Dubs V Mayo

I have a sneaking suspicion that Mayo could beat the Dubs this time. Dubs not as strong and Mayo have found a few forwards.

Could they do a 2014 Donegal - beat a strong Dublin team and then lose to Kerry in the Final? Kerry are probably a better team than 2014 as well.

Newman21 (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 10/08/2021 11:48:38    2369471

That is exactly correct, Mayo will be home and hosed by second water break I'd say

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1758 - 10/08/2021 12:00:41    2369477

Replying To Mailman98:  "You'd want to take a look at the All-Ireland role of honour. I think it's 6 we've won since Mayo brought anything worthwhile across the Shannon. Any team can have a period of dominance over another. It's what you do in that time that counts and in the time Mayo have been dominant you've done absolutely nothing worth talking about unless you want to count becoming "loveable losers"."
You know, the anonymity afforded by forums such as this bring out the worst in us. It's like being in a car. If someone tries to pull out in front of us we abuse them and blow the horn. However, if we were both meeting at a door way we'd stand back and allow them through.
I was brought up to believe demeaning another team/county while boasting about your won team's comparative success was just plain wrong. I reckon the Mailman if you were in a pub beside a Mayoman after a match you'd be telling him what a great team his county had and that it was misfortunate that they had never landed Sam in recent years. That's what most people would do anyway in this case. They wouldn't try to demean or belittle the other team. It's like once we are in here we can take off the mask because we don't have to suffer the consequences of being ungracious. Of course you'll say you were just telling the truth but I was at all the recent finals the Dubs played against Mayo and I knew we were watching two exceptional teams who were separated by the smallest of margins and in several cases plain bad luck.
Maybe next time you "post" Mailman you could just be a little more gracious.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 10/08/2021 12:59:25    2369499

Like every other recent year, Mayo have a chance. They are not that far away. They have brilliant pace and power from 2 to 15 and are exciting to watch. Key for Mayo is still to get their heads right. They cannot keep waiting to go behind to start playing with intensity. The second half performance against Galway was awesome, but would it have happened had they not gone in 5 behind? Similarly last years all Ireland, Dublin score a goal after 20 seconds - cue Mayo score 3 points in 2 minutes. I find that kind of thing very frustrating, I don't know what it must be like for Mayo supporters.
For me, Lee Keegan is never a corner back. Not sure how he ended up there. Although he's lost some pace, he has still got buckets to offer as an attacking wing back. Added to that he struggles to defend one on one. I'd be intrigued as to why James Carr and Conor OShea on the bench have not been given more game time. Will be interesting to see Mayos matchups at the back

Dubs are still as strong as ever in my opinion. Although you would notice a drop in hunger for it among Dublin supporters so maybe this will be the same for the players. Listening to some dubs, it's almost as if they'd like to lose one so that they can laud the likes of Cluxton and Gavin for a year.
Newer additions like Paddy Small have been excellent in my opinion. Thought Lahiff would have started based on his league form I would imagine the likes of Mayo would be happy to see him sitting on the bench. As always Dean Rock will be key for Dublin.
Overall I would predict Dublin by 5 but if Mayo can avoid previous undoings such as red cards, own goals, kickout malfunctions and goals from the throw up, they'll have a good chance

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 411 - 10/08/2021 13:05:54    2369501

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Like every other recent year, Mayo have a chance. They are not that far away. They have brilliant pace and power from 2 to 15 and are exciting to watch. Key for Mayo is still to get their heads right. They cannot keep waiting to go behind to start playing with intensity. The second half performance against Galway was awesome, but would it have happened had they not gone in 5 behind? Similarly last years all Ireland, Dublin score a goal after 20 seconds - cue Mayo score 3 points in 2 minutes. I find that kind of thing very frustrating, I don't know what it must be like for Mayo supporters.
For me, Lee Keegan is never a corner back. Not sure how he ended up there. Although he's lost some pace, he has still got buckets to offer as an attacking wing back. Added to that he struggles to defend one on one. I'd be intrigued as to why James Carr and Conor OShea on the bench have not been given more game time. Will be interesting to see Mayos matchups at the back

