Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020

Replying To skillet:  "Pat, in 2018 we played 7 games.
4 in Munster, lost 1, drew 1 won 2.
After that we beat Carlow, Cork and Galway. So we won 5 games from 7. Still very impressive but if you're going to go on the attack get your facts right first.

And to be honest, no where in the kilkenny posters comment was there any begrudgery. He was right.
We've a fantastic team at the moment.. Brought great joy to a lot of success starved Supporters but this whole thing about Limerick dominating hurling is a bit daft at the moment."
Can't believe I forgot about Kilkenny in the Q/Fs!!!!
So much for my " get your facts right"
So we won 6 out of 8 matches instead..Still pretty good going.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 01/12/2020 15:54:36    2317353

Replying To fainleog:  "Many people like yourself are now backing Waterford to win, even the top pundits like Brendan Cummins are going for a
Waterford win. Early in the championship people were saying it was going to be Limericks All-Ireland but that sentiment
has changed, after their performance against Waterford and Galway. I think that will take the pressure off Limerick.
If Limerick are to win they will need to select their best team. At least they now know they will have to be totally focussed
after their recent narrow wins."
I just think Karma will prevail over arrogance!!
LK are under the impression with their biggest threat Galway gone along with KK,Tipp,CK and the fact that they beat WD in Munster Final that they will win,
Waterford have been the team of the year and most consistent and they will have too much inner belief and will to win, there is no way Waterford are going to miss this opportunity....too much pain, hurt,

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 01/12/2020 16:12:17    2317357

Replying To katser:  "Just hope the Waterford lads watch their "Backs"
Only one winner here, Waterford all the way."
Not half begrudging.....

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 01/12/2020 16:28:07    2317363

Replying To skillet:  "Pat, in 2018 we played 7 games.
4 in Munster, lost 1, drew 1 won 2.
After that we beat Carlow, Cork and Galway. So we won 5 games from 7. Still very impressive but if you're going to go on the attack get your facts right first.

And to be honest, no where in the kilkenny posters comment was there any begrudgery. He was right.
We've a fantastic team at the moment.. Brought great joy to a lot of success starved Supporters but this whole thing about Limerick dominating hurling is a bit daft at the moment."
I stand corrected Skillet we played 7 games as opposed to winning 9 in 2018. Had my stats wrong and I apologize for that. Point was we had to work a lot harder than KK.

I am also possibly wrong wrong on citing Mr Heftyfickonem begrudgery on this thread.

Apologies end there as same poster has been streaming endless pomposity and vitriol on the Limerick page ( hands up , it influenced my reaction here) for the past few years, as with the emperor who does want to give up the throne. Comical that he agrees with Limerick success on here " only because it annoys Tipp. Why does try to hide his sour grapes behind the pretext of Tipp .

Moving on .. really glad Aaron is back and looking forward to a wonderful 2 week buildup to All-Ireland for Limerick .
Proud of our great squad and the magnificent management team that has molded them into the force that they are.

Come On Ye Boys In Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1359 - 01/12/2020 16:35:31    2317368

Replying To katser:  "I just think Karma will prevail over arrogance!!
LK are under the impression with their biggest threat Galway gone along with KK,Tipp,CK and the fact that they beat WD in Munster Final that they will win,
Waterford have been the team of the year and most consistent and they will have too much inner belief and will to win, there is no way Waterford are going to miss this opportunity....too much pain, hurt,"
'Waterford team of the year' Really- the Munster League, Munster and National League Titles all rest in Limerick and they have qualified for the Final Final. First to admit Waterford are a fine and if they turn the tables on us we will be the first o congratulate them, but to ay they are the team of the year so far is plain idiotic.
BTW, the only arrogant person on these threads is the man who cant take his beating- whoever he might be ???.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4333 - 01/12/2020 16:40:17    2317369

Waterford have been the team of the year and most consistent and they will have too much inner belief and will to win, there is no way Waterford are going to miss this opportunity....too much pain, hurt,"
galway were never our biggest threat kathy.....we met ye 4 times since 2018 and beat in each of those matches.....once on yer own bk yard ,once in the gaelic grounds, and twice in croke park....how many more chances do ye want to beat us.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1099 - 01/12/2020 16:59:06    2317379

