Fair play to Kilkerrin-Clonberne on the All-Ireland win today. A thoroughly deserved win and helps to ease some of the agony from the 1 point loss a few years ago. They've been building to this for a long time and huge credit is due to all of those who put in the effort. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 29/01/2022 16:34:51 2396998 Link 1 |
In fairness I did say "Possibly". Didn't Tipp just win Munster recently? And the last time Tipp played Galway in the Championship they hammered us. Just saying.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2509 - 29/01/2022 17:07:05 2397004 Link 0 |
What are you on about, are you replying for another poster or get mixed up as to which username you were logged in under, the last revision of history I did was for the Leaving Cert.
moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 29/01/2022 17:36:15 2397014 Link 1 |
Galway team v Meath Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2383 - 29/01/2022 18:08:28 2397019 Link 0 |
That would explain why you're stuck in the past with romantic notions of winning an All-Ireland under the Three Amigos. Suppose you enjoyed getting hammered by Division 1 teams in the last two years? There's a reason why, despite all their ambitions, Galway are playing Division 2 football this afternoon. FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 427 - 30/01/2022 13:47:43 2397164 Link 0 |
Great win. An important 2 points. galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 30/01/2022 15:37:08 2397176 Link 0 |
Two observations after that win: ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1688 - 30/01/2022 15:46:02 2397182 Link 2 |
*Sean Kelly, my apologies.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1688 - 30/01/2022 16:06:52 2397194 Link 4 |
Great performance all over the field today. Great to see the lads tackling hard and effectively from the full forward line back. Hard shift in wet windy conditions and we fought consistently. Goal chances need to be finished ruthlessly but we'll get there. Impressed observing O'Neill on the line today, vocal, reving up the defence, seeing danger - this was badly needed in the Galway set up. Conditioning and fitness seem to be coming up nicely too. Many strong individual performances - well worth the spin to Pearse today. Up Galway. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1048 - 30/01/2022 16:45:00 2397214 Link 0 |
Biggest cheers in the Stadium today was for Kilkerrin Clonberne ladies footballers (congrats on All Ireland), and when announced at half time that Donegal were leading Mayo. Still from a Galway perspective some great individual performances (John Daly, McDaid and mom Sean Kelly). Meath however were awful. MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 30/01/2022 16:59:06 2397224 Link 4 |
Galway ok at best. Meath dire. Neither Finnerty nor Tomo are near good enough. McHugh & Molloy will be found out at the back against better teams also. Not much in midfield either. A win is always good granted, but let's ground ourselves and really understand where we are! Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 30/01/2022 17:38:17 2397242 Link 2 |
Great win, that I didn't see coming. Fair play to PJ and the lads, O'Neill seems to have had very positive impact. Hon Galway giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1278 - 30/01/2022 17:40:21 2397244 Link 1 |
True. I said Sean Kelly is our best player on this forum less than 2 months ago and annoyed several people , "good but not the best" or "I haven't been to many Galway games". There's no competition for him . Consistently excellent. He sets the standard for his teammates galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 30/01/2022 17:40:41 2397246 Link 1 |
Jaysus, you're some craic. First game of the league, in dire conditions, and we won. That's all that counts on the last weekend in January. No need for your cold water, there was plenty of that falling out of the skies.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 30/01/2022 17:42:40 2397249 Link 7 |
Great stuff by Galway, well done lads. Plenty of tough games ahead no doubt. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 30/01/2022 18:15:03 2397260 Link 1 |
Win first game in the league on a manky day for football and lads are out already saying this lad isn't good enough and that fella isn't good enough. I'd hate to see if we were bet my 11 points! Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2383 - 30/01/2022 18:18:43 2397262 Link 1 |
Very good performance albeit Meath were abysmal. galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1308 - 30/01/2022 18:36:47 2397267 Link 1 |
Shane Walsh best player in the country bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 30/01/2022 19:10:38 2397275 Link 5 |
Meath are and have for 15 years a complete shambles.. they'd struggle in Div 4.. Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 30/01/2022 19:26:45 2397278 Link 5 |
Ah stop. We were more than ok. Give credit when it's due. We played well today. Yes, Meath were very poor, but we did almost everything asked of us today and worked some great scores. Acknowledging that isn't going overboard or saying we're favourites to challenge for an All-Ireland, like some others are doing. We're a team in development and everyone is hoping to see a big improvement on last year. We had a good result today. That's a positive. It gives us something to build on. Fair play to the team and management on today's performance. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 30/01/2022 19:31:37 2397280 Link 3 |