Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To tearintom:  "Its quit simple, a rising tide lifts all boats, the same happens in reverse!

People dont dissociate themselves from one Wexford team in favor of the other, its not like they say "well ill go and see the seniors but i definitely wont look at the U20's", one pulls in to the other.

Of course it makes a difference, when theres success and a buzz then it grows, it follows on, theres an interest, it follows on.

Again you keep making points to disprove yourself mentioning Offaly, they are on the rise, managed to get up to Joe Mc Donagh, make the final, minors winning leinster and make all ireland final momentum in the county and hey presto boom suddenly theres more interest, more people going, ye know a bit of a buzz about things!

If you cant actually see that yourself then i dont know what to say!!

People voted with their feet this year, didnt like what was on show, you can say "oh well they should go anyway" or look at why? Which do you think is the best approach?"
Offalys Seniors had pathetic support in the Joe Mac final.
At the end of the day as a Supporter I'm not the most vocal but me and the kids try to add a little Wexford colour and would cheer points and goals etc. Even chant occasionally! The players in both football and hurling thanked my kids for coming to support them on several occasions over the year so support does mean something to them. While our support was pathetic in the u20 final there were still more Wexford fans there in Carlow than there were in Wexford Park for the Westmeath game, a game we had to win to give us a chance of making the AIQF.
And what's particularly sickening is listening to criticism from so called "Wexford fans" and "good GAA/hurling men" I know who actually didn't go to a single Wexford game in any code or grade all ####ing year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 28/06/2023 12:39:04    2490398

Replying To Viking66:  "Offalys Seniors had pathetic support in the Joe Mac final.
At the end of the day as a Supporter I'm not the most vocal but me and the kids try to add a little Wexford colour and would cheer points and goals etc. Even chant occasionally! The players in both football and hurling thanked my kids for coming to support them on several occasions over the year so support does mean something to them. While our support was pathetic in the u20 final there were still more Wexford fans there in Carlow than there were in Wexford Park for the Westmeath game, a game we had to win to give us a chance of making the AIQF.
And what's particularly sickening is listening to criticism from so called "Wexford fans" and "good GAA/hurling men" I know who actually didn't go to a single Wexford game in any code or grade all ####ing year."
You get the criticism everywhere ye go, every aspect of society, every sport in the world, part and parcel of human nature.

People follow success at the end of the day, Wexford is no better or worse than any other county in that respect, we have this tendency to paint ourselves as something over and above every other county, we're not. People keep going on about the u20 final where Wexford were outnumbered but still sold out their allocation of tickets i believe, what made the difference was the approach by Offaly GAA to get momentum going by bussing kids for free to the game to create an atmosphere, it worked!

There was no buzz around wexford hurling this year and that started from the first league match where we didnt even look like we were trying, i mean the irony of complaining about injuries for example when we had players taking the field as subs for a Wexford senior hurling team without even been warmed up properly is funny tbh.

My kids didnt actually want to go to another game after some of the league games particularly the Clare game, genuinely didnt want to go, they were dragged along but they would tell you about how other kids in their class werent gong to the next game etc, etc, Wexford GAA isnt a totalitarian society where you must support (even though my own kids probably beg to differ on that one)

Theres never been more choice for people/kids etc so if you want to attract the numbers they need something to cheer, something to cling to, a buzz. We need that back or we will be passed by.

Can Egan deliver it, well looking at the drop off in 1 year its hard to know in all honesty.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1513 - 28/06/2023 13:13:14    2490414

Replying To tearintom:  "You get the criticism everywhere ye go, every aspect of society, every sport in the world, part and parcel of human nature.

People follow success at the end of the day, Wexford is no better or worse than any other county in that respect, we have this tendency to paint ourselves as something over and above every other county, we're not. People keep going on about the u20 final where Wexford were outnumbered but still sold out their allocation of tickets i believe, what made the difference was the approach by Offaly GAA to get momentum going by bussing kids for free to the game to create an atmosphere, it worked!

There was no buzz around wexford hurling this year and that started from the first league match where we didnt even look like we were trying, i mean the irony of complaining about injuries for example when we had players taking the field as subs for a Wexford senior hurling team without even been warmed up properly is funny tbh.

My kids didnt actually want to go to another game after some of the league games particularly the Clare game, genuinely didnt want to go, they were dragged along but they would tell you about how other kids in their class werent gong to the next game etc, etc, Wexford GAA isnt a totalitarian society where you must support (even though my own kids probably beg to differ on that one)

Theres never been more choice for people/kids etc so if you want to attract the numbers they need something to cheer, something to cling to, a buzz. We need that back or we will be passed by.

Can Egan deliver it, well looking at the drop off in 1 year its hard to know in all honesty."
Two points with regard to the U20 Final:

1 - There was no such thing as an allocation of tickets for each county. All tickets just went on general sale online.

