Galway Football thread

Replying To Yondu:  "Colm O'Rourke has predicted Armagh to win i see.

Round 7 of the league he predicted Galway to beat Roscommon - he was wrong.

League final he predicted Galway to beat Roscommon - he was wrong

Connacht Championship quarter final he predicted Mayo to win - wrong

Connacht final he predicted Roscommon to win- wrong again.

He has also predicted Monaghan, Kildare to beat Mayo and Roscommon to beat Clare."
He actually went for galway to beat mayo in quarter final but I agree he usually gets it wrong..Does anybody know who is the referee for tomorrow's game ?

SAM1998 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 25/06/2022 18:53:10    2427459

Very impressed with the tackling, interceptions and blocks from the Galway minor defenders. Especially since they were absolutely cleaned on their own kickouts. Kept kicking it long and lost 90% of them.

Lost both games against Mayo pretty handily so might have to come up with something different for the final.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 25/06/2022 20:24:08    2427486

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Always have a chance against Mayo in a final."
Senior finals perhaps, Mayo have a better record in underage finals. Won Minor in 2013 and 2016 U21.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3352 - 25/06/2022 21:32:51    2427511

Replying To SAM1998:  "He actually went for galway to beat mayo in quarter final but I agree he usually gets it wrong..Does anybody know who is the referee for tomorrow's game ?"
To be honest i would say most people dont take any of these pundits seriously
Some of them are making it up as they go along
Others like Spillane are like broken records same old crap all the time

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/06/2022 10:12:05    2427531

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Senior finals perhaps, Mayo have a better record in underage finals. Won Minor in 2013 and 2016 U21."
Correction Mayo lost Minor Finals in 1991.1999.2000.2005.2008.2009
Just to clarify the record

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/06/2022 10:21:27    2427535

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Senior finals perhaps, Mayo have a better record in underage finals. Won Minor in 2013 and 2016 U21."
Mayo minors won 7 lost 14 finals
Galway won 6 lost 4

Where do you find your stats?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 26/06/2022 12:53:51    2427559

Galway never do it the easy way not good for the heart but eventually got over the line via a penalty shootout for a deserved win. McDaid with a serious impact in extra time. Tierney i thought was one of Galways best players normal time.

Croke Park winless knock out championship win monkey on the back is off now its about kicking on to reach All-Ireland final now. Joyce has no choice but to drop Gleeson now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/06/2022 19:46:58    2427735

Wow. Grit determination composure. What a performance. 3 terrible goals to concede but apart from that we defended really well. We refused to be bullied, stood up to their thuggery.

Fully expect Sean Kelly to be cleared. He did nothing. Not sure which Galway player was rolling around wrestling on the ground. He may be in trouble.

Couldn't be prouder of our team. These lads have balls of steel.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 26/06/2022 20:14:36    2427748

What a weekend to be a galwegian. History made today.

So proud.

Fools saying we only have Comer, conroy and Walsh

Tierney was immense today.
Heaney just has such a knack for being in the right place at the right time
Silke up and down the field all day long. Worked so hard.

I could go on and on

We have a lot to work on. Took us over 10 mins to settle into the game and until then our defence was there but all working as individuals. But once they started working as a unit things started to work for us
Fading for periods of the game and serious issue under the high ball. Derry are obviously going to attempt it after today's game but I have faith.

Derry or galway neither will fear each other. It has the makings of a great game

Well done to management who I had no faith in to get things in order. But I was wrong and happy to be

Well done to PJ as well for sticking to his guns on penalty shoot outs even though he was the first manager to really benefit from it and has a soccer goal keeper and several good takers . It's not how a football game should be decided

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/06/2022 21:39:07    2427789

Replying To Mayonman:  "Wow. Grit determination composure. What a performance. 3 terrible goals to concede but apart from that we defended really well. We refused to be bullied, stood up to their thuggery.

