Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "why are there still didtrict boards in wexford, new ross gorey enniscorty and wexford? whats the point of them? what they doing co board cant? seems like the officers are just hanging on for a bit of power, the right to attend co board meetings and of course their all ireland tickets"
It's a good question. Their only remaining function is to organise the District stages of the Junior 'B' championships, and maybe to arrange an annual District Awards Night (some districts do that more regularly than others).

I sometimes wonder myself why we bother to maintain them at all.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2916 - 07/07/2023 14:59:06    2492944

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I still honestly don't know why people think it strange that when Darragh Egan was applying for the Wexford job and was under serious consideration for it, that the selection committee might have made a phone call to somebody he'd previously worked with.

As stated, it's not much different to any prospective employer contacting a previous employer for a reference.

I can't say for sure that they did contact Liam Sheedy, but I certainly wouldn't find the idea of it strange, and to my mind, it would have been negligent not to do so."
OK say Rory Jacob going for a job in Tipp. They ring Keith Rossiter, asking him what he things.
What is he going to say only he's a great man altogether and best of luck with him. If he's a disaster, its not going to affect Wexford.
I still think it is a myth, it would be an odd way to carry out your business.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 08/07/2023 10:38:31    2493083

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "OK say Rory Jacob going for a job in Tipp. They ring Keith Rossiter, asking him what he things.
What is he going to say only he's a great man altogether and best of luck with him. If he's a disaster, its not going to affect Wexford.
I still think it is a myth, it would be an odd way to carry out your business."
If you think Egan got the Wexford job purely because Sheedy endorsed him you are delusional. I never saw his application, plan for the future or whatever but I assume it was pretty strong. It would have had to be to overcome his complete lack of top level intercounty managerial experience. The fact he had very little competition for the job no doubt aided his cause also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 08/07/2023 12:21:05    2493105

Replying To Viking66:  "If you think Egan got the Wexford job purely because Sheedy endorsed him you are delusional. I never saw his application, plan for the future or whatever but I assume it was pretty strong. It would have had to be to overcome his complete lack of top level intercounty managerial experience. The fact he had very little competition for the job no doubt aided his cause also."
I'm not saying he did at all. I am in fact saying if people think Wexford needed Liam Sheedy's endorsement they are delusional.
Where did this story start even? On here?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 08/07/2023 16:58:08    2493145

Any thoughts on Henry taking over Wexford??

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 08/07/2023 20:50:05    2493202

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I'm not saying he did at all. I am in fact saying if people think Wexford needed Liam Sheedy's endorsement they are delusional.
Where did this story start even? On here?"
I still don't understand why you seem to have such a hard time believing that Wexford might have made a phone call to Liam Sheedy, just as a matter of course, before actually appointing Darrah Egan. Even if the "reference" was likely to be taken with a pinch of salt on the grounds of "sure of course he's going to say he's a good lad".

Honestly, have you never been asked been asked for a reference yourself when going for a new job? Or as an employer, have you never contacted a previous employer of a job applicant?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2916 - 08/07/2023 21:23:49    2493215

Replying To TomWex:  "Any thoughts on Henry taking over Wexford??"
My only thought is that if he happens to be in the running, Wexford will surely make a phone call to somebody in Galway to ask what they think of him :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2916 - 08/07/2023 21:24:38    2493216

Henry would hardly waste his time!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2292 - 08/07/2023 22:16:43    2493241

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Henry would hardly waste his time!"
Henry would be a waste of our time.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 09/07/2023 08:49:45    2493267

Oh yeah because Henry has proved himself to be such a top level inter county manager over the last 2 years.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 09/07/2023 09:36:05    2493268

We can do better than Henry. Tom Mulally for one. Sheflin May have been a great player and a good club manager but he doesn't seem to be able to cut it tactically at inter county level.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 09/07/2023 09:38:24    2493270

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I still don't understand why you seem to have such a hard time believing that Wexford might have made a phone call to Liam Sheedy, just as a matter of course, before actually appointing Darrah Egan. Even if the "reference" was likely to be taken with a pinch of salt on the grounds of "sure of course he's going to say he's a good lad".