2 - No matter how many times you hear the rumour, Offaly Co. Board absolutely did not organise to send busloads of children to the game, either for free or otherwise.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2898 - 28/06/2023 14:02:13    2490425

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Two points with regard to the U20 Final:

1 - There was no such thing as an allocation of tickets for each county. All tickets just went on general sale online.

2 - No matter how many times you hear the rumour, Offaly Co. Board absolutely did not organise to send busloads of children to the game, either for free or otherwise."
The Board did a great job of promoting the Walsh Cup game v Kilkenny, and the Footballers League game against London, but it all fell flat after that. Obviously our abject form on the pitch didn't help as regards the hurling, but even so it was really disappointing how few went to our Championship hurling games the last few years. We got to a winnable AIQF against Clare and maybe if we had of had as many fans there as Clare had we might have held on for the win.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 28/06/2023 14:59:53    2490441

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "Two points with regard to the U20 Final:

2 - No matter how many times you hear the rumour, Offaly Co. Board absolutely did not organise to send busloads of children to the game, either for free or otherwise."
The Board did a great job of promoting the Walsh Cup game v Kilkenny, and the Footballers League game against London, but it all fell flat after that. Obviously our abject form on the pitch didn't help as regards the hurling, but even so it was really disappointing how few went to our Championship hurling games the last few years. We got to a winnable AIQF against Clare and maybe if we had of had as many fans there as Clare had we might have held on for the win."
We were so outnumbered that day. Was a bit embarrassing.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 809 - 28/06/2023 15:09:26    2490443

Yep the year started well in terms of a bit of game promotion etc, but completely fell flat.

It wasnt so much the losses and the fall off, it was the nature of them, if we were going out and having a good crack at it but coming up short people respond to that but we looked completely lost, devoid of any excitement or fight whatsoever, the excuse was it was only the league and championship would be a different animal, it wasnt, it was a continuation.

Genuinely Egan is a nice fella but im not sure he can suddenly turn that around, hope im wrong as i do think he will be manager for 2024

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1513 - 28/06/2023 15:18:17    2490449

Replying To countyman2022:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Two points with regard to the U20 Final:

The Board did a great job of promoting the Walsh Cup game v Kilkenny, and the Footballers League game against London, but it all fell flat after that. Obviously our abject form on the pitch didn't help as regards the hurling, but even so it was really disappointing how few went to our Championship hurling games the last few years. We got to a winnable AIQF against Clare and maybe if we had of had as many fans there as Clare had we might have held on for the win."
We were so outnumbered that day. Was a bit embarrassing."]It was Countyman.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 28/06/2023 15:37:00    2490452

Wexford are bad at promoting games, as are the GAA in general.
There should be billboards on every motorway/town in the country promoting upcoming games, and in tourist spots e.g. Ring of Kerry promoting upcoming matches such as last weekend in Limerick. It should be promoted like hell on social media, promotional videos, player interviews, manager interviews, etc. Not a media black out and no players or manager talk to the media.

From mid-August the Premier League will convince you Luton Town v Brentford is unmissable on Super Sunday.
They need to get in to schools more, promote the games and get people to want to go to these games. Peer pressure from children is a hard thing for most parents.

The turning on of the lights was great, well promoted all that week and children wanted to go.
One thing for me is there are too many games and bad value games, a league game at half intensity for €18 is just bad value for money for me.

Promotion goes a long way and Wexford GAA are terrible at it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1363 - 28/06/2023 16:04:47    2490460

On Dara Egan I can't believe people want him back again despite a year where Wexford lost to Westmeath (and drew the other year), Dublin, stumbled over the line v Antrim and never raised a gallop v Galway either year. Whether he's an intelligent man or not I don't know but the game is nothing to do with intelligence, its a results game.
Why do Wexford people only care about results v Kilkenny, at the expense of all other logic? To be brutally honest, a full strength Kilkenny team would have relegated Wexford that day in Wexford Park.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1363 - 28/06/2023 16:09:46    2490465

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "On Dara Egan I can't believe people want him back again despite a year where Wexford lost to Westmeath (and drew the other year), Dublin, stumbled over the line v Antrim and never raised a gallop v Galway either year. Whether he's an intelligent man or not I don't know but the game is nothing to do with intelligence, its a results game.
Why do Wexford people only care about results v Kilkenny, at the expense of all other logic? To be brutally honest, a full strength Kilkenny team would have relegated Wexford that day in Wexford Park."
Why do Wexford people only care about results v Kilkenny, at the expense of all other logic? I think you've made that part in all honesty.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 28/06/2023 16:55:32    2490481

Replying To tearintom:  "Its quit simple, a rising tide lifts all boats, the same happens in reverse!

