Galway Hurling thread

Replying To BostonGuy:  "This is turning into a "He pulled first" situation. TBH both sides were at it last weekend. Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there. I would also like to see accumulation of yellow cards resulting in a match ban. Many players pick up yellows in every game and then walk away ready to play the next day. If we want to see a more free flowing game and protect the skillful players we need to change the psychology of "taking a yellow" for the team."
Fair play BG there is a lot in what you say.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 18/03/2024 17:43:07    2531963

Replying To baire:  "It didn't take much out of him all the same, unlike the belt JC got in Croker."
Lynch is made of tough stuff alright. Drive a train over any one of those Careys and they'd get back up and wouldn't lie down. A red-card stroke nonetheless, from a favorite player of mine. We can't all be saints all the time, I suppose. Poor ould Joe got more than one belt in his time in Croke Park, so I'm not quite sure which one you're on about. Those KK lads used to almost kill the man, though.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1914 - 18/03/2024 18:57:46    2531978

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Some people love to prod about Shefflin's 'failure' here, but I'm afraid there's a very long list of 'internal' and 'external' Galway managers in the last 50 years, who failed 'to put it together'. So there's no point in titillating hard-core Galway fans with the notion that there's some sort of 'John Kiely type Galway man' just waiting in the wings to lead us to the promised land, if only Sheff would head back to KK asap."
I wonder is there a 'Paul Kinnerk type Galway man' hiding in plain sight anywhere?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 18/03/2024 19:11:57    2531982

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ha,ha..very blinkered..we have had to accept that most outside of limerick don't like us,as a football in England said no one likes us we don't care..we are at the top now we know it won't last forever so it's a great position to be in..ye lost a player last week to a wreckless pull and could have lost two yesterday..can I ask if limerick players did those two challenges yesterday,how would it have gone down?yes we have had some players who have been lucky but I don't think we are reffed the same as others,my opinion only..I think o brien will learn from what happened him..it's going to be a very hard and physical championship,bring it on.."
I wouldn't agree Limerick are disliked, more grudgingly respected. Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny will be more disliked by the other non three if Limerick won the next 10 All Irelands, though time at the top is short so enjoy it while it lasts.

You aren't refereed differently to anyone else though. If anything referees are relatively generous, not that they win games for you or anything but they don't lose you games either.

Ask Clare at the death of last year's Munster Final when Kelly was clearly fouled but it wasn't given.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 18/03/2024 19:17:47    2531983

Replying To tommy k:  "There were a couple of more things that could have swung the game in Galway's favour. Niland missed 3 scoreable frees that Cooney would probably have scored (on current form) and there was a last minute foul on Concannon by English in a scoreable position that wasn't given."
You are the Patrick Mahomes of Monday Morning Quarterbacks.

Niland is the free taker. He had an uncharacteristic day on them though he potted the crucial ones at the death into the wind and rain with the game in the line so there's nothing wrong with his technique or indeed his character.

But seemingly Shefflin should have expected Niland would miss those frees he did miss and started Cooney on them instead.

Sweet divine.

As for fouls not given late on, I don't think we can point any fingers at the referee after Saturday. He certainly didnt hurt us.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 18/03/2024 19:22:50    2531985

Replying To BostonGuy:  "This is turning into a "He pulled first" situation. TBH both sides were at it last weekend. Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there. I would also like to see accumulation of yellow cards resulting in a match ban. Many players pick up yellows in every game and then walk away ready to play the next day. If we want to see a more free flowing game and protect the skillful players we need to change the psychology of "taking a yellow" for the team."
"Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there."

What 'technology', where is it?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2474 - 18/03/2024 20:11:33    2531997

Replying To Pointblankshot:  "I seem to have offended you but the facts are it's a weakness to his game his lack of distribution. I seen it with my own eyes on Saturday with a player off his shoulder in a better position many times but he shot himself. He may work on the wing or midfield but a no 11 in the modern game has to to be a team player. Your point of sticking with a player with the courage to stay shoot even when they are going wide doesn't add up on the scoreboard.
If it was Jason that was guilty of this he would be called out on this forum very quickly."
My point was that non factual information was provided which if you were not at the match or not watching on the box could lead a reviewer to think that Monaghan had a horror show with 6 or 7 wides when the facts were half that. In addition, if a player has X # of wides, it at least shows that he was looking for and getting on the ball, which could not be said of a few of our forwards who when the pressure was on they were nowhere to be seen. Some days scores can come off for you and others not, an example in point were the Monaghan points against Tipp in the Gaelic Grounds last year when he came off the bench.
Hard to believe that Monaghan's wayward shooting effected Jamie Ryan's shooting, when Jamie's first effort was relatively straightforward for someone of his ability. Jamie just needs more minutes to get comfortable with playing inter county and with his team mates. It's a pity his injuries have prevented that in this league campaign. I think he has the potential to be very effective off the bench when games open up in the 4th quarter, when the ground gets harder and with the wide open spaces of Croker for a Leinster final and an All-Ireland series.

OhIWouldYa (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 18/03/2024 20:24:43    2532001

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there."

What 'technology', where is it?"
I'll give you a hint, it goes into your ear.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1910 - 18/03/2024 22:45:55    2532021

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Players are targeted in today's game pure and simple and the lines men, umpires and refs need to do a better job communicating with each other; the technology is there."

