Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I think the penny is finally starting to drop.
You do nothing without money, and lots of it. At any level.
It becomes easy once you have the sort of backing Limerick, Dublin footballers, etc have. But secondly, you have to spend it well on top people and I feel, knowing a few Limerick people from college this was where they nailed it.
I know Wexford has no billionaire but the complaints about promotion of the floodlight turning on, was idle talk. I even heard about it in Melbourne.
The question is, where was this promotion for the u20 final? Wexford seem to be way behind the curve on promotion, no point the co. chairman going on SE Radio to appeal to people to go to the Kilkenny match - I had an embarrassing slightly tipsy post here to try to urge people to go but where was the social media promotion about how important that game was?
A simple "buy your tickets on ....." tweet or Facebook post is about as useful as a man singing Dancing at the Crossroads in the Bull Ring telling people to buy tickets. There should be promotional videos, player interviews, generate hype about the game.
On that point - Dancing at the crossroads needs to be buried from the psyche of Wexford hurling. I heard it on the radio after beating Kilkenny, and winced. Is that where ambition in the county is? Celebrating a terrible year with a last day heroic performance? After losing to Westmeath, Dublin and Galway? The intercom should have been silent after that match other than to thank the crowd for their support. The year was a total failure and almost meant Wexford hurled Joe McDonagh next year?
Its good to hear the u16's are good but now they need to drive on and win a Leinster minor and give an All-Ireland.
ExiledWex has hit the nail, we need more players playing at the top level all the way up and especially in schools hurling. I was part of development squads all the way up and they are good, but playing against top counties and schools and Fitzgibbon hurling is where you learn most.
Like, why isn't Enniscorthy CBS doing better in hurling given there must be 15 hurling clubs supplying players? Gorey has a big population yet gave a walk over in u20 hurling last week? How is that, in a town the size of Gorey? Liam Griffin goes on about hurling nationwide yet Rosslare had no U16 team? Why didn't they have the foresight to join with somebody, instead of denying players who do want to play hurling?
These are questions that need to be answered in my opinion, not just ignored. I know there may be reasons."
I reckon Gorey were well able to field a team in the u20, JJ Twamley picked up an injury in their 1st game and I'd say they decided not to risk any more, they were playing in Senior 2 days later too, I don't agree with the decision but I suspect that was the taught process.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 24/07/2023 23:32:50    2496682

Rarely post here but follow a lot of the forums. Lots of talk re the new senior manager. I don't think it's a job anyone wants and whoever takes it is nuts, it's like the poison chalice so I can't imagine anyone is knocking Micheál Martins door down for it.
Can't see Fortune travel down for it considering where he lives.
Are the co board or other externals willing to put forward the €€€€'s to get the right back room team in?
Rossiter getting a lot of stick here re the last U20 final too and his 'credentials'. Did anyone ever think that maybe his tactics were right but they weren't implemented on the pitch? Has anyone watched their game plans over the past two years? The players did things in that final that they have never done over the past two years, for instance, trying to solo distances and getting caught every time! Not part of the plan but they did it anyone. Did anyone hear Rossiter roaring in at them to 'deliver it in' 'stop running into trouble' 'get back to the plan' ? I did because I was sitting behind him.
I get the manager is the nucleus of it all, but sometimes, no matter how much instruction is given, it's ignored.
I think sometimes we're way too critical of these men/women on the line, for what's an amateur sport and for what you get little thanks for in the grand scheme of things! Who in the name of all that's holy would want the next Wexford Senior job, because unless they win the All Ireland next year, they're going to be ridiculed regardless!
It needs to be a rebuilding phase of 3-5 years with no real expectations in that timeframe, and maybe a joint effort between a few men, be it someone experienced from outside the county and someone with less experience form Wexford.