Dubs are still as strong as ever in my opinion. Although you would notice a drop in hunger for it among Dublin supporters so maybe this will be the same for the players. Listening to some dubs, it's almost as if they'd like to lose one so that they can laud the likes of Cluxton and Gavin for a year.
Newer additions like Paddy Small have been excellent in my opinion. Thought Lahiff would have started based on his league form I would imagine the likes of Mayo would be happy to see him sitting on the bench. As always Dean Rock will be key for Dublin.
Overall I would predict Dublin by 5 but if Mayo can avoid previous undoings such as red cards, own goals, kickout malfunctions and goals from the throw up, they'll have a good chance"
Arguably Mayo's best ever chance to beat this Dublin panel. Dublin have weathered some big losses to the squad in the last 2-3 years and the wear may begin to tell now. Clucko, Cian, Jack, Kev Mc, Bernard, DC, MDM, Mannion, Paddy, all monster players. We've backfilled with Evan, Murch, Lahiff, POCB, Small, Costello, Basquel but it's impossible to replace all of that quality that has leaked in such a short period of time. We don't have the option now to introduce an explosive Kevin Mc, a marauding MDM or an O'Gara battering ram. I think the starting 15 ls will see the closest match ups that we've ever seen. Sam will be hard one by whoever gets their hands on it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 10/08/2021 14:09:20    2369532

Replying To Mailman98:  "I'd be more embarrassed to have never seen my County win an All-Ireland in my lifetime despite being a football only County that is only second to Dublin in money spending stakes. Apologies if you are over 70 years of age and were watching in 1951."
I hope your username is merely an homage to the great man.

I don't understand this "football only county" craic that I hear frequently about Mayo. I went to school with fellas who played all sorts of sports: there were fellas who played underage soccer for the Republic of Ireland, fellas who won national titles in basketball and tennis, fellas who won cross-country medals in Connacht and nationally. One fella represented Ireland at swimming at the Rio Olympics, another was a pro tennis player who represented Ireland in the Davis Cup, until he had to retire from injury a few years back. There's even a lad who went on to become a professional weightlifter/body-builder. There were also a couple of fellas who made the Connacht hurling squad at underage, believe it or not.

And this is just one school in one town.

Several Mayo men are playing League of Ireland soccer for the likes of Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Longford, Athlone etc. So this craic about gaelic football being the only show in town is way overblown IMO. FFS, even on the Mayo panel last year, Chris Barrett won an FAI Youth Cup with Erris United (smashed in two lovely goals in the final), Eoghan McLaughlin was a champion cyclist, Aidan O'Shea shoots some hoops with Sligo in the winter etc.

The stuff about money is way off too. Mayo get very little subsidy from the GAA and have to raise most of what they have from their fans at home or abroad. Given the lack of employment opportunities in the county, a lot of the money goes on mileage for players coming down from Dublin (there were over 20 such players on the extended panel in 2019) or on travel and accommodation costs.

This is not a problem Galway (or Dublin) have- I believe that there was only one player on the combined football and hurling panels based outside of the county a few years back, although that might have changed in the meantime.

It's a shame that Galway's form has dipped such that some of ye seem to enjoy Mayo's losses more than your own wins, though.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 10/08/2021 14:16:21    2369535

Replying To Joxer:  "Arguably Mayo's best ever chance to beat this Dublin panel. Dublin have weathered some big losses to the squad in the last 2-3 years and the wear may begin to tell now. Clucko, Cian, Jack, Kev Mc, Bernard, DC, MDM, Mannion, Paddy, all monster players. We've backfilled with Evan, Murch, Lahiff, POCB, Small, Costello, Basquel but it's impossible to replace all of that quality that has leaked in such a short period of time. We don't have the option now to introduce an explosive Kevin Mc, a marauding MDM or an O'Gara battering ram. I think the starting 15 ls will see the closest match ups that we've ever seen. Sam will be hard one by whoever gets their hands on it."
Going into this I think we have a decent chance here but I'd still make Dublin favourites in my own mind. Everything you say about Dublin is correct but Mayo are in transition too. We still look very loose at the back and Dublin have more than enough quality to take advantage of that.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 10/08/2021 14:21:56    2369539

Tickets going on sale on ticketmaster at 3.00 now!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 10/08/2021 14:55:34    2369551

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Like every other recent year, Mayo have a chance. They are not that far away. They have brilliant pace and power from 2 to 15 and are exciting to watch. Key for Mayo is still to get their heads right. They cannot keep waiting to go behind to start playing with intensity. The second half performance against Galway was awesome, but would it have happened had they not gone in 5 behind? Similarly last years all Ireland, Dublin score a goal after 20 seconds - cue Mayo score 3 points in 2 minutes. I find that kind of thing very frustrating, I don't know what it must be like for Mayo supporters.

