Best read Exileds post again Tom. He said he wouldn't be going to League games any more until they sort out the League. That would be a national decision, and completely unconnected to our County Board.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 27/06/2023 18:08:16 2490213 Link 0 |
They'd rather be on twitter giving out than be there. Clowns.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 27/06/2023 18:09:02 2490214 Link 0 |
I believe that all that's being asked for tonight is the last of those things - a chance for Egan to construct a plan for 2024 and put it forward for consideration before a final decision is made. No prospect of a decision tonight that Egan will be re-appointed no matter what. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2856 - 27/06/2023 18:12:45 2490217 Link 0 |
Not sure what you're trying to say but thanks for proving my point. One pulls into the other, when things are going great more people go, when they're not they don't, there's been pretty much apathy around Wexford hurling this year and thats affected all grades, not just senior, I've witnessed smaller crowds even going to minor matches. We can shout and point fingers, get all emotional citing loyalty etc etc or ask the hard question, why is there less interest now in Wexford hurling, maybe it's because we we witnessed for the vast majority of the year our flagship team playing like a team with no direction or consistency of approach that have undergone a quite remarkable collapse when you look at the fall off from the previous year including the following 2022: National League: Unbeaten through the group stage winning 5 out of 5 losing semi final, 1 loss in total with a scoring difference of +24 through the group stage to 2023 National League: Complete flip winning 1 out of 5 and avoiding relegation playoff by virtue of 1 win against Westmeath with a scoring difference in the group stage of -32 which was even bettered by Antrim in 1B 2022: Leinster/Liam Mc Carthy Championship: 2 wins/2 draws and 1 loss leaving Wexford in 3rd place with 6 points and scoring difference of + 20 meaning Wexford qualify in 3rd place winning their preliminary quarter final and losing narrowly to Clare in All Ireland Quarter final to 2023: 2 wins/3 losses leaving Wexford in 4th place with 4 points and a scoring difference of -4, losing to Westmeath for the first time since the 40's and going from being literally a puck of a ball away from an AI semi final to literally a puck of a ball away from relegation to the Joe Mc Donagh! tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 27/06/2023 18:39:33 2490223 Link 0 |
I'm not doubting the positive intent of all involved in the above process. But it screams of a lack of leadership and going long with process for process sake. For one, 15 players going to a meeting is a recipe for chaos. Lee Chin was captain for the year and should be more than capable of delivering feedback from the squad on the year alone. What really should have happened from that point is the Chairman and Hurling director making a recommendation to the county board to go way or another. That's where a bit of leadership comes in. Treat Darragh Egan with a bit of respect at the same time. Not allow this solo run stunt develop at the board. For me, to retain Egan based on results over the past two seasons would be farcical and make us even more of a laughing stock. Watching Dublin last weekend, to be honest I wasn't surprised. We were a shambles all season and are down at a very low ebb with Dublin and Antrim now. Joe Fortune is the obvious replacement and might bring a bit of energy back into the setup. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 404 - 27/06/2023 23:12:02 2490281 Link 0 |
Anything newsworthy that you can report on this Pikeman?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 28/06/2023 08:21:03 2490308 Link 0 |
What he actually said he wouldnt be going until they meant more. Well theres an easy way to fix that without a national decision and that is they would actually mean more if we actually bothered to try and win the competition, a national competition that we havent won in what 50 years because not bothering at all with it really worked wonders for us come championship this year! tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 28/06/2023 08:32:08 2490310 Link 0 |
Regarding managers body language on the line. Several successful managers of very good teams never reacted much during games. For example Mickley Hart and Brian Cody were generally quiet and only disputed a line ball decision that occurred close to them. Egan is simply not interested in screaming and dancing on the sideline. His style is a more relaxed approach. You can't be what your not. Yes Egan made mistakes but don't we all? As an intelligent man he has surely learned from those mistakes and if he gets a 3rd year without horrendous injuries to key players like he did this year, then maybe we can look forward to a much better season in 2024. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 453 - 28/06/2023 10:20:22 2490336 Link 0 |
One person here saying it's a joke that only 15 players attended that meeting. Another saying that 15 is way too many and there should have been just one. Just a small example of how things will be "wrong" no matter what you do!
