Anti GAA Agenda

Replying To oneoff:  "Personally I've never bought into the hype around her.

To get to where she is obviously required talent and hard work etc However she's been given a lot of advantages that people don't like to talk about.

She won an Olympic gold medal as essentially a professional. The start of her professional career her fights where careful picked out for her.

There's likely both male and female boxers just as talented as her who have never been given the same opportunity as her."
The start of her professional career her fights where careful picked out for her.

Sounds like every boxer over the past twenty years.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 02/02/2023 17:21:15    2456066

Replying To cuttothebone:  "This has to be one of the most ignorant threads ever published.. I'm hoping as a GAA fan & member some of the opinions seen here are from old timers and ever decreasing.
Thankfully my experience of the average GAA fan is of an appreciation of many other sports be it womens boxing, rugby, soccer or even F1 & mma, but a slither of intelligence will tell you none compete in any real sense against the GAA and at the same time you need the basic cop on to realise that other sports can be appreciated, followed, and even accommodated and at no tangible risk to our association.
Ironically some of the older generation of gaa fans need to grow up & lose the chip.."
What has that got to do renting out Croke Park at a price that reflects the value of the asset the GAA is providing? That's the crux of the matter here. The GAA have said the stadium is available, have offered to rent it at a knock down price, well below what the IRFU & FAI have paid in the past. I've read that Hearn would need to sell 50k seats to break even at Croke Park... and that appears to be the real issue here and why the safer option of London is being chosen.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/02/2023 17:46:41    2456073

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "The start of her professional career her fights where careful picked out for her.

Sounds like every boxer over the past twenty years."
Past twenty years? Going on lot longer than that...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/02/2023 18:30:13    2456076

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "The start of her professional career her fights where careful picked out for her.

Sounds like every boxer over the past twenty years."
I didn't say it wasn't did I?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 02/02/2023 18:41:50    2456077

So for people who complain about media coverage
what exactly do you want changed or want specifically.
What should be reported less on other sports and what more should be reported on the GAA both in papers, online media outlets and on tv/radio

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/02/2023 19:12:13    2456082

They wouldnt fill Croke Park and thats the real issue in my opinion and thats from a fan of KATIE.

gerry1414 (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 02/02/2023 20:21:40    2456093

The GAA bent over backwards to facilitate this fight but Hearn was too greedy.

Whilst Katie Taylor might bring a lot of Middle Ireland supporters with her i had the misfortune of attening the national boxing stadium one night and as a result im not surprised theres huge security bills for big boxing events judging by the carry on of families of the boxers fighting for irish titles that night !

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 03/02/2023 09:19:48    2456102

I hope the GAA or the state do not give in to the attempt to force them to pick up the security bill.

We have all the usual suspects now from TDs to talk show hosts piling on "the gah" to give in.

People of this country are an embarrassment in large part.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 03/02/2023 10:07:49    2456108

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I hope the GAA or the state do not give in to the attempt to force them to pick up the security bill.

We have all the usual suspects now from TDs to talk show hosts piling on "the gah" to give in.

People of this country are an embarrassment in large part."
I won't be watching the boxing match.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 03/02/2023 10:39:29    2456115

Replying To KillingFields:  "So for people who complain about media coverage
What should be reported less on other sports and what more should be reported on the GAA both in papers, online media outlets and on tv/radio"
There is nothing to change because a start hasn't been made yet, so every conceivable afford should be made to raise the profile of Div. 3 / 4 counties, both visually and audibly etc, etc, etc, we will see what happens and we will take it from there.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 03/02/2023 10:53:35    2456117

What should be reported less on other sports and what more should be reported on the GAA both in papers, online media outlets and on tv/radio"
With respect you are a Limerick Rugby fan. Killing fields is a rugby nickname. So don't expect too much from you. Blame GAA is standard practice in Irish media. But current admins in GAA hq are not really on the ball either.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 03/02/2023 10:59:12    2456118

With Katie being from Wicklow, wouldn't Aughrim have been a more appropriate venue?? And it has a history of hosting a few (unofficial) boxing events in the past too…

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 03/02/2023 11:27:41    2456125

Nice to get a namecheck from the man with multiple accounts and usernames.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 03/02/2023 11:33:50    2456127

Replying To football first:  "With Katie being from Wicklow, wouldn't Aughrim have been a more appropriate venue?? And it has a history of hosting a few (unofficial) boxing events in the past too…"
she could arrive into the ring from the boot of a car....... for old times sake!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 03/02/2023 11:42:53    2456130

Replying To Mayonman:  "she could arrive into the ring from the boot of a car....... for old times sake!"
Hopefully the weigh in goes better than one of the last boxing events in Ireland or she might have to leave in the car boot surrounded by security.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 03/02/2023 13:38:10    2456158

Replying To Square_B:  "What has that got to do renting out Croke Park at a price that reflects the value of the asset the GAA is providing? That's the crux of the matter here. The GAA have said the stadium is available, have offered to rent it at a knock down price, well below what the IRFU & FAI have paid in the past. I've read that Hearn would need to sell 50k seats to break even at Croke Park... and that appears to be the real issue here and why the safer option of London is being chosen."
No evidence of a knock down price of any significance, like most irish stadia, every irish adult, sports fan or otherwise in the 90's contributed to the construction of Croke Park.
Renting it out at a once off cost price would have been an international advertisement for our association that no amount of money could buy..
But no, keep it empty for the seagulls, in fear some young girl starts boxing at the expense of our sports..
Some day, probably years from now, we'll stop shooting ourselves in the foot..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 03/02/2023 15:26:52    2456183

Replying To galwayford:  "With respect you are a Limerick Rugby fan. Killing fields is a rugby nickname. So don't expect too much from you. Blame GAA is standard practice in Irish media. But current admins in GAA hq are not really on the ball either."
Wait Limerick..? Ormo I thought it was Tipp but you selected Clare by mistake.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 03/02/2023 16:04:08    2456194

Replying To cuttothebone:  "No evidence of a knock down price of any significance, like most irish stadia, every irish adult, sports fan or otherwise in the 90's contributed to the construction of Croke Park.
Renting it out at a once off cost price would have been an international advertisement for our association that no amount of money could buy..
But no, keep it empty for the seagulls, in fear some young girl starts boxing at the expense of our sports..
Some day, probably years from now, we'll stop shooting ourselves in the foot.."
Another 'gaaah' basher I see. As if the GAA need an international advertisement LOL Bottom line, Hearn wanted it to cost the GAA to host the event (500k for security is being mentioned) and had the cheek to look for government funded. He must think 'the paddies' are gobshites. 400k is a significant discount on previous deals for the IRFU / FAI so you're completely wrong.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/02/2023 16:16:16    2456197

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Ttue but hosting katie a world champion wpuld not be bad thing she is one of greatest athleted ever"
Fair play to Katie, she has her gold medal and made a fortune, but can you name one of her opponents over her entire career (without checking Google).

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 03/02/2023 16:40:32    2456201

I seen your fellow limerick rugby man crying online about Croke Park. The love islander never mention thomond park just the damn GAA refusing to let other sports walk all over them

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 03/02/2023 17:09:41    2456205