Fully expect Sean Kelly to be cleared. He did nothing. Not sure which Galway player was rolling around wrestling on the ground. He may be in trouble.

Couldn't be prouder of our team. These lads have balls of steel."
Yes Galway certainly looked a real good football team today.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/06/2022 21:41:14    2427793

Replying To Mayonman:  "Wow. Grit determination composure. What a performance. 3 terrible goals to concede but apart from that we defended really well. We refused to be bullied, stood up to their thuggery.

Could be wrong but I think that Galway lad on the ground was jumped on by an Armagh lad in a no. 27 bib. It would be a disgrace if Kelly is not cleared for the semi. Armagh have a lot of previous with brawls, saw it first hand against Cavan in 2014 during the pre match parade. Morgan very lucky to stay on the pitch too, they went after Walsh from the off.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 26/06/2022 21:54:58    2427803

'Bullied' 'thuggery' - calm down (or ask the referee at the Connacht Semi-Final between Mountbellew/Moylough and Padraig Pearses ). Galway were brilliant and fully deserved the win, BOTH teams played good hard proper football with passion. Yes like all games there were unsavoury incidents, yes there was a melee (google gaa melees) and you will see this has happened for decades by all counties and galway were as guilty as armagh for that incident. The person who grabbed at the face of the galway player should be banned for life from our association. I'd love to see galway or derry win now for a change, thanks to galway for their part in a great game of football and Pádraig Joyce has again showed his pure class as a GAA man .

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/06/2022 07:31:53    2427813

Replying To Tom1916:  "'Bullied' 'thuggery' - calm down (or ask the referee at the Connacht Semi-Final between Mountbellew/Moylough and Padraig Pearses ). Galway were brilliant and fully deserved the win, BOTH teams played good hard proper football with passion. Yes like all games there were unsavoury incidents, yes there was a melee (google gaa melees) and you will see this has happened for decades by all counties and galway were as guilty as armagh for that incident. The person who grabbed at the face of the galway player should be banned for life from our association. I'd love to see galway or derry win now for a change, thanks to galway for their part in a great game of football and Pádraig Joyce has again showed his pure class as a GAA man ."
Cant believe there is still references to the club game. But since it was brought up , I have to make the point that what the Mountbellew players did was nothing like what went on by both teams yesterday. No Mtbellew player eye gouged or threw a slap. There is a big difference between these acts and a push. And with all the furore about that club incident there were only 2 pieces of actual physical contact made , and lets be honest, both were fairly mild pushes. Again, as ive said countless times before , it was wrong , and there was no excuse for it , but to compare it to what went on yesterday when lads could have lost their sight or suffered broken jaws ....please have perspective.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 841 - 27/06/2022 08:44:50    2427830

The heart rate is only settling down now! What a day we had up in Croke Park yesterday, it was absolutely magic to win that game. Yes, mistakes galore at the end of normal time but probably the most exciting game of football I've witnessed in decades. There are times when you see young lads turn into men on the field and that happened earlier this year for a lot of these Galway lads imo. And then there are times when you see a group of men turn into total warriors for your county - and that's what we witnessed yesterday, nothing surer. Look at the photo of Tierney after he blasted home that winning penalty, and the head nearly taken off him with a high hit not long before. That's a warrior and every last man in maroon and white was as well. From a great vantage point there you could see the off the ball stuff they dealt with and endless work these lads put in for 100 minutes. The cameras just can't pick up on all of that. Lord above, you'd be out of breath watching it. I'm not going into analysis now, only to say that myself and those in our group at the match couldn't be prouder of these lads and all the management and backroom team. They've now been through the furnace and there's steel tempered there that just couldn't have been before. The full sails have gone up on the Galway ship and she's picking up speed, roll on Derry, bring it on. Gaillimh Abú!!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 905 - 27/06/2022 09:21:30    2427839

Was there yesterday and really hard to believe the game that unfolded. Must be one of the most epic games I've ever been at.

