All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Mayo to win, if they take the Dubs on down both sidelines playing as wide as possible, playing high diagonal balls in before the blanket defence falls back, none of the Dublin full back like that type of quick high ball & will generally drag their marker down. I expect a couple of black cards or a penalty from this type of ball in by Mayo.
If Mayo play a laboured build up, they will be devoured, they need to turn the game on its head like Waterford's second half display v Kilkenny, play wide & take them on. Mayo will also need to shore up centre back position & move LK from the corner.
Wishing Mayo the best of luck, they won damn all at minor & U20 over the last few years, yet unearthed some great footballers this year, no shortage of skill. What a year & opportunity to win an All Ireland for whoever won Connacht, particularly after seeing Kerry getting dumped out & with all the players Horan brought in I don't think he expected to get over Galway in Pearse Stadium but they did. Horan has done a great job this year.
For the Galway lads on here shouting for the Dubs, you obviously weren't around in 1963, 1974 & 1983.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 10/12/2020 00:03:40    2320931

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The question really is what breed of a calamity will strike Mayo on the 19th of December?"
The question is if the game is there for the taking in the last 5 minutes will Mayo finally shake off the shackles of history and go for the jugular?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 10/12/2020 00:23:33    2320933

For Mayo to have any possibility of winning this game, of course they will have targets for each quarter of the match. One of the main issues Mayo have had against Dublin is conceding goals at either the start of the game or like last year the start of the second half. Goals give Dublin fuel to fire. Mayo have to prevent Dublin from getting an early goal.You can see when they score a goal, the Dublin teams next target is to immediately win the opposition kickout and score again as soon as possible. Also Mayo have to get at least 2 or 3 goals against Dublin to have any chance of winning.

I would expect and hope that Mayo will play a sweeper during the first half. I know that Horan trusts his defenders in one on one situations. However Barret and Keegan were both caught out in the first half and Tipperary had great opportunities to score goals. I feel if those chances came to Rock or COC the back of the net would have rattled at least once if not twice. I expected Tipperary forwards to utilize the mark more against the mayo fullback line. I don't think Dublin will make the same mistake. Both Rock and COC are good in the air and accurate in front of goal.

It would be interesting to see if Mayo did take a lead late in the second half, after the second water break, would Dublin revert back to the Donegal semifinal and panic. I understand the majority of the players are experienced but we all have watched games where the favorites have an off day and for some reason the bounce of the ball does not go your way.

It is hard to know how the game will play out. From two recent interviews from mayo players, they believe they have the skill and physicality to match Dublin. Will it be an open and flowing football game or will it be a scrap? I hope there are no further OG's unless they fly in past Cluxton.

Best of luck to both teams. Hopefully the championship finishes on a high.

Giveitago (Mayo) - Posts: 86 - 10/12/2020 09:07:50    2320956

Replying To realdub:  "Is it possible that Jack was being honest and referring to himself at all?"
Yeh I'd agree. Take it at face value. Jack follows the process. All about the processes. Follow the process.

I honestly think though Jack did the right thing. He seemed to be one of the few Dublin player who has a personality and the rigidness of thebcurrent dublin ethos didnt suit him.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 09:35:12    2320961

Easy to see Jack has Kerry blood, yerra yerra.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 10/12/2020 10:45:54    2320980

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Easy to see Jack has Kerry blood, yerra yerra."
Has Jack got kerry blood?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2020 11:01:59    2320986

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Has Jack got kerry blood?"
He has Monaghan footballing lineage anyway. His grandfather played for them, with his own son and grandson then playing for the Dubs.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2319 - 10/12/2020 11:40:23    2320993

Replying To daytona11:  "Yeh I'd agree. Take it at face value. Jack follows the process. All about the processes. Follow the process.

I honestly think though Jack did the right thing. He seemed to be one of the few Dublin player who has a personality and the rigidness of thebcurrent dublin ethos didnt suit him."
Will you ever give it a rest

From calling Kildare a 3rd World county

To questioning Dublin players and Dublin GAA motives laying a wreath and making quite outlandish comments regarding the setup of the ceremony

To now questioning their personalities.. you don't know these men. Full stop.

