All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Bizarre interview with David Hickey in the Examiner. Bitter old man syndrome."
Yes he was better off not giving that interview.It offers nothing.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2532 - 19/12/2020 12:03:22    2323692

In my mind I Can't see anything other than a easy Dublin win.
However it's 2020. The year no one ever imagined .
The unbelievable has happened in the world and particularly in ire , churches and pubs shut for months on end, not allowed to see friends neighbours relatives, not allowed to travel a couple of miles. And above all not allowed to go to a match. Unreal, our grand children and great great grandchildren will read about this in history books, we are living through it. I guess what I'm saying is that mayo could win. Like all other counties supporters apart from dubs (and probably a few of them too so the won't be split in 2/4) I will be shouting for a mayo win and put a end to what must be the unluckiest streak in gaa football history (Jimmy white of gaa). I really would love to see them win it, however I suppose like death and taxes this dub team might prevail. Good luck to them won't begrudge them one bit. But it'd be brilliant if mayo did the impossible and won.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/12/2020 12:10:13    2323696

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Bizarre interview with David Hickey in the Examiner. Bitter old man syndrome."
Hickey is just trying to ruffle feathers the way Eddie Jones does except he's no Eddie Jones. He wants his rant to be put up on the dressing room wall... seriously, David Delusional!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/12/2020 12:19:04    2323698

I seen it, he reckons kerry Cork and tipp should join up, that's half of munster, I think what he's really looking for is the old railway Cup..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/12/2020 12:24:18    2323699

I'd imagine David Hickey probably knows more about what has gone on behind the scenes with Dublin than a lot of people.
He's probably sick to the back teeth listening to all the begrudgery and slight that is spoken about Dublins achievements when he knows how hard the guys in that panel have had to work for their achievements.
If David Hickey is bitter then he's got plenty of company on platforms like this one.
Hickey has done a lot of good for a lot of people so there's certainly a lot more to him than what you can learn from a newspaper interview.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/12/2020 12:24:42    2323700

McAuley named in 26.First time this year?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2894 - 19/12/2020 12:26:14    2323702

Very contradictory with some of what he said alright and some pretty unnecessary digs.

If it came with an "Old Man Yells at Cloud" style headline you would probably understand where the article and comments were coming from.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 19/12/2020 12:27:06    2323704

Thank god the day is here, so much talk and over thinking about this game, its great to have had it to look forward too but nothing more can be said about it..
Mayo will change defensive setup or revert to what they had against Roscommon, K Mcloughlin and D. O Connor playing kind of sweeper roles.
Dont see how Mayo can keep Con and Fenton quiet, and keep them quiet while not leaving space for one of the others to cause damage.
Mayo will need good ball into O Shea to cause trouble, Cillian is going well think he will get a goal today..Tommy Conroy hopefully will go well great talent.
Im afraid for mayo kickouts, cant see how they will sort that out.
Mayo to win by 2 and K Mcloughlin man of the match

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/12/2020 12:55:18    2323715

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I'd imagine David Hickey probably knows more about what has gone on behind the scenes with Dublin than a lot of people.
He's probably sick to the back teeth listening to all the begrudgery and slight that is spoken about Dublins achievements when he knows how hard the guys in that panel have had to work for their achievements.
If David Hickey is bitter then he's got plenty of company on platforms like this one.
Hickey has done a lot of good for a lot of people so there's certainly a lot more to him than what you can learn from a newspaper interview."
Well he did no favours for himself with that interview..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/12/2020 12:58:49    2323719

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I'd imagine David Hickey probably knows more about what has gone on behind the scenes with Dublin than a lot of people.
Hickey has done a lot of good for a lot of people so there's certainly a lot more to him than what you can learn from a newspaper interview."
That's quite the biased outlook you have there. Reasonable people have looked for the championship to be restructured and Dublin to be taken out of Leinster and also funding to be looked at properly on a 32 county basis. This Dublin team is recognised as the greatest panel of all time by everyone. David Hickey made a show of himself. If you are defending what he said you might want to have a lie down.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 19/12/2020 13:15:12    2323723

Replying To tommy132:  "Well he did no favours for himself with that interview.."
Sure if Mayo win they can say it was all down to David Hickey so.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/12/2020 13:24:04    2323725

No one doubts that the Dubs players haven't worked very hard to arrive at the level they're at Dubh-linn. They'd have had to work a bit harder mind you if half the panel was in Westport and/or like Jack Mc, they had to make a living from a demanding job and not just promotional appearances. These advantages come with representing a quarter of the country's population and if Mayo had them we'd exploit them exactly the same (1841 population of Mayo was actually bigger than Dublin's but the national development plan, or the Mayo by-pass as it should be called, will ensure no likely future repeat!). I'm no begrudger, but a lot of things have been done for Dublin (money) and by Dublin (the hard work and organisation) which have enabled ye to be where ye are now. Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan and more recently Galway have each gone about our own business to keep up using what we have, we just don't have as much and the competition is in the ICU. Us winning today will just show it isn't completely dead, but the pulse is weak and the blood pressure is dropping like a stone.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/12/2020 13:28:11    2323727

