Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Sligobuck21:  "I don't think we are bad in midfield, we dominated the division 4 in midfield, probably will be strong next year too in the 3rd division. And we put it up to Roscommons midfield also. We just have no depth to change up our options if we need to change our style of play, kickout strategy or if it's just not clicking for someone on the day. We can change any other line of the pitch because we have depth. I Think we protected our D relatively well until their goal and after that all shape was lost as we had to push out on them and chase the game. We got our matchup on Smith wrong. He was the difference. Cox in my opinion has been strong at 6, Cummins can play their also, Lavin too. That's not to mention some lads in the club scene who could come in next year. I don't think it was the centre backs fault at all yesterday when they cut through us for the goal. And the others times they cut through us it was from the sideline in. How can one man stop 3/4 lads running at him. We simply didnt track runners from our own half forward line and midfield. Maybe it was the heat, step up in intensity, I don't know. It's always easy to point the finger at one man but when you've 4 lads infront of him not doing their job it's always going to happen. We can't afford to switch off for 10 seconds the way we did.
Look at Conor Loftus with Mayo. His first year playing at centre half back and hes doing just fine because Ruane and Oconnor in midfield are able to track back and make turnovers as well as their half forward line. Conan Marren?, Cathal Henry?, Kevin Banks?, Adrian Frain? Joe Keaney?, Canice Mulligan?, Gavin Gorman?, David Barrett? . Any more ?? I'm also not giving out about our current midfield because for the league we were excellent and against Kildare thought they played good too. But we don't have any depth in that position. If one lad isn't have a good game we've no option to change it up. I remember Marren against Roscommon last year and he had a great game. Then didn't hardly get a run in the tailteann. I know some of them lads have been tried before but clearly not given enough of a chance considering they dominate the club scene. They are all lads that spring to mind off the top of my head.
We aren't smart enough also I agree with that. Not communicating under high balls, 2/3 lads waiting for the other to pick up the ball, bringing the ball into 2/3 men, not getting out of our 21 and D fast enough for kick outs, not slowing the game down when we have to, not injecting pace when we need to. Those are the fine margins that set the teams apart.
Look I think there's plenty to be happy with, we got promoted, we improved greatly, we will learn from this competition, a competitive club scene, player recruitment, a plan in place for next year and a clear vision of getting to division 2. I don't think we are far away from division two. If we fix our own errors and learn more game smarts we will be there or thereabouts. Hopefully some of the u20s from this year and last year are really worked on over the next few months to get them ready for senior. Over the next 2 years you'd expect a lot of the past and current u20 lads to be getting into the senior squad especially as there is 11 underage next year from this years 15. Some lads currently training with them from this years team and then you've got the lads who were training this year but didn't get much game time. After the championship you'd expect there will be places up for grabs as coaches I'd say now have doubts over a few lads. I agree with McEntee not playing them if they're not performing in training but also think lads should be given a shot now that some lads have "found their limitations".
Sligeach Abú!!!"
Just to be clear, I wasn't getting at Cox. He has had a fine year I will agree. Marking a likely All-Star in Enda Smith, cannot be a true judgement. As someone above mentioned about our "watery" defence, that's what I'm getting at. Teams just seem to run though us too easily and this was v the likes of Leitrim, Wicklow, Laois etc Maybe the long term answer will be Paul McNamara at 6, it's hard to know. Yes Conan Marren was the best midfielder on the pitch against Ros last year and he hasn't been seen since. Kilcoyne has had a fine year and does an amount of work. Lally will only get better as it's his ball handling that has been costly. I do think he played his better games when on the half forward line though. We just need more of a spine in the team that will not be penetrated as much against the better teams.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 05/06/2023 22:35:54    2484241

Very surprised to see so few sligo few supporters at the match, they must have been all at the beach. The team deserved better as they gave it their all. Very impressed with no 11 any 7 for Sligo.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 163 - 06/06/2023 07:10:14    2484256

Replying To imformed:  "Very surprised to see so few sligo few supporters at the match, they must have been all at the beach. The team deserved better as they gave it their all. Very impressed with no 11 any 7 for Sligo."
I was equally surprised at so few Rossies at the game. Just over 5 thousand people travelled which hammers home my point from last week that this competition is not fit for purpose in this format. I am equally amazed at the number of Rossies posters who come on here to gloat. Maybe you should set up your own forum ?. Unless I am gravely mistaken ye actually have won nothing this year and unless you win the All Ireland you will have zilch to show for the year at any age group.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 06/06/2023 09:12:05    2484276

