I wasn't speculating and haven't a clue about averages, LK is simply the leading scorer for a defender, that's a statistical fact. Paddy might pass him out at some point (he's 4 years younger), though putting him in the corner for a couple of years would probably diminish his threat and slow down his scoring returns too. It's true in the upcoming game that whatever the number on their backs Keegan and Kilkenny look likely to pair off at some point and maybe even for the whole game. JH has been stubborn before though and might also still go with Lee on Con again... something I'd be nervous about. Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/12/2020 13:19:39 2321337 Link 1 |
. Fully agree on the last three but Deegan & McQuillan not up to it ?? Eaten bread soon forgotten in Dublin GAA circles! timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 11/12/2020 13:30:12 2321342 Link 1 |
If Keegan goes on Kilkenny and does well, we need to activate Bugler or Howard, we have no Dermo this year. Elsewise Ciaran might try and create the space through the central channel by dragging Keegan around. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 11/12/2020 13:32:45 2321345 Link 1 |
If the game is close then it will come down I feel to the benches and Dublin as always have the superior power coming of the bench.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 11/12/2020 13:33:10 2321346 Link 1 |
Mayo's looks strong to, stronger then in comparison to the most recent finals pervious finals. Dessie has a few calls to make, whether to play the young lads in P Small and Bugler or whether to start with Mannion and Howard, i think he will go with the young lads myself. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 11/12/2020 13:39:52 2321349 Link 1 |
I know its a fact but its based over many more games, its different if he was chipping in with 3 points a game on average but he's never done that. I would have rated Jack McCaffrey a far more dangerous threat going forward or even McDaid. Has Keegan even still got it in the legs to be bombing forward any longer ? Is that not the reason he's been moved back? AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 11/12/2020 14:17:08 2321360 Link 0 |
This is the second year Lee's found himself playing in the FB line and while he's 30 now and the consensus is that he seems to have lost a bit of pace this year, that wouldn't have been the case last year (or wasn't noticeable). That said, he was never blindingly quick like Jack Mc or his replacement in the Mayo halfback line Eoin McLaughlin. He always had a great engine, which I don't think has diminished and he has largely owed his scores to his ability to read play and time his runs into good positions. His record shows he's been good at it: 6-40 I think scored not including this year and obviously all from play. Playing him in the corner removes him from the zones where his ability to pop up can lead to a score, but with Paddy and Eoin at halfback what JH gets is a quicker transition and that's also where Jack Mc was so dangerous.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/12/2020 15:10:12 2321369 Link 1 |
As usual it will be all about the match ups tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1390 - 13/12/2020 03:15:08 2321756 Link 0 |
going to be a mad yoke and call a mayo win by 2 or 3. Mayo are freaks and you cnat go on previous games with them they just are not predictable. They have a few fast players that are young this year and seem like decent players. One of few that think they might, just might be able. I will still a 50 on for the crack at minus 1 anyway GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 13/12/2020 07:39:53 2321773 Link 0 |
In these times, what is everyone doing for the match next week? Watching at home, trying to get out and watch it somewhere (following protocolls of course)? TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 13/12/2020 12:32:55 2321840 Link 1 |
Working fir the post office at Christmas combined with a Saturday evening final means I'm gonna miss every second of it,,, I'll miss our u 20 game too
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 13/12/2020 13:04:55 2321850 Link 1 |
I can imagine its crazy ath e moment a chara. Really looking forward to the U20 final, its going to be a epic day 2:00pm - 7:00pm, Christmas is coming early. Be interesting to see how watching and celebrating today goes. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 13/12/2020 13:29:27 2321856 Link 1 |
Its nice to have the distraction of the games/final but it doesn't carry the same feeling as a 'normal' year for me personally, anyone else feel like this? realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 13/12/2020 14:07:28 2321863 Link 1 |
Of course not....it's anything but normal. The build up to an All Ireland final is like Christmas Eve every day. Especially the Friday and day before...everyone is rushing around, sorting tickets, plans, getting ready to head for Dublin....it's a great buzz. EVERYONE is talking about the game, it's the only topic of conversation.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 13/12/2020 14:55:50 2321892 Link 2 |
Yup,, don't mean to be a buzzkill but if Mayo or waterford finally get the win over the next week it won't be the same as a normal all Ireland win. No homecoming,, no fans in the stadium,, no school tours etc. (I assume). Most of the experience will be lost,, but the medal is still there's for life so good luck to them. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 13/12/2020 15:17:05 2321901 Link 1 |
Agreed.It's not a normal year.Great to have a championship at all.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2406 - 13/12/2020 15:18:53 2321903 Link 1 |
Yes it would particularly impact Mayo and Waterford unfortunately.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 13/12/2020 15:21:23 2321905 Link 1 |
It's completely different but Mayo will be delighted with the win if they manage it no matter what sort of a year it's been.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/12/2020 15:35:15 2321911 Link 0 |
Of course it won't be the same but at this stage we would gladly take it. Who knows it maybe a glass ceiling moment. I've always felt if we could win one All Ireland we could win a few...not necessarily one after the other but the jinx would be broken and the pressure and harping back to 51 would be over.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 13/12/2020 15:54:30 2321920 Link 1 |
Oh don't get me wrong, I'm sure they'll be ecstatic if they win but it could be so much more!
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 13/12/2020 15:58:52 2321923 Link 0 |