Replying To PaudieSull1: "Gillane struck O Donoghue blatantly with the hurley that day same as he did Barrett…..wise up and stop condoning foul play as that is all you are doing….be under no illusion young lads will watch incidents like that and think that slapping back is acceptable as they saw it on TV go unpunished when along with the block on the hands it is the most cowardly stroke in hurling
Limerick rightly favourites on Sunday week and Casey now gets his chance ……I doubt Cork were giving it a 2nd thought so realistically makes little difference to the game but the disciplinary process in the GAA is now a total mess (albeit Limerick aren't the only ones to contribute to that) ….." You seem to forget that O'Donoghue got a yellow card for his part in that incident and a few minutes later Cian Lynch was running through on goal- see what happened in the Semi Final after- and SOD blatantly high tackled him. Owens could be clearly seen going for a card, but seemed to stop when he relised he had SOD booked already. Gullane should definitely have gone but O'Donoghue should also have walked. Now Paudie I do not consider Cork or even SOD dirty but that boy was lucky that night. No wonder he was replaced at half time
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 19:05:50
Replying To Pope_Benedict: "The only reason he got off was because he deserved to get off, would be my read of it. There was no footage that showed him making contact on the Waterford player with his head. That's why he got off, I'd guess. He 'got off', because he didn't actually do anything to merit a red card, on the evidence of all available footage. Doing & seeming to do, are distinctly different actions." That's not how it works. It's the referees report that determines guilt unless footage proves otherwise. Not footage to prove the red card was right. I'm surmising that there is footage that clears Casey of the offence, so rightly he was exonerated if that was the case.
BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 317 - 13/08/2021 19:08:36
Replying To PaudieSull1: "Gillane struck O Donoghue blatantly with the hurley that day same as he did Barrett…..wise up and stop condoning foul play as that is all you are doing….be under no illusion young lads will watch incidents like that and think that slapping back is acceptable as they saw it on TV go unpunished when along with the block on the hands it is the most cowardly stroke in hurling
Limerick rightly favourites on Sunday week and Casey now gets his chance ……I doubt Cork were giving it a 2nd thought so realistically makes little difference to the game but the disciplinary process in the GAA is now a total mess (albeit Limerick aren't the only ones to contribute to that) ….." In addition, I have never once said Gullane should not have been sent off for the Barrett incident, but maybe Barrett's apparent over reaction to the whole thing may not have helped. It might also be noted that Paudie O'Dwyer was the linesman involved in 2019 when Buckley stood too near the sideline cut and blocked it for the 70 that never was. Maybe Paudie felt he owed us one, but that is all idle speculation. Anyway every good on luck on Sunday and may the best team win.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 19:15:46
Replying To gahfan: "All these lads who get sent off are always never the type who get sent off which seems peculiar.
I got sent off once and let down my team. People get sent off nowadays and are victims of some kind of injustice." Well my friend you need not bother doubting my word. I am an old ASR boy and I have almost every Harty Cup , Minor U21, or Senior inter county game this boy has ever played and that is what I base the truth of that assertion on. As the man said, I was there and you in all probability was not.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 19:24:31
Replying To updwell: "Do you have a link to video of where it clearly shows Casey butting Gleeson or is it just you seeing what you wanted to see. As for the umpires seeing the incident 50 yards away from themselves they couldn't spot Gillane and Flanagan getting 'worked over' for the first 20 mins and that was only 10 yards in front of them." Hold on. They must have video evidence that was not available to tv at the time which exonerates Casey, which is fair enough. Calling the integrity of officials into doubt is not right. None of the camera angles already shown on tv would be enough to over rule the officials on duty at the game. The evidence provided would need to prove the officials were wrong. It's not enough to say that the footage doesn't show conclusively what the ref saw. They could have had another angle that proves Casey's case and that should be the reason he won the appeal. So I'm glad a lad will not miss a massive game in his career, if he was innocent.
BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 317 - 13/08/2021 19:25:39
Replying To BigFred: "Oldtourman you are right there have been other instances in the past where the decision has been overturned I don't dispute that. I hope I'm wrong I hope cork win and again I honestly don't think casey will be the difference I just think limerick are better but may the best team win. I honestly believe if it was a semi final limerick would not have even bothered to appealed and I honestly think because it's a final this is why the decision was overturned (the sympothy vote) he butted him it may not have been the hardest hit in the world I accept that but he definitely butted him imo" The findings were that Casey didn't head butt him,if they found that Casey did head butt him the red card would be upheld....simple really!
ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 13/08/2021 20:07:47
Replying To StoreysTash: "So its a victory for fair play if inconclusive video evidence overrules an official who told the referee what he saw? To me, that is not a victory for fair play. If there had been clear cut video evidence here, then of course it should be used. It should have been "beyond reasonable doubt" that nothing happened. But GAA authorities never back the men in black, do they, and who knows what has gone on behind the scenes........" innocent until proven guilty by evidence beyond reasonable doubt is a tenet of our justice system, that's what matters...not the converse as you seem to believe!
ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 13/08/2021 20:14:58
Read the report in the examiner as to why he was cleared. The referee didn't see it, he went to the umpires, one of whom also didn't see it. The one that did said he said he saw a head movement by Casey. The referee was supposed to go to the linesman, Liam Gordon to get his view. Liam Gordon saw it and was going to recommend a yellow each. The referee forgot to go to Liam Gordon and went straight to Casey and gave him the red. I've watched the incident myself a good few times. Casey got a jab of the hurley in the nethers and his head makes contact with the side of Gleeson's helmet. Gleeson went down, but when he realized the ref was going to send Casey off it actually looks like he was asking the ref not to send him. The hand wringing pearl clutchers on here screaming "somebody think of the children" would really want to cool their eggs. So convinced of Casey's guilt they can see through time and space Matrix style! Saying there's no way he can be cleared because he's guilty and then when the case is considered, examined and it's decided Casey didn't headbutt him intentionally you're screaming that the whole thing is a farce, totally contradicintg yourselves. Lastly, it's very interesting that it seems to be people from 'neutral' counties that are doing the loudest whingeing and most Cork people are saying fair enough. Cork are a class team and the red tide is certainly coming, hopefully not for a year or two, but if they win will be no bitterness from decent Limerick people.
Camándubh (Limerick) - Posts: 3 - 13/08/2021 20:20:52
Replying To Camándubh: "Read the report in the examiner as to why he was cleared. The referee didn't see it, he went to the umpires, one of whom also didn't see it. The one that did said he said he saw a head movement by Casey. The referee was supposed to go to the linesman, Liam Gordon to get his view. Liam Gordon saw it and was going to recommend a yellow each. The referee forgot to go to Liam Gordon and went straight to Casey and gave him the red. I've watched the incident myself a good few times. Casey got a jab of the hurley in the nethers and his head makes contact with the side of Gleeson's helmet. Gleeson went down, but when he realized the ref was going to send Casey off it actually looks like he was asking the ref not to send him. The hand wringing pearl clutchers on here screaming "somebody think of the children" would really want to cool their eggs. So convinced of Casey's guilt they can see through time and space Matrix style! Saying there's no way he can be cleared because he's guilty and then when the case is considered, examined and it's decided Casey didn't headbutt him intentionally you're screaming that the whole thing is a farce, totally contradicintg yourselves. Lastly, it's very interesting that it seems to be people from 'neutral' counties that are doing the loudest whingeing and most Cork people are saying fair enough. Cork are a class team and the red tide is certainly coming, hopefully not for a year or two, but if they win will be no bitterness from decent Limerick people." Proper factual post. Hopefully people might actually read this, digest and move on.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 13/08/2021 20:56:05
Replying To Camándubh: "Read the report in the examiner as to why he was cleared. The referee didn't see it, he went to the umpires, one of whom also didn't see it. The one that did said he said he saw a head movement by Casey. The referee was supposed to go to the linesman, Liam Gordon to get his view. Liam Gordon saw it and was going to recommend a yellow each. The referee forgot to go to Liam Gordon and went straight to Casey and gave him the red. I've watched the incident myself a good few times. Casey got a jab of the hurley in the nethers and his head makes contact with the side of Gleeson's helmet. Gleeson went down, but when he realized the ref was going to send Casey off it actually looks like he was asking the ref not to send him. The hand wringing pearl clutchers on here screaming "somebody think of the children" would really want to cool their eggs. So convinced of Casey's guilt they can see through time and space Matrix style! Saying there's no way he can be cleared because he's guilty and then when the case is considered, examined and it's decided Casey didn't headbutt him intentionally you're screaming that the whole thing is a farce, totally contradicintg yourselves. Lastly, it's very interesting that it seems to be people from 'neutral' counties that are doing the loudest whingeing and most Cork people are saying fair enough. Cork are a class team and the red tide is certainly coming, hopefully not for a year or two, but if they win will be no bitterness from decent Limerick people." He should never have been sent off if that is the case and the ref has not covered himself in glory. If that game had a couple of points in it, it could have had a massive baring on the outcome. Terrible stuff.
BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 317 - 13/08/2021 21:08:07
Replying To Camándubh: "Read the report in the examiner as to why he was cleared. The referee didn't see it, he went to the umpires, one of whom also didn't see it. The one that did said he said he saw a head movement by Casey. The referee was supposed to go to the linesman, Liam Gordon to get his view. Liam Gordon saw it and was going to recommend a yellow each. The referee forgot to go to Liam Gordon and went straight to Casey and gave him the red. I've watched the incident myself a good few times. Casey got a jab of the hurley in the nethers and his head makes contact with the side of Gleeson's helmet. Gleeson went down, but when he realized the ref was going to send Casey off it actually looks like he was asking the ref not to send him. The hand wringing pearl clutchers on here screaming "somebody think of the children" would really want to cool their eggs. So convinced of Casey's guilt they can see through time and space Matrix style! Saying there's no way he can be cleared because he's guilty and then when the case is considered, examined and it's decided Casey didn't headbutt him intentionally you're screaming that the whole thing is a farce, totally contradicintg yourselves. Lastly, it's very interesting that it seems to be people from 'neutral' counties that are doing the loudest whingeing and most Cork people are saying fair enough. Cork are a class team and the red tide is certainly coming, hopefully not for a year or two, but if they win will be no bitterness from decent Limerick people." I didn't think he should have got sent off! For a player to miss a final for something like that, would be a travesty. Hoping for a good game. Cork will miss a few players through injury, but bench is strong now!
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/08/2021 21:21:08
Replying To Oldtourman: "In addition, I have never once said Gullane should not have been sent off for the Barrett incident, but maybe Barrett's apparent over reaction to the whole thing may not have helped. It might also be noted that Paudie O'Dwyer was the linesman involved in 2019 when Buckley stood too near the sideline cut and blocked it for the 70 that never was. Maybe Paudie felt he owed us one, but that is all idle speculation. Anyway every good on luck on Sunday and may the best team win." You're right Oldtourman, it's all idle speculation. By the way, my recollection of that 2019 semi-final is that it wasn't Paud O'Dwyer who was linesman, I think it was another Carlow man, Patrick Murphy.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 613 - 13/08/2021 21:26:32
Another great win for Galway Minors v KK...that's 5 years in a row we have beaten them lol!!! The drive for 5 is on....Galway going for 5 All Ireland Minor titles in a row!!
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2617 - 13/08/2021 21:31:29
Replying To Oldtourman: "Well my friend you need not bother doubting my word. I am an old ASR boy and I have almost every Harty Cup , Minor U21, or Senior inter county game this boy has ever played and that is what I base the truth of that assertion on. As the man said, I was there and you in all probability was not." It's almost like they become some kind of hero or victim though instead of just been seem as someone who committed an offence and rightly got sent off.
I don't like it. You can tell me they're a saint but if they commit an offence they commit an offence.
Are we indulging these county players a little? What do they have to do to serve a suspension? Where are the CCCC gone?