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "While I like reading statements like this as it annoys Tipp people, some of the stuff written about Limerick is dubious at best. Limerick lost 3 championship matches last year, failed to even reach the final. What other team would be given such a benefit of the doubt based on a single previous all ireland win?"
Why would it annoy Tipp People. We have beaten Tipp by at least six points in three of the last four championship matches we played them in and five times in the last eight years. However overall it is the Media and people who are generally not from Limerick who go on 'about how good are'. Every time Shefflin, Daly and Cusack get their pusses on TV they are on about 'how good Limerick are' and then go on about strategies on how 'to stop' them. When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'.
You make a big issue of the three Championship matches Limerick lost last year. Lets unpack that. Cork beat us last May. For some reason Cork have beaten Limerick, Clare Tipp and Waterford during the past ten years in the month of May/June only to collapse against each of them when they got to Croke Park. This was the only year where it really was important to win the first game and they fell to Waterford. So no huge surprise there.
As regards the Round Robin Tipp game that we lost, Kiely left off four of his players and the match on in Thurles. I think he was wrong to do that but there you go. However they beat Clare, Waterford and Tipp (MF) by an average of seventeen points. Kilkenny did surprise us but how often have good KK teams been caught out like that. Offally, '94, '95 and 98 (AIF) and Wexford '94 all come to mind and of course ye got caught by Galway 05 and Cork in '13 by two teams that did sweet SFA after.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4333 - 01/12/2020 17:04:57    2317381

Replying To Oldtourman:  "'Waterford team of the year' Really- the Munster League, Munster and National League Titles all rest in Limerick and they have qualified for the Final Final. First to admit Waterford are a fine and if they turn the tables on us we will be the first o congratulate them, but to ay they are the team of the year so far is plain idiotic.
BTW, the only arrogant person on these threads is the man who cant take his beating- whoever he might be ???."
Yes Waterford have been a joy to watch playing excellent hurling! From not winning a match in the Championship the last few years to the All Ireland Final is outstanding!
I stood up and applauded in admiration after watching their 2nd half performance against KK!
The spirit and drive within this team to win is sensational.
BTW this thread is about All Ireland Final....I have no idea what your rambling on about.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 01/12/2020 17:27:17    2317386

Right I think the kat needs to be ignored..I can't see why limerick people are arrogant..we have known more bad than good days but the majority of limerick supporters are really enjoying these years..we want to be competing for all Ireland's and the championship needs galway,dublin,Waterford,Wexford all competing at the top..let's face it it's going to take a long time to get to the numbers the so called big three have won..I agree that it's media driven saying limerick are this super team..they are good and let's enjoy being at the top while we,re there..I hate all the bitterness that has come about in past 3 years..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 01/12/2020 17:28:55    2317389

CTGAA. That lad knows nothing about Munster Hurling. Waterford may have not won any matches in the past two seasons, but in '17 only for injuries and a suspension and Jamie Barron having to go off early they would probably have won the All Ireland. They played Limerick in two titanic drawn and replayed Munster Finals and had another huge clash in '16, when Limerick also scraped through again and went on to the All Ireland Final. They have also won Minor and Under 21 All Irelands. In '18 they were absolutely destroyed with injuries and last year they ran Clare, Cork and Tipp close. I have have great respect for Waterford Hurling and have had for many years and I am not one bit surprised to see them back in an All Ireland Final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4333 - 01/12/2020 18:13:23    2317404

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Right I think the kat needs to be ignored..I can't see why limerick people are arrogant..we have known more bad than good days but the majority of limerick supporters are really enjoying these years..we want to be competing for all Ireland's and the championship needs galway,dublin,Waterford,Wexford all competing at the top..let's face it it's going to take a long time to get to the numbers the so called big three have won..I agree that it's media driven saying limerick are this super team..they are good and let's enjoy being at the top while we,re there..I hate all the bitterness that has come about in past 3 years.."
Responding to Kathy's posts is a bit like watching a dog chasing its tail.
Lot of energy gets used up but ultimately its pointless and gets you nowhere.
She's got no interest in being objective, so much hatred for Limerick it's bizarre.
so you're right. Ignore.

These are great days for Limerick hurling and we've got to enjoy them, cos we all know they won't last. If we win the all Ireland in 2 weeks it'll be an incredible achievement. If we lose, there's going to be no sour grapes. We'll have lost to a better team.

