Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "No offence taken, but tell me why.

I've spoken to plenty people from clubs all around Donegal, Tyrone, Derry who suggest Casement would be a decent alternative for all or some of the reasons mentioned. Same goes for Down and Antrim gaels. One way or another, please God it gets built as our second-largest city should have a stadium that can hold more than 20k people, and secondly it would be great if the GAA (with help of FAI,IFA, and respective govs) would be the ones to provide it.

I think when and if it gets up and running, you will see the Ulster final played there, even just for a one-off final as a landmark event celebrating the ground, perhaps in commemoration of 75th anniversary of opening/first Ulster final played there. This would be 2028, so not sure of the logistics of that, but if there are doubts about the suitability of hosting the Ulster final, let the EUROs and a potential one-off final be the trial run. I'm sure you'd like to be surprised."
I just think Clones is a sacred place for Ulster football, I think too much would be lost bringing it to Casement, a one off final there to mark the opening would be ok I wouldn't like it to become the norm though.
It will be great for Belfast and Antrim when Casement is built.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2816 - 13/05/2024 13:33:21    2544499

don't think my heart can take much more of that craic lads, what an absolutely incredible day, one of the best I've had following Donegal ever I have to say, it was magic and to see what it meant to everyone was really out of this world I don't care about any begrudgers or naysayers, it was just pure pure magic

commiserations to Armagh I've always said their supporters are just top quality, always have the greatest of craic with them, fantastic football people and I hope their day comes just never at Donegal's expense! While I have time for the fans and a good few of their players I do have to admit some of the antics from one or two Armagh players gets my back up but sure look you can't like everyone!

I am so so proud of Jason McGee as a Cloich Cheann Fhaola man, the performances he has put in the three games were absolutely colossal and I have said before we were all so excited about him and Langan for years with their potential well by god are they showing it this year, Jason was a bit quieter by the standards of the first two games but when it mattered he popped up with a huge score and some big big fetches and contests in around the middle of the field. Langan too, he has become a bit of a spoiler this year I think, being asked to mark the oppositions main man in midfield and he did some job yesterday on Rian and came up with a huge score himself too

Niall O'Donnell is one of my favourite players as well. Now he has grown into a leader on the pitch, gets on so much ball and look sometimes I am pulling my hair out when he gives the ball away but he tries a lot of things, sometimes they don't come work but then other times - dhia the two scores he got when we looked dead on our feet were absolutely fantastic

Mogan, O'Baoill, McHugh all had their moments across the game, McHugh with a big big turnover before we equalised in normal time, Mogan like O'Donnell getting on huge amount of ball and a big score in ET, O'Baoill what can you say is there a better striker of the ball in the Donegal panel at the moment, hard to say if there is. Gallen in the first half just an exhibition, the Dohertys, ah dhia I'm buzzing

Look to be nit picking I think Eoghan Bán starting didn't work, he didn't have a huge impact on the game at all but it's worked out in the end as now he has a good lot of minutes in his legs for the rest of the year. Thompson wasn't as impactful as you'd hope in general play but put in a lot of work. I think our full back line struggles - I think defensively overall we were way too passive but you have to credit Armagh as well for their score-taking. One that Turbitt got in particular in the first half, Moore did everything right as a defender to hold him and then just got beat on the 2nd movement, it was brilliant forward play. But overall I'd like us to get more of a tackle in on teams going forward. I was shouting "too easy" too often but I'm forever shouting at the game

Penalties are so cruel and I am glad we came out the right end of it

I am on cloud 9, I have sat through many a painful day in Clones over the years as we've a poor record in finals for the calibre of team that has gotten there in my opinion, but I will savour yesterday for as long as I live, the run of games as well I honestly can't remember a run as tough as that to win Ulster. Thank you to Jim and all the staff and players, what a buzz in the county again

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 13/05/2024 13:34:34    2544500

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "No offence taken, but tell me why.

I've spoken to plenty people from clubs all around Donegal, Tyrone, Derry who suggest Casement would be a decent alternative for all or some of the reasons mentioned. Same goes for Down and Antrim gaels. One way or another, please God it gets built as our second-largest city should have a stadium that can hold more than 20k people, and secondly it would be great if the GAA (with help of FAI,IFA, and respective govs) would be the ones to provide it.