You don't have a damn breeze about much man.. so stop trying to come across like you do.

You've already proven that you don't have a clue and then blatantly ignore the chance to do the right thing and retract your BS

Your opinion is completely prejudiced as you've proven by the nonsense you directed at the Dublin panel.. you were fecking miles off regarding the wreath laying ceremony, yet I'm sure you're as daft to think you're equally as "spot on" regarding their personalities.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/12/2020 11:49:16    2320995

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Has Jack got kerry blood?"
Jaysus, but you're desperate for anything you can grab on to to make you feel better Tommy. Pure desperation.
It's a close as you can get to greatnesses.
Ah, sure look , yeel still have the four in a row I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/12/2020 11:59:49    2320999

Replying To realdub:  "Is it possible that Jack was being honest and referring to himself at all?"
Possibly. In fact he is undoubtedly being honest to my mind.
But the timing is strange to be fair. He made a reference to people with vested interests contacting him for things in the discussion, maybe there are a few more around than he realises.

However, as regards his message, maybe he should try to put himself in the position of someone like chris barrett. Puts in those same hours, along with travel back and over the country for his entire football career, taking torrents of abuse in the media and no trophies to show for it.

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 10/12/2020 12:12:41    2321004

Replying To BeJasus:  "You'll see all the Meath fans praying Dublin hammer Mayo so they can continue kidding
themselves promoting themselves a Top 8 team.

Kerry will want a Dublin win, as it also offers a comforting blanket of not having let an easy All Ireland Pass them by...
which is unheard of down there.

Galway fans wouldn't want a Mayo victory as it will develop them further ,and Galway obviously won't want that
as we are local rivals and bitterness has set in especially since Horan changed things in 2010.

Rossies want to be Mayo, enough said.
They hate us.

Guys from the North will definitely want to see Mayo give it a go..

There's a clear agenda towards Dublin atm with various countries blaming everybody and everybody but themselves..

Dublin winning by a grand margin allows other countries continue using Dublin's success to mask their own problems
but most people on here can see right through ye....

so here's to another final from two teams who look after themselves..... and should serve up another modern day physical and tactical battle."
Agree with you there. Its up to other counties to get the finger out. As for the old knockout system, it's lucky the way the Provincial winners played who they did otherwise we would be looking at a joke of a Final. At least with super8s there's plenty of good football and hopefully 2 good semis and Final.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2291 - 10/12/2020 12:19:05    2321005

Replying To jimbodub:  "Will you ever give it a rest

From calling Kildare a 3rd World county

To questioning Dublin players and Dublin GAA motives laying a wreath and making quite outlandish comments regarding the setup of the ceremony

To now questioning their personalities.. you don't know these men. Full stop.

You don't have a damn breeze about much man.. so stop trying to come across like you do.

You've already proven that you don't have a clue and then blatantly ignore the chance to do the right thing and retract your BS

Your opinion is completely prejudiced as you've proven by the nonsense you directed at the Dublin panel.. you were fecking miles off regarding the wreath laying ceremony, yet I'm sure you're as daft to think you're equally as "spot on" regarding their personalities."
You're entitled to that opinion.

Just for context I believe in terms of GAA funding and treatment Kildare are a 3rd world county in comparison to Dublin.

Not that much of a stretch.

You are allowed your opinions which directly make personal remarks about lads but as soon as someone attempts to examine your precious lads then you scream foul. Get over it. It's a discussion forum.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 12:30:00    2321009

Replying To HardCase:  "Possibly. In fact he is undoubtedly being honest to my mind.
But the timing is strange to be fair. He made a reference to people with vested interests contacting him for things in the discussion, maybe there are a few more around than he realises.