Where will all this end up? We are certainly ambivalent about indiscipline as an organisation.
gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 639 - 13/08/2021 21:49:21
Replying To daveboy: "Proper factual post. Hopefully people might actually read this, digest and move on." 100% agree.
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 13/08/2021 21:56:06
Replying To gahfan: "It's almost like they become some kind of hero or victim though instead of just been seem as someone who committed an offence and rightly got sent off.
I don't like it. You can tell me they're a saint but if they commit an offence they commit an offence.
Are we indulging these county players a little? What do they have to do to serve a suspension? Where are the CCCC gone?
Where will all this end up? We are certainly ambivalent about indiscipline as an organisation." I agree with a lot of what you say there, but there must have been compelling evidence to have this overturned. Look I had no problems with the sending offs during the League or if Gullane or Flanagan had gone v Tipp i'd say fair cop. As regards ambivalence in relation to rules in the GAA, it has always been there and certain teams will always come under more scrutiny for their behavior. Cork U20s gave away 18 scoreable frees V Limerick (16 were scored), in a 60 minute game and they ended the Clare Senior game with 13 players on the field, yet there is not word in any newspaper questioning their behavior.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 22:07:26
Replying To Rockies: "I didn't think he should have got sent off! For a player to miss a final for something like that, would be a travesty. Hoping for a good game. Cork will miss a few players through injury, but bench is strong now!" Thanks Rockies. It is ironic that most of the outcry about the outcome of this appeal is not coming from Rebel supporters. BTW, what ever happens Sunday week and it is most definitely no foregone conclusion, Cork are on the way back bigtime.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 22:13:12
Replying To gahfan: "It's almost like they become some kind of hero or victim though instead of just been seem as someone who committed an offence and rightly got sent off.
Where will all this end up? We are certainly ambivalent about indiscipline as an organisation." I have read the report on the Irish Examiner on why the suspension was lifted. If you read it you might find it interesting. It is available on line. The simply fact is the man best placed to see the incident was the linesman, himself an inter county referee, was not properly consulted by the ref, and he (the linesman) was prepared to recommend that two yellow cards be issued..
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 13/08/2021 22:58:05
I watched the game. I was surprised to see Casey get the red but I also admired the referee for having the bravery to give a red on the evidence he received from his diligent officials. Too often our officials have not followed through on the advice given. To be honest my mind wandered as to why the Limerick player reacted as he did, and when the replays were being played I was saddened at what the video showed... the Waterford player giving Casey the hurl into his body and then falling down unceremoniously after the slightest of contact.
Reflecting on the whole escapade, are we expecting too much from our players... that they should turn a blind eye to provocation? When a player intentionally needles a player to react - what do our rules and expectations expect from our officials... is there any sanction we can offer to lessen the opportunities for such provocation?
We could easily become distracted from the real issue of provocation and focus on the response and look for blood, and social.media is full of.auch venom, but what should be done to ensure that our players are not provoked into the future... I would suggest that penalties for such negative behaviour should result in a separate category which woikd result in a red card and a 3 match suspension. We can put our heads in the sand and say agh it happened in my time, as.if we can't do anything and accept the status quo or we can try to sort it. I think I would go with the latter. How many times have we all said, 'don't mind that lad' as a response to a player needling a player.. Time to sort this out and be brave and move the game on.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 14/08/2021 00:42:57
I am glad for Casey to able to play in the All-Ireland and have said so from the start. What I do have a problem is with how some seem to be easy to rescind and others are not. There always seems to be someone with more pull or all of a sudden an official changes his story and says that is not what I ment. I also said the greatest injustice of all was done to Gleeson himself when two red cards were issued and he missed out on a final while the other player missed the first game in the league and had not joined the panel even for that game. This year he was red carded again in a dubious way. No excuse for him either and he needs to stop this trend of swiping back at players or he will be getting lots more of them. Players need to take responsibility for their actions and legislators need to have equal and fair punishment for transgressors.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3111 - 14/08/2021 01:44:50