All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023

Replying To showmehow:  "pure defensive rubbish from derry..no surprise here..terrible to watch"
Don't like it then don't watch. They're not out there to entertain you, they're out there to win for their county. And guess what, they're ulster champions and in an all Ireland semi final

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 146 - 02/07/2023 15:18:01    2491347

Replying To showmehow:  "pure defensive rubbish from derry..no surprise here..terrible to watch"
That is how Derry play. It isn't pleasing on the eye but it is effective and we had a time of playing the 'right way' which saw us achieve nothing.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/07/2023 15:25:44    2491353

Pure defensive rubbish from Derry, yet Kerry bring in a Tyrone man to help them in their defensive rubbish. Paudi Clifford snarling at players on the ground, oh aye sir really nice.

Neartheborder (Derry) - Posts: 56 - 02/07/2023 15:28:27    2491354

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "I'd disagree on the poor game - for the neutral it wasn't a shootout barnstormer extravaganza, but for Monaghan and Armagh fans it was a tense dramatic affair.

The players aren't entertainers there to earn their wage, they're representatives there to make their county proud. As a Monaghan man I was immensely proud that we won, but at the same time if we didn't get the equaliser after Rian O'Niells point I'd have walked away saying Armagh fully deserved their win after Rians bravery and skill in taking that score.

Like it or not Monaghan and Armagh just don't have the talent that Kerry Dublin and Mayo have, so we've to play a different brand of football. Where you guys are able to pick players to execute a more expansive gameplan and system - we've to create a system and make it work around the players we have available.

Different ways of doing things and full respect to Dublin for doing what they're doing. There's no reason cork shouldn't be at your level, but they're not because they're just not as well run as Dublin GAA."
By the same logic why are Dublin not better at hurling? They are a football county the same way Cork is a hurling county. The footballers get virtually no players from East Cork and the hurlers likewise from West Cork. It's different for counties ,such as yourselves, who put all their resources into football. Absolutely nothing to do with being "well run"

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 02/07/2023 15:31:54    2491356

Replying To cavanman47:  "Aye. . .replay the only solution!"
If your post was meant to be humourous it failed pitifully.
I posted a legitimate question.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 02/07/2023 15:33:02    2491357

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Don't like it then don't watch. They're not out there to entertain you, they're out there to win for their county. And guess what, they're ulster champions and in an all Ireland semi final"
And that is what I did! I expected ot to be a borefest and didnt watch -- just got a few updates on radio. Will watch Mayo vs Dublin though. Ought to be easier on the eyes.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 02/07/2023 15:33:44    2491359

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "I'd disagree on the poor game - for the neutral it wasn't a shootout barnstormer extravaganza, but for Monaghan and Armagh fans it was a tense dramatic affair.

The players aren't entertainers there to earn their wage, they're representatives there to make their county proud. As a Monaghan man I was immensely proud that we won, but at the same time if we didn't get the equaliser after Rian O'Niells point I'd have walked away saying Armagh fully deserved their win after Rians bravery and skill in taking that score.

Like it or not Monaghan and Armagh just don't have the talent that Kerry Dublin and Mayo have, so we've to play a different brand of football. Where you guys are able to pick players to execute a more expansive gameplan and system - we've to create a system and make it work around the players we have available.

Different ways of doing things and full respect to Dublin for doing what they're doing. There's no reason cork shouldn't be at your level, but they're not because they're just not as well run as Dublin GAA."
No completely get it and the system and it's effectiveness etc. I think Monaghan are less defensive than yesterday's game suggested but players have to do what they have to do to win. I think Monaghan got about 7 scores from play after an hour and a half and Armagh one or twi more. That Derry Cork game was awful as well. But happy for Monaghan and looking forward to seeing McManus in action again.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2023 15:39:54    2491363

Derry aren't easy on the eye but are solid and good side who get the job done. They will need to be much better in the Semi Final as Kerry and Dublin/Mayo are much stronger than Cork. Glass was immense. Mcguigan was poor today and has probably removed himself from the POTY conversation. They'll need him firing in two weeks. Best of luck in the Semi's.

