While watching the game, it was obvious that the Limerick management had warned the likes of Hegarty and Gillane to restrain themselves against Waterford due to video evidence of them striking players in previous games. Hegarty and Gillane were noticeably quieter against Waterford but Casey must have missed the briefing - sporting Limerick at its best.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 12/08/2021 13:10:35 2370129 Link 0 |
How were they singled out after the Munster Final. I was right in front of the Lynch incident in Thurles- it was an outrageous- he had to go. Clareandblue did not challenge me on the details of it, because he knows that it was a pure cock up. Clare had hard luck with Jimmy Cooney, but when Loughnane very foolishly agreed to a replay, immediately after the game, he undermined his county board's case. Why is there not a replay after every referees mistake. Could you imagine a Cork, Tipp or Kilkenny manager agreeing to allowing a replay to Offaly in those circumstances-no way.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 13:27:04 2370135 Link 0 |
Casey could have used his brain instead of his helmet - the game was over, already through to an All Ireland - where was his thinking brain gone - he's no novice to Croke Park or reaching All Ireland finals? He made a right mess of it. Having said that, I don't like to see anyone losing out in such manner. He was obviously provoked - provocation seems to be a given in both hurling and football and it's rampant because the GAA give's it a blind eye.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 12/08/2021 13:27:37 2370137 Link 0 |
And the Galway players must have been warned to stop catching people by the testicles as one of their players was showing doing to Barry Murphy in Salthill in 2018
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 13:30:22 2370138 Link 1 |
Pathetic troll.
PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 12/08/2021 13:36:57 2370141 Link 0 |
Baire do you know pc at all..it is not in the make up of the man to do anything like that.he might be paying for incidents missed earlier in the year..have Galway ever appealed a suspension?outside of the tony keady(rip).the one that went on for months and probably cost Galway..would I be right in saying joe was sent off in club championship last year and the red card was rescinded when incident was looked at..pc has no badness in him and I'd put him on a par with dj,Horgan and many others who never get into trouble..if a certain former cork official was involved and cork were in a similar position they wouldn't appeal.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2543 - 12/08/2021 13:45:09 2370143 Link 0 |
I think using your brain goes put the window when you've been hit below the waistline with the hurley turned. My main message is they've appealed it on the basis of video evidence attained. I hope he is cleared as he is an absolute role model to every kid out there that you don't need to be 6 foot 4 to play at an all star level in hurling. Hes an out and out hurler. I'll just leave it to the appeals process and if he's unsuccessful limerick will move forward.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 12/08/2021 13:50:42 2370146 Link 0 |
I totally agree Flanagan deserved to walk too, but you wouldn't strike a fella like he did for no reason either.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2392 - 12/08/2021 13:53:53 2370149 Link 0 |
Well Baire I agree with in you in every word of that. I do not care, if what I hear , as to what happened, is true in the lead up to the Casey incident, any camera angle that is available should be used to expose his opponents alleged behaviour- as I say if what I hear is true. I'd be happy to have Casey serve his suspension if every effort was made to show the other side of the incident. As you say I think it is time this 'softening process' was put under further scrutiny. I have never seen it happen at close, but I was never a Senior hurler, but I have heard of a number of cases of players been grabbed by the testicles during games. This is a particularly low act and anyone who engages in it should not be left next or near a hurling field.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 13:54:33 2370150 Link 2 |
Baire Do you know what sporting Limerick is ? :-) :-) This is what is on their Twitter account: Sports news & updates for Limerick City & County! Follow us on Facebook - Sporting Limerick & Instagram It is humorous that you're blaming an organisation like this for a player getting a red card! slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 12/08/2021 13:55:52 2370151 Link 0 |
Agree
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 12/08/2021 13:59:54 2370153 Link 0 |
Here's an idea. How's about EVERY county agrees to stop playing for frees, diving to win them, pretending they are fouled, and be a man about things instead of going down to get the opponent sent off? StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1862 - 12/08/2021 14:21:18 2370166 Link 2 |
Since you are noticing things so well it is amazing that you not notice that a Waterford player was warned for persistently fouling Gullane. I would also to point out that I saw somewhere that Joe Canning had to gave a pain killing injection before going on the field for the second half against Waterford, because of the belt in the hand from Glesson. My God if it a Limerick did that to Joe we would never hear the end of it, yet Galway supporters are not saying a word about it.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 14:23:39 2370168 Link 1 |
Well said Daveboy. That is so how it should be done and whatever way the cat jumps let there be no recriminations and bickering for months afterwards and all this old 'look at how badly they are treating us', as went on in Clare after the Lynch Case or in Galway in relation to the case in '89.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 14:59:20 2370187 Link 1 |
Fair play to Hegarty for keeping is cool after getting a full on punch in the gut and the referee not punishing this blatant red card accordingly
Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/08/2021 15:09:09 2370188 Link 1 |
It is players and managers who need to deal with provocation not rules or refs. Conor Gleeson himself was a victim as a young player in 2017. The cheapest type of it that he repeated against Limerick doing it when the game is out of reach for your team. It is been around a long time. Knowing that Mullane was a hot head it was the strategy to provoke him. He was black and blue up his side from the heel of hurleys. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3108 - 12/08/2021 15:15:27 2370194 Link 0 |
Of course he not see that Breezy or do any of Galway lads mention the incident in which Joe got a crack from Gleeson.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 12/08/2021 15:42:20 2370206 Link 0 |
Agree totally but I'm afraid it's crept into the game unfortunately . Refs are beginning to see through it but will take a lot of time. Kiely mentioned it after Galway match in league and came under criticism. He retracted his comments but they weren't a million miles off for me. Things like players pulling their helmets off to exaggerate the challenge and holding their face on 50/50 challenges makes it difficult to ref matches. It's not something anyone who knows the game likes but it can be effective sadly.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 12/08/2021 15:55:35 2370212 Link 0 |
Yeah helmets are been taken off at nearly every opportunity now, its pathetic carry on. They should be made leave the pitch for "treatment" when this happens. That would curtail a lot of the cheating.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2392 - 12/08/2021 16:06:06 2370215 Link 0 |
Thanks for your clairvoyance. When is the end of the world? .... wait.. don't bother answering ...no credibility.....recommend you trade the sour grapes for something sweet.
PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 12/08/2021 16:23:15 2370219 Link 0 |