I think when and if it gets up and running, you will see the Ulster final played there, even just for a one-off final as a landmark event celebrating the ground, perhaps in commemoration of 75th anniversary of opening/first Ulster final played there. This would be 2028, so not sure of the logistics of that, but if there are doubts about the suitability of hosting the Ulster final, let the EUROs and a potential one-off final be the trial run. I'm sure you'd like to be surprised."
I would agree with this, in reality with the new A6 bypassing Dungiven it is as quick for me to get from Falcarragh to Belfast as it is to Clones, and better options in and around Belfast for parking and also for getting away back up the road. Only bad thing with Belfast is the West Link is a really poor road and could cause terrible traffic on match days if not handled properly

I love Clones as a venue and so many memories over the years but I think the right thing for GAA in Ulster is to have a good modern stadium in Ireland's second city. Ulster final day is a magic day and has been in Clones for years, could you imagine the craic and colour walking up the Falls Road for a big Ulster final in Casement

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 13/05/2024 13:39:57    2544502

I've noticed a lot of posters mention today that we are now in 'bonus' territory. From listening to Jim in Donegal Town last night he is certainly not of that opinion thankfully. He senses there is even bigger days ahead for this group and I for what can't wait for it. Exciting times ahead.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 841 - 13/05/2024 13:56:53    2544513

Well done to Donegal players on ulster title number 11. Paddy Mcbrearty has proven himself a wonderful captain since being appointed in January 2023. Can't wait for the rest of the season.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 729 - 13/05/2024 14:10:10    2544517

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I just think Clones is a sacred place for Ulster football, I think too much would be lost bringing it to Casement, a one off final there to mark the opening would be ok I wouldn't like it to become the norm though.
It will be great for Belfast and Antrim when Casement is built."
I understand that point of view and agree that it is a sacred place, but I'd be careful not to put St. Tiernach's Park on a pedestal. I've made my opinion known, but i'm open-minded one way or the other because the last thing I want to hear when I'm in Clones or Casement Park on an Ulster Final day is "wouldn't it have been so much better somewhere else".

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 410 - 13/05/2024 14:15:45    2544521

And breathe.....my Garmin watch is suggesting I might need to see a doctor following the abnormal heart rate spikes that I experienced at various times yesterday afternoon!

I'd echo a lot of what has been said by other supporters already.
Commiserations to Armagh. Absolutley fierce competitors and some brilliant footballers. I really thought you had our number midway through the second half and at one stage in ET. Your lads just have to keep on trucking and hopefully they'll get their day in the sun someday soon.

Our lads, unbelievable croí agus spiorad. A lot of the pre-match chat centred around the 00's when Armagh beat us regularly and how they knew Donegal would fold when the pressure came on. Not anymore. The bottle shown by Niall O'Donnell, Dáire O'Baoíll, Peadar Mogan and especially young Odhran Doherty at the end was absolutely fantastic. Doherty just loves that outside of the boot finish. He has the technique down to a T. Still some nerve to do it when the game was in the melting pot at the end of ET. His clubmate Marty Boyle was down on the sideline in front of us and he was going bananas!!

Loved Jim's speech in Donegal Town last night. A few minutes of well dones and thank yous. But then a serious five minutes when he left everyone under no illusions that this time is ready to give the AI series a serious rattle. And rightly so!

As for the Galway supporters? You're being awful good to yourselves putting yourselves up on a pedastal. A good team surely but very often flatter to deceive when it comes to the crunch. Just you worry about a wounded Derry coming to your place this weekend and we'll see where you're at then.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9230 - 13/05/2024 14:18:25    2544522

I said at the start that apart from Dublin and Kerry who I still feel on their good day are a step ahead of the rest, the championship is wide open. Derry, Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo and Galway will all fell they have the potential to get to a semi final and see what happens. Donegal are very much in the mix especially with McGuinness there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7919 - 13/05/2024 14:22:51    2544523

I was about to sit down to publish my thoughts on the game yesterday, but no need, because CCFAbu covered most of what I had to say.

Great credit to both teams yesterday, players on both teams gave exhibitions in point scoring. But in the end, it was the team that couldn't win Versus the team that wouldn't lose. The composure shown by our boys was absolutely incredible.

As for the mad Galway man, that doesn't like the use of the word "incredible" being used; he has 8 likes on his post at the minute. I've heard of political parties having these BOT Twitter accounts, but my God he must have a load of Hoganstand Accounts to give himself that many likes for that post. The mind boggles.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 608 - 13/05/2024 14:35:04    2544526

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I've noticed a lot of posters mention today that we are now in 'bonus' territory. From listening to Jim in Donegal Town last night he is certainly not of that opinion thankfully. He senses there is even bigger days ahead for this group and I for what can't wait for it. Exciting times ahead."
I would have agreed with people saying we are now in bonus territory, but Jim definitely doesn't seem to think that. Heard his speech in Donegal town , he spoke about the 2 massive steps already taken (league and ulster) and said the reality now was there's only one thing left and they would go after it with everything they have! seemed reluctant to give the players 2 days off.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 494 - 13/05/2024 14:51:04    2544530

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I think you are digging a hole for yourself. If you think the quality of the Connacht final was better than the Ulster final yesterday then you have Connacht tinted glasses on. Even in score taking alone there was a difference in day and night. Galway will get a major wake up call next weekend........."
Two very intriguing finals, more notable for the tightness than the quality. But plenty of quality too, and good scores in both.
One was 16-15 , the other was 15-15 in normal time , both of which were good scoring rates for 4 teams that were set up quite defensively. Very dificult to compare teams based on these games . The 4 teams are probably all in the top 8 , but more in the second half of the top 8 . Of the 4 , I would say that Donegal are the only ones who I would give any chance of All Ireland glory, in so far as they have the mix of defensive structure and quick attacking options that has already troubled Derry and might also trouble Dublin / Kerry. Armagh , Galway and Mayo dont have the overall armoury.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 851 - 13/05/2024 15:01:53    2544533

