All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To realdub:  "Did he not score the goal in the '89 final? :D"
Anthony Finnerty did indeed score a goal in 89 final for Mayo but his son is playing with Galway u 20s in the u 20 final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3955 - 15/12/2020 23:08:52    2322779

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ah listen, in the year thats in it

It's all just a bit of entertainment at this stage

I think applying the normal parameters just doesn't apply, I said as much before a ball was kicked. Seeing the hyperbole reaction to Dublin beating teams (they should be beating) has been very odd if I'm honest, I know there's plenty of stuff thrown at Dublin but the over reaction of even seasoned former players to Dublin winning games they should be winning, all day everyday. . Its all a bit silly.

The players across the board deserve great credit for the entertainment they've offered up, but there is a sense of an anti-climax to both Championships.

It just highlights the very odd circumstances and burst the bubble a bit, it's just not a normal set of circumstances, so let's stop pretending that it is.

But it's all just a bit of a spectacle and there has been some odd results, I think if it was a Dublin v Kerry final there might be more of an edge but not much.

I've no desire to have a dig at Mayo. I don't agree with the narrative that Mayo don't stand a chance. I think they could do well. If that's good enough, fair play.

For me personally, seeing Ballymun winning the Dublin Championship, while also playing great stuff in the final.. was very rewarding and I can say without reservation that if Dublin do go onto win the All Ireland, it'll be the Ballymun victory that'll be the more significant.

I'm a satisfied bunny and I'll salute Mayo if they win, dust off the disappointment within an hour and look forward to hopefully having a full fat championship in 2021 with Dublin looking to get back on top.

If Dublin win, I'll applaud their application and steely desire given the difficult circumstances, but it'll not mean as much as previous titles. It just won't.

I won't pretend that it will. It's just not the norm at all and best not to pretend that it is."
Have the recently highlighted financial revelations contributed in any way to you general malaise towards Dublin Senior Footballers?

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 16/12/2020 09:35:32    2322805

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Anthony Finnerty did indeed score a goal in 89 final for Mayo but his son is playing with Galway u 20s in the u 20 final."
Finnerty Jr is too old for this year's U20 final, but he did play in 2017 U21 final.
The best of luck to our lads in this one.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2351 - 16/12/2020 09:58:31    2322809

Replying To realdub:  "Its not just that, thanks to the covid restrictions it just doesn't have that same appeal."
It's got nothing to do with Covid restrictions realdub, we all know what's coming and that's why things are so quite.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/12/2020 10:15:15    2322816

Replying To aidan64:  "Dublin to win by 13-15 points is 9/1 with Paddy Power. Good bet"
That's why Paddy is a billionaire and you're not!

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/12/2020 10:21:40    2322818

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's got nothing to do with Covid restrictions realdub, we all know what's coming and that's why things are so quite."
Oh it totally has, for me.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8766 - 16/12/2020 11:46:36    2322832

I think it will be Dublin, but will be hoping Mayo make the breakthrough, after 69 years.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 16/12/2020 11:53:44    2322836

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jay's jimbo I nearly feel sorry for ye :-)

Maybe you should write cluxtins speech."
Yah, a decent contest as usual.
You must be a millionaire with all you know about what's coming.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/12/2020 12:05:44    2322839

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Anthony Finnerty did indeed score a goal in 89 final for Mayo but his son is playing with Galway u 20s in the u 20 final."
Just picking up your point in relation to Mayo's inconsistency/unpredictability. It's undeniable that Mayo have been consistent for a decade in terms of getting to the last 4, but the journeys over the last 5 years or so have been an annual adventure. A lot of this is down to the geographically split panel and the fact that building towards a peak for the latter stages was prioritised given the logistical challenges. Before that Mayo were winning Connacht titles but finding the competition provided by Galway and Roscommon had them going past peak for finals and semi-finals. The change to build more slowly left the team was more vulnerable at the beginning of the championship and the first rounds of the back door. If the panel was located in one place and ate, slept and walked football all day everyday then a lot of the backdoor campaigns wouldn't have happened, as well as the close calls, defeat by Kildare etc. This year has been different, the question is will it end differently?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/12/2020 12:27:41    2322840

Replying To Pericles:  "Just picking up your point in relation to Mayo's inconsistency/unpredictability. It's undeniable that Mayo have been consistent for a decade in terms of getting to the last 4, but the journeys over the last 5 years or so have been an annual adventure. A lot of this is down to the geographically split panel and the fact that building towards a peak for the latter stages was prioritised given the logistical challenges. Before that Mayo were winning Connacht titles but finding the competition provided by Galway and Roscommon had them going past peak for finals and semi-finals. The change to build more slowly left the team was more vulnerable at the beginning of the championship and the first rounds of the back door. If the panel was located in one place and ate, slept and walked football all day everyday then a lot of the backdoor campaigns wouldn't have happened, as well as the close calls, defeat by Kildare etc. This year has been different, the question is will it end differently?"
Not a hope- ye will be beaten comprehensively but then again that is no shame when it is an amateur team (as the rest of us all are) against professionals in all but name. I have made the comparison before it is like Man City playing Leyton Orient or some such team- completely unfair and unbalanced competition.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/12/2020 12:44:32    2322842