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2856 - 28/06/2023 10:31:57 2490344 Link 0 |
I see a statement just gone online to say the review process will continue all right, which means Egan will be given a chance to put forward plans for 2024. Whether those plans are judged good enough or not is a whole other matter. Wasn't talking to our Co. Board rep today yet, so don't know anything other than that. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2856 - 28/06/2023 10:33:59 2490345 Link 0 |
Not sure what you're trying to say or what point I'm supposed to be proving for you. Your argument that the state of the senior hurling team setup and their results in the last two years, is the reason that fans are not attending minor or under 20 matches, just doesn't stack up. When Wexford under 21s were going strong in 2012/14 era the senior team wasn't exactly blazing a trail, yet the supporters turned out in their droves. Blaming the senior setup for all of Wexford's hurling woes is taking it a bit too far. Regardless of how the seniors are doing, the under under age teams don't deserve to be ignored. These young men are the future of Wexford hurling and without them advancing to senior, how else do you think hurling in the county is going to improve. This years under 20 setup were an exceptional bunch (players and management) and with stronger support in Carlow, I've no doubt they would have won. Imagine the boost that would have given to hurling, including to the seniors. But unfortunately the support was so one sided that night, it was intimidating to be there as a supporter, let alone as a player. By the way, the Offaly seniors have been struggling for a number of years, yet the supporters turned up in their thousands to support the under 20s; no apathy there - explain that one? There's a lot more wrong with Wexford hurling than one man can fix. Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 28/06/2023 10:38:01 2490346 Link 0 |
I agree it would be great to win it tearintom. I still think we have a good few panel members who are a long way off Senior intercounty Championship standard though, and if these lads aren't given gametime during the League to improve their speed and touch when are they going to get that gametime? Some of these lads are in their mid 20s now and should've got that gametime in smaller numbers at a time per game over the last 5 years. Many didn't until this year though. If we play our best 15 during the League as we did under Davy and in Egans first year yes we will do better in it. But where will that leave us in 3 years time when many of that best 15 will be in their early to mid 30s?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 28/06/2023 10:39:13 2490347 Link 0 |
https://wexfordgaa.ie/wexford-gaa-bulletin-25/ Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 28/06/2023 10:54:37 2490354 Link 0 |
Not sure what you're trying to say or what point I'm supposed to be proving for you. Your argument that the state of the senior hurling team setup and their results in the last two years, is the reason that fans are not attending minor or under 20 matches, just doesn't stack up. When Wexford under 21s were going strong in 2012/14 era the senior team wasn't exactly blazing a trail, yet the supporters turned out in their droves. Blaming the senior setup for all of Wexford's hurling woes is taking it a bit too far. Regardless of how the seniors are doing, the under under age teams don't deserve to be ignored. These young men are the future of Wexford hurling and without them advancing to senior, how else do you think hurling in the county is going to improve. This years under 20 setup were an exceptional bunch (players, Keith and management) and with stronger support in Carlow, I've no doubt they would have won. They did great to get to the Leinster final, but still very few turned up. Imagine the boost a win would have given to hurling in the county, including to the seniors. But unfortunately the support was so one sided that night, it was intimidating to be there as a supporter, let alone as a player. By the way, the Offaly seniors have been struggling for a number of years, yet the supporters turned up in their thousands to support the under 20s; no apathy there - explain that one? There's a lot more wrong with Wexford hurling than one man can fix. Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 28/06/2023 11:33:03 2490371 Link 0 |
Apparently what's being asked of Egan is that he make several changes to his set-up and his backroom team, and have new people and new procedures properly in place before presenting his plan. Presume that can't happen overnight.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2856 - 28/06/2023 11:34:11 2490372 Link 0 |
I'd imagine he will be staying if they are happy with the changes. The club championship will be completely played off before a new manager is in place if that was the case.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 793 - 28/06/2023 12:09:16 2490383 Link 0 |
Its quit simple, a rising tide lifts all boats, the same happens in reverse! People dont dissociate themselves from one Wexford team in favor of the other, its not like they say "well ill go and see the seniors but i definitely wont look at the U20's", one pulls in to the other. Of course it makes a difference, when theres success and a buzz then it grows, it follows on, theres an interest, it follows on. Again you keep making points to disprove yourself mentioning Offaly, they are on the rise, managed to get up to Joe Mc Donagh, make the final, minors winning leinster and make all ireland final momentum in the county and hey presto boom suddenly theres more interest, more people going, ye know a bit of a buzz about things! If you cant actually see that yourself then i dont know what to say!! People voted with their feet this year, didnt like what was on show, you can say "oh well they should go anyway" or look at why? Which do you think is the best approach? tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 28/06/2023 12:12:57 2490385 Link 0 |
By the sounds of things it does seem to be Egan for another year. And to be fair to him how is he expected to have new people in place by then? I can see this dragging on a bit longer, how can people commit to Darragh Egan when they dont know if hes going to be in place? By the time we know whats happening i fear half of our "blitz" championship will be concluded! Its all a little bit messy tbh. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 28/06/2023 12:18:40 2490389 Link 0 |
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41172058.html wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 28/06/2023 12:27:25 2490393 Link 0 |
In general many supporters will only go and support their team if they feel they have a realistic chance of winning. That was what was so disappointing about our support for the u20s against Kilkenny and Offaly this year. They had a great chance yet still lads didn't go in any great numbers. Tbh last years u20 final against Kilkenny was pretty similar too. Yet 12500 turned up for a Walsh Cup game to see a lightshow. We are a very odd bunch!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 28/06/2023 12:30:12 2490394 Link 0 |