Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To patk:  "Rory will play, all the talk is smoke and mirrors"
Sssh...... dont tell the louth supporters on here that

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 507 - 26/06/2026 12:55:42    2682042

Replying To farneygael3:  "Serious opportunity for both. We are there on merit, I think Louth are there on luck"
DIsagree with this. The are full value for what they have achieved.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1104 - 26/06/2026 13:41:04    2682056

Replying To Lolou37:  "How is that yous bet a division 3 team last day we bet one of the favorites for all ireland"
Yous didn't beat Armagh, they bate themselves. Huge difference

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 731 - 26/06/2026 13:44:56    2682059

Replying To farneygael3:  "Yous didn't beat Armagh, they bate themselves. Huge difference"
Ye and yous never won all ireland we did hugh difference

Lolou37 (Louth) - Posts: 28 - 26/06/2026 13:56:34    2682065

Replying To Lolou37:  "Ye and yous never won all ireland we did hugh difference"
That's your reply, really?

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 731 - 26/06/2026 15:23:17    2682086

Replying To farneygael3:  "Serious opportunity for both. We are there on merit, I think Louth are there on luck"
I really hope this is a joke?

Matchwatcher (Monaghan) - Posts: 42 - 26/06/2026 15:25:54    2682087

Louth have beaten Dublin in Croke Park and Armagh
They have a Leinsterbunder their belt
They have u20 Leinster winners coming through
They have an extra week's rest
Monaghan have named 2 injured players
One of those is absolutely essential to their chances
Louth have been getting a big return off their bench

Plenty of reasons why Louth should be favourites

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1375 - 26/06/2026 15:28:33    2682088

What's the craic with Gary Mohan ? Is he gone off the panel?

Logen_ninefingers (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 26/06/2026 15:32:18    2682091

Louth are favourites and rightly so. It's all on the day!!

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 664 - 26/06/2026 15:34:00    2682093

Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "Louth are favourites and rightly so. It's all on the day!!"
Any bookie I checked has monaghan as favourites. Bookie never wins, is that the saying?

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 731 - 26/06/2026 16:54:17    2682114

HEAD TO HEAD

Niall McDonnell Rory Beggan Adv Monaghan

Emmett Carolan Jack McCarron Adv Monaghan
Donal McKenny Andrew Woods Break Even
Conall McKeever Stephen Mooney Adv Louth

Daire Nally Stephen O'Hanlon Adv Monaghan
Dara McDonnell Michael Bannigan Adv Louth
Craig Lennon Conor McCarthy Break Even

Paul Mathews Michael McCarville Break Even
Sean Callaghan Karl Gallagher Adv Louth

James Maguire Dessie Ward Adv Monaghan
Sam Mulroy Ryan OToole Adv Louth
Conor Grimes Aaron Carey Break Even

Kieran McArdle Ryan Wylie Break Even
Ciaran Downey Killian Lavelle Break Even
Ryan Burns Dylan Byrne Break Even

Bench: Break even/slight advantage Louth?

It's tight on paper lads, some massive matchups. I just hope its not injury, a red card, or a bad call from an official that tilts it. Still think Monaghan can profit from getting Woods out the field more. Now is the time for Bannigan to step up, but Mooney could be a match winner. Louth's inside forwards are streaky and very dangerous, huge shift needed from Dylan Byrne and Lavelle. Monaghan will have to get it done inside 70 because there is no way they are winning AET.

It's simmering nicely.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1375 - 26/06/2026 21:03:55    2682140