Ahh not at all Aidan. That's not going to happen. Now if they were offering 20/1 I might look at it but not 9s.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1994 - 15/12/2020 13:56:26 2322619 Link 1 |
Dublin by 8+ I would think. hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 15/12/2020 14:45:21 2322641 Link 0 |
Looking forward to seeing this Finnerty lad myself. We will all be surprised if he plays well or if he has a stinker. But can't wait to see him.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8410 - 15/12/2020 15:14:48 2322649 Link 4 |
We'll let you have the Hill No need for a take over Merry Christma5 Up The Du6s ;) jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/12/2020 15:16:57 2322651 Link 2 |
Aidan I think those bets are crazy. If it was more than 13 points fair enough but to get it between 13 and 15 is a lottery. Dubs to win but less than 8 points is my guess.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3951 - 15/12/2020 15:31:55 2322655 Link 0 |
Conroy. Confused myself there hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 15/12/2020 16:19:56 2322670 Link 0 |
No Connolly, no McCaffrey, no hill and maybe most importantly no Gavin. Dublin are the favourites and rightly so but from 2015 Mayo have been toe to toe with them in finals. I don't think this Mayo team would have had the stamina to get through a normal championship season including a super 8 campaign and had enough left to put in the type of performance required to beat Dublin. sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 15/12/2020 16:40:42 2322674 Link 2 |
I know it's strange times but even allowing for that I have never seen such a civilized built up to a final. The Dubs are trying to build up Mayo a little bit saying if we play at our absolute best and the Dubs have an absolute off day we might run them to ten or twelve points. Mayo lads are saying if everything goes our way, such as the Dubs getting a couple of players sent off and we get all of the fifty, fifty decisions we might get to within seven or eight points of them. Maybe! The neutrals, those who can work up any enthusiasm, are hoping we'll get a score or two to at least keep it respectable but they wouldn't bet on it. Even the Dublin media can't even work up the enthusiasm to try and get into the refs ear. I remember a time, it seems a long time ago, when Mayo and Dub supporters were trading insults on here. As Marty might say you could cut the tension with a knife. Now even Jimbo is praising us. Well kind of! If Mayo were any other county bar maybe Kerry it would be the exact same. How has it come to this'll! Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 15/12/2020 17:09:35 2322677 Link 3 |
Do you want a link to minor game?
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1994 - 15/12/2020 18:45:16 2322695 Link 0 |
I think when it comes down to it after this God awful year we are all so glad there's football to watch, and I'm hoping anyway it's a close game and Mayo can finally get over the line, nothing against Dublin but in this crazy year I think it's finally Mayo's time, typical for them when all the fans who have followed them all the years won't be there, if Mayo do win it I don't know how the Mayo people will be able to hold the head and not go stone mad down there. I think Dublin without Gavin and Connolly and McCaffrey too are a different proposition to the 5 in a row team, this feels like a new Dublin team to me, it's a new manger anyway trying to land his first All ireland, if Mayo are with them at the finish those factors may come into play and Mayo might finally get the better of them, Mayo by 1-3 points 15/2 PP. looks good to me. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3218 - 15/12/2020 19:25:18 2322711 Link 0 |
Did he not score the goal in the '89 final? :D
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8766 - 15/12/2020 19:37:27 2322717 Link 1 |
Tis a ridiculous bet for sure. Not a hope in hell of it happening. catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/12/2020 19:54:22 2322723 Link 1 |
Dubs would need at least 5 goals to bring that bet in!
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 15/12/2020 20:43:23 2322735 Link 1 |
Dubs would need at least 5 goals to bring that bet in!
ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 15/12/2020 20:43:37 2322736 Link 0 |
I'd say Keegan will go on Kilkenny and put him into his pocket as usual. I'd stick Mullin on o Callaghan and see what happens. He certainly has the pace for him. Im hoping Dublin start with McMahon on O Shea and Cooper on Cillian O Connor, with McCarthy as centreback/sweeper. Mayo are in business if that happens. If Mayo out Coen out to just follow fenton and forget about playing ball (similar to Jack Barry). Add all them into the mix and you have all Dublins main men tied up. Then it's a straight fight between the newer players and it could go either way tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1414 - 15/12/2020 21:12:21 2322743 Link 1 |
Strange year that it is , Limerick still won the Hurling and were the best team all year so if we're good enough we'll win on Saturday,simple as that. Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 15/12/2020 21:23:48 2322753 Link 0 |
Thanks Avonali. Got it and enjoyed.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3951 - 15/12/2020 21:31:06 2322757 Link 0 |
Ah listen, in the year thats in it It's all just a bit of entertainment at this stage I think applying the normal parameters just doesn't apply, I said as much before a ball was kicked. Seeing the hyperbole reaction to Dublin beating teams (they should be beating) has been very odd if I'm honest, I know there's plenty of stuff thrown at Dublin but the over reaction of even seasoned former players to Dublin winning games they should be winning, all day everyday. . Its all a bit silly. The players across the board deserve great credit for the entertainment they've offered up, but there is a sense of an anti-climax to both Championships. It just highlights the very odd circumstances and burst the bubble a bit, it's just not a normal set of circumstances, so let's stop pretending that it is. But it's all just a bit of a spectacle and there has been some odd results, I think if it was a Dublin v Kerry final there might be more of an edge but not much. I've no desire to have a dig at Mayo. I don't agree with the narrative that Mayo don't stand a chance. I think they could do well. If that's good enough, fair play. For me personally, seeing Ballymun winning the Dublin Championship, while also playing great stuff in the final.. was very rewarding and I can say without reservation that if Dublin do go onto win the All Ireland, it'll be the Ballymun victory that'll be the more significant. I'm a satisfied bunny and I'll salute Mayo if they win, dust off the disappointment within an hour and look forward to hopefully having a full fat championship in 2021 with Dublin looking to get back on top. If Dublin win, I'll applaud their application and steely desire given the difficult circumstances, but it'll not mean as much as previous titles. It just won't. I won't pretend that it will. It's just not the norm at all and best not to pretend that it is. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/12/2020 21:51:05 2322761 Link 5 |
Its not just that, thanks to the covid restrictions it just doesn't have that same appeal.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8766 - 15/12/2020 22:25:39 2322771 Link 0 |
Jay's jimbo I nearly feel sorry for ye :-) Maybe you should write cluxtins speech. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/12/2020 22:47:18 2322777 Link 1 |