People dont dissociate themselves from one Wexford team in favor of the other, its not like they say "well ill go and see the seniors but i definitely wont look at the U20's", one pulls in to the other.

Of course it makes a difference, when theres success and a buzz then it grows, it follows on, theres an interest, it follows on.

Again you keep making points to disprove yourself mentioning Offaly, they are on the rise, managed to get up to Joe Mc Donagh, make the final, minors winning leinster and make all ireland final momentum in the county and hey presto boom suddenly theres more interest, more people going, ye know a bit of a buzz about things!

If you cant actually see that yourself then i dont know what to say!!

People voted with their feet this year, didnt like what was on show, you can say "oh well they should go anyway" or look at why? Which do you think is the best approach?"
Tom, i don't differ with you in a lot of thing you say and you contribute some very good, well thought out posts on here. However, i don't really understand why people should vote with their feet when it comes to the under 20s or minors But look, at the end of the day we're both interested enough to give our opinions and discuss the state of Wexford hurling, as we see it.

Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 28/06/2023 18:00:58    2490494

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "On Dara Egan I can't believe people want him back again despite a year where Wexford lost to Westmeath (and drew the other year), Dublin, stumbled over the line v Antrim and never raised a gallop v Galway either year. Whether he's an intelligent man or not I don't know but the game is nothing to do with intelligence, its a results game.
Why do Wexford people only care about results v Kilkenny, at the expense of all other logic? To be brutally honest, a full strength Kilkenny team would have relegated Wexford that day in Wexford Park."
Wexford weren't at full strength neither.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 28/06/2023 18:43:30    2490502

Replying To Joe1:  "Tom, i don't differ with you in a lot of thing you say and you contribute some very good, well thought out posts on here. However, i don't really understand why people should vote with their feet when it comes to the under 20s or minors But look, at the end of the day we're both interested enough to give our opinions and discuss the state of Wexford hurling, as we see it."
They probably shouldn't in an ideal world Joe but they have been unfortunately.

We need to get a bit of buzz and momentum back in to Wexford hurling and football, there was some baby steps with the football but the reality is our flagship hurling team has regressed at an alarming rate, 2025 is huge for us, we have had the scare and escaped by the skin of our teeth.

We can't afford to regress any further, I'm not sure the man at the helm during that regression is the way to go whether the players want him or not that's why I said the opinion of the players should play only a small part in the decision, turkeys don't vote for Christmas after all!

What's worse is to not be decisive either way which unfortunately seems to be the case.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1513 - 28/06/2023 19:30:00    2490510

Egan must get on well enough with the players for them to back him like they've done. But they also backed Davy a lot after 19 and he didn't really work out after that peak. Sometimes a cold eye might be the best to guide them. I've no doubts he's a nice fella and he's by all accounts a good coach but I don't know if management is his best role at intercounty. I don't know do the wexford players get comfy too easily and that's why they don't want change or maybe don't want to fight for a place under someone new again etc....all these could be well off the mark but maybe sometimes players might be blind to all that. The senior managers job is obviously the big job in town and all that but I hope all the issues that were flagged at all levels last year will also be addressed. I did say how some of our clubs at underage and development panels are a good bit behind other counties, I seen Rapps took an awful beating off Athenry in feile (galway clubs fairly dominating feile atm and they did win it out so no shame) but thy also took a heavy beating off the Westmeath champions, which without be dismissive to a county who've beaten us and drawn with us at senior level but wouldn't have some pick or number of hurlers especially v a big town teams with good tradition. So while I think senior managers position is huge I still want the coaching and player development not to get lost again. Also can't wait for hurling champioship to start (quick and all as it may be, but that's another debate)

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 28/06/2023 21:10:53    2490526

Kilkenny were near enough at full strength at the start. Lost a few to injuries during the game which shows how hard they were playing. We were missing 2 of our best defenders and had a few walking wounded starting also. We probably had a weaker team than they did.
As regards results against Kilkenny its amazing that a lad who has lived here nearly the same length I have still doesn't understand that.
I agree 100% that Egans time thus far had been underwhelming, but who do you think will provide a definite upgrade right now and is available to start work right away? Joe Fortune would be my preferred candidate who is available, but I'm not sure he would definitely be better than Egan. Tom Mullaly would be my ideal appointment, but I doubt he is available now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 28/06/2023 22:12:08    2490532

Kilkenny were near enough at full strength at the start. Lost a few to injuries during the game which shows how hard they were playing. We were missing 2 of our best defenders and had a few walking wounded starting also. We probably had a weaker team than they did.
As regards results against Kilkenny its amazing that a lad who has lived here nearly the same length I have still doesn't understand that.
I agree 100% that Egans time thus far had been underwhelming, but who do you think will provide a definite upgrade right now and is available to start work right away? Joe Fortune would be my preferred candidate who is available, but I'm not sure he would definitely be better than Egan. Tom Mullaly would be my ideal appointment, but I doubt he is available now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 28/06/2023 22:12:20    2490533

You must remember the pain they caused us. It's an important fixture. The real leinster rivalry.