There was in excess of 8000 at the match anyone that goes regularly would verify that.
The company doing the gate has a lot to answer for with attendance numbers.
There scanners were no more scanning tickets than my phone could, because that's what they were using.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/06/2023 10:33:36    2484301

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "There was in excess of 8000 at the match anyone that goes regularly would verify that.
The company doing the gate has a lot to answer for with attendance numbers.
There scanners were no more scanning tickets than my phone could, because that's what they were using."
Was well in excess of 5000. The terrace seemed to be full and the seated stand was almost full.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 06/06/2023 10:58:33    2484315

Replying To eoinog:  "I was equally surprised at so few Rossies at the game. Just over 5 thousand people travelled which hammers home my point from last week that this competition is not fit for purpose in this format. I am equally amazed at the number of Rossies posters who come on here to gloat. Maybe you should set up your own forum ?. Unless I am gravely mistaken ye actually have won nothing this year and unless you win the All Ireland you will have zilch to show for the year at any age group."
Ye actually taught Sligo would win some of ye here ffs. About 300 Sligo fans attended and ye were bet out the gate. Some lads having a go a Shane Curran for calling it like anyone with a brain. HOME BANKER

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 06/06/2023 11:41:14    2484342

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ye actually taught Sligo would win some of ye here ffs. About 300 Sligo fans attended and ye were bet out the gate. Some lads having a go a Shane Curran for calling it like anyone with a brain. HOME BANKER"
Tut Tut, never saw as many grammar mistakes in such a short post. The word is thought not "taught" and several other mistakes. Please put more effort when you are on our forum. You can scribble away on your own one

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 06/06/2023 12:16:51    2484363

Replying To ShellyGael:  "Just to be clear, I wasn't getting at Cox. He has had a fine year I will agree. Marking a likely All-Star in Enda Smith, cannot be a true judgement. As someone above mentioned about our "watery" defence, that's what I'm getting at. Teams just seem to run though us too easily and this was v the likes of Leitrim, Wicklow, Laois etc Maybe the long term answer will be Paul McNamara at 6, it's hard to know. Yes Conan Marren was the best midfielder on the pitch against Ros last year and he hasn't been seen since. Kilcoyne has had a fine year and does an amount of work. Lally will only get better as it's his ball handling that has been costly. I do think he played his better games when on the half forward line though. We just need more of a spine in the team that will not be penetrated as much against the better teams."
I thought that most of the damage that Smith did was when isolated 1-v-1 with Luke Nicholson on LHS yesterday in 1st half.
A big take away for me on our championship journey so far this year has been the amount of individual unforced errors that has resulted in direct scores for the opposition. One of our players has turned the ball over at least 3 times per game since and including connacht final and hasn't been replaced (albeit in a position we are thin enough as it is). Consistent mistakes should come with consequences. The top teams don't hesitate. If we eliminate these errors we are well on the way to improving another notch. Disappointed with our line making a substitution on our own kick out yesterday especially when playing into the breeze. We need to have more cop on.

jjjshabadoojnr (None) - Posts: 10 - 06/06/2023 12:53:34    2484383

Replying To imformed:  "Very surprised to see so few sligo few supporters at the match, they must have been all at the beach. The team deserved better as they gave it their all. Very impressed with no 11 any 7 for Sligo."
Don't understand the lack of interest from Sligo supporters to follow their flag ship team as you say a team that deserve better, Bigger crowds was following their U20s the last two years, don't get me wrong underage titles are lovely to win but at the end of day it's development football and how many go on to established senior footballers in the years ahead is what matters most.

Sligo seniors had a good year with league promotion and reaching a first Connacht final for 13 years. In the group stage round 1 was at home and winnable match against Kildare which should be attracting at least 5k but only half was in attendance, Tiny following travelled to Hyde Park by the looks of it, the good result/performance against Kildare didn't seem to spark an interest and derby championship matches should be enough to bring many thousand to games regardless.

Inter county season is over for every team next month, Will be January before supporters see their county in action again so I'm at a loss as to why supporters are choosing to boycott games in the height of the summer.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2023 14:10:34    2484417

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Don't understand the lack of interest from Sligo supporters to follow their flag ship team as you say a team that deserve better, Bigger crowds was following their U20s the last two years, don't get me wrong underage titles are lovely to win but at the end of day it's development football and how many go on to established senior footballers in the years ahead is what matters most.

