All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mayo like ourselves were relegated (now they can't perform as badly as we did) but they haven't got a hope. And I say that as someone who will be praying that they win."
If you are righting off Mayo then I'd back them, you wouldnt be the best at predictions .
Dublin will lose , has to happen some time, they have played nothing so far division 4 team standard..
Mayo are very fit and will bring the fight..
I'll call it now MAYO FOR SAM 2020

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 08/12/2020 18:14:43    2320372

Replying To yew_tree:  "I see some comments saying "Mayo will never have a better chance" to "Mayo haven't a hope"

And that fine, football is all opinions and all logic points to a Dublin win and an easy one at that but you know what sport is funny.

So what if Mayo pundits or whoever are making arguments for Mayo's case...what do ye want them to say? We have no hope, might as well not watch the final....

Fact is we are in another final while in transition and it could be argued it's a free shot at it. Loose and everyone will say ah sure look we all said that would happen but sport throws up the unexpected every now and then."
You'll see all the Meath fans praying Dublin hammer Mayo so they can continue kidding
themselves promoting themselves a Top 8 team.

Kerry will want a Dublin win, as it also offers a comforting blanket of not having let an easy All Ireland Pass them by...
which is unheard of down there.

Galway fans wouldn't want a Mayo victory as it will develop them further ,and Galway obviously won't want that
as we are local rivals and bitterness has set in especially since Horan changed things in 2010.

Rossies want to be Mayo, enough said.
They hate us.

Guys from the North will definitely want to see Mayo give it a go..

There's a clear agenda towards Dublin atm with various countries blaming everybody and everybody but themselves..

Dublin winning by a grand margin allows other countries continue using Dublin's success to mask their own problems
but most people on here can see right through ye....

so here's to another final from two teams who look after themselves..... and should serve up another modern day physical and tactical battle.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 08/12/2020 18:40:01    2320379

Replying To BeJasus:  "You'll see all the Meath fans praying Dublin hammer Mayo so they can continue kidding

Kerry will want a Dublin win, as it also offers a comforting blanket of not having let an easy All Ireland Pass them by...

Galway fans wouldn't want a Mayo victory as it will develop them further ,and Galway obviously won't want that
as we are local rivals and bitterness has set in especially since Horan changed things in 2010.

They hate us.

There's a clear agenda towards Dublin atm with various countries blaming everybody and everybody but themselves..

Dublin winning by a grand margin allows other countries continue using Dublin's success to mask their own problems

so here's to another final from two teams who look after themselves..... and should serve up another modern day physical and tactical battle."
Love it

Nailed it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/12/2020 19:11:23    2320390

Replying To BeJasus:  "You'll see all the Meath fans praying Dublin hammer Mayo so they can continue kidding

They hate us.

so here's to another final from two teams who look after themselves..... and should serve up another modern day physical and tactical battle."
You're way off the mark if you think Connacht counties favour Dublin over Mayo! Most Galway people would be delighted to see Mayo win an All Ireland and I'm sure the same is true of Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 08/12/2020 19:36:42    2320412

They hate us.

Meath aren't a top 8 team and I want Mayo to win, so you're wrong on both there counts chief, but don't let that get in the way of a self-absorbed rant.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/12/2020 19:54:05    2320423

Replying To TheUsername:  "A lot even in the media are pessimistic, I was listening to OTB before hitting the gym and even I was depressed listening to them.

But to long in the tooth not to take Mayo very seriously, you ain't seen hunger until you see Mayo in a final hunger. Mayo won't be beat before a ball is kicked, they will have no fear of Dublin.

No point saying we're not a great team, we are, we will be going out to win. I've said it all year it's very hard to win an All Ireland as a manager year 1 as a manager. We have players well capable as we know. But the sideline and decisions are critical on the day and Dessie hasn't been in this position at Senior before. Horgan has more then once.

Last year, Mayo won the first half of the semi, after dogging it week in, week out for about two months and a list of injuries as big as your arm.

Trust me there isn't a team the Dubs respect and revere more then Mayo, it's the biggest rivalry in football of the last ten years."
Oh I agree with that. I seen first hand what mayo bring in a final twice when they were underdogs. But times have changed since then.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/12/2020 19:55:41    2320424

Replying To superbluedub:  "How did Kerry lose to Cork ? Anything can happen its all on the day."
Against all the other teams I'd agree with you. Against Dublin no.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/12/2020 19:57:21    2320426

Replying To Htaem:  "Meath aren't a top 8 team and I want Mayo to win, so you're wrong on both there counts chief, but don't let that get in the way of a self-absorbed rant."
I'd argue Htaem that both Meath and Kildare aren't far off the top 8 or 10 give the way things have gone this year. We bet Mayo in 2018 in championship and you guys bet us this year.

