T BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 09/08/2021 19:39:04 2369267 Link 0 |
I have great time for AOS.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 09/08/2021 19:45:17 2369268 Link 1 |
My post was calling out your deluded nonsense about Kildare flags being flown in castlebar ahead of the 98 final. You are coming across as being a very sad, bitter, supporter who can't accept that Mayo are a superior footballing county to his own.
Unsullied (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 09/08/2021 19:45:20 2369269 Link 0 |
Well said
the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 09/08/2021 19:55:22 2369276 Link 0 |
Don't be giving Belclare's burner accas the attention he craves.
BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 09/08/2021 20:01:38 2369277 Link 2 |
Well said Barney. Respect!
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4001 - 09/08/2021 20:15:01 2369281 Link 0 |
Well you have alot in common Avon. Both come from Kerry bloodlines
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4001 - 09/08/2021 20:16:19 2369282 Link 2 |
I'd be of the same thinking. I thought at the start of the year that promotion back to division 2 and another Connacht title would be classed as a very decent season. Now that we are there though you'd want to see some progression from last years final. Tommy Conroy and Ryan O D really need to step now. This is the standard these lads need to get too. This is our first real test this year. It's our defence conceding goals I'd be most worried about. While the dubs appeared to have slipped back towards the pack they are in in the pack (yet) and we aren't near a strong as 2017 or even last year minus Cillian. Sport is funny though and no better team than Mayo to turn the tables but all evidence points to another Dublin win. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11679 - 09/08/2021 20:28:39 2369286 Link 3 |
Mayo will most definitely hit the ground running, the Dub's will be forced to show their hand from the off, the Leinster final and the game against Wexford and Meath will show once and for all what gear Dublin were playing in, small stuff but it matters to know these things, absolutely no disrespect to Wexford, Meath or Kildare but it's my thinking that Mayo are at a different level, even without Cillian O' Connor and other key players they have lost over the past 2 / 3 years, I am not for a minute making Mayo favorites against the Dub's absolutely not but they are a different outfit I have said it before if nothing else Mayo are resilient, stubborn, tenacious, and they have character, so you might ask what else do they need to beat the Dub's, - a bit of lady luck that's all. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3203 - 09/08/2021 20:40:46 2369292 Link 0 |
Superior football team at the moment yes. Superior football county in fairness has an altogether different connotation and history would indicate otherwise. Anyway most Galway football folk are mild compared to cohorts from other counties and a lot milder than a small cohort of our hurling fans (all from my experience). AOS gets unwelcome abuse but ye have plenty of fans who have given it to the one or two lead players we have. Back to the match and like a few fellow Galwegians I have spoken to hope the football stands up to the billing. If AOS has a great game well fair play to him.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 09/08/2021 20:41:45 2369293 Link 1 |
I'd be loath to have a go at any of those mayo players tbh,, to be on the receiving end of as many knocks as they have been and keep coming back so consistently speaks volumes of their character, like a boxer who keeps getting back up no matter how hard he gets it.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 09/08/2021 21:03:38 2369300 Link 0 |
Thought Ryan O'D played well in the first half of last year's All-Ireland, though the Dubs cut out the supply to him in the second half. He's been generally pretty good from placed balls this term, in Cillian's absence. Tommy C needs a big game at HQ, agreed, though he upped his game in the second half against Galway. The tendency to concede goals is still there, and though Horan has done a massive job, I'm still not convinced that organising a defence is his forte. He doesn't like playing a sweeper, which is something that Rochford employed to good effect against the Dubs in 2016 and 2017. Realistically, those games were the closest that we got to toppling them, so it's odd IMO that we never really returned to that idea. (The way that the County Board dealt with Rochford in the end was also very sub-par tbh). We are also still dependent on the likes of Paddy Durcan to get up the field and kick a few scores, which leaves a lot of space behind. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/08/2021 21:10:19 2369303 Link 0 |
I have great time for AOS.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 09/08/2021 21:14:02 2369304 Link 3 |
Unline Aidan, Mick, I didn't inherit the rest of my family's football gene.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 09/08/2021 21:15:49 2369305 Link 1 |
Well I ll take your word for it Avon but at least you ve the knowledge.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4001 - 09/08/2021 21:39:36 2369316 Link 0 |
You'd want to take a look at the All-Ireland role of honour. I think it's 6 we've won since Mayo brought anything worthwhile across the Shannon. Any team can have a period of dominance over another. It's what you do in that time that counts and in the time Mayo have been dominant you've done absolutely nothing worth talking about unless you want to count becoming "loveable losers".
Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 10/08/2021 10:19:51 2369412 Link 3 |
I'd be more embarrassed to have never seen my County win an All-Ireland in my lifetime despite being a football only County that is only second to Dublin in money spending stakes. Apologies if you are over 70 years of age and were watching in 1951.
Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 10/08/2021 10:27:52 2369417 Link 3 |
You think?
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8152 - 10/08/2021 11:22:21 2369454 Link 2 |
More of it. As I say, embarrassed for you as a person that you have to behave in such a manner. Unfortunately, there is an element among the support of all counties who just want to be over the top in their criticisms of players for rival counties or just want to take delight in the failures of others and rub it in at every single opportunity possible. It's childish puerile nonsense. More joy seems to be taken in the failure of others rather than the success of their own county. A sad way to live. I have great respect for Galway football and love our rivalry which in general I think is very respectful on both sides. It's a pity fellas like you in both Galway and Mayo try to ruin that. the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 10/08/2021 11:35:42 2369464 Link 2 |
Ignore him if you can. It's pointless even trying to debate with people that petty. We're in no position to be throwing stones at any county about failure this year. There's plenty work to be done in Galway to get us to a more competitive level at senior in both codes.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2413 - 10/08/2021 11:43:53 2369470 Link 3 |