Replying To tonguey:  "Not a hope- ye will be beaten comprehensively but then again that is no shame when it is an amateur team (as the rest of us all are) against professionals in all but name. I have made the comparison before it is like Man City playing Leyton Orient or some such team- completely unfair and unbalanced competition."
Yawn.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 16/12/2020 13:07:17    2322847

Finding it hard to predict this one, One minute I am of the opinion Dublin are a mile ahead of everyone and will win this easy by 10 points or more. I don't think Mayo are at the level they were when they ran Dublin close over the years. On the other hand I know Mayo wont fear Dublin like 90% of other counties do and with Dublin missing the roar of the hill, A new manager and having not been tested Mayo could give them a run of it.
If i was to pick one i think its the first sadly and they will be well beaten. I genuinely hope i am wrong and for the first time ever i hope Mayo win it. Never taught i would say that but they do deserve one at this stage.
Best of luck to both Counties and their fans, I hope its a good game.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1209 - 16/12/2020 13:11:32    2322850

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Finnerty Jr is too old for this year's U20 final, but he did play in 2017 U21 final.
The best of luck to our lads in this one."
Oh sorry I did nt know.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3955 - 16/12/2020 13:11:41    2322851

Replying To realdub:  "Oh it totally has, for me."
Though I'd say not for the rest of us.

did you read Roy Custis article where he likend Mayos task of playing dublin as to that of the allied forces facing the Germans with their murderous efficiency in WW1?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/12/2020 13:18:33    2322852

Replying To Pericles:  "Just picking up your point in relation to Mayo's inconsistency/unpredictability. It's undeniable that Mayo have been consistent for a decade in terms of getting to the last 4, but the journeys over the last 5 years or so have been an annual adventure. A lot of this is down to the geographically split panel and the fact that building towards a peak for the latter stages was prioritised given the logistical challenges. Before that Mayo were winning Connacht titles but finding the competition provided by Galway and Roscommon had them going past peak for finals and semi-finals. The change to build more slowly left the team was more vulnerable at the beginning of the championship and the first rounds of the back door. If the panel was located in one place and ate, slept and walked football all day everyday then a lot of the backdoor campaigns wouldn't have happened, as well as the close calls, defeat by Kildare etc. This year has been different, the question is will it end differently?"
Oh I can see your point Pericles. I'm not putting Mayo down at all. As a matter of fact I have great time for this Mayo team for their heart courage and stubbornness. I was just pointing out what I see as an inconsistency with them. However yes you could be right about trying to peak at the right time. Also of course the qualifiers can be a hard trail. We in Kerry know only too well struggling through back door on a few occasions before bursting into life at the right time. I'm sorry if you think I was belittling Mayo cos I certainly was not. I have too much respect for them for that.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3955 - 16/12/2020 13:24:32    2322853

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Finding it hard to predict this one, One minute I am of the opinion Dublin are a mile ahead of everyone and will win this easy by 10 points or more. I don't think Mayo are at the level they were when they ran Dublin close over the years. On the other hand I know Mayo wont fear Dublin like 90% of other counties do and with Dublin missing the roar of the hill, A new manager and having not been tested Mayo could give them a run of it.
If i was to pick one i think its the first sadly and they will be well beaten. I genuinely hope i am wrong and for the first time ever i hope Mayo win it. Never taught i would say that but they do deserve one at this stage.
Best of luck to both Counties and their fans, I hope its a good game."
Only game Mayo got tested in was Galway- strolled past Leitrim, Ros and Tipp

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/12/2020 13:39:21    2322858

Replying To Joxer:  "Yawn."
Up early this morning were you?? Prob makes a change

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/12/2020 13:41:50    2322859

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Though I'd say not for the rest of us.

did you read Roy Custis article where he likend Mayos task of playing dublin as to that of the allied forces facing the Germans with their murderous efficiency in WW1?"
Oh now anyone who would even consider reading Roy Curtis needs to get out for a while. Totally biased as usual I would say

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/12/2020 13:49:12    2322862

Replying To tonguey:  "Only game Mayo got tested in was Galway- strolled past Leitrim, Ros and Tipp"
I am well aware of that. I did mention I don't think Mayo are at the same level they were in previous years.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1209 - 16/12/2020 14:00:11    2322865

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Finding it hard to predict this one, One minute I am of the opinion Dublin are a mile ahead of everyone and will win this easy by 10 points or more. I don't think Mayo are at the level they were when they ran Dublin close over the years. On the other hand I know Mayo wont fear Dublin like 90% of other counties do and with Dublin missing the roar of the hill, A new manager and having not been tested Mayo could give them a run of it.
Best of luck to both Counties and their fans, I hope its a good game."
You are wrong. This will not be a stroll for theDubs.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/12/2020 14:08:25    2322867