Sligo seniors had a good year with league promotion and reaching a first Connacht final for 13 years. In the group stage round 1 was at home and winnable match against Kildare which should be attracting at least 5k but only half was in attendance, Tiny following travelled to Hyde Park by the looks of it, the good result/performance against Kildare didn't seem to spark an interest and derby championship matches should be enough to bring many thousand to games regardless.

Inter county season is over for every team next month, Will be January before supporters see their county in action again so I'm at a loss as to why supporters are choosing to boycott games in the height of the summer."
It's costly paying week in and week out to games, ad in stopping for food, diesel and it is hard going

We have had a great year but it has been costly on the wallet and also time. I feel that most supporters can't justify the cost or benefit of going to these group games when Sligo ultimately has very little to play for but a learning experience. The good weather last weekend made it very easy when weighing up options of whether to travel to a miserable town with little chance of a win or head to seaside with the kids

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 444 - 06/06/2023 15:09:28    2484445

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Don't understand the lack of interest from Sligo supporters to follow their flag ship team as you say a team that deserve better, Bigger crowds was following their U20s the last two years, don't get me wrong underage titles are lovely to win but at the end of day it's development football and how many go on to established senior footballers in the years ahead is what matters most.

Inter county season is over for every team next month, Will be January before supporters see their county in action again so I'm at a loss as to why supporters are choosing to boycott games in the height of the summer."
Not sure why people seem to be paranoid about Sligo having no interest in this competition. It's the same everywhere else. Did you see the figures for all the other games??? There's no interest. We get so few good days weather wise so we have to be careful how we spent the few precious days we get. Putting the family into the car at a big cost to attend a meaningless game as these games are not cheap is not a priority.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 06/06/2023 15:21:29    2484450

Replying To muscles:  "It's costly paying week in and week out to games, ad in stopping for food, diesel and it is hard going

We have had a great year but it has been costly on the wallet and also time. I feel that most supporters can't justify the cost or benefit of going to these group games when Sligo ultimately has very little to play for but a learning experience. The good weather last weekend made it very easy when weighing up options of whether to travel to a miserable town with little chance of a win or head to seaside with the kids"
100%, the cost of living is starting to hit home. We you see the turnout in Castlebar yesterday even the most loyal supporters in Ireland have had enough of the road. Also the match day experience has changed for the worst in the past 2 years or so, grounds very late to open the gates, etc..

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 06/06/2023 15:26:35    2484454

Carrabine & Towey

SligoGaa12 (Sligo) - Posts: 15 - 06/06/2023 15:34:11    2484458

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ye actually taught Sligo would win some of ye here ffs. About 300 Sligo fans attended and ye were bet out the gate. Some lads having a go a Shane Curran for calling it like anyone with a brain. HOME BANKER"
Agent sourmilk, please report back to base. Your spellchecker is fixed for Mission Lillywhite.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 06/06/2023 16:08:36    2484479

Replying To eoinog:  "Not sure why people seem to be paranoid about Sligo having no interest in this competition. It's the same everywhere else. Did you see the figures for all the other games??? There's no interest. We get so few good days weather wise so we have to be careful how we spent the few precious days we get. Putting the family into the car at a big cost to attend a meaningless game as these games are not cheap is not a priority."
paranoid? time that you drop the ignoramus remarks one would expect from 12 year old than grown adult. These are championship matches with the flag ship team in action and Sligo of the 16 teams had arguably the worst support of any county.

Tony McEntee rally call before the group stage has fallen on deaf ears.

"We need that. We need every advantage. Home advantage, the crowd behind us. The players will get a lift from that. This is hard for most players to get; in Division 4 you are looking at hundreds at these matches. You don't get atmosphere. There is no occasion at it. You might get some families and friends but that is all you are getting. Now that we are getting crowds and great success form the 20s, if we get thousands into Markievicz Park it will lift everything."

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 06/06/2023 17:10:28    2484503

Can we just start taking club scene so the outsiders will go back to their own cabins?!

