Galway Football thread

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Massive draw, fair play to Galway lads, not easy come back twice.
Still alive and dangerous"
Armagh did us a favour today beating Dublin. I certainly wouldn't be writing the lads off yet. Rem. '98 and '01 was very patchy at times.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 636 - 01/06/2025 17:45:05    2614068

Mad day had Derry won that Armagh win would have sent Galway out of the championship. The draw along with Armagh win now means Galway will play Armagh who have already topped the table and should rest a number of first choice players for the round three tie.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 470 - 01/06/2025 17:56:27    2614075

Daly, D'Arcy, Cooke and Comer will have to start next day. I'd be bringing in Molloy or O'Flaherty as well. Certain lads can't just be gifted starting shirts every week just because of reputation

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 915 - 01/06/2025 17:59:41    2614078

Still alive. And just about. Still, the great 98 / 01 team had their fair share of just about moments too. We're hanging on by the finger nails at the moment but time to claw our way back over the top. So much to address but we have the manpower to do it.
From the back, at number 1 - can we please work on nailing down 3, 4, (let's dream big!) maybe even 5 go-to kickout options. Our kickout strategy is mid tier intermediate club in appearance. Not anywhere near good enough for a tilt at AI. Is there concerted work going in on this in Loughgeorge? Does the GK know his restarts and get tested repeatedly on same? If not, why not? Are we hoping they'll magic themselves right?! Address this now and do the body of work on it please. It's hyper critical under the new rules.
Our full back line are not anywhere near as watertight a they were, changing full back has upset the understanding possibly. Fitz seems more assured at 3. Half back line is gone very porous and 6 is getting exploited. Kelly and Silke both looking a little slow and slow in the turn for my liking. Is Kelly our best 6? Or should he be deployed elsewhere? Daly looks more assured there.
Paul Conroy is one of our greatest ever servants in the maroon and white but he could be much more effective in a 20 - 25 intense minutes finisher role, when true game has opened up and the metre or two of space to get the shot off presents itself a bit more than in the opening spell.
The more fortuitous goals took the attention off our poor finishing, which had to improved. Can the lads please remember that a simple ball fisted over the bar is worth the same as a 35m curler from the outside of the boot! So many simple, simple scores left after us. And goal shooting had to see the body getting over the ball and keeping the shot down. Our two pointer efforts look so laboured now too. Any IC forward should have enough in the peg to at least have the range to belt over a 40m kick off the hands. We can't be dropping those into the keepers hands.
Armagh next. Lots to be working on. It's doable though.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1058 - 01/06/2025 18:08:37    2614082

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Mad day had Derry won that Armagh win would have sent Galway out of the championship. The draw along with Armagh win now means Galway will play Armagh who have already topped the table and should rest a number of first choice players for the round three tie."
Armagh resting players will mean bringing in lads who won the final last year.

Grimly soupy oneill all looking for place in team we will get nothing easy

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1560 - 01/06/2025 18:18:25    2614086

Lucky to get out of that, we had them on the ropes in the second half but panicked in front of goal, so frustrating with 16 wides and poor decision making. We won't be troubling the business end of the championship with that. In saying that we came back from 8 down twice, you can't say this Galway team lacks character.

Credit to Derry they brought serious intensity and their scoring accuracy in the second half was unreal. We did well to come out of that and still in the championship.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1700 - 01/06/2025 18:24:46    2614089

Replying To Really:  "Armagh did us a favour today beating Dublin. I certainly wouldn't be writing the lads off yet. Rem. '98 and '01 was very patchy at times."
2001 had an edge that this bunch do not have, especially up front.......and then there was Donnellan!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4185 - 01/06/2025 18:40:45    2614094

Replying To Marooned:  "Matthew Thompson is a brilliant little player. Only 20 but look how much ball goes through him already. Finnerty and Tierney very good also. Darcy in fairness had a powerful last 20 minutes.

Conroy finally looking his age this year. Struggling to make the same impact as last year. McDaid unusually quiet. McHugh not as prominent as he was last year also. Shane mixed the bad (loose passes) with the brilliant (his goal).

Galway looked dead and buried twice there so you have to give them credit for battling back. As a unit they don't look as organised this year as last. Maybe Cian O'Neill being gone?

Have to beat Armagh now. If Armagh beat the Dubs they are guaranteed top spot. Will probably rest some players against Galway."
No we don't have to beat Armagh. We just need to be sure that Derry don't better our result in game3 by the current pts difference. We're 3up!!

The good news is, Armagh are in a qfinal, and have a dead rubber from their perspective in game3.

The bad news is, that on the evidence of today's fare in Derry and Croker, Armagh are a much better side currently than we are. They scored for fun against the Dubs all day today, 24 points compared to 14pts that we registered a fortnight ago. Quite the difference!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4185 - 01/06/2025 19:23:18    2614109

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "No we don't have to beat Armagh. We just need to be sure that Derry don't better our result in game3 by the current pts difference. We're 3up!!

The good news is, Armagh are in a qfinal, and have a dead rubber from their perspective in game3.

The bad news is, that on the evidence of today's fare in Derry and Croker, Armagh are a much better side currently than we are. They scored for fun against the Dubs all day today, 24 points compared to 14pts that we registered a fortnight ago. Quite the difference!!"
Armagh were good but Dublin hit 17 (!) wides!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1700 - 01/06/2025 19:32:30    2614115

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "No we don't have to beat Armagh. We just need to be sure that Derry don't better our result in game3 by the current pts difference. We're 3up!!