It goes in ur ear, been used for years in Rugby, soccer and other sports. The game has got so fast that its impossible for a ref to see everything going on. It needs to be a combined effort of all officials

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 19/03/2024 00:42:48    2532036

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Lynch is made of tough stuff alright. Drive a train over any one of those Careys and they'd get back up and wouldn't lie down. A red-card stroke nonetheless, from a favorite player of mine. We can't all be saints all the time, I suppose. Poor ould Joe got more than one belt in his time in Croke Park, so I'm not quite sure which one you're on about. Those KK lads used to almost kill the man, though."
The worst I ever saw was Joe Rabbitte in Croke Park against Cork, he got fleeced, had players hanging off him taking chunks and the ref giving frees against him. He was big for his time 6' 4'' but got not protection at all It was an absolute disgrace.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 19/03/2024 00:47:54    2532037

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Lynch is made of tough stuff alright. Drive a train over any one of those Careys and they'd get back up and wouldn't lie down. A red-card stroke nonetheless, from a favorite player of mine. We can't all be saints all the time, I suppose. Poor ould Joe got more than one belt in his time in Croke Park, so I'm not quite sure which one you're on about. Those KK lads used to almost kill the man, though."
Lynch seems to have got a slap of a hurley which happens regularly in the game. JC got hit in the kidneys with full force from one of the biggest and strongest hurlers in the country, a Limerick hurler who'd be no stranger to red cards. Neither the ref nor the linesman saw it but it was repeatedly shown on tv while Canning laid in agony on the ground.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 19/03/2024 11:15:07    2532082

Replying To baire:  "Lynch seems to have got a slap of a hurley which happens regularly in the game. JC got hit in the kidneys with full force from one of the biggest and strongest hurlers in the country, a Limerick hurler who'd be no stranger to red cards. Neither the ref nor the linesman saw it but it was repeatedly shown on tv while Canning laid in agony on the ground."
My dear man if Gearóid Hegarty hit Joe as hard as you make out he would not have played on as well as he did Joe got up from far worse Tha that when Lougtlrea kicked him while he was on the ground in a County Final about 2005. As regards Lynch this is the Second League Match he has been wildly pulled across by a Galway player, so you lot are no angels either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/03/2024 12:20:36    2532099

Good players have always been targeted.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 19/03/2024 12:23:45    2532100

Replying To Oldtourman:  "My dear man if Gearóid Hegarty hit Joe as hard as you make out he would not have played on as well as he did Joe got up from far worse Tha that when Lougtlrea kicked him while he was on the ground in a County Final about 2005. As regards Lynch this is the Second League Match he has been wildly pulled across by a Galway player, so you lot are no angels either."
I'm not your dear man nor your poor man either, you patronising *****! What you have said about Joe playing on as well as ever is total nonsense! He was taken out and it worked for ye - you took out the best player and won by the narrowest of margins. Ye always refer back to Loughrea to justify your own bréantas! We expect different standards of behaviour at inter-county level and better officiating, especially on AISF or AIF day.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 19/03/2024 13:01:13    2532120

Replying To Oldtourman:  "My dear man if Gearóid Hegarty hit Joe as hard as you make out he would not have played on as well as he did Joe got up from far worse Tha that when Lougtlrea kicked him while he was on the ground in a County Final about 2005. As regards Lynch this is the Second League Match he has been wildly pulled across by a Galway player, so you lot are no angels either."
I just read his reply below. He's complaining about the behaviour of a Limerick player against his beloved Galway. They had 3 men sent off against Dublin. Should have had 2 sent off v Limerick. And he'd saying they expect better behaviour at inter County level and better officiating. Well so do we. Maybe he's forgot about those incidents ?

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 19/03/2024 13:28:23    2532131

Replying To baire:  "I'm not your dear man nor your poor man either, you patronising *****! What you have said about Joe playing on as well as ever is total nonsense! He was taken out and it worked for ye - you took out the best player and won by the narrowest of margins. Ye always refer back to Loughrea to justify your own bréantas! We expect different standards of behaviour at inter-county level and better officiating, especially on AISF or AIF day."
Well said afterwards some came on this forum trying to defend that mean belt jc got by saying Hegarty was trying to hook Joe and on Saturday that same player was booked for another dirty pull across on of the galway defenders which could easily be a red he has long track record of similar acts

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 19/03/2024 13:28:48    2532132

It's time now for everyone to look forward from all sides..things happened 10/20 years ago and it affected all counties..we in limerick are on a super run and I hope it keeps going but I know it's not going to last unfortunately,and I'm really enjoying it as I really thought I'd never see it..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2219 - 19/03/2024 13:38:05    2532136

Replying To baire:  "I'm not your dear man nor your poor man either, you patronising *****! What you have said about Joe playing on as well as ever is total nonsense! He was taken out and it worked for ye - you took out the best player and won by the narrowest of margins. Ye always refer back to Loughrea to justify your own bréantas! We expect different standards of behaviour at inter-county level and better officiating, especially on AISF or AIF day."
Yawn....

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 19/03/2024 14:12:50    2532148

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Some people love to prod about Shefflin's 'failure' here, but I'm afraid there's a very long list of 'internal' and 'external' Galway managers in the last 50 years, who failed 'to put it together'. So there's no point in titillating hard-core Galway fans with the notion that there's some sort of 'John Kiely type Galway man' just waiting in the wings to lead us to the promised land, if only Sheff would head back to KK asap."
I think it would be fair to say not many would have been jumping out of their skin when kiely was appointed but he did get lucky with an exceptional batch coming together in fairness. Which brings me to the question where are all the successful minor teams of last few yrs gone?

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 19/03/2024 14:53:54    2532158

Ah cmon, time to leave the nonsense behind. Galway are a fine physical team who give as good as they get. They were probably the marginally more physical team at the weekend and put in the more robust challenges which went over the line at times and i think most Galway supporters will be happy to see that. God help us if hurling became fully sanitised and no one pushed beyond the limits from time to time, it would be the beginning of the end of the game.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 19/03/2024 15:33:49    2532176