Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches?

According to RTE the Confederate Flag will be banned at Cork matches. Thoughts?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 12/06/2020 14:14:00    2280511

Replying To Trump2020:  "According to RTE the Confederate Flag will be banned at Cork matches. Thoughts?"
About time

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 12/06/2020 15:34:05    2280515

I know it's a rebel thing and GAA fans have a thing of odd flags in county colours and not meant as a race thing but I would certainly never touch that flag.

There's a Saudi Arabia flag at Limerick games I'm not too fond of too

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/06/2020 15:39:14    2280516

Replying To Trump2020:  "According to RTE the Confederate Flag will be banned at Cork matches. Thoughts?"
It's sad, people now days are only looking to get offended, will they ban Japanese and British flags as well?

I see as well that they want clubs with the name of John Mitchel to change there names due to him being an advocate for slavery , the world's gone mad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/06/2020 15:44:31    2280517

exit stage LEFT

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/06/2020 16:29:55    2280520

This is what Cork GAA chairperson Tracey Kennedy said:

"As far as I'm concerned, the Confederate flag is banned,"
"Ger's statement in 2017 was very clear when he asked our supporters not to bring the flag to our grounds, not to use the flag, so as far as I'm concerned, it's banned.
"I'm happy to make that position explicit and say it's banned from our grounds. It has no place in our grounds or in supporting Cork teams.
"We're a community association and every part of the community is welcome in the GAA."

My first concern is that it seems to be a unilateral decision made by Tracey Kennedy, she uses the word I, instead of we (as in the Cork county board).

With regards to the ban. You have to very careful when you start banning flags, because a group of people find it offensive. Some 'communities' would, indeed do, find the US Stars and Stripes offensive, or the Israeli Star of David flag for instance; not to mention the British Union Flag.

In fact, the Japanese Rising Sun Flag is often waved by Cork supporters. This flag is offensive in East Asia, particularly in South Korea. Will Tracey Kennedy be banning this too? If not, why not?

I fully understand the reason behind the ban, but feel this could have been handled in a better way. Instead she's made a knee-jerk reaction to events occurring in other countries.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 12/06/2020 16:33:16    2280521

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's sad, people now days are only looking to get offended, will they ban Japanese and British flags as well?

I see as well that they want clubs with the name of John Mitchel to change there names due to him being an advocate for slavery , the world's gone mad."
They aren't the greatest examples of the world gone mad.
It's probably only second to the swatizka in terms of what it represents.
John Mitchell has more than a passing association with slavery. 'That's the way it was back then' isn't a good enough reason to keep the name. There was plenty of opposition to slavery in the US and Ireland in the 17 and 1800s
I'd be more than happy for both of those to go.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 12/06/2020 16:44:00    2280522

Old news. Was done a few year ago - haven't seen these flags at Cork games for a few years, and rightly so.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 12/06/2020 17:03:39    2280524

Ah FFS this has become ludicrous, what next making Sligo change back the all white jersey as the black one is offensive, Jesus wept, I read locally that one iconic club should consider chang8ng their name due to its affiliation to John Mitchels.

If it causes offense , don't read or switch off and let us normal folk get on with our lives.

We're turning into a bunch of snowflakes, christ.. seriously like.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/06/2020 18:11:45    2280525

No it's shouldn't, I'm against racism of all forms but this is nothing more than political correctness gone mad, I'm sure the O'hAalpín's never took offence to that flag and I seen plenty young Irish teens of all colours clap and chant "rebels" surrounded by the rebel flag in the terraces . There is a left-wing Marxist agenda using a tragedy in the USA to force their ideology on Irish society and people need to wise up to it.

Let the woke red thumb brigade attack, I don't care ye can call me what ye like, I'm only tell the truth.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 12/06/2020 18:16:47    2280527

How dare these Liberal leftie snowflakes object to a pro-slavery flag being flown.

Imagine being triggered by something as harmless as a pro-slavery flag? Bunch of whingers!

If some Cork GAA fans want to mark themselves as pro-slavery then they should be let!

It's PC gone mad!

What's next, an educated debate about the legacy of naming your club after someone who believed white people were superior to black people 150 years ago in the context of 21st Century multicultural Ireland?

It's a slippery slope!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13839 - 12/06/2020 18:51:20    2280530

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ah FFS this has become ludicrous, what next making Sligo change back the all white jersey as the black one is offensive, Jesus wept, I read locally that one iconic club should consider chang8ng their name due to its affiliation to John Mitchels.

If it causes offense , don't read or switch off and let us normal folk get on with our lives.

We're turning into a bunch of snowflakes, christ.. seriously like."
Your reference to the Sligo jersey makes no sense at all. Regarding the "Mitchells" issue, I think the members of clubs who honoured his name by incorporating it into their club name may wish to reconsider now that they are aware of his association with slavery. I believe many GAA members, myself included would find the honouring of a supporter of slavery inappropriate. I think any name changes will be driven by the clubs themselves but I think they will happen. What has Sligo's colours of black/white or white/black got to do with it?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1009 - 12/06/2020 19:27:50    2280532

Replying To sligo joe:  "Your reference to the Sligo jersey makes no sense at all. Regarding the "Mitchells" issue, I think the members of clubs who honoured his name by incorporating it into their club name may wish to reconsider now that they are aware of his association with slavery. I believe many GAA members, myself included would find the honouring of a supporter of slavery inappropriate. I think any name changes will be driven by the clubs themselves but I think they will happen. What has Sligo's colours of black/white or white/black got to do with it?"
Mitchel even at the time had much opposition to his promotion of slavery from others including nationalists, but was adamant in his views that Africans could be owned, bought and sold, and that flogging was a effective way to keep them to their work.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1009 - 12/06/2020 19:56:08    2280534

