Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Afraid there will be no silverware with this years minors, next years are below par and the following year will be interesting too. Kenny will have his work cut out. Looking at academy's for the last few years and talent is limited. Look at the U20s during the week and they are way behind in s+c."
Wouldn't write off this year's yet, a 4 point loss to a highly rated KK team down in Nowlan could easily be turned around in a leinster final. Didn't see the DUblin game but Wexford were put to the sword pretty easily so good chance of makignt hat final

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2025 11:44:28    2610007

Replying To Overdahill:  "Wouldn't write off this year's yet, a 4 point loss to a highly rated KK team down in Nowlan could easily be turned around in a leinster final. Didn't see the DUblin game but Wexford were put to the sword pretty easily so good chance of makignt hat final"
We were only 2 points down in Salthill at the 58 minute mark, despite playing really poorly. You obviously have a chance at making the Final, but Dublin will test you more than we did, if they play at all, which I think they will. Unless of course they win this weekend, then they might rest players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16062 - 16/05/2025 14:29:22    2610048

Replying To Viking66:  "We were only 2 points down in Salthill at the 58 minute mark, despite playing really poorly. You obviously have a chance at making the Final, but Dublin will test you more than we did, if they play at all, which I think they will. Unless of course they win this weekend, then they might rest players."
Talking about Minor @viking keep up

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2025 14:59:58    2610060

Replying To Overdahill:  "Talking about Minor @viking keep up"
Ah ok! Should be a better game this time around.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16062 - 16/05/2025 21:26:23    2610124

Antrim one of the worst teams to play in Leinster in a long time. Their basic skills are miles off. No more than a training exercise in this game for our lads.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 910 - 17/05/2025 15:10:46    2610228

28 point win and we were pretty rubbish in the first 15 minutes. Antrim are miles off the level of senior championship.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 910 - 17/05/2025 16:05:08    2610239

28pt win today for Galway...Next up beat the Dubs and get set for the Leinster Final.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2604 - 17/05/2025 16:06:12    2610240

Replying To galway19:  "28 point win and we were pretty rubbish in the first 15 minutes. Antrim are miles off the level of senior championship."
Antrim we're awful

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2363 - 17/05/2025 16:26:14    2610246

Replying To katser:  "28pt win today for Galway...Next up beat the Dubs and get set for the Leinster Final."
Must be favorites for the All Ireland after this result

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 17/05/2025 16:29:26    2610247

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Must be favorites for the All Ireland after this result"
Galway v Tipperary All Ireland Semi Final?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2604 - 17/05/2025 16:52:25    2610258

Replying To katser:  "Galway v Tipperary All Ireland Semi Final?"
Arrogance here when ye beat kk big game before you don't don't write them off

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 714 - 17/05/2025 17:44:48    2610267

Impossible to know where we are at even after four matches. We didn't show up at all in Nowlan Park and then we played the three worst teams in the Liam McCarthy. Hopefully Fintan's injury is ok and then the lads rested today obviously come back for next week.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 910 - 17/05/2025 18:51:31    2610292

Replying To galway19:  "Impossible to know where we are at even after four matches. We didn't show up at all in Nowlan Park and then we played the three worst teams in the Liam McCarthy. Hopefully Fintan's injury is ok and then the lads rested today obviously come back for next week."
I'd say you're not far off knowing tho. You definitely aren't in the 3 worst teams in Liam McCarthy

You are however in the category of three 4th worst teams after Antrim, Offaly, Wexford and then yourselves

Your game against kilkenny shoukd give you some idea of that and Dublin could easily get a result off yous.

Even if you beat Dublin one would imagine Kilkenny would handle yous again in the Leinster Final.

So 4th or 5th worst team in Liam McCarthy?

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 17/05/2025 19:26:27    2610323

Replying To WEXILE:  "I'd say you're not far off knowing tho. You definitely aren't in the 3 worst teams in Liam McCarthy

You are however in the category of three 4th worst teams after Antrim, Offaly, Wexford and then yourselves

Your game against kilkenny shoukd give you some idea of that and Dublin could easily get a result off yous.

Even if you beat Dublin one would imagine Kilkenny would handle yous again in the Leinster Final.

So 4th or 5th worst team in Liam McCarthy?"
We'll be favourites against Dublin anyway and then see where we go from there. It's great to see in this Galway thread that there is such interest in Galway hurling down in Wexford though. Feel free to come along and support us in our next few matches seeing as your weekends are free otherwise.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 910 - 17/05/2025 20:38:45    2610367

Replying To galway19:  "We'll be favourites against Dublin anyway and then see where we go from there. It's great to see in this Galway thread that there is such interest in Galway hurling down in Wexford though. Feel free to come along and support us in our next few matches seeing as your weekends are free otherwise."
Was delighted to see you win in 2017. While you aren't my 2nd team I'd support ye against a good few other counties.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16062 - 17/05/2025 20:48:52    2610371

Replying To katser:  "28pt win today for Galway...Next up beat the Dubs and get set for the Leinster Final."
It was only football today! But next day, the Dublin hurlers will do exactly what their footballers did today…beat Galway!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2273 - 17/05/2025 20:54:52    2610378

Replying To WEXILE:  "I'd say you're not far off knowing tho. You definitely aren't in the 3 worst teams in Liam McCarthy

So 4th or 5th worst team in Liam McCarthy?"
You should put your own house in order first instead of casting aspersions on others

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 161 - 17/05/2025 20:58:09    2610380

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Arrogance here when ye beat kk big game before you don't don't write them off"
Stupidity rather than arrogance

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 161 - 17/05/2025 20:59:21    2610381

Replying To Viking66:  "Was delighted to see you win in 2017. While you aren't my 2nd team I'd support ye against a good few other counties."
Thank you Viking, I fancy us to beat Dublin, win the Leinster Final and go straight into the All Ireland Semi Final.
And with not many neutrals building us up... maybe Cork v Galway All Ireland Final.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2604 - 17/05/2025 21:22:01    2610395

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "You should put your own house in order first instead of casting aspersions on others"
Stones glass houses

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 17/05/2025 21:37:35    2610407