Best draw we could have hoped for, both counties will fancy their chances, we have nothing to fear and it will be very much a 50/50 game. Hopefully we bring the same crowd to Clones dec (None) - Posts: 310 - 15/06/2026 09:36:52 2679736 Link 0 |
Not the worst draw this morning. Home draw be perfect but Monaghan are similar to us, they're punching consistently above their presumed level year in year out, not sure we've ever played in Clones before or in a long long time. A trip to Killarney or Croker to play Meath would have been a tougher assignment. Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2672 - 15/06/2026 09:40:56 2679737 Link 0 |
We showed outstanding character to come from eight behind and then again to come from nine behind late on. There is great resilience in this team. But the game seemed to pass us by at times, we were unable to reach the same levels as previous games. The demands of a 6th Championship game may have been a factor, as we lacked energy and intensity and injuries are taking their toll. The defence appeared unsettled, Galway repeatedly found space down the middle and looked to be going through the motions themselves at times. An overemphasis on man marking may have had an impact on our defensive structure. The game was really lost around the middle where Galway dominated the kickouts and loose possession. We lost 14 out of 26 of our own restarts, and yet we were only beaten by 3 in the end. Even before Ray was taken off we were treading water. Not sure if Cooney was injured but his work rate was missed. For big lads, Niall and Ormsby never imposed themselves on the game, Duncan and Forde should have been brought on earlier. Whittaker is clearly carrying an injury, give him a break. Galway identified and exploited physical mismatches around their kickouts, Brandon was jumping with Darcy in the second half. Monaghan isn't a bad draw but we are in bonus territory, with a Leinster title in the bag and to be a game away from a All Ireland Quarter Final is the stuff of dreams from where we came from at the start of the year. Nice to see the lads enjoying a swim in the sea after the game, they deserve another big support in Clones. iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 350 - 15/06/2026 09:41:18 2679738 Link 0 |
Going to be a difficult few days for this team to pick themselves up. That was an energy sapping game higher intensity in warm humid conditions. Looking like Ray Connellan could be out with groin. Whittaker still in bother with his injury, these games are taking there toll. Fair play to them for battling right to the end. While a few mistakes gave Galway cheap scores they were not the losing of the game. Galway always had that bit more. There must have been 3-4 goal chances in second half where they took points. The team now know where they need to be at to compete at this level. Good luck to them in the coming days and hopefully they will give us another right battle next weekend. Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 918 - 15/06/2026 09:49:42 2679742 Link 0 |
Westmeath played monaghan in clones last season in league and you gotta go back fair few years to a league play off for promotion in 08 in clones ye beat us in. Its a good draw for both sides although hoping home advantage will see us home..
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2007 - 15/06/2026 10:09:55 2679752 Link 0 |
The progress this young team has made this year is phenomenal. To go from losing against Laois, Wexford & Down in the league to winning 5 championship games on the spin, including only Westmeath's second ever provincial title is remarkable. WHLeinster2026 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1 - 15/06/2026 10:15:59 2679757 Link 0 |
Let's turn Clones maroon. It's the least these lads deserve after the year they've given us. Yesterday was disappointing but the way they fought to the end showed the character within this team. There was one score in it and we have to take all the positives we can from that. Galway were a seriously impressive outfit both physically and in attack and we very nearly got something out of it. Although they deserve great respect we should not fear Monaghan. There isn't very much between us and them and there is no reason we can't go up there with the belief of getting a win and a place in the All Ireland quarter final. mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2026 10:40:22 2679777 Link 0 |
We played in 2003 Championship - Lost by a few points - Gary Dolan scored the goal...Very sparse Westmeath crowd travelled that day. Hopefully next weekend will be very different
Dessie15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 15/06/2026 10:47:13 2679779 Link 0 |
Good draw for both teams, all can agree on that! As mentioned there is a fair degree of similarity in the trajectories of both counties. It's a brilliant outcome of the new format that this relatively novel pairing are now playing for a Q/F place. The fitness of Ray Connellan will be a major factor in the balance of the game but that is for later in the week. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1354 - 15/06/2026 10:52:57 2679780 Link 0 |
Before we move on to the next one... well done to players and management v Galway. Salthill on a sunny day in a packed stadium was unreal. WH players and management dont know when to lie down... its great to see. Chasing the game after 3x slopping goals, but never backed down. Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 15/06/2026 11:14:24 2679789 Link 2 |
Was hoping for Monaghan at home. Away… in Clones, Will take it. Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 15/06/2026 11:20:26 2679792 Link 0 |
Mighty craic in the stands yesterday, fair play - great to see a full stadium of Maroon and White. Might craic around Salthill with ye and best of luck next weekend. The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 852 - 15/06/2026 11:20:33 2679793 Link 0 |
While Monaghan is not a bad draw allow me a little rant . The only 2 provincial champions left Westmeath and armagh both have tough away fixtures . So while im delighted that the delaney Cup is in westmeath in my opinion and im sure I'll be slated the 2 of westmeath and armagh should have had a home draw as some kind of reward mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 2005 - 15/06/2026 12:13:01 2679832 Link 0 |
Correct, highest scoring inter county game to date still I believe, was a weird game (early in the new rules) no defending by either team and all out scoring.
Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 15 - 15/06/2026 13:09:46 2679874 Link 0 |
I agree somewhat, I actually think the provincials champions shouldn't of had to play the 1st round game (Cavan in our case), Dublin who lost to us got the same advantage a home game against Louth where they were deservedly bet. In fact Dublin got an extras day rest playing on the Sunday and us playing Cavan Sat eve, make sense of it at all. If they don't change things it will kill the provincial championships if you are not given a carrot for winning them in the all ireland series. Also with the amount of grounds in the country i think this R3 draw should be in neutral venues. Why should a being first out in a poxy draw give you such an advantage. We'll have had 1/7 games at home so far after next weekend.
Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 15 - 15/06/2026 13:18:40 2679881 Link 1 |
I believe they are talking about changing next season as a sweetener for provincial champions that first 2 games in All Ireland series be at home. Don't think anyone will slate you for saying it Mick. There's a big imbalance in the championship structure. That was Galways fourth game, it was Westmeaths sixth. And it has taken its toll on the team.
Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 918 - 15/06/2026 13:31:28 2679886 Link 0 |