wexfan09 (Wexford) - Posts: 33 - 24/07/2023 23:34:03    2496683

Replying To wexfan09:  "Rarely post here but follow a lot of the forums. Lots of talk re the new senior manager. I don't think it's a job anyone wants and whoever takes it is nuts, it's like the poison chalice so I can't imagine anyone is knocking Micheál Martins door down for it.
Are the co board or other externals willing to put forward the €€€€'s to get the right back room team in?
Rossiter getting a lot of stick here re the last U20 final too and his 'credentials'. Did anyone ever think that maybe his tactics were right but they weren't implemented on the pitch? Has anyone watched their game plans over the past two years? The players did things in that final that they have never done over the past two years, for instance, trying to solo distances and getting caught every time! Not part of the plan but they did it anyone. Did anyone hear Rossiter roaring in at them to 'deliver it in' 'stop running into trouble' 'get back to the plan' ? I did because I was sitting behind him.
I get the manager is the nucleus of it all, but sometimes, no matter how much instruction is given, it's ignored.
I think sometimes we're way too critical of these men/women on the line, for what's an amateur sport and for what you get little thanks for in the grand scheme of things! Who in the name of all that's holy would want the next Wexford Senior job, because unless they win the All Ireland next year, they're going to be ridiculed regardless!
It needs to be a rebuilding phase of 3-5 years with no real expectations in that timeframe, and maybe a joint effort between a few men, be it someone experienced from outside the county and someone with less experience form Wexford."
In fairness, I don't think anyone is going to ridicule any Wexford manager for not delivering an All-Ireland title in his first year in the job.

I agree we need to look at the whole thing as rebuilding over three to five years, but we do need some real expectations in that time. But that doesn't mean reaching for the stars. Getting to a couple of Leinster Finals and hopefully winning one or two, and being competitive in the All-Ireland series, would be something realistic to aim for.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2920 - 25/07/2023 10:20:09    2496726

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I reckon Gorey were well able to field a team in the u20, JJ Twamley picked up an injury in their 1st game and I'd say they decided not to risk any more, they were playing in Senior 2 days later too, I don't agree with the decision but I suspect that was the taught process."
That is exactly their thought process, and who can blame them, i mean we are on about looking after the club player and young player burnout and now face a situation where because of u21 scheduling if a player is to reach say both hurling and football finals they will play 20 championship games in 16 weeks.

All of that with no breaks, not even a chance for his club by the way to get more than probably 1 training session before the start of the football championship. There are county footballers i know that havent trained football with their clubs!! And should they reach a hurling final will have 1 week training with their clubs.

And we are on about developing players for county teams, both codes!

I was at the AI final on Sunday and got talking to a club rep from a different club here in Wexford, he was giving out stink about the club structure, how he was missing his own clubs championship game that shouldnt be fixed for the same day as the AI final, how it was ridiculous scheduling the u21 when they did, how they were struggling a bit with injuries and players were missing half their championships, how lads were heading off travelling because they werent interested in hanging around waiting for the football championship etc etc, i got the whole spiel.

Yet im sitting there remembering how him in particular and his club overall were one of the more vociferous and definite when it came to debating the club structure that this structure should remain as it is, im thinking this fella didnt even realise what he was actually voting for.

Theres no point in blaming the county board here, something has to give imho when it comes to our championship structures, either we forego leinster club participation or change the structures, we simply dont have time or space.

I mean look at the tragic circumstances around Noel O Keefe and fair play to the Harriers and Annes for what they did under those circumstances yet Dee barely gets time to process whats going on and hes out again and out again 3 days after that!!

We need to sit down and look at our structures big time for 2024, this rush to get everything out of the way asap is serving no one, why has the GAA overall become something that must be got out of the way asap?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1515 - 25/07/2023 10:34:18    2496730

Replying To Pikeman96:  "In fairness, I don't think anyone is going to ridicule any Wexford manager for not delivering an All-Ireland title in his first year in the job.