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 06/06/2023 18:01:48    2484526

What heard wasn't right, venue was Sunday O'Connor park v Kildare at 1:45pm

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 06/06/2023 18:13:27    2484528

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "paranoid? time that you drop the ignoramus remarks one would expect from 12 year old than grown adult. These are championship matches with the flag ship team in action and Sligo of the 16 teams had arguably the worst support of any county.

Tony McEntee rally call before the group stage has fallen on deaf ears.

"We need that. We need every advantage. Home advantage, the crowd behind us. The players will get a lift from that. This is hard for most players to get; in Division 4 you are looking at hundreds at these matches. You don't get atmosphere. There is no occasion at it. You might get some families and friends but that is all you are getting. Now that we are getting crowds and great success form the 20s, if we get thousands into Markievicz Park it will lift everything.""
It's very simple.
Adult ticket €25, student/oap €20, juvenile €5. Let's say family of 4 you could be paying €60 (2 adults 2 juveniles), family of 5 €65+ (2 adults 3 juveniles), family of 6 €70+ (2 adults 4 juveniles) and chances are most people are going to have atleast one student which isn't even accounted for in my pricing.
So firstly it's costly.
Everyone has come on here from other counties to say that they knew Sligo wouldn't win a game or that they shouldn't be in this competition. So would the Sligo people not know that themselves considering they're from the county. Why would they pay over €70 on tickets, plus money on fuel and food for away games when they could go off with the family on a rare hot day. People can say all they like that it's bad support but it's easy to say that but then contradict yourself by saying that the matches are dead rubbers because they weren't going to win. Which is the exact thing Roscommon people have done saying one second the Sligo support was poor, but the next saying they knew they would win and Shane Curran was 100% correct and anyone with a brain would know that. And I'm not complaining that they said that because it was highly likely they would win. I just don't get the contradiction.
Thirdly, it's easier to support a team that's winning. Yes the u20s had a larger support, yes they are underage, but tell me this : In a county like Sligo who are starved of success would you rather bring your kids and pay money to see a team who's going to lose or pay half the price to see a team who's going to win and have a great day out.
There's no two ways about it the Sligo support for the seniors has been poor. BUT… everyone is here to look at Sligo and saying how their crowds are so poor yet the same people are saying it's going to be a cake walk for Sligos opposition. So should Sligo people be paying the guts off 200/300 euro to see 3 group games that the whole country thinks they're going to lose.
Don't get me wrong, I've gone to 6 games this year in the league and all of the championship ones so far. But I don't expect every Sligo fan to fork out such money and give up so much time when the whole country thinks we are going to lose.

My whole point is : Don't bother complaining about the Sligo support if you're going to say in the next breath that the game was a waste and Sligo were always going to lose. I don't care if you say it's a championship game and therefore there should be more support… because I disagree with that. McEntee from the outset said realistically we aren't going to beat these teams and we are looking to just improve. So in my opinion, if anything Sligo should have bigger crowds at their league games.

Did Armagh pack out their stadium before they went on their run of form the last few years. Did Derry have the same crowds they do now when they were in division 3 and 4. No no they didn't.

I can only imagine the amount of people that are going to come and still give out about the support and give out about this post. But tell me this… honestly if your county was going into a match costing you €50-€100 minimum on tickets, €20 on fuel, money to feed the family for the day, during a heatwave (in a county full of beaches), bank holiday weekend so high chance of family/friends home, not expected to win, not given a beggars chance by anyone but the few die hard supporters. A division 4 team against the 3rd placed Div 1 team.

Would you go???
I've been to over 80% of the games, but I don't expect everyone to do the same until we are a division 2 team. Because then we will have a better chance. That's just life. It's realistic.
We are improving and in a few years I've no doubt we will be competing with the Div 1 and 2 teams. But we aren't there yet but I know for a fact we will be in soon time. And I will come back to this post when we are.
The End. Thank you.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 06/06/2023 18:31:04    2484533

Sligo v Dublin in Breffini Park clashes with Father Days that will be another excuse for Sligo supporters such as eoinog not to attend.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 06/06/2023 20:36:09    2484555

Sligo v Dublin is fixed for Cavan at 1.45pm on Sunday week. Hopefully a bigger Sligo crowd turns up to give the lads a boost. We need all the help we can get. Die hards will go regardless but we need more. The Sligo support against Kildare and Roscommon was very poor and the seniors deserve more than that. I know its not easy if you think we will get hammered but support makes a difference.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1642 - 06/06/2023 21:05:28    2484560