Aside from anything else I think Galway should take great heart from the way the players responded in ET - I didn't give you a prayer after throwing the game away in normal time, that took some guts

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 27/06/2022 09:24:57    2427842

No offence to the goalkeeper but he looked very unsure of himself, cant seem to catch a highball in , palms rather than fists a ball away . Easily dispossessed , a classic soccer goalie trying to play football. . Looks like been Galways Achilles heel against the goal hungry Derry in the semi final!

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 27/06/2022 09:31:48    2427848

Replying To anotheralias:  "Cant believe there is still references to the club game. But since it was brought up , I have to make the point that what the Mountbellew players did was nothing like what went on by both teams yesterday. No Mtbellew player eye gouged or threw a slap. There is a big difference between these acts and a push. And with all the furore about that club incident there were only 2 pieces of actual physical contact made , and lets be honest, both were fairly mild pushes. Again, as ive said countless times before , it was wrong , and there was no excuse for it , but to compare it to what went on yesterday when lads could have lost their sight or suffered broken jaws ....please have perspective."
Who was the linesman on the Hoganstand side for the second half when Shane Walsh was repeatedly fouled? Did nothing all game! As for the fourth official.............

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 27/06/2022 10:22:00    2427880

Replying To OpenStand:  "No offence to the goalkeeper but he looked very unsure of himself, cant seem to catch a highball in , palms rather than fists a ball away . Easily dispossessed , a classic soccer goalie trying to play football. . Looks like been Galways Achilles heel against the goal hungry Derry in the semi final!"
I'd say one or two noticed that alright!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3446 - 27/06/2022 10:23:32    2427883

Tierney, Finnerty and McDaid were absolutely sensational. Finnerty especially with his score-taking I thought was brilliant, how he seems to find that extra yard of space every time to stroke it over. I think he dropped one short and had one wide, but other than that everything sailed over the black spot.

And McDaid in extra time - dhia sabháil!

I have to say the mental strength from Galway has made me push them right up the rankings. Before yesterday I felt that Derry would beat whoever came through regardless, but to stay in touch with Armagh against that atmosphere and how they started the game first of all - to then lose that huge lead in injury time, I don't think anyone really gave Galway a chance in extra time considering the manner in which Armagh came back. So to show that strength to settle down in ET, and again to come back from another goal which in extra time can feel like a real killer blow... shows some amount of grit and determination. I think the semi will be a great battle now.

Obviously enjoy the win now but all I could think yesterday was... who will pick up Conor Glass? Do yous have anyone that can match his engine? Would it be McDaid?

The goals conceded are a worry for Galway but I don't think Derry would let the ball in like that very often, if you look at their style over the year their goals come from running plays and good movement inside to get the man free for a shot. McGuigan is a good forward but I don't see him as a target man. They may try and rotate Glass or Rogers in there and test your keeper out but I'd be surprised if similar to yesterday happens. And on the other side the Derry keeper can be got at to be honest, just look at the 2nd Clare goal - it's a great finish but what is the keeper doing? He has those brainfarts in him.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/06/2022 10:33:53    2427892

Weird thing is lads I can't say I really need enjoyed that. We should never have been in that position and if we had lost on penalties it would have been a disaster.

There has to be a change in goal for the next day, I'm not going to say any more on that.

Fair play to a few of them for digging us out notably Kelly, McDaid, Tierney and Finnerty. Thought Glynn was good also, Kelly sacrificed his game to nullify Jarly Og and John Daly and Molloy covered a lot of ground. Great cameo by Billy Mannion also.

As pointed out last week by myself and a few others, Shane Walsh needs to deliver on the big stage, mixed the good with the bad yesterday. That cross field pass at the end was kamikaze stuff and was rightly punished. Video review should be productive. We did a lot right but my god we did some mad stuff at times.

Overall this game will bring us on and the management will have learned a lot. Can see changes the next day.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 27/06/2022 10:44:26    2427896