The bad news is, that on the evidence of today's fare in Derry and Croker, Armagh are a much better side currently than we are. They scored for fun against the Dubs all day today, 24 points compared to 14pts that we registered a fortnight ago. Quite the difference!!"
The Dubs missed a lot today though. They were far more clinical in Salthill. Galway really pulled a result out of the fire today. 8 points down with 7 minutes to go looked like curtains which defeat would have been with Armagh winning. Derry were good today and them v Dublin will be a serious match. Galway need to improve significantly to be contenders.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 19:33:11    2614116

Randomly LOC playing for spideal in comoratas peile just now.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1560 - 01/06/2025 19:44:14    2614118

Replying To jm25:  "Armagh resting players will mean bringing in lads who won the final last year.

Grimly soupy oneill all looking for place in team we will get nothing easy"
Whos need is most nearly always prevail in matches. It's a must not lose for Galway while losing doesn't matter for Armagh in that game now.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 470 - 01/06/2025 19:49:13    2614121

Replying To ahsure.:  "Armagh were good but Dublin hit 17 (!) wides!"
Yeah dubs got obsessed with nothing but twos playing with breeze.

We have got into this habit since Mayo game it seems nothing but 2pts will do when playing with wind.

Take your points and the twos will come

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1560 - 01/06/2025 20:01:49    2614130

Armagh aren't going to rest lads the next day,
No way they head into a quarter final
With key men not having played for 4 weeks. Not a chance

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1309 - 01/06/2025 20:17:16    2614135

Replying To endgame:  "The Dubs missed a lot today though. They were far more clinical in Salthill. Galway really pulled a result out of the fire today. 8 points down with 7 minutes to go looked like curtains which defeat would have been with Armagh winning. Derry were good today and them v Dublin will be a serious match. Galway need to improve significantly to be contenders."
I agree, Galway in bonus territory now, after that Houdini act today.

On the other hand, Galway still made time for some rank bad possessions/chance usage in those same last 7mins. At least three/four questionable/horrible efforts at late scores in that spell, especially once we reduced the deficit to 2, before Tierney's decisive goal strike. We did have the 'luxury' of mixing in a fair bit of sh*** finishing too in the last 7 minutes, and still pulled a rabbit out of the hat for a finish.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4185 - 01/06/2025 20:53:08    2614148

Galway need shake things up bigtime. Next day i can't understand why he start o Neill he was always going be first taken off no matter how he was doing I don't know any other top 8 team that makes as many daft selections 3 different full backs so far this year Fitz played very well v mayo no game since Mulkerrins poor v mayo plays him full back Mcdaid class midfield has not played in 2 years there for Galway convinces Cooke to come back in no start in 4 matches o flaherty unreal in most league matches corner back no match since definitely 2 day proved it's Joyce last year to loyal to some players , conroy was great player last 2 matches way off it Liam dilke poor mulkerrins poor Gleason poor my team v Armagh
Flaherty
McGrath. Fitz. O flaherty
Mchugh. Daly. Kelly
Maher / Mcdaid
Thompson. Cooke. Darcy
Finnerty. Walsh. Tierney

Walsh coining to end now as well I'd still start him then comer for him

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1083 - 01/06/2025 21:22:07    2614158

Was the last goal a square ball as a galway player was on the goal line before the ball was in.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 575 - 01/06/2025 21:53:13    2614164

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway need shake things up bigtime. Next day i can't understand why he start o Neill he was always going be first taken off no matter how he was doing I don't know any other top 8 team that makes as many daft selections 3 different full backs so far this year Fitz played very well v mayo no game since Mulkerrins poor v mayo plays him full back Mcdaid class midfield has not played in 2 years there for Galway convinces Cooke to come back in no start in 4 matches o flaherty unreal in most league matches corner back no match since definitely 2 day proved it's Joyce last year to loyal to some players , conroy was great player last 2 matches way off it Liam dilke poor mulkerrins poor Gleason poor my team v Armagh
Flaherty
McGrath. Fitz. O flaherty
Mchugh. Daly. Kelly
Maher / Mcdaid
Thompson. Cooke. Darcy
Finnerty. Walsh. Tierney

Walsh coining to end now as well I'd still start him then comer for him"
Flah wasn't a good cornerback in the NFL outings this spring. Has pace that the team needs badly, but didn't display the nous to survive or prosper in a corner back role.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4185 - 01/06/2025 21:54:57    2614166

Replying To galwayman2:  "Armagh aren't going to rest lads the next day,
No way they head into a quarter final
With key men not having played for 4 weeks. Not a chance"
I agree... they would be happy to knock ye out in fairness as well. Hopefully it will be some game next week.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1338 - 01/06/2025 21:57:18    2614167

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Flah wasn't a good cornerback in the NFL outings this spring. Has pace that the team needs badly, but didn't display the nous to survive or prosper in a corner back role."
Outside of Walsh in league he definitely best player at corner back was not great v Kerry but a good few of backs were destroyed that day but they still playing he definitely would not make full back line weaker let's be honest Mulkerrins is no where near good enough for any position at county football Gleason prob worse goalie in top 2 division kickouts brutal now he dribble ball out last 2 maybes are management even watching this there are stats now for everything maybe get rid of stats and open eyes anyone who can't see these glaring mistakes,,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1083 - 01/06/2025 22:01:50    2614168