However, as regards his message, maybe he should try to put himself in the position of someone like chris barrett. Puts in those same hours, along with travel back and over the country for his entire football career, taking torrents of abuse in the media and no trophies to show for it."
I think Jack has travelled for work postings during his time training as a doctor and I'm sure he's well aware of what Chris Barrett's situation is from playing club with him.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 10/12/2020 12:34:24    2321012

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree with you there. Its up to other counties to get the finger out. As for the old knockout system, it's lucky the way the Provincial winners played who they did otherwise we would be looking at a joke of a Final. At least with super8s there's plenty of good football and hopefully 2 good semis and Final."
I disagree and agree with you- get the finger out certainly but it is a completely uneven playing field at the moment. Dublin getting millions per year to fund their coaching and structures whereas the rest of us get a pittance- is that fair in your eyes?? In mine it certainly is not anyway.

Our counties generate finance for the GAA but a lot of this money generated by us goes to fund a direct competitor in a very unbalanced and unfair way! To me that is completely unfair and it is disrespectful to say other counties need to get the finger out and leave it at that.

All issues need to be addressed, mainly the unfair amount of money Dublin get to fund their operation. How can we compete on a like for like basis with that? It is such a basic argument that I find it incredulous that some people cannot see through it.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 10/12/2020 12:41:48    2321013

Replying To daytona11:  "You're entitled to that opinion.

Just for context I believe in terms of GAA funding and treatment Kildare are a 3rd world county in comparison to Dublin.

Not that much of a stretch.

You are allowed your opinions which directly make personal remarks about lads but as soon as someone attempts to examine your precious lads then you scream foul. Get over it. It's a discussion forum."
Examine away

But you've done nothing but attach baseless assertions that when proven completely wrong you should be man enough to retract and not hide away from it and continue to attach groundless tosh off the back of it.

You've no idea what sort of personalities they have and it's another lazy slur that's been labeled against the Dublin players.

So if you're only interested in labeling the Dublin team in such a poor light then you can expect to have that challenged.

Your opinions have already proven to be highly biased and unsubstantiated nonsense.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/12/2020 13:03:02    2321020

Not questioning the man's honesty Realdub, I just have the feeling that he might have shared in August had the year been a normal one.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 10/12/2020 13:05:15    2321021

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus, but you're desperate for anything you can grab on to to make you feel better Tommy. Pure desperation.
It's a close as you can get to greatnesses.
Ah, sure look , yeel still have the four in a row I suppose."
Africa Gael said Jack had kerry blood and I was asking him had he? Will you at least try and read the posts properly

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2020 13:12:12    2321025

Replying To jimbodub:  "Examine away

But you've done nothing but attach baseless assertions that when proven completely wrong you should be man enough to retract and not hide away from it and continue to attach groundless tosh off the back of it.

You've no idea what sort of personalities they have and it's another lazy slur that's been labeled against the Dublin players.

So if you're only interested in labeling the Dublin team in such a poor light then you can expect to have that challenged.

Your opinions have already proven to be highly biased and unsubstantiated nonsense."
As are your opinions Jim. I'm not in your clique so I suppose I'm fair game for you and yours when the claws come out.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 13:42:04    2321034

What are peoples opinions on the selection of referee for the match?
I happened to watch back the thing about reffing the all ireland final recently where he was mic'd up. I thought at the time that after watching it, he would do well to get another final so I was surprised by the appointment. He just reminded me of a school teacher who was a bit too nice and the kids were running riot.
Then there was the eye-gouging incident that he missed completely. You wonder will mcmahon be in his crosshairs this time around. It isnt ideal

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 10/12/2020 13:58:40    2321040

Replying To HardCase:  "What are peoples opinions on the selection of referee for the match?
I happened to watch back the thing about reffing the all ireland final recently where he was mic'd up. I thought at the time that after watching it, he would do well to get another final so I was surprised by the appointment. He just reminded me of a school teacher who was a bit too nice and the kids were running riot.
Then there was the eye-gouging incident that he missed completely. You wonder will mcmahon be in his crosshairs this time around. It isnt ideal"
Look I'm not sure if there is better in the country at the moment. Perhaps Conor Lane would have been good and he isn't in either province either.

I wouldn't be focusing on him to much either. Good ref.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/12/2020 14:15:40    2321044