"Was" past tense… Good man, thanks for proving my point. Not my club either, I just go to games with unlike yous twitter bandits. MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 21/05/2025 20:55:10 2611642 Link 0 |
The fine day it was yesterday was enough reason for me to go to the U20 B final. It was an entertaining if error ridden game. With U20 and especially minor level you have to take it there will be mistakes and lots of them. Monaghan should have been out of sight in the U20 final after 15 minutes. They kicked 7 sides and butchered two goal chances, not speculative efforts but all from very scorable positions. Westmeath grew into the game after that and took the lead before Monaghan realised they were going to be in a tight game. sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 22/05/2025 09:13:52 2611683 Link 0 |
Absolutely gutted for our young players and management. A penalty shootout is no way to decide an all Ireland final. Some great prospects on show last night, the future is bright. Onto Inniskeen Saturday now for our minors game with Meath. Let's bring an All Ireland to the county this year farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 235 - 22/05/2025 11:39:34 2611716 Link 0 |
It was quite obvious why Colleran and Meehan were substituted last night. Colleran was injured in a tackle early in the game and done well to stay on as long as he did. He played some great stuff despite being hampered by that injury. Meehan was taken off with 3 minutes left in extra time simply because he was out on his feet after putting in a serious shift. There were some unforced errors on both sides but one had to be impressed with both defences. There definitely are some future senior stars on that Monaghan squad. Lads who died with their boots on last night. Thanks to Paul and his management team for their committment over the past 2 years. Was told by a Westmeat fan at the game that their midfielder and captain is the son of the great Ollie Baker of Clare hurling fame. Small Monaghan support in Breffni. I suppose they were at home watching the great spectacle on TV from Bilbao.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 581 - 22/05/2025 12:39:24 2611727 Link 0 |
I thought Keegan was very dismissive of your result last week on RTE today, equating it, from a Mayo perspective, to the loss to Longford 2010. Imagine, and him one of your own too. The man needs a history lesson.
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1229 - 22/05/2025 12:45:30 2611730 Link 1 |
whats the craic for saturday? seems like a lifetime ago since the leinster final so im sure louth have gathered themselves up and will be bustin for this one...with respect to down and clare id like to think we're the benchmark in this group so if louth win theyll have one foot in the quarters....same logic applies to us - hope we're hungry and put in a good showing MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 226 - 22/05/2025 13:54:19 2611748 Link 0 |
It would actually Down I'd be most concerned about in this group
Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 49 - 22/05/2025 16:49:17 2611781 Link 0 |
Any predictions on a team monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 412 - 22/05/2025 17:20:40 2611787 Link 0 |
As g bannigan keeps saying that they concentrate on a performance and that's what we all hope for if it happens think we can win by 4 Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 85 - 22/05/2025 21:53:01 2611813 Link 0 |
Full forward line has not been threatening enough in bigger games. Louth are physical in the fullback line and if you have Jack and Mooney starting, plus an off-day by Woods, it will be too comfortable Would be good to see Bannigan pushed further up and Ward at centre forward to give them more to think about. Watching the Leinster final again, Meath only half-heartedly tracked Mulroy- need more than that on the weekend. Has O'Toole the discipline and concentration for the job? I'm not sure- he will be trying to get on the scoresheet himself. Grimes was better for them than first viewing showed so he will need a matchup- Louis Kelly would be ideal. McAnespie for Lennon seems pretty straightforward. Meath got some good return for playing at pace on the break, that has to be the way for Monaghan- Louth will be happy to see Monaghan getting sucked into over-and-back football. Lavelle back would be massive. McPhilips could do well enough on Tommy Durnin, most likely off the bench though. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1229 - 22/05/2025 22:28:41 2611814 Link 0 |
Farney Army pod an interesting listen this week. Got impression Kieran Hughes doesn't see much between the teams on Saturday and almost doesn't really rate Monaghan or know where they are at. Think we do have problems in our full forward line through a lack of presence in there. Jack is more a player to come on now when game has opened up and shouldn't really be starting these games but mgmt don't have any choice as v little other threat inside v really good sides. Mooney still better bet off the bench. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1893 - 23/05/2025 09:53:13 2611837 Link 0 |
The irony of course being that the option of 25mins from KHughes off the bench would still be a great option for the Monaghan FF line... Happy with the panel as selected, principally because the bench looks stronger than the first 15. Looks like GB might be looking to counter Louths customary 2nd half push but I wouldn't be in favour of starting cautiously. Play for 70+. 4 starting positions up for grabs, but Kelly and Lavelle back in is great to see plus McBennett and Hughes- more power in the mix now.. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1229 - 23/05/2025 11:09:38 2611852 Link 1 |
Totally agree, we need to be alive to the game from throw in
Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 49 - 23/05/2025 11:31:42 2611854 Link 0 |
We are 1/3 to beat Louth which seems a bit ambitious. Think it will be a 50/50 game myself. The hurlers are 10/1 to beat the undocumented Irish in there semifinal farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 235 - 23/05/2025 14:45:52 2611899 Link 1 |
Time to look forward, not back. That ship has sailed. Also cant understand how we are favorites. Maybe they have information on the partying that may have happened after Leinster Final.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 581 - 23/05/2025 15:39:40 2611923 Link 0 |
Johnny Glynn ex all Ireland winner lining out for the exiles.
222 (UK) - Posts: 858 - 23/05/2025 16:08:41 2611930 Link 0 |
Any predictions for the league finals this year. ScarnaMan1990 (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 23/05/2025 19:24:50 2611965 Link 0 |
Game sounds great on northern sound because I can't see a thing on the gaa plus camera! Blair witch project was clearer!!! GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 123 - 24/05/2025 17:31:59 2612090 Link 0 |
A win the most important things against tricky opposition who kept themselves in some sort of range with 4 goals. Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 371 - 24/05/2025 18:29:08 2612120 Link 0 |
Frustrating enough display from a Monaghan perspective, whipped Louth all over the pitch but handed 2 goals to them second half to take the gloss off it. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1229 - 24/05/2025 18:30:10 2612121 Link 0 |