Overall I would predict Dublin by 5 but if Mayo can avoid previous undoings such as red cards, own goals, kickout malfunctions and goals from the throw up, they'll have a good chance"
Some valid points there but the Keegan one is not that simple. He is not the player he was and he is still doing a job but has been carrying injuries the last 2 or 3 years. He is only recovering fully from a shoulder injury. Mayo don't have any player in their defence who plays in the full back line, not just Keegan, they are all half backs plugging holes. The fact is Keegan probably wouldn't get a start at half back on form. Going forward over the next few years, our half back line will be Durcan, Mullin and Mcloughlin. When we get Harrison back at 3 Mayo will have serious defence. Horan thought he would be back by now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 10/08/2021 15:09:20    2369557

Replying To Joxer:  "Arguably Mayo's best ever chance to beat this Dublin panel. Dublin have weathered some big losses to the squad in the last 2-3 years and the wear may begin to tell now. Clucko, Cian, Jack, Kev Mc, Bernard, DC, MDM, Mannion, Paddy, all monster players. We've backfilled with Evan, Murch, Lahiff, POCB, Small, Costello, Basquel but it's impossible to replace all of that quality that has leaked in such a short period of time. We don't have the option now to introduce an explosive Kevin Mc, a marauding MDM or an O'Gara battering ram. I think the starting 15 ls will see the closest match ups that we've ever seen. Sam will be hard one by whoever gets their hands on it."
The point doesn't seem to be made that Mayo have lost far more established players than Dublin. I was looking at the starting 15s for the excellent All Ireland Final between Dublin and Mayo 2017 won by the Dubs by a single point. Mayo are now without 10 of that starting 15 from 2017. Dublin are only without 6 .Unless James Horan is a magician/miracle worker, Dublin win next Saturday evening.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2505 - 10/08/2021 15:19:43    2369564

Replying To avonali:  "You know, the anonymity afforded by forums such as this bring out the worst in us. It's like being in a car. If someone tries to pull out in front of us we abuse them and blow the horn. However, if we were both meeting at a door way we'd stand back and allow them through.
I was brought up to believe demeaning another team/county while boasting about your won team's comparative success was just plain wrong. I reckon the Mailman if you were in a pub beside a Mayoman after a match you'd be telling him what a great team his county had and that it was misfortunate that they had never landed Sam in recent years. That's what most people would do anyway in this case. They wouldn't try to demean or belittle the other team. It's like once we are in here we can take off the mask because we don't have to suffer the consequences of being ungracious. Of course you'll say you were just telling the truth but I was at all the recent finals the Dubs played against Mayo and I knew we were watching two exceptional teams who were separated by the smallest of margins and in several cases plain bad luck.
Maybe next time you "post" Mailman you could just be a little more gracious."
As I always say to any Mayo fan I meet; Remember the immortal words of Paudie o se, "Kerry fans are animals". He meant they don't idolise losers. They obliterate them. That's why they are never away for long. Could you ever imagine Kerry fans believing in a curse?

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 10/08/2021 15:27:38    2369568

Replying To Mailman98:  "As I always say to any Mayo fan I meet; Remember the immortal words of Paudie o se, "Kerry fans are animals". He meant they don't idolise losers. They obliterate them. That's why they are never away for long. Could you ever imagine Kerry fans believing in a curse?"
99% of Mayo people don't believe in the curse either FFS. It's also a bit strange to say that randomly quote Paidi to Mayo fans you meet.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 10/08/2021 15:53:50    2369579

Replying To avonali:  "Tickets going on sale on ticketmaster at 3.00 now!"
Virtually no notice given, absolutely ridiculous from the GAA

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 10/08/2021 15:55:06    2369581

Replying To Mailman98:  "As I always say to any Mayo fan I meet; Remember the immortal words of Paudie o se, "Kerry fans are animals". He meant they don't idolise losers. They obliterate them. That's why they are never away for long. Could you ever imagine Kerry fans believing in a curse?"
Does anyone believe in a curse?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 483 - 10/08/2021 15:57:32    2369582

Replying To the_walls:  "99% of Mayo people don't believe in the curse either FFS. It's also a bit strange to say that randomly quote Paidi to Mayo fans you meet."
Imagine some Galway lad telling you in a bar to be more of an animal. That's where we've been going wrong all this time.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 483 - 10/08/2021 16:06:55    2369587

Replying To Gleebo:  "I hope your username is merely an homage to the great man.