Personally I think we'll win. Think we're stronger as a unit and expecting a big performance from our inside forwards. Can't wait to see Limerick in another all Ireland final.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 01/12/2020 19:25:52    2317436

Replying To Ban:  "Limerick have been by far the best team in the Country over the last 3 years. If Kilkenny hadn't pulled out a performance of a lifetime in last years semi-final, Limerick would now be going for 3 in a row.
They are a class team and nothing seems to phase them. Waterford will make it a good contest but similar to the Munster Final, Limerick will have enough to be crowned Champions."
If and buts are a bit futile but if you're going down that track Limerick were a Nicky Quaid flick on Harnedy away from been beaten by Cork in 2018.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/12/2020 20:29:49    2317449

Replying To wexico15:  "If and buts are a bit futile but if you're going down that track Limerick were a Nicky Quaid flick on Harnedy away from been beaten by Cork in 2018."
That does not matter. They scored like 2.11 to 1.02 in twenty seven minutes hurling and Cork had a very soft goal before that when Dan Morrissey missed the flight of a ball he should have easily cleared. The fact is our boys handed than game to Cork earlier and they just disappeared from about the sixtieth minute. Cork have really done since to suggest they were a better team than Limerick.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4333 - 01/12/2020 21:02:03    2317461

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why would it annoy Tipp People. We have beaten Tipp by at least six points in three of the last four championship matches we played them in and five times in the last eight years. However overall it is the Media and people who are generally not from Limerick who go on 'about how good are'. Every time Shefflin, Daly and Cusack get their pusses on TV they are on about 'how good Limerick are' and then go on about strategies on how 'to stop' them. When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'.
You make a big issue of the three Championship matches Limerick lost last year. Lets unpack that. Cork beat us last May. For some reason Cork have beaten Limerick, Clare Tipp and Waterford during the past ten years in the month of May/June only to collapse against each of them when they got to Croke Park. This was the only year where it really was important to win the first game and they fell to Waterford. So no huge surprise there.
As regards the Round Robin Tipp game that we lost, Kiely left off four of his players and the match on in Thurles. I think he was wrong to do that but there you go. However they beat Clare, Waterford and Tipp (MF) by an average of seventeen points. Kilkenny did surprise us but how often have good KK teams been caught out like that. Offally, '94, '95 and 98 (AIF) and Wexford '94 all come to mind and of course ye got caught by Galway 05 and Cork in '13 by two teams that did sweet SFA after."
I won't be replying to PatOLogical, I do wonder about him but to address your post, firstly can you not see how the claim that Limerick should be going for 3 in a row may annoy people from the county that actually won the last years championship, winning more games than Limerick in doing so? I know for a fact it does. Me stating that I like Tipp people being annoyed by it was obviously tongue in cheek

My general point was, which in no way belittles the Limerick team, is that its not often you hear claims that a team that lost three matches in the championship and didn't even make the final, should have won the championship. If Limerick had beaten Kilkenny, they faced a team that most would regard were better than KK,, and who knows, Tipp may learned from KK in the semi, who knows what would have happened on the day.. To give an example using my own county, you never hear people claiming the great Kilkenny team should have won 7 in a row, even though they reached the final of the one championship that they didn't win in that interval, were plagued with injuries and came up against a team who put in the performance of a lifetime, and then actually went on to win the next two, so it's unusual to hear it said about a team that has won one so far.

"When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'" of course they did! Every team, every analyst in the country did exactly that. This Limerick team has potential to win more titles, and if they do, you'll notice that the longer the winning goes on the more biased the commentary becomes, the more unreasonable people become in discussing any controversial incident, the harder it is to get breaks from refs and it soon seems like everyone is out to get you. You'll also notice that the media hype the team up the moon and when the team eventually loses, they claim that hype got to them. That is the nature of sport.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 01/12/2020 21:28:37    2317479

Replying To Oldtourman:  "That does not matter. They scored like 2.11 to 1.02 in twenty seven minutes hurling and Cork had a very soft goal before that when Dan Morrissey missed the flight of a ball he should have easily cleared. The fact is our boys handed than game to Cork earlier and they just disappeared from about the sixtieth minute. Cork have really done since to suggest they were a better team than Limerick."
Maybe I'm going crazy but i think a brilliant piece of defending to prevent in all likelihood a game deciding goal in the 73rd or 74th minute might matter a small bit!!