I agree we need to look at the whole thing as rebuilding over three to five years, but we do need some real expectations in that time. But that doesn't mean reaching for the stars. Getting to a couple of Leinster Finals and hopefully winning one or two, and being competitive in the All-Ireland series, would be something realistic to aim for."
I agree with the real expectations, but already you're stating about winning one or two Leinster titles in the next 3-5years? Is that real expectations considering what we've seen over the past few years? I don't think it is!
I think 'real expectations' would be looking at yes being competitive overall , but actually more so being consistent in our approach and building on that. Building on the basics of the fundamentals of hurling and the main ingredients of a good player/team, the work rate, the hooking/blocking/chasing down, doing the simple things right consistently. And if that can be ingrained into all the players from an underage level, that's where our consistency will come from. Never mind focusing on what each manager will bring individually in relation to game plans/tactics get.

wexfan09 (Wexford) - Posts: 33 - 25/07/2023 10:42:20    2496732

Replying To wexfan09:  "Rarely post here but follow a lot of the forums. Lots of talk re the new senior manager. I don't think it's a job anyone wants and whoever takes it is nuts, it's like the poison chalice so I can't imagine anyone is knocking Micheál Martins door down for it.
It needs to be a rebuilding phase of 3-5 years with no real expectations in that timeframe, and maybe a joint effort between a few men, be it someone experienced from outside the county and someone with less experience form Wexford."
I dont think travelling is going to be an issue for Joe Fortune, i mean club players are doing it every week!

And i dont think a single person expects Wexford to win an All Ireland and will ridicule any manager who doesnt win it.

But what they do want to see is some semblance of a plan, some semblance of progress which is basically the opposite of what happened this year, we went backwards at a rate of knots.

The Wexford job is one thats actually more attractive for 2024. Actually take the league seriously and put a plan in place, get at least 3rd place in the Leinster Championship and its a year of progress. Both of those goals are more than realistic for this group of players.

No one expects miracles but progress is a given, things are pretty low at the moment so the only way is up with a group of players that are more than capable.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1515 - 25/07/2023 11:09:37    2496741

Often when a team is at a low ebb it's a great time to take over. The team, and many of the more talented individuals on the panel, have underachieved for a few seasons for various reasons including injuries. Darragh Egan might well be a nice guy but there was no semblance of a coherent game plan this season anyway. Doesn't have to be a world beater but I think a well run setup will have us very competitive in Leinster next season. If Fortune wants it I'd give him the gig but get the best coaches, S&C, physios etc in there with him.

On the u20 final, when pressure is at its highest often players go back to bad habits. Unfortunately that's what happened that night with likes of Foley carrying ball into trouble, Murphy shooting on sight etc. But I'd prefer to see them learn hard lessons at u20 rather that at senior. We were a long way behind the standard of the winning Cork team anyway so that's where our focus should be in closing the gap to the best.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 424 - 25/07/2023 11:11:50    2496742

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I reckon Gorey were well able to field a team in the u20, JJ Twamley picked up an injury in their 1st game and I'd say they decided not to risk any more, they were playing in Senior 2 days later too, I don't agree with the decision but I suspect that was the taught process."
Surely could field a team without the few seniors given how many they have to pick from. ?

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 182 - 25/07/2023 11:34:16    2496749

Replying To Pikeman96:  "In fairness, I don't think anyone is going to ridicule any Wexford manager for not delivering an All-Ireland title in his first year in the job.

I agree we need to look at the whole thing as rebuilding over three to five years, but we do need some real expectations in that time. But that doesn't mean reaching for the stars. Getting to a couple of Leinster Finals and hopefully winning one or two, and being competitive in the All-Ireland series, would be something realistic to aim for."
Agree 100% pikeman. It would be asking a lot of a new manager to work miracles. There are quality players from the u20s of last year and this year.
I think Rossi will get the gig. Based on his near misses in leinster over that time frame. The future is with them. I honestly can't see anyone from the club scene been seriously considered. So in my opinion it's either Rositter or an outside manager.
Question is though, where do we get a guy with a proven track record at intercounty level?
The respective candidates will I'm afraid be very few. So it's going to be difficult to get a manager who can bring us out of the place we are in at the moment.
On a different topic, isn't it crazy that we have no intercounty games for 7 months. Big mistake by the Gaa to scrunch up the season into 4 months..
After covid we should have gone back to all irelands in September. The way it is means that players who get injured have no time to recover.
Yes I know posters will say our club games are important and so they are but to have a closed season for more than half a year for our county players can't be right.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 25/07/2023 11:51:18    2496757