Cork were game but limited and need two or three more elite players if they are to be true contenders. Happy with the year though. Beating Mayo and Roscommon and coming within 2 points of Kerry and 4 points of Derry is a successful year for this group of players. Hopefully we can get back to division 1 next year as that would be pivotal for the long term development of this team.

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 02/07/2023 15:41:39    2491364

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have to say my heart goes out to Armagh. The last 3 big games they lose are on penalties. Galway quarter final last year. This year's Ulster final v Derry and today. So unlucky. Well done Monaghan but anyone with a heart had to feel for Armagh."
Well done yesterday, Mick. All Kerry have to do now is turn up and collect the cup on the big day; a bit like 2002 and 2003. All
joking aside, they're some machine when they get into full operation, and I don't think that yesterday was them at actual full throttle. There's more to come, I feel!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1914 - 02/07/2023 15:44:23    2491365

Replying To Galway9801:  "Yup, who wants to see last minute equalisers and penalty shoot outs when you can see kerry and Dublin turn on the style against vastly inferior opposition in a one sided turkey shoot (forgive my sarcasm).
I agree with your second point tho re Donaghy. Wasn't Liam Sheedy brought into the Monaghan backroom team a few years ago no doubt at considerable expense? . For all the good he did there.
These guys are costing a fortune that could be spent training kids"
At what point do you stop using inferior opposition as an excuse for great football and give great teams the credit that they're due. Are Tyrone now "vastly inferior" because Kerry outclassed them? Another red bus parked in the first game today. Awful stuff. You've got to call a spade a spade. That goes for all teams, Dublin included.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2023 15:49:34    2491366

I'm I right in saying Derry can't play Monaghan in the semi final ?

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 02/07/2023 16:15:55    2491371

Replying To Frontier1000:  "By the same logic why are Dublin not better at hurling? They are a football county the same way Cork is a hurling county. The footballers get virtually no players from East Cork and the hurlers likewise from West Cork. It's different for counties ,such as yourselves, who put all their resources into football. Absolutely nothing to do with being "well run""
Dublin were nowhere near being competitive for a god 10 years, then they had a shake up of their structures and now they're the standard in football and are making strides in hurling.

Cork started to twist and whine over money when you were looking like winning both all irelands and yous have achieved nothing since. Infighting and messing like that doesn't happen in Dublin, Kilkenny, Limerick and Kerry these days.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 146 - 02/07/2023 16:20:26    2491372

Why was that Mayo goal disallowed? Looked a perfectly good goal.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 02/07/2023 16:30:43    2491373

Big turning point, Small buys free in 26 th minute, then goal disallowed for Mayo 2 minutes later.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 02/07/2023 16:31:35    2491374

Replying To artisan:  "I'm I right in saying Derry can't play Monaghan in the semi final ?"
Yes repeat pairings are being avoided.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 02/07/2023 16:34:38    2491375

Replying To maroondiesel:  "stop gas-lighting me.
I addressed an aspect of the game that was a concern;
Congrats Monaghan, enjoy."
You replied to me with your wrong handle I'm afraid. But in all honesty I asked 3 good questions to see had tlypu a comment and I also answered your query on the timekeeping. So unsure what you actually mean by gaslighting but I would love your opinion on the other points I made in honesty. Answer on whichever handle you like I don't mind the Mayo or galway.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 02/07/2023 16:40:08    2491376

Fair play Dublin and Mayo; best game of the weekend with good football being played. A welcome reminder of what football can be.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 02/07/2023 16:46:42    2491378

Replying To Joxer:  "At what point do you stop using inferior opposition as an excuse for great football and give great teams the credit that they're due. Are Tyrone now "vastly inferior" because Kerry outclassed them? Another red bus parked in the first game today. Awful stuff. You've got to call a spade a spade. That goes for all teams, Dublin included."
Not denigrating Dublin or kerry at all,, two fantastic teams, I'm just disagreeing with the notion that watching them hammer teams way way worse than them is more exciting than watching an evenly fought close competitive contest between two hard hitting teams.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 02/07/2023 16:48:11    2491380

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Yes repeat pairings are being avoided."
Surely that rule should be scrapped for a semi final?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 02/07/2023 16:54:27    2491382

Mayo have collapsed.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 02/07/2023 17:01:27    2491383