That being said, it cannot be allowed to define a season.

We were much the better side in nowlan Park last year too.

For me it doesn't excuse the season. I could live with the league, but the level of inconsistency is intolerable.

We were in the Galway game until we let them o a scoring run for 10 minutes which remained the margin to the end. Forgivable.

Excellent in the first half vs Antrim. Faded later on. Forgivable.

Never got going in a game we did everything to lose vs Dublin. Unforgivable.

Excellent in the first half vs Westmeath. Surrendered a 17 point lead and the wheels came off. Unforgiveable.

On a personal level, I like the man.

For the good of wexford hurling we need a change. Who? Anyone from the senior club scene to be honest about it.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3675 - 28/06/2023 22:19:59    2490534

Replying To Viking66:  "In general many supporters will only go and support their team if they feel they have a realistic chance of winning. That was what was so disappointing about our support for the u20s against Kilkenny and Offaly this year. They had a great chance yet still lads didn't go in any great numbers. Tbh last years u20 final against Kilkenny was pretty similar too. Yet 12500 turned up for a Walsh Cup game to see a lightshow. We are a very odd bunch!"
Think too much is being made of the Wexford crowd that showed up that night in Carlow. Yes it was very disappointing but it was mistakes on the field that cost us that night. Lots of supporters are fickle in every sport in this country. The kids call it FOMO! The senior team has been on the slide since 2019 so it's no surprise the support has dropped off with it.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 423 - 29/06/2023 00:35:45    2490547

Replying To tearintom:  "They probably shouldn't in an ideal world Joe but they have been unfortunately.

We need to get a bit of buzz and momentum back in to Wexford hurling and football, there was some baby steps with the football but the reality is our flagship hurling team has regressed at an alarming rate, 2025 is huge for us, we have had the scare and escaped by the skin of our teeth.

We can't afford to regress any further, I'm not sure the man at the helm during that regression is the way to go whether the players want him or not that's why I said the opinion of the players should play only a small part in the decision, turkeys don't vote for Christmas after all!

What's worse is to not be decisive either way which unfortunately seems to be the case."
Definitely agree Tom the process has already took too long. Egan should've been told the week after the Kilkenny game 1 of three things-
1- thanks for your time and effort but we are moving on.
2- we will give you one more year to see can you bring some of the lads you tried this year up to Championship standard by next year.
3- present a plan by 2 weeks time and we will decide between 1 and 2 above.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 29/06/2023 10:11:52    2490565

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Egan must get on well enough with the players for them to back him like they've done. But they also backed Davy a lot after 19 and he didn't really work out after that peak. Sometimes a cold eye might be the best to guide them. I've no doubts he's a nice fella and he's by all accounts a good coach but I don't know if management is his best role at intercounty. I don't know do the wexford players get comfy too easily and that's why they don't want change or maybe don't want to fight for a place under someone new again etc....all these could be well off the mark but maybe sometimes players might be blind to all that. The senior managers job is obviously the big job in town and all that but I hope all the issues that were flagged at all levels last year will also be addressed. I did say how some of our clubs at underage and development panels are a good bit behind other counties, I seen Rapps took an awful beating off Athenry in feile (galway clubs fairly dominating feile atm and they did win it out so no shame) but thy also took a heavy beating off the Westmeath champions, which without be dismissive to a county who've beaten us and drawn with us at senior level but wouldn't have some pick or number of hurlers especially v a big town teams with good tradition. So while I think senior managers position is huge I still want the coaching and player development not to get lost again. Also can't wait for hurling champioship to start (quick and all as it may be, but that's another debate)"
A couple of things TTMHWS. The players haven't said they want Egan to stay. They said he should be given the chance to make a case for himself and they would like to see what changes he will make to make things better.
Secondly why the assumption that because we get beaten at underage by a club from county with a smaller pick of players we are regressing? The middle tier counties are largely so because they have less clubs to pick from, especially Senior ones. Not because their Senior clubs are any worse, and definitely not because an underage team from any of their top clubs would be any worse. Its that kind of arrogant assumption that's really not helping us, as people then assume we dont have to put the work in to get better or stay better than these counties. And never mind underage, our Senior club hurling champions have lost to Laois, Offaly and Carlow clubs in the recent past. In fact Offaly clubs have a far better all time record in the AI club championships than our clubs.
Reading into underage results is pretty pointless even within our own county. Any club could have a particularly good crop of players in any given year. Taghmon were only a Junior club when the u14s won the Premier titles in both hurling and football around 10 years ago. Beating the Martins in both of those finals.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16073 - 29/06/2023 10:24:17    2490566