Easy win on the cards for Dublin. No doubt they will see how Tipp opened up Mayo for goal chances and try to exploit the weaknesses of Barrett and Keegan in particular in full back line, never mind getting their half back line turned. Rock and Kilkenny to shoot the lights out.
Dublin 2-23
Mayo 0-15

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/12/2020 13:43:51    2323731

Best of luck to both sides later on today. Looking forward to an entertaining game, whatever the result.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 19/12/2020 13:49:30    2323733

That interview was THE Biggest Brain Fart this year.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 19/12/2020 13:55:27    2323735

When a man limits his respect to his own county exclusively and then takes a shot at every other part of the country in a condescending manner like that then what do you expect from the rest of the country? Praise?

If he is sick to his back teeth of the criticism, his article isn't exactly the way to handle it. My advice would be to revel in the criticism. All teams at the top face it. After the way he spoke its hard to take the praise he lords onto the Dublin players with much merit either. They do in general seem like a decent bunch of lads but like all great sides they are no angels on the field of play. I dont think he's done his county much of a service with that article.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2589 - 19/12/2020 14:31:25    2323743

Replying To TheFlaker:  "That's quite the biased outlook you have there. Reasonable people have looked for the championship to be restructured and Dublin to be taken out of Leinster and also funding to be looked at properly on a 32 county basis. This Dublin team is recognised as the greatest panel of all time by everyone. David Hickey made a show of himself. If you are defending what he said you might want to have a lie down."
My opinion is no more biased than yours.
I've already stated that the championship is in need of restructuring so not sure what you are referring to there.
Maybe you'd prefer David Hickey said all the nice thing we hear in most interviews so everyone could be happy.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/12/2020 14:35:55    2323744

David Hickey has done alot of good in his life and has had alot of personal tragedy. However he has been bitter since his playing days. I remember years back he was giving out about everything and anything. He looks at the gaa world through blue tinted glasses and can be very offensive to everyone else. I know he s had a hard time but I would nt be his biggest fan for a long time.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4021 - 19/12/2020 14:40:10    2323745

Replying To Pericles:  "No one doubts that the Dubs players haven't worked very hard to arrive at the level they're at Dubh-linn. They'd have had to work a bit harder mind you if half the panel was in Westport and/or like Jack Mc, they had to make a living from a demanding job and not just promotional appearances. These advantages come with representing a quarter of the country's population and if Mayo had them we'd exploit them exactly the same (1841 population of Mayo was actually bigger than Dublin's but the national development plan, or the Mayo by-pass as it should be called, will ensure no likely future repeat!). I'm no begrudger, but a lot of things have been done for Dublin (money) and by Dublin (the hard work and organisation) which have enabled ye to be where ye are now. Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan and more recently Galway have each gone about our own business to keep up using what we have, we just don't have as much and the competition is in the ICU. Us winning today will just show it isn't completely dead, but the pulse is weak and the blood pressure is dropping like a stone."
The competition is in ICU because of the nature of the competition and the way it's structured. Dublin cannot change that. If a lot was done for Dublin, a lot needed to be done as it was at a very low ebb for many years.
Plenty of the panel work hard at what they do outside of GAA so you can suggest otherwise all you like but that's just not accurate Other counties have similar advantages as regard population and work locations and that's the nature of cities and larger population centres.
Enjoy the game and good luck to ye if ye win. This Dublin team don't expect anything to be handed to them and will earn their win if it happens like all the others.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 19/12/2020 14:54:24    2323748

Replying To Pericles:  "No one doubts that the Dubs players haven't worked very hard to arrive at the level they're at Dubh-linn. They'd have had to work a bit harder mind you if half the panel was in Westport and/or like Jack Mc, they had to make a living from a demanding job and not just promotional appearances. These advantages come with representing a quarter of the country's population and if Mayo had them we'd exploit them exactly the same (1841 population of Mayo was actually bigger than Dublin's but the national development plan, or the Mayo by-pass as it should be called, will ensure no likely future repeat!). I'm no begrudger, but a lot of things have been done for Dublin (money) and by Dublin (the hard work and organisation) which have enabled ye to be where ye are now. Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan and more recently Galway have each gone about our own business to keep up using what we have, we just don't have as much and the competition is in the ICU. Us winning today will just show it isn't completely dead, but the pulse is weak and the blood pressure is dropping like a stone."
Pericles, do you not regard teaching as a demanding job?? Some of the Mayo players are teachers as are 3 -4 Dublin players.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2010 - 19/12/2020 14:56:48    2323751