Replying To sligo joe:  "Your reference to the Sligo jersey makes no sense at all. Regarding the "Mitchells" issue, I think the members of clubs who honoured his name by incorporating it into their club name may wish to reconsider now that they are aware of his association with slavery. I believe many GAA members, myself included would find the honouring of a supporter of slavery inappropriate. I think any name changes will be driven by the clubs themselves but I think they will happen. What has Sligo's colours of black/white or white/black got to do with it?"
I was referencing the madness of it all where common sense looks to have been lost - currently anything "black" is bring scrutinised - Sligo historicity wore a primarily white jersey, over the last two decades it became black - i was using this as an example of ludicrous things that the holier than thou bandwagon jumpers are spouting mentioned for change.

Like a Kerry poster said can Gavin White still be Gavin White can we still refer to Paddy Bàn as Paddy Bàn.

Jesus get over ourselves and grow a pair and get on with it

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/06/2020 20:11:49    2280537

I seriously doubt that any Cork fan over the years waved a confederate flag as a symbol of support for slavery. I always assumed it was the right colour and repesented the southern rebels of the U.S and Cork are the southern Rebels of Ireland. The country is gone mad with political correctness

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 12/06/2020 20:20:48    2280539

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "I seriously doubt that any Cork fan over the years waved a confederate flag as a symbol of support for slavery. I always assumed it was the right colour and repesented the southern rebels of the U.S and Cork are the southern Rebels of Ireland. The country is gone mad with political correctness"
Exactly - and simpky put

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/06/2020 20:27:05    2280540

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "This is what Cork GAA chairperson Tracey Kennedy said:

"As far as I'm concerned, the Confederate flag is banned,"
"Ger's statement in 2017 was very clear when he asked our supporters not to bring the flag to our grounds, not to use the flag, so as far as I'm concerned, it's banned.
"I'm happy to make that position explicit and say it's banned from our grounds. It has no place in our grounds or in supporting Cork teams.
"We're a community association and every part of the community is welcome in the GAA."

My first concern is that it seems to be a unilateral decision made by Tracey Kennedy, she uses the word I, instead of we (as in the Cork county board).

With regards to the ban. You have to very careful when you start banning flags, because a group of people find it offensive. Some 'communities' would, indeed do, find the US Stars and Stripes offensive, or the Israeli Star of David flag for instance; not to mention the British Union Flag.

In fact, the Japanese Rising Sun Flag is often waved by Cork supporters. This flag is offensive in East Asia, particularly in South Korea. Will Tracey Kennedy be banning this too? If not, why not?

I fully understand the reason behind the ban, but feel this could have been handled in a better way. Instead she's made a knee-jerk reaction to events occurring in other countries."
Exactly there will always be somebody offended by flags from different places, I don't particularly like the British flag but I keep that to myself and get on with it, when we were on holidays in lanzarote 2 years ago during the world Cup there were union Jack's hanging off of most of the balconys and outside most of the pubs but we just drank our beer and shouted for who ever the tans were playing, no problem.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/06/2020 20:37:12    2280542

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "I seriously doubt that any Cork fan over the years waved a confederate flag as a symbol of support for slavery. I always assumed it was the right colour and repesented the southern rebels of the U.S and Cork are the southern Rebels of Ireland. The country is gone mad with political correctness"
Exactly PC gone mad!

How could anyone expect someone from Cork to know that one of the most famous pro-slavery flags in the world is a pro-slavery flag?!!

Especially not nowadays when it is really difficult to find information like this out!

Bloody permanently offended anti pro-slavery flags snowfalkes have the country banjaxed!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13839 - 12/06/2020 20:45:16    2280545

Cork always had the coolest looking flags at matches over the years, be it the Japanese Rising sun, battle flag of the south or the Soviet flag.
In truth it's dangerous to get too into what these flags mean to different people, all the above flags for some mean good and bad things.
For example the confederate flag for many in America was a symbol of slavery, for many it was a symbol of revolt against a federal government trying to tell locals what to do while for others it is mixed up in remembering what happened after the south lost and the harsh treatment of the south by the north after the war was over.
Trying to tell people how to think is wrong, let people decide themselves.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1416 - 12/06/2020 21:10:57    2280547

Replying To Superglue:  "They aren't the greatest examples of the world gone mad.
It's probably only second to the swatizka in terms of what it represents.
John Mitchell has more than a passing association with slavery. 'That's the way it was back then' isn't a good enough reason to keep the name. There was plenty of opposition to slavery in the US and Ireland in the 17 and 1800s
I'd be more than happy for both of those to go."

Funny that you metion the swastika, seemingly we had our own connections with the Nazi's more recently than 140 years ago.

It is political correctness, driven by social media and other modern media, gone mad. Are the Gardaí going to go door to door in the Rebel county and find the Klu Klu Clann na Gael white supremacists with confederate flags hidden under their floorboards? No they are not, because these flagbearers ar honest decent GAA people who have a flag that looks good, not because they approve of slavery. Apparently Amazon are considering removing the Dukes of Hazard from it's streaming service because of it's association with the Confederate Flag. Where will it all end?

Black lives definitely do matter. As well as as Jewish lives, Chinese lives, Brazilian lives, transgender lives, female lives, abuse victims lives and , most of all for me, disabled people's lives. Let's learn from the many mistakes of history and learn how look after everyone a bit better than we do while learning.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8226 - 12/06/2020 21:14:05    2280548