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I just think Clones is a sacred place for Ulster football, I think too much would be lost bringing it to Casement, a one off final there to mark the opening would be ok I wouldn't like it to become the norm though.
Beyond nostalgia, can you name me one thing that would be lost by bringing the Ulster final to Casement?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2417 - 13/05/2024 15:03:37    2544534

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I was about to sit down to publish my thoughts on the game yesterday, but no need, because CCFAbu covered most of what I had to say.

Great credit to both teams yesterday, players on both teams gave exhibitions in point scoring. But in the end, it was the team that couldn't win Versus the team that wouldn't lose. The composure shown by our boys was absolutely incredible.

As for the mad Galway man, that doesn't like the use of the word "incredible" being used; he has 8 likes on his post at the minute. I've heard of political parties having these BOT Twitter accounts, but my God he must have a load of Hoganstand Accounts to give himself that many likes for that post. The mind boggles."
'Hater's are gonna hate' to quote Taylor Swift, the green eyed monsters are out as our Tyrone friend Saynothing said. maybe they should have played 'Shake it off' that after the presentation?lol.
I'm so happy nothing could upset me today, within reason.
The swaggers back in Tir Chonnaill, Tyrone up next again in Mac Cumhaill Park, they'll be out and primed for revenge, bring it on.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2816 - 13/05/2024 15:13:03    2544537

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Beyond nostalgia, can you name me one thing that would be lost by bringing the Ulster final to Casement?"
Listen to what Oisin McConville said about Clones before the game if you get a chance, he summed it up better than I can.
Anyway it won't be down to opinion of us fans here, the decision will be made by others, my vote is for Clones, just spend some money and make a few improvements.
Clones reminds me of an old pub everybody loves with great history character and atmosphere, you can't replicate that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2816 - 13/05/2024 15:20:54    2544538

Donegal's new song for 2024, lol Feck the begrudgers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfWlot6h_JM

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2816 - 13/05/2024 15:30:22    2544540

The nostalgia and romanticism around Clones is one thing, fair enough but the town is a hole and it's a complete disaster to get in and out of. Look forward to Ulster Finals being moved to a City in a proper modern stadium.

People cried about the old Croke Park being replaced too. People like what they are used to, until bigger and better comes along, so roll on Casement!

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 13/05/2024 15:49:50    2544541

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Listen to what Oisin McConville said about Clones before the game if you get a chance, he summed it up better than I can.
Anyway it won't be down to opinion of us fans here, the decision will be made by others, my vote is for Clones, just spend some money and make a few improvements.
Clones reminds me of an old pub everybody loves with great history character and atmosphere, you can't replicate that."
Sounds a bit like Tuam, the spiritual home of Connacht Football. Probably being too nostalgic but I don't think other Connacht venues compare to Tuam for matchday atmosphere.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7423 - 13/05/2024 15:56:07    2544543

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Donegal's new song for 2024, lol Feck the begrudgers.

Two" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfWlot6h_JM"
Two Swifties in this house like your choice!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7423 - 13/05/2024 16:04:10    2544544

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Just a wee word on clones. It's a great place for the ulster final and to see the colour and the streets around awash with colour is a great spectacle. In saying that I inside the ground I couldn't really hear a thing the PA system was saying. I needed to know I left the car windows opened.

The scoreboards are way out of date with no clock. The new one they put in mccumhaill Park and breffni are much better. They had some some kind of events company to blare out music who certainly didn't know their audience. Where was the hills of donegal and Jimmy's winning matches ?

A few improvements like this would really help."
Ah I love a bit of Bowie, U2, Bruce and Rollings Stones as much as the next man. But definitely agree with you that The Hills of Donegal would have been way better than Glory Days had it been played right after the penalties yesterday.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9230 - 13/05/2024 16:56:25    2544549

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Just a wee word on clones. It's a great place for the ulster final and to see the colour and the streets around awash with colour is a great spectacle. In saying that I inside the ground I couldn't really hear a thing the PA system was saying. I needed to know I left the car windows opened.

The scoreboards are way out of date with no clock. The new one they put in mccumhaill Park and breffni are much better. They had some some kind of events company to blare out music who certainly didn't know their audience. Where was the hills of donegal and Jimmy's winning matches ?

A few improvements like this would really help."
Ah I love a bit of Bowie, U2, Bruce and Rollings Stones as much as the next man. But definitely agree with you that The Hills of Donegal would have been way better than Glory Days had it been played right after the penalties yesterday.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9230 - 13/05/2024 17:02:57    2544552