Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Fairly anxious this morning but trying to remember the positives from this season.

Rossi secured 1A status and unearthed 5 or 5 good young players and is integrating them well in to seniors.

In last 2 games turned relegation fears around to having a crack at a Leinster final. This is.not the Kilkenny of old albeit still Kilkenny. We can do this

This time last year we were on 2 points heading down to play Kilkenny looking just to survive. This year we head down with 5 points looking for Leinster final and hopefully AI series

We have a good support travelling today so hopefully should feed in to the players.

We.have a Wexford man managing us and mostly a Wexford backroom team that know the county inside out.

I think we dodged a bullet by not appointing Joe Fortune.

PS in light hearted reference to previous post from last night. No one ways attention to us Wexford supporters living in Dublin....especially when we are scalders

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 26/05/2024 09:05:15    2547126

Best of luck to the lads today

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 996 - 26/05/2024 09:36:28    2547134

Replying To Yellow:  "Likewise I think Jack O Connor and Cian Byrne will start for Mikie Dwyer and Dunbar. With Richie Lawlor and Conor Hearne resuming their midfield partnership

It will be a big test for Conor Foley and Eoin Ryan but they both played very well vs Galway so hopefully we will have enough to make it over the line"
Cian will surely start but not sure about Jacko. He didn't look remotely fit v Galway. Dunbar or Dwyer Id say.

Wouldn't surprise me if Mullen is dropped onto one of Foley or Ryan to see how they cope. KK have had problems at 6 all season so hoping Chin can do some damage there.

Going to be very tight I think, goals will be key and I think we have the forwards in form to do it today. Need to keep defensive/goalkeeping errors to a minimum, with the planned weather it might come down to that.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 239 - 26/05/2024 10:35:42    2547151

These mornings are what it's all about lads:)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2870 - 26/05/2024 10:40:01    2547153

On the bus now, 3rd bus that left from the pub this morning some crowd travelling, up Wexford

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 287 - 26/05/2024 11:02:30    2547163

Fair crowd traveling up alright. 'Hon Wexford

Up (Wexford) - Posts: 21 - 26/05/2024 12:48:17    2547184

Replying To Viking66:  "Too soon to say who will be good at Senior but there's a panel full of excellent hurlers there. Hopefully they keep it going through u20 and make it as Seniors!"
Agree viking john Codd of Rathnure was a brilliant minor for us never really kicked on plenty more in Galway and Kk as well not saying the boys wont kick on just saying let them develop and see.Know one knows what direction a young mans life may take so many things could change.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 26/05/2024 13:15:50    2547191

That penalty has to be one of the worst decisions I've ever seen

Fallout2 (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 26/05/2024 15:31:21    2547217

Liam Gordon redefining what a penalty is…no black card so it wasn't a goal scoring opportunity but still gave a penalty. Three Wexford lads around the KK lad standing between the 14 and 21, joke of a decision. Fair play to lads battled back really well and we're still in the hunt thankfully.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 254 - 26/05/2024 15:36:50    2547221

Replying To Fallout2:  "That penalty has to be one of the worst decisions I've ever seen"
Agree. But should have been a penalty and black card in first half

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 152 - 26/05/2024 15:49:36    2547228

Unlucky today lads, although I'd say ye would have taken 3rd after the first two games

Best of luck for the rest of the championship!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1589 - 26/05/2024 15:51:32    2547231

Replying To Fallout2:  "That penalty has to be one of the worst decisions I've ever seen"
It's not good enough, awful decision.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1965 - 26/05/2024 15:57:31    2547234

Well played Wexford but I feel the better team.eon today. KK backs were immense and their shooting from distance in 2nd half was incredible. They seemed to have 17 men on the field. Still tho I'd like to see a replay of that penalty.

We live to fight another day

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 26/05/2024 15:59:05    2547236

My heart is broken lads. Probably 6/7 points better than them in the first half. Only 2 up at halftime.

To be fair Kilkenny really got stuck in from 35-50 and dominated.

We got back into it and I thought were a little unlucky.

The penalty was a really poor call. The challenge on Damien Reck immediately before it was a free out and probably a yellow card. Ball broke and penalty given. Fine margins.

It's the first time in many many years I was absolutely sure we were going to get there. Feels like Christmas has been cancelled

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2870 - 26/05/2024 16:07:42    2547239

Replying To Doylerwex:  "My heart is broken lads. Probably 6/7 points better than them in the first half. Only 2 up at halftime.

The penalty was a really poor call. The challenge on Damien Reck immediately before it was a free out and probably a yellow card. Ball broke and penalty given. Fine margins.

It's the first time in many many years I was absolutely sure we were going to get there. Feels like Christmas has been cancelled"
We're still in it Doyler. Lads Cian Byrne is turning into a real star, what a performance from the young lad. We'll cause problems for whoever we play in the AI series.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 254 - 26/05/2024 16:12:05    2547241

Replying To Doylerwex:  "My heart is broken lads. Probably 6/7 points better than them in the first half. Only 2 up at halftime.

It's the first time in many many years I was absolutely sure we were going to get there. Feels like Christmas has been cancelled"
Unlike Galway, you live to fight another day. Good luck to youse, Wexford's season is far from over.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2536 - 26/05/2024 16:16:21    2547245

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Agree. But should have been a penalty and black card in first half"
You need to read the rule. Neither were penalties. Matthew fouled him but he then took a pile of steps and the ref called back the free. He did not pull him down. The actual penalty decision was a farce.

Gordan gave them some very soft frees and he reffed the game from our half back line never getting near our forwards. He must have been trying to avoid the ploughed areas

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 155 - 26/05/2024 16:24:58    2547253

Commiserations. Might still meet of course!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2812 - 26/05/2024 16:26:28    2547254

I take it that you haven't seen a lot of hurling matches.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2536 - 26/05/2024 16:33:46    2547258

Penalty decision was iffy alright but it came from our player not connecting with a sideline cut. Basic stuff.

Thought Mac was immense, Byrne very good too (I love his confidence in front of goal) and Hearne done a lot of good work again.

We go again, but the feeling is we possibly left a Leinster title behind us in the first two games.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1434 - 26/05/2024 16:43:06    2547264