Doesn't matter. As ive said the media and some deluded posters in here will tell us this game will be close and its all to play for etc when in fact the outcome is a forgone conclusion.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 08/12/2020 20:27:32    2320443

Dublin may not get goal chances against Mayo like Tipp did as Dublin play a slower build up and move the ball horizontally which allows the opposition to get back and get their defence in place.Tipp ran straight at the Mayo defense and they didn't have the numbers back.I'm hoping Mayo make a game of it,we could do with a competitive game of football.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 08/12/2020 20:33:56    2320444

Toying with the idea of putting a bet on mayo-9/2. The year is been you would never know. Plus if the dubs were smart they would want to lose this game then they can say there is no issue etc. Then go on and win the next 5 AI after that lol

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 280 - 08/12/2020 20:50:09    2320454

Replying To daytona11:  "I'd argue Htaem that both Meath and Kildare aren't far off the top 8 or 10 give the way things have gone this year. We bet Mayo in 2018 in championship and you guys bet us this year.

Doesn't matter. As ive said the media and some deluded posters in here will tell us this game will be close and its all to play for etc when in fact the outcome is a forgone conclusion."
That is your agenda to say Mayo have no hope but the reality Mayo have matched Dublin in previous All-Irelands, having
draws and losing narrowly. Mayo have been most unfortunate not to have won an All-Ireland in recent years.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 602 - 08/12/2020 20:54:28    2320458

Replying To daytona11:  "I'd argue Htaem that both Meath and Kildare aren't far off the top 8 or 10 give the way things have gone this year. We bet Mayo in 2018 in championship and you guys bet us this year.

Doesn't matter. As ive said the media and some deluded posters in here will tell us this game will be close and its all to play for etc when in fact the outcome is a forgone conclusion."
Hope your right :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 08/12/2020 20:58:15    2320461

Replying To catch22:  "Well Mick , the crowd thing is a funny one. It seems your damned if you have them and your damned if you don't.
I think Horan stated that he saw the lack of fans on the day as an advantage. Personally, I reckon the build up also has not been as intense and the players don't have the hassle of those looking for tickets to cope with.
Dublin haven't had to play near their best to get to a final so I'd count that as a disadvantage and they certainly have not been tested.
Mayo have some new faces also to freshen things up and Horan seems to be able to get the best out of the players along with the fact that mayo have players who are very well conditioned and can last the full 75 odd minutes.
If they don't concede goals , which is very possible, I think they have a great chance."
Yes Catch agree on the crowd thing. It's weird. I said to a friend at start of year no crowds is a negative for Dublin but Mayo the one other team than thrive off their supporters. I suppose though with no crowd I would give advantage Mayo but I'm not convinced this Mayo have the same vigour as previous teams.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3904 - 08/12/2020 21:07:16    2320464

I honestly don't even want to get into the top 8 debate, it has no relevance to the thread.

As for the All-Ireland final, I sincerely hope it is a good game and that Mayo win to give us all a bit of hope but I do fear the worst.

Worst of all though will be the patronising if Mayo 'only' lose by X amount as opposed to XX amount, they need to win this game and more power to them if they do!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/12/2020 21:19:42    2320469

They hate us.

In your opinion...

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 08/12/2020 21:42:24    2320477

Replying To fainleog:  "That is your agenda to say Mayo have no hope but the reality Mayo have matched Dublin in previous All-Irelands, having
draws and losing narrowly. Mayo have been most unfortunate not to have won an All-Ireland in recent years."
They haven't been unlucky. Donie Vaughan cost them an All-Ireland for sure but you woildn't say they were the better tean in any of the finals.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 08/12/2020 21:48:06    2320481

Replying To daytona11:  "They haven't been unlucky. Donie Vaughan cost them an All-Ireland for sure but you woildn't say they were the better tean in any of the finals."
2016 drawn game they were very unlucky and they were the better team. Dublin only scored 6 points from play.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 09/12/2020 00:02:23    2320516

Mayo have been on our backs for the best part of the last decade. They should have won at least one of those finals. They're a great team and if they do the business I will be very happy for them. Probably not the greatest year to do it in but the records won't discriminate.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 09/12/2020 01:01:53    2320522

They hate us.

Absolutely nailed it in one!

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 09/12/2020 08:55:40    2320546

Replying To Dec82:  "2016 drawn game they were very unlucky and they were the better team. Dublin only scored 6 points from play."
That's the 1 that truly got away. They'd 100% have scored from that free had Bastick been called for picking the ball clean off the deck.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 09/12/2020 09:39:18    2320552