Never said or suggested Cork are better than Limerick just making the point that the suggestion Limerick could/should be going for 3 in a row is bit simplistic as a break here or there and they might not have gone over the line in 2018.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/12/2020 22:17:53    2317494

Is this thread about the upcoming AI hurling final between the two teams that are there on merit?if so it would be interesting to see what posters have to say rather than chewing the cud over semantics of last year.
I highly rate this Waterford team,they won quite a lot of possession in the first half against KK but for varying reasons did not convert this possession to scores.They seemed to get caught in possession in the first half and were unable to break the tackle or come to terms with the KK intensity.They also took some bad options and and hit some bad wides.KK got two goals one of which was brilliantly taken by TJ Reid in his stride after the Waterford defender dropped the ball into his path.Second half Waterford played without fear and won a huge amount of possession in the air and ran with the ball,they got more space and lots of the ball played forward by Waterford went to a colleague that was one on one.Did KK underestimate Wat at half time?Most people had them written off.
Limerick will be hard pressed to win primary possession against them and possession wins matches.This Limerick team has met all that has been thrown at them so far and no doubt will have learned from the Munster final and the Wat/KK match.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 01/12/2020 22:33:39    2317501

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I won't be replying to PatOLogical, I do wonder about him but to address your post, firstly can you not see how the claim that Limerick should be going for 3 in a row may annoy people from the county that actually won the last years championship, winning more games than Limerick in doing so? I know for a fact it does. Me stating that I like Tipp people being annoyed by it was obviously tongue in cheek

My general point was, which in no way belittles the Limerick team, is that its not often you hear claims that a team that lost three matches in the championship and didn't even make the final, should have won the championship. If Limerick had beaten Kilkenny, they faced a team that most would regard were better than KK,, and who knows, Tipp may learned from KK in the semi, who knows what would have happened on the day.. To give an example using my own county, you never hear people claiming the great Kilkenny team should have won 7 in a row, even though they reached the final of the one championship that they didn't win in that interval, were plagued with injuries and came up against a team who put in the performance of a lifetime, and then actually went on to win the next two, so it's unusual to hear it said about a team that has won one so far.

"When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'" of course they did! Every team, every analyst in the country did exactly that. This Limerick team has potential to win more titles, and if they do, you'll notice that the longer the winning goes on the more biased the commentary becomes, the more unreasonable people become in discussing any controversial incident, the harder it is to get breaks from refs and it soon seems like everyone is out to get you. You'll also notice that the media hype the team up the moon and when the team eventually loses, they claim that hype got to them. That is the nature of sport."
Thanks For the reply and there is a lot in what you say. However as regards Tipp. They know people, and not all Limerick people by a long shot, are saying we should be going for three in a row. I have heard this said by prominent hurling men from Galway, Wexford, Carlow and indeed from your own county (not all KK men share those most tender feelings that you possess towards Tipp folk) that Limerick threw away a three in a row. I know that was presumptuous of them and I would never say it myself, but there you go. However in three different competitions since then we have clobbered them and then beat the team that beat them last Sunday. Why the Hell did they not come out and give us at least one good flaking and shut up the doubting Thomaseens once and for all. As regards Tipp, how is it that despite the fact that they won three All Irelands in the past ten years that so few Pundits, and I dont think you can deny this, spent so little time plotting their downfall, and furthermore why these pundits were speaking of Limerick, through last Spring and all the year long, as if they and not Tipp were the current Champions.
What I am saying is that in 2019 a lot of people from different backgrounds felt that this team was in some way less worthy champions that the previous ones in '16 or 10. The Final was a clear cut win but three incidents played a big part in the decisiveness of Tipps victory, (1) Fennelly was almost clean through on goal early in the game and preparing to pull the trigger when John McGrath, a corner forward, came of nowhere to hook him, secondly Murphy left in a soft goal,- how seldom he does that - from Noel O'Meara who is a fine hurler but not a noted goal scorer and thirdly of course the sending off. Tipp, fair play to them, may have won it anyway but those three incidents so early in the game were fortunate from their viewpoint.
I take your point about the Media. For the past few days it seems some commentators are in apparent shock that Waterford have qualified for this final. I am sure those who take a real interest do not share their amazement. Limerick played five matches in the League last spring and to me Waterford were easily the best team they played. From '12 to sixteen Waterford and Limerick played some titanic matches at under age level with Limerick narrowly winning in two replayed Munster Finals and Waterford won Minor and U21 All Irelands. I contend that but for injuries and a suspension, plus Jamie Barron being sick all week before the match, that Waterford and not Galway would have won the '17 All Ireland. It should also that they took out both Cork and Kilkenny on the way to that final. Their form over last two years is being highlighted in the Championship but no team could have won matches with the injury list they had in 18 and last year they played well against Clare, Tipp and Cork. They also reached the League Final in Spring '19 beating Galway, in Nowlan Park, with fourteen men and performed quite well in the final against Limerick. I am surprised so called experts of the games seem totally unaware of these background details.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4333 - 01/12/2020 23:43:34    2317524