Replying To Magpie2:  "Agree 100% pikeman. It would be asking a lot of a new manager to work miracles. There are quality players from the u20s of last year and this year.
I think Rossi will get the gig. Based on his near misses in leinster over that time frame. The future is with them. I honestly can't see anyone from the club scene been seriously considered. So in my opinion it's either Rositter or an outside manager.
Question is though, where do we get a guy with a proven track record at intercounty level?
The respective candidates will I'm afraid be very few. So it's going to be difficult to get a manager who can bring us out of the place we are in at the moment.
On a different topic, isn't it crazy that we have no intercounty games for 7 months. Big mistake by the Gaa to scrunch up the season into 4 months..
After covid we should have gone back to all irelands in September. The way it is means that players who get injured have no time to recover.
Yes I know posters will say our club games are important and so they are but to have a closed season for more than half a year for our county players can't be right."
If you look at the last season pre covid 2019, the calendar hasn't changed drastically, essentially the April club month was binned and there's a straight run from league into championship and bar a week or 2 of a tweak that's it.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/07/2023 13:01:46    2496779

Replying To grassroots01:  "Surely could field a team without the few seniors given how many they have to pick from. ?"
I agree with you on that, I was just giving my outlook on how they approached it.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/07/2023 13:05:04    2496782

Any word on a manager?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 812 - 25/07/2023 13:11:58    2496786

As someone rightly pointed out yesterday while of course the new manager is vital they'll be only as good as the backroom team around them, look at Limerick Kiely obviously has done a massive job but he has 2 people who are the best in class in their field around him in Caroline Currid and Paul Kinnerick.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/07/2023 14:00:38    2496796

Replying To countyman2022:  "Any word on a manager?"
No. Wouldn't surprise me if noone applied tbh; D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16163 - 25/07/2023 14:38:00    2496811

Replying To tearintom:  "That is exactly their thought process, and who can blame them, i mean we are on about looking after the club player and young player burnout and now face a situation where because of u21 scheduling if a player is to reach say both hurling and football finals they will play 20 championship games in 16 weeks.

All of that with no breaks, not even a chance for his club by the way to get more than probably 1 training session before the start of the football championship. There are county footballers i know that havent trained football with their clubs!! And should they reach a hurling final will have 1 week training with their clubs.

I was at the AI final on Sunday and got talking to a club rep from a different club here in Wexford, he was giving out stink about the club structure, how he was missing his own clubs championship game that shouldnt be fixed for the same day as the AI final, how it was ridiculous scheduling the u21 when they did, how they were struggling a bit with injuries and players were missing half their championships, how lads were heading off travelling because they werent interested in hanging around waiting for the football championship etc etc, i got the whole spiel.

Yet im sitting there remembering how him in particular and his club overall were one of the more vociferous and definite when it came to debating the club structure that this structure should remain as it is, im thinking this fella didnt even realise what he was actually voting for.

Theres no point in blaming the county board here, something has to give imho when it comes to our championship structures, either we forego leinster club participation or change the structures, we simply dont have time or space.

I mean look at the tragic circumstances around Noel O Keefe and fair play to the Harriers and Annes for what they did under those circumstances yet Dee barely gets time to process whats going on and hes out again and out again 3 days after that!!

We need to sit down and look at our structures big time for 2024, this rush to get everything out of the way asap is serving no one, why has the GAA overall become something that must be got out of the way asap?"
If there were alternate weeks Dee would still be in the exact same position. The only solution is to ditch the groups of 6 really. Play less games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16163 - 25/07/2023 14:40:48    2496813