I don't understand this "football only county" craic that I hear frequently about Mayo. I went to school with fellas who played all sorts of sports: there were fellas who played underage soccer for the Republic of Ireland, fellas who won national titles in basketball and tennis, fellas who won cross-country medals in Connacht and nationally. One fella represented Ireland at swimming at the Rio Olympics, another was a pro tennis player who represented Ireland in the Davis Cup, until he had to retire from injury a few years back. There's even a lad who went on to become a professional weightlifter/body-builder. There were also a couple of fellas who made the Connacht hurling squad at underage, believe it or not.

Several Mayo men are playing League of Ireland soccer for the likes of Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Longford, Athlone etc. So this craic about gaelic football being the only show in town is way overblown IMO. FFS, even on the Mayo panel last year, Chris Barrett won an FAI Youth Cup with Erris United (smashed in two lovely goals in the final), Eoghan McLaughlin was a champion cyclist, Aidan O'Shea shoots some hoops with Sligo in the winter etc.

The stuff about money is way off too. Mayo get very little subsidy from the GAA and have to raise most of what they have from their fans at home or abroad. Given the lack of employment opportunities in the county, a lot of the money goes on mileage for players coming down from Dublin (there were over 20 such players on the extended panel in 2019) or on travel and accommodation costs.

This is not a problem Galway (or Dublin) have- I believe that there was only one player on the combined football and hurling panels based outside of the county a few years back, although that might have changed in the meantime.

It's a shame that Galway's form has dipped such that some of ye seem to enjoy Mayo's losses more than your own wins, though."
There were 2 Mayo men in the 23 for some of the Irish rugby games in the last year. Keegan was playing rugby with connacht in his younger days, that's why he missed out on Mayo minors. Every young lad in Mayo plays soccer growing up too.

Of course we've less hurlers than Galway, but we also have around half their population.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 483 - 10/08/2021 16:20:02    2369592

Replying To Gleebo:  "I hope your username is merely an homage to the great man.

It's a shame that Galway's form has dipped such that some of ye seem to enjoy Mayo's losses more than your own wins, though."
There were 2 Mayo men in the 23 for some of the Irish rugby games in the last year. Keegan was playing rugby with connacht in his younger days, that's why he missed out on Mayo minors. Every young lad in Mayo plays soccer growing up too.

Of course we've less hurlers than Galway, but we also have around half their population.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 483 - 10/08/2021 16:20:03    2369593

Hard to beat a winner like yourself eh? Getting in a bit of attempted trolling before you start big school.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8152 - 10/08/2021 16:20:57    2369594

Replying To MayoDan:  "Does anyone believe in a curse?"
Anybody, whether from Mayo or not, might start believing they were cursed if they met "Pothole" [the poster you responded to] more than once. ;-)
BTW Everytime I run into Roy Jones or Mike Tyson I tell 'em to back up or I'll put them on their ass!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 10/08/2021 16:24:59    2369595

What you're saying is simplistic nonsense, if all it took to win Sam was for lads to act the maggot towards county players, every county in Ireland would have won one by now.

It's a myth that Mayo people universally heap praise on every fella that's ever pulled on the green and red jersey, have a word with the likes of Liam McHale, Ciarán MacDonald, JP Kean, John Maughan etc. and they'll put you right fairly quickly on that.

P Shea also rowed back fairly quickly on those comments, if I remember correctly.

Kerry are going through a famine of their own right now (by their lofty standards). I imagine that there must have been a few cutting words for them locally in recent years.

Kerry are the best (since the GAA was formed) because they teach the skills of the game better than anyone else. Tomás Ó Sé says that teams down there spend a lot of time before training on foot passing, shooting etc. and I could well believe it, as they tend to execute those skills very well.

Also, the structure of their local championships exposes a wider range of players from small clubs to the highest level of competition.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 10/08/2021 16:28:26    2369597