Replying To midlands:  "The Examiner is reporting that Fergal Horgan will referee the final. I don't think Waterford will be impressed by this appointment, even if Brian Gavin thought Horgan did an excellent job on their semi-final."
I seriously doubt it. I dont think a semi final ref gets a final or am I wrong?

If he was in the running then he wont be anymore after his efforts at the weekend.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/12/2020 23:56:18    2317526

I'm not sure you know what consistent means, in most people's eyes 4 wins from 4 is more consistent than 3 wins from 4. If you include the league it would accentuate Limerick's consistency even more.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 02/12/2020 02:43:12    2317541

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks For the reply and there is a lot in what you say. However as regards Tipp. They know people, and not all Limerick people by a long shot, are saying we should be going for three in a row. I have heard this said by prominent hurling men from Galway, Wexford, Carlow and indeed from your own county (not all KK men share those most tender feelings that you possess towards Tipp folk) that Limerick threw away a three in a row. I know that was presumptuous of them and I would never say it myself, but there you go. However in three different competitions since then we have clobbered them and then beat the team that beat them last Sunday. Why the Hell did they not come out and give us at least one good flaking and shut up the doubting Thomaseens once and for all. As regards Tipp, how is it that despite the fact that they won three All Irelands in the past ten years that so few Pundits, and I dont think you can deny this, spent so little time plotting their downfall, and furthermore why these pundits were speaking of Limerick, through last Spring and all the year long, as if they and not Tipp were the current Champions.
What I am saying is that in 2019 a lot of people from different backgrounds felt that this team was in some way less worthy champions that the previous ones in '16 or 10. The Final was a clear cut win but three incidents played a big part in the decisiveness of Tipps victory, (1) Fennelly was almost clean through on goal early in the game and preparing to pull the trigger when John McGrath, a corner forward, came of nowhere to hook him, secondly Murphy left in a soft goal,- how seldom he does that - from Noel O'Meara who is a fine hurler but not a noted goal scorer and thirdly of course the sending off. Tipp, fair play to them, may have won it anyway but those three incidents so early in the game were fortunate from their viewpoint.
I take your point about the Media. For the past few days it seems some commentators are in apparent shock that Waterford have qualified for this final. I am sure those who take a real interest do not share their amazement. Limerick played five matches in the League last spring and to me Waterford were easily the best team they played. From '12 to sixteen Waterford and Limerick played some titanic matches at under age level with Limerick narrowly winning in two replayed Munster Finals and Waterford won Minor and U21 All Irelands. I contend that but for injuries and a suspension, plus Jamie Barron being sick all week before the match, that Waterford and not Galway would have won the '17 All Ireland. It should also that they took out both Cork and Kilkenny on the way to that final. Their form over last two years is being highlighted in the Championship but no team could have won matches with the injury list they had in 18 and last year they played well against Clare, Tipp and Cork. They also reached the League Final in Spring '19 beating Galway, in Nowlan Park, with fourteen men and performed quite well in the final against Limerick. I am surprised so called experts of the games seem totally unaware of these background details."
I think you make fair points there concerning Tipp's recent record vs Limerick, and that influencing peoples' opinion on whether Limerick should have won the All-Ireland or not and the discourse around Limerick through the winter and into this year. However even as a Kilkenny man, I would never refer to Tipp 2019 as "in some way less worthy champions" to be honest, and I don't think the hook by McGrath or the goal by O'Meara can be used as evidence that they were fortunate, to me they are evidence that Tipp were on their game and doing what it takes to win.

I 100% agree with you concerning the media and Waterford, some of the pre-match analysis left a lot to be desired, it's almost like they set a team up for a fall sometimes and then they express their shock when it does happen (of course this is not what happens, but I think you know what I mean) Anyway, I think the thread should get back to discussing the final in two weeks, it's a awful shame that the Waterford and Limerick fans cannot attend, I'm expecting something special

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 02/12/2020 13:07:51    2317645