apology necessary my friend. I'm sorry to hear of your experience. My auld lad was tough out but has softened an awful lot now. I received no encouragement from him. I will say being mad for his approval made me very good at sports but it's hard on a relationship.

He loves soccer, I only played it for his sake.

I really hope my young lad loves hurling like I do, but if he doesn't, an excellent diet, physical fitness and a belief that the only things limiting him are self imposed will stand him well in life.

I've already mentioned my daughter gave up playing which is grand. She loves the game and travels all over the country with me but hydration, rest, nutrition, strength and the right attitude have all made her a brilliant dancer now which is her passion.

It's a running joke within her peer group how the ballerina knows every single little niggle that the Wexford hurlers are carrying.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 06/06/2025 11:40:04    2615292

Replying To Viking66:  "Coaching and getting qualified as a coach involves far more these days than just teaching a bunch of chaps the skills of the games."
Sure does , you have safe guarding course, garda vetting and then an introductory course which is usually 3 days or 3 sessions. And after that then you'd have speciality hurling or football courses that come up from time to time so fair play to anyone who volunteers to coach.

My local club here in Dublin at the moment are trying to do their version of hurling 365 and it all came about from conversations with our lead hurling mentor talking to mates in Wexford.

So again we have examples of good work going in in parts of Wexford being exported elsewhere. Frustrating for us to see a huge drop off then after 15 years of age. I think thats been going on a long time in Wexford.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 418 - 06/06/2025 11:44:14    2615296

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Just to be very clear, I never meant sole purpose. There are hundreds of benefits from clubs. I meant their primary purpose is to reach the highest level they can, and my belief is they can do that by reaching for county players like tj, Tony Kelly, sod etc. There's no upper limit to a lads potential, and I think clubs need to actively recognise that.

Progress means many things to many people, but for me anyway, the whole fun of playing was dreaming of what I could achieve and hitting the ball every evening against the wall imagining I was in croke park. I knew dozens of lads doing the same thing."
I still puck off the wall each day, it's mad but every time I go out to do it I still get the thrill I did as a kid like you said dreaming of Croke Park. It brings me right back.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2374 - 06/06/2025 13:33:55    2615327

I wince every time I hear "root and branch review" being even mentioned.
There is NO substitute to playing the game. In school, in the pitch, in the garden, in a match. Kilkenny never had a "root and branch review", the only branch they had they made a hurl with it.
A "root and branch review" is just BS playing for time. We need better coaches, pay them if needed, and we need to make it fun at underage but then there's a place for fun - Junior B. We need jeopardy in matches, we need our schools to be better and we have to answer why Wexford were desperately under represented at Fitzgibbon.
Doylerwex I am not a parent but I know my father encouraged me every step and knew when to give me a tip but wasn't in my face helicopter micromanaging. Don't get too crazily involved or obsessive but encourage and get out for a few pucks with them as much as you can. Know when they need that arm around the shoulder and when they need a kick in the rear and you will be fine. No parent is perfect I bet but I know for sure there is nothing worse than the overbearing in your face parent.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1857 - 06/06/2025 13:37:41    2615330

Replying To Bryson:  "The reality lads is Wexford are now a Joe McDonagh cup level county just barely hanging on to Senior status because of the brilliant Lee Chin and i take no pleasure in saying this. Whats killing hurling is the false positivity bullshit. Reality is we have been is one All Ireland senior final since 1977 and have won 1 senior All Ireland in 58 years we havent won the League since 1972 we havent won an u21 All Ireland since 1965 and havent won a Minor since 1968 and havent been in a Minor final since 1985 its just pathetic when u stand back and look at the facts. We need ruthless people over our teams and not people who want to be popular and want to stay in with the people that have power in the county. Also pick the best players and we would improve thats the most frustrating thing just because you father or granfather hurled with Wexford dosent mean you should be picked off the back of that. Get rid of the cronies and Wexford will improve there are plenty of good players not being given a proper chance."
I had a long think about this post lad. And posts and opinions like this from people like you are a huge part of our problem, and have been since the 90s.
Our hurlers aren't technically any worse than hurlers in any other county. The biggest problem with them is a savage lack of belief, which means that when they run out on the pitch they aren't brave enough to take a game by the scruff of the neck. Too many lateral passes because they are afraid of giving the ball away, and then they get turned over because their opponents can guess what's coming next.
Too afraid of ####ing up to ####ing hurl.

And name some of the lads that are getting overlooked?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 06/06/2025 14:14:15    2615339

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I wince every time I hear "root and branch review" being even mentioned.
There is NO substitute to playing the game. In school, in the pitch, in the garden, in a match. Kilkenny never had a "root and branch review", the only branch they had they made a hurl with it.
A "root and branch review" is just BS playing for time. We need better coaches, pay them if needed, and we need to make it fun at underage but then there's a place for fun - Junior B. We need jeopardy in matches, we need our schools to be better and we have to answer why Wexford were desperately under represented at Fitzgibbon.
Doylerwex I am not a parent but I know my father encouraged me every step and knew when to give me a tip but wasn't in my face helicopter micromanaging. Don't get too crazily involved or obsessive but encourage and get out for a few pucks with them as much as you can. Know when they need that arm around the shoulder and when they need a kick in the rear and you will be fine. No parent is perfect I bet but I know for sure there is nothing worse than the overbearing in your face parent."
The main reason we were under represented at Fitzgibbon this year is that the 2 colleges where most of our hurlers are were hurling Ryan Cup this year. DIT or whatever it's called now and SETU Carlow

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 06/06/2025 15:06:27    2615350

Replying To WEXILE:  "Sure does , you have safe guarding course, garda vetting and then an introductory course which is usually 3 days or 3 sessions. And after that then you'd have speciality hurling or football courses that come up from time to time so fair play to anyone who volunteers to coach.

My local club here in Dublin at the moment are trying to do their version of hurling 365 and it all came about from conversations with our lead hurling mentor talking to mates in Wexford.

So again we have examples of good work going in in parts of Wexford being exported elsewhere. Frustrating for us to see a huge drop off then after 15 years of age. I think thats been going on a long time in Wexford."
You do, but all those still doesn't make a good coach.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 537 - 06/06/2025 17:28:14    2615397