Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Belclare1:  "First yellow was for persistent fouling.."
Yeah, Joanne Cantwell said that & I wouldn't have a problem with that due to amount of fouls he committed but in that incident with the free given he wasn't the guy who committed the foul, that card will be overturned wait & see.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 10/02/2019 00:03:21    2163861

These young Kerry lads coming through have fire in the belly and want it so bad. They know how big a privilege it is to wear the green and gold and want it stands for. The 37 All Ireland winning teams that went before them.
It may not happen for them this year or even in 2020, but they are determined to leave their own mark in the magnificent tradition of taking home Sam Maguire to the Kingdom.
The Dubs are having their nice little purple patch of glory since 2011 with this squad but title number 38th will arrive under this Kerry crop in the not too distant future!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 928 - 10/02/2019 00:04:24    2163862

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Great to beat that shower in Tralee tonight. Hope ye enjoy the long trip back to the kip that is Dublin. Ciarraí abú"
what a shocking post , admin how was that allowed through ? disgraceful , obviously no dubs on this admin .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 10/02/2019 00:04:28    2163863

Great game. We started slowly and only came to life in the last 10m. If we can play like that, last 10, in the Summer months we'll do well. Same problem as Monaghan game tonight though, the transition is too slow and it's not good enough when you're chasing a game. Lot of work to do but given that the lads are not up to pace yet and with fellas coming in I wouldn't be worried. Kerry, fantastic and great to see them back and it's a good sign for the championship. Thought they really did well in the first half tomight and will be a tough prospect in the championship. Football is still alive as a sport it seems.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 10/02/2019 00:05:29    2163864

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "John small started the melee, also Dara Moynihan was attacked by 3 dubs going down the tunnel at half time but he didn't take it and gave it back and I'd say they were sorry they started on him.

Moynihan my man of the match."
In fairness. I seriously doubt that he was "attacked" going down the tunnel. He wouldn't have been out for the second half otherwise. Kerry official charged into Scully apparently, sparking the extended handbags. Look enjoy your win and stop trying to make something out of nothing. It was a fine game for February. We'll be back when it matters.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 10/02/2019 00:51:12    2163866

It was an enjoyable game clearly Kerry were more up for it early on but I think over all Dublin will be fairly happy, they outplayed Kerry for most of the second half in a game where Kerry probably should have been out of sight at half time, I wouldn't read to much into results in February though, and I don't think Dublin will lose much sleep over it.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1710 - 10/02/2019 00:51:20    2163867

Replying To superbluedub:  "what a shocking post , admin how was that allowed through ? disgraceful , obviously no dubs on this admin ."
Have you not seen some of the stuff said about Kerry earlier in the thread and in general on this forum? That post above is fairly vanilla.

Not that I agree with any of it on either side.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 10/02/2019 01:15:15    2163868

Whats the story with most dublin posters here ?? I know your not used to losing but come on . The excuse of it's only Feb makes me laugh . It's also Feb for Kerry and for every other team playing ball. We're not long back . Or we haddent a full team out , come on lads what team is playing there full 15 at this stage of year . Now it's not all dublin posters some are very graceful in defet. The others should learn . Every team in the country that get the chance to play the dubs up there game for it . Ye are up there with the best teams ever so why wouldn't they. Just don't be making excuses for losing a game . Tonight I taught the best team won. Come championship we all know it will be a different dublin . But I'm pretty sure it will be a different Kerry and Galway and monaghan etc etc.
In my honest opinion the field is getting a bit more even . But only a bit . The defeats to the dubs will affect the lads later in the year . But will it affect enough . ???
Here's to a great game of ball tonight and to what looks like a brilliant year of ball ahead . Hon the farney

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 300 - 10/02/2019 02:06:23    2163872

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Alot if heavy defending , swarm tackling , very Ulster like game....15 men behind the ball."
Nothing worse than watching an ulster game in fairness

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 10/02/2019 08:27:10    2163886

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Yeah, Joanne Cantwell said that & I wouldn't have a problem with that due to amount of fouls he committed but in that incident with the free given he wasn't the guy who committed the foul, that card will be overturned wait & see."
Will wait and see, but could be waiting a long time. Yellows like this can't be overturned!!!!

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 10/02/2019 08:39:34    2163889

Dour stuff at the end but not surprised. Someone is really going to get hurt if we keep allowing these teams to act like animals. To me it looked like Dublin couldn't take losing and threw the dummy out like spoiled children . Jack McCaffrey behaved impeccably though , a true gentleman . While he was signing pics with children his teammates were bringing down the reputation of the gaa . We need to see suspensions from this.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 10/02/2019 08:52:54    2163892

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Great game well done Kerry it's going to be fun the next few years , roll on the summer can't wait."
Agreed, if this game was anything to go by then maybe football has a decent future.

I hope managers round the country were watching.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/02/2019 09:02:47    2163893

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Kerry supporters still in the stand celebrating and it's only the league."
In all honesty I'd say that had more to do with the nature of the win than anything else.

