Delighted to see Roscommon CBS competitive in Connacht College's Senior A championship this year. In a county with so many students leaving to go to School in other neighboring counties every day it's heartening to see this. Other schools in the county look competitive in other grades as well which bodes well for the future l. moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1189 - 26/11/2025 22:08:43 2646181 Link 0 |
It appears to be far from a vintage year for Mayo schools with Colmans not having a strong pick this year and Gerard's and Rice looking off the pace. Muredach's seem to be the team to beat in Mayo this year so far. Do many Roscommon players attend school in Ballyhaunis?
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11827 - 27/11/2025 10:06:19 2646199 Link 0 |
Yea fair play to them, great start. Hope they can get through their QF now. When you think that probably all of the players from Brigids, Pearses and Clann never went to school in Roscommon, probably a good chunk from Faithleachs, possibly Glaveys, that's a lot of senior club players. That doesn't include the likes of Aidans, Barrys, Shannon Gaels, Kilmore, Eire Og, Michaels, Ronans. FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 493 - 27/11/2025 11:21:55 2646210 Link 0 |
A few Michael Glaveys players attend Ballyhaunis same with Dunmore. At U16 level last year this current Roscommon CBS team reached the Connacht A final losing by 1 point to Jarlaths. A few was also part of All-Ireland B winning team from last year. it's so far so good for them but as you say Colmans,Rice College perhaps not as strong as other years. Moving away from school football. Mark Dowd has broken his silence since appointed Roscommon senior manager. Good to see Eoin McCormack is back, up to 9 or 10 Pearses players on the panel now with Canning,Tumulty,Ryan,Colleran called in the latter was good with NUIG in the Division 1 league final last night scoring 1-2. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4213 - 27/11/2025 12:41:29 2646217 Link 0 |
Probably 10 Brigids pencilled in pending... Good to see those named Pearses lads getting chosen. Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 248 - 27/11/2025 13:36:16 2646223 Link 0 |
Mayo in Castlebar we'll face in the Connnacht semi final should we overcome New York next April. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4213 - 27/11/2025 19:19:35 2646262 Link 0 |
Another year of Mayo and Galway being on opposite sides of the draw. If Roscommon were to get to a Connacht Final against Galway, would that be in Hyde Park.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2596 - 27/11/2025 20:35:39 2646264 Link 0 |
Best of luck to Brian Carroll as he leaves the role of Chairman of the county board. He put in some shift/ effort over the last few years. The recent development of the Hyde is a credit to all concerned. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 820 - 27/11/2025 20:36:41 2646265 Link 1 |
And should Mayo overcome London
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 306 - 27/11/2025 21:04:33 2646268 Link 0 |
I have no doubt you will give it your all to beat us and Andy in McHale park sure . Alot what I say on here is tongue in cheek haha . But ye willl give us some game . Please Andy don't win the league cause ye do beat us in connacht when we win it haha
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 543 - 27/11/2025 21:44:07 2646273 Link 0 |