All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To HardCase:  "What are peoples opinions on the selection of referee for the match?
I happened to watch back the thing about reffing the all ireland final recently where he was mic'd up. I thought at the time that after watching it, he would do well to get another final so I was surprised by the appointment. He just reminded me of a school teacher who was a bit too nice and the kids were running riot.
Then there was the eye-gouging incident that he missed completely. You wonder will mcmahon be in his crosshairs this time around. It isnt ideal"
You mean you think the referee is the problem.
Yeah , it was so obvious all along it's not the teams, it's the referee. Ya balooba.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/12/2020 14:20:32    2321048

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The question really is what breed of a calamity will strike Mayo on the 19th of December?"
In the last minute, a passing seagull will deflect Cillian's point bound free back into play. Cluxton will find Kilkenny from the resulting play who lamps the ball off the post and over the bar from 50 metres out. Mayo lose by a point again ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 10/12/2020 14:21:41    2321049

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus, but you're desperate for anything you can grab on to to make you feel better Tommy. Pure desperation.
It's a close as you can get to greatnesses.
Ah, sure look , yeel still have the four in a row I suppose."
I was responding to African Gael who said Jack had kerry blood and I asked him had he?

You fool :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2020 14:34:09    2321052

Replying To catch22:  "You mean you think the referee is the problem.
Yeah , it was so obvious all along it's not the teams, it's the referee. Ya balooba."
Problem for what?
If mcmahon is involved in something - which he often is to be fair - and he books him or even sends him off, this will be brought up. If he lets him off with something, it will be brought up also. The problem is for the ref himself. The smart move was a different ref.

Also, the fact that he didnt check with the umpires when clearly he was informed about such an incident at the time, was a serious black mark against him to my mind. Anyway, hopefully there is no problem

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 10/12/2020 14:34:17    2321053

Replying To Gleebo:  "In the last minute, a passing seagull will deflect Cillian's point bound free back into play. Cluxton will find Kilkenny from the resulting play who lamps the ball off the post and over the bar from 50 metres out. Mayo lose by a point again ;)"
Dublin haven't been tested yet this year McCaffrey is a huge loss motm in 2 all Ireland finals the experience of connelly to come off the bench and kick points from 50 yards out is a massive loss. Desisie Farrells first time to manage in the final and his first championship game against a top top team. Mayo have the best bench they ever had going into a final against them. Dublin don't have the hill behind them this time. MAYO TO WIN BY 3

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 10/12/2020 14:46:31    2321061

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Dublin haven't been tested yet this year McCaffrey is a huge loss motm in 2 all Ireland finals the experience of connelly to come off the bench and kick points from 50 yards out is a massive loss. Desisie Farrells first time to manage in the final and his first championship game against a top top team. Mayo have the best bench they ever had going into a final against them. Dublin don't have the hill behind them this time. MAYO TO WIN BY 3"
You would probably need farrell to lose the head and throw himself, jayo and bernard dunne on for that to happen

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 10/12/2020 15:26:01    2321070

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Dublin haven't been tested yet this year McCaffrey is a huge loss motm in 2 all Ireland finals the experience of connelly to come off the bench and kick points from 50 yards out is a massive loss. Desisie Farrells first time to manage in the final and his first championship game against a top top team. Mayo have the best bench they ever had going into a final against them. Dublin don't have the hill behind them this time. MAYO TO WIN BY 3"
Jack McCaffreys replacement, McDaid was man of the match againt Cavan.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 10/12/2020 15:27:33    2321071

Replying To fainleog:  "Jack McCaffreys replacement, McDaid was man of the match againt Cavan."
Are you saying McCaffrey isn't a loss? Even if it were off the bench?

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 10/12/2020 15:45:30    2321076

Replying To fainleog:  "Jack McCaffreys replacement, McDaid was man of the match againt Cavan."
And he could be as good as Jack. Time will tell, he has started well. That's the process. Replace a strong player and the team doesn't suffer. It's all about the group and team as it should be.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 15:49:20    2321077

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was responding to African Gael who said Jack had kerry blood and I asked him had he?

You fool :-)"
Of course you were, ya balooba. Another one of you're alter egos that you don't know anything about because you can't work the interweb. You're some malogan boy. Now this other headbanger on about " what do ye think of the ref lads ". You must have nothing to be doing with yourself Tommy boy.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/12/2020 15:54:15    2321079

So who will win the All Ireland Process I wonder? ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 10/12/2020 16:11:42    2321085

The All Ireland Processed Gaelic Football Final, a bit of a mouthful!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 10/12/2020 16:13:13    2321086

Replying To baire:  "So who will win the All Ireland Process I wonder? ;)"
Well the processes will be followed. They won't deviate from the process and they will stick to the process that Dessie and the team have implement.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 16:27:41    2321091

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Are you saying McCaffrey isn't a loss? Even if it were off the bench?"
I am just pointing out that he is not the loss you are making out, considering they have such a good replacememt in McDaid. Also it has to be remembered that his performance in the replayed All-Ireland was poor while he had a man
of the Match performance in the drawn game.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 10/12/2020 16:32:02    2321092

Replying To catch22:  "Of course you were, ya balooba. Another one of you're alter egos that you don't know anything about because you can't work the interweb. You're some malogan boy. Now this other headbanger on about " what do ye think of the ref lads ". You must have nothing to be doing with yourself Tommy boy."
:-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2020 17:30:26    2321109

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The question really is what breed of a calamity will strike Mayo on the 19th of December?"
Dublin will turn up !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 940 - 10/12/2020 18:00:45    2321118

Very suprised that Barry Cassidy did not get the all ireland final after his performance in the ulster final and he after getting laser surgery on both eyes since.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 485 - 10/12/2020 18:24:49    2321127

Just on an aside. I'm wondering is Lee Keegan the player he once was. In the first half when Michael Quinlivan had a chance of goal and got by Keegan, Lee just stopped and did nt even follow him. Now I know he could nt catch Quinlivan but a good back would run incase of a rebound off the post or goalie. If that happened in an underage game the back would be let know all about it. Its just a small thing but maybe he will be more in focus for the final. I actually think Coldrick is a good ref and with no crowd there less pressure for him I would imagine.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3918 - 10/12/2020 18:31:39    2321128

Keep Calm!

Don't panic!

Mayo don't do Finals!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 10/12/2020 19:05:58    2321140

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Very suprised that Barry Cassidy did not get the all ireland final after his performance in the ulster final and he after getting laser surgery on both eyes since."
I actually think Conor Lane is the best ref in the game. Would have been ideal coming from a non competing province would be one less bull shxt conspiracy theory for the bitter brigade to throw about..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 10/12/2020 19:57:58    2321156