Kerry looked home & hosed, Dublin pulled back level & then Kerry pull it out of the bag. If you can't celebrate a win like that then there is something wrong with you.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/02/2019 09:05:02    2163895

Replying To superbluedub:  "what a shocking post , admin how was that allowed through ? disgraceful , obviously no dubs on this admin ."
I wouldn't lose too much sleep over comments like that and would take it as a compliment. I listened to Donaghy's analysis at the end of the game! He talked with a lot of passion about the respect in Kerry for their 4-in-a-row team and them falling just short of the 5. It proved to me how hurt Kerry football people would be if the Dubs go on to win 5. The above post shows the hurt and determination in Kerry to stop the Dubs this year. A league match in Tralee is a lot different to August, I suspect you and other Dubs will have the final laugh this season.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 10/02/2019 09:10:07    2163896

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Alot if heavy defending , swarm tackling , very Ulster like game....15 men behind the ball."
Ssssshhhhhh........you aren't aloud to say that about the Kerry. You will give them a bad name

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 10/02/2019 09:16:18    2163899

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Ssssshhhhhh........you aren't aloud to say that about the Kerry. You will give them a bad name"
I know lad, mass defending and counter attacking , I wonder who came up with that one....about 20 years ago. But sure they all at it now but wouldn't admit it

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 10/02/2019 09:44:23    2163902

Replying To farneygael:  "Whats the story with most dublin posters here ?? I know your not used to losing but come on . The excuse of it's only Feb makes me laugh . It's also Feb for Kerry and for every other team playing ball. We're not long back . Or we haddent a full team out , come on lads what team is playing there full 15 at this stage of year . Now it's not all dublin posters some are very graceful in defet. The others should learn . Every team in the country that get the chance to play the dubs up there game for it . Ye are up there with the best teams ever so why wouldn't they. Just don't be making excuses for losing a game . Tonight I taught the best team won. Come championship we all know it will be a different dublin . But I'm pretty sure it will be a different Kerry and Galway and monaghan etc etc.
In my honest opinion the field is getting a bit more even . But only a bit . The defeats to the dubs will affect the lads later in the year . But will it affect enough . ???
Here's to a great game of ball tonight and to what looks like a brilliant year of ball ahead . Hon the farney"
You're right Kerry deserved to win and we're better on the night but surely Dubs who say "it's only February" are right in saying this no? Has our track record of doing 4 in a row not prove this? Listen everyone will be different come summer but the mad thing about our championship is we mightn't even meet Kerry or Monaghan or Mayo come summer.

Again Kerry were the better team and deserved their win on the night and like I've said before if Geaney and O Donoghue weren't so brutal last summer I believe Kerry would of been the biggest challengers to us. Them two let Kerry down badly last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2019 09:48:33    2163903

Replying To blueshirt1:  "Excellent game for this time of year, thought gavin o brien, dara Moynihan and tom o Sullivan played really well. I feel jack barry needs to impose himself more, needs more urgency in his game. I still don't know about Adrian spillane, maybe a lot of unseen work and in fairness they kept the Dublin midfield quiet. I see the usual patronising arrogant dub posters on here. Enjoy yere period of dominance, it will be coming to an end sooner rather than later. Class was never one of yere traits."
Replying To kingdomfan: "Great to beat that shower in Tralee tonight. Hope ye enjoy the long trip back to the kip that is Dublin. Ciarraí abú"

And this is class ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 10/02/2019 09:49:06    2163904

Replying To farneygael:  "Whats the story with most dublin posters here ?? I know your not used to losing but come on . The excuse of it's only Feb makes me laugh . It's also Feb for Kerry and for every other team playing ball. We're not long back . Or we haddent a full team out , come on lads what team is playing there full 15 at this stage of year . Now it's not all dublin posters some are very graceful in defet. The others should learn . Every team in the country that get the chance to play the dubs up there game for it . Ye are up there with the best teams ever so why wouldn't they. Just don't be making excuses for losing a game . Tonight I taught the best team won. Come championship we all know it will be a different dublin . But I'm pretty sure it will be a different Kerry and Galway and monaghan etc etc.
Here's to a great game of ball tonight and to what looks like a brilliant year of ball ahead . Hon the farney"
I guess they're not excuses it's just a statement of fact. Feb and Aug are chalk and cheese. Feb sees the squad with only a few weeks training under their belt, a young experimental team, slow muddy ground and a league crowd in the teen Ks. Summer will be the exact opposite of all of these things. These aren't excuses, maybe you're seeking out excuses, just facts. They apply to all teams not just Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 10/02/2019 10:07:54    2163907

The most important thing from a Kerry perspective last night was to give our young lads belief that Dublin are beatable and not invincible. The other big difference for us was in previous years Dublin pulled away from us in the closing stages of big games however we held in there last night.
We have the Crokes lads to come back aling with Kevin MacCarth 3.7 in Croker yesterday , and David Clifford.
2 all Ireland club titles yesterday also, Good day for Kerry GAA.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 10/02/2019 10:14:36    2163909