Replying To wexfan09:  "I agree with the real expectations, but already you're stating about winning one or two Leinster titles in the next 3-5years? Is that real expectations considering what we've seen over the past few years? I don't think it is!
I think 'real expectations' would be looking at yes being competitive overall , but actually more so being consistent in our approach and building on that. Building on the basics of the fundamentals of hurling and the main ingredients of a good player/team, the work rate, the hooking/blocking/chasing down, doing the simple things right consistently. And if that can be ingrained into all the players from an underage level, that's where our consistency will come from. Never mind focusing on what each manager will bring individually in relation to game plans/tactics get."
Those things should be a given for a lad wanting to play Senior intercounty. Or even 1st team club. It's not up to an intercounty management set up to teach those things. But it is up to them to send the lads out on the pitch mentally prepared to execute all those things, and devise gameplans to suit the strengths of the players we have. We can't grow lads upwards who are already in their 20s. Cork were able to devise a gameplan in the late 90s to suit the smaller forwards they had back then. Clare likewise in 2013. Even Limerick these days don't hump it long repeatedly like we have done the last 2 years, and they are far better equipped physically to do this than we are. Also no other intercounty team has ever had 18 first team panel members injured for at least a few weeks if not a few months in one season in all the time I'm watching hurling. And that was all in a 4 month period this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16163 - 25/07/2023 14:50:58    2496819

Replying To Timbertony:  "Often when a team is at a low ebb it's a great time to take over. The team, and many of the more talented individuals on the panel, have underachieved for a few seasons for various reasons including injuries. Darragh Egan might well be a nice guy but there was no semblance of a coherent game plan this season anyway. Doesn't have to be a world beater but I think a well run setup will have us very competitive in Leinster next season. If Fortune wants it I'd give him the gig but get the best coaches, S&C, physios etc in there with him.

On the u20 final, when pressure is at its highest often players go back to bad habits. Unfortunately that's what happened that night with likes of Foley carrying ball into trouble, Murphy shooting on sight etc. But I'd prefer to see them learn hard lessons at u20 rather that at senior. We were a long way behind the standard of the winning Cork team anyway so that's where our focus should be in closing the gap to the best."
I think we would have done better against Cork than Offaly did. And I went to nearly all the u20 games this year including the challenge game against Cork in PUC.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16163 - 25/07/2023 14:52:37    2496820

Replying To Magpie2:  "Agree 100% pikeman. It would be asking a lot of a new manager to work miracles. There are quality players from the u20s of last year and this year.
Yes I know posters will say our club games are important and so they are but to have a closed season for more than half a year for our county players can't be right."
They will be back together in November. But I agree an ideal scenario would be one like we used to have I the 90s and noughties, and is proposed by Storeystash on another thread.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16163 - 25/07/2023 14:54:39    2496822

I often wonder Wexford people. So a new manager, with some good u20 players coming through, shouldn't be aiming to win a Leinster title in a few years?
Imagine if a new manager came in and said his aim was to finish 3rd in Leinster and hope to give a good account of Wexford in a quarter final. He would be ridiculed, and proper order. I'm fairly confident any club manager would be most likely able to get Wexford to 3rd in Leinster!
I'm a Dublin hurling supporter first and foremost and then a Wexford supporter but I am sure Micheal Donohue said he wanted Dublin in year 1 to finish 3rd in Leinster and then to push for a Leinster title in year 2 and 3.
Tearintom you are right Wexford should forget about Leinster club competitions and spread out their domestic championships. If there was a 4G pitch or two in Wexford then the issue of bad pitches and weather goes away.
Above all though, these lads need to be hurling at higher levels in school if you ask me.
The goals for Wexford hurling need to be winning minor and u20 All-Irelands in the next 5 years. This thing of winning a senior All-Ireland by 2025 or whenever it was is stupid without underage success, I don't see how it could happen.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 25/07/2023 15:26:39    2496836

Replying To tearintom:  "That is exactly their thought process, and who can blame them, i mean we are on about looking after the club player and young player burnout and now face a situation where because of u21 scheduling if a player is to reach say both hurling and football finals they will play 20 championship games in 16 weeks.

We need to sit down and look at our structures big time for 2024, this rush to get everything out of the way asap is serving no one, why has the GAA overall become something that must be got out of the way asap?"
Couldn't agree more about the rush to finish across the board.

All-Ireland Sunday was sacred, you'd have the minor final beforehand and decent footage of the jubilee presentations. There'd be no club games fixed for the day either.

All of that is gone now, and even this weekend with the football final on, there are double-headers of senior hurling matches fixed for that evening/night. They must think no lad togging out for his club would perhaps like to attend or even just watch the football final!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1496 - 25/07/2023 17:11:16    2496882