Honestly, have you never been asked been asked for a reference yourself when going for a new job? Or as an employer, have you never contacted a previous employer of a job applicant?"
Great answer Pikeman.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 09/07/2023 10:31:10    2493279

Actually think wexford is one of the best jobs for an up and coming manager. They'd have nothing to lose.

Little or no expectations outside the county. If it doesn't go well "sure they haven't the panel"

Yet there are some top quality players there who've some experience winning at underage and a few big senior days. If if went well it would be "look what he did with a fairly average group"

Galway is a very tough job. An all Ireland 6 years ago. Massive volume of club and underage talent, frustration from the hurling world from how good they can be, then massive expectations from supporters.

I know which job I'd pick.

I'm wexford, a leinster title would be a huge success. We aren't a million miles away from that level.

In Galway, it's an all Ireland or nothing. All this while trying to compete with the best Galway team ever, and probably the second best Clare team ever. Ironically both counties are less decorated than wexford historically.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 09/07/2023 10:36:50    2493280

Sorry, that was meant to say best Limerick team ever

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 09/07/2023 10:46:31    2493281

Lads why are ye even acknowledging that attention seeking "American" or non American, just be glad you don't have the existence they have.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 09/07/2023 14:11:15    2493322

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I still don't understand why you seem to have such a hard time believing that Wexford might have made a phone call to Liam Sheedy, just as a matter of course, before actually appointing Darrah Egan. Even if the "reference" was likely to be taken with a pinch of salt on the grounds of "sure of course he's going to say he's a good lad".

Honestly, have you never been asked been asked for a reference yourself when going for a new job? Or as an employer, have you never contacted a previous employer of a job applicant?"
I think it is the craziest notion ever to be honest.
Even in a professional context, a reference is a total waste of time. If I am willing to put Pikeman96 as a reference he is not going to give me a bad reference, is he?
My question still has not been answered. Where or who said Wexford needed Liam Sheedy as a reference? I can't help feel this is a cock a hoop story.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 10/07/2023 16:14:32    2493630

I thought I would come on here and find "we beat Kilkenny so all is good in the world" type posts....

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1368 - 10/07/2023 16:15:32    2493631

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think it is the craziest notion ever to be honest.
Even in a professional context, a reference is a total waste of time. If I am willing to put Pikeman96 as a reference he is not going to give me a bad reference, is he?
My question still has not been answered. Where or who said Wexford needed Liam Sheedy as a reference? I can't help feel this is a cock a hoop story."
Nobody said or even suggested that Wexford needed Liam Sheedy as a reference.

Where this all stemmed from is somebody suggesting that since Egan had no prior senior inter-county managerial experience, it was likely that Wexford probably had a chat with Liam Sheedy before appointing him.

I and others think that sounds reasonable enough. You don't. So be it.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2916 - 10/07/2023 17:52:03    2493650

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think it is the craziest notion ever to be honest.
My question still has not been answered. Where or who said Wexford needed Liam Sheedy as a reference? I can't help feel this is a cock a hoop story."
Wasn't it you that brought up the reference from Sheedy?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 10/07/2023 18:58:13    2493662

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Actually think wexford is one of the best jobs for an up and coming manager. They'd have nothing to lose.

Little or no expectations outside the county. If it doesn't go well "sure they haven't the panel"

Yet there are some top quality players there who've some experience winning at underage and a few big senior days. If if went well it would be "look what he did with a fairly average group"

Galway is a very tough job. An all Ireland 6 years ago. Massive volume of club and underage talent, frustration from the hurling world from how good they can be, then massive expectations from supporters.

I know which job I'd pick.

I'm wexford, a leinster title would be a huge success. We aren't a million miles away from that level.

In Galway, it's an all Ireland or nothing. All this while trying to compete with the best Galway team ever, and probably the second best Clare team ever. Ironically both counties are less decorated than wexford historically."
We are the last county to win a Leinster except Kilkenny too Doylerwex!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 10/07/2023 18:59:32    2493665