Clifford, Fenton and Rogers up for Footballer of the Year award

September 29, 2023

Dublin's Brian Fenton ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

David Clifford (Kerry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Brendan Rogers (Derry) have been nominated for this year’s PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year award.

The shortlist was revealed this morning (Friday) along with this year’s PwC All-Star football nominations, which sees All-Ireland champions Dublin lead with 10 players.

This past season saw Kerry captain Clifford once again spearheading the Kingdom’s attack as they reached a second successive All-Ireland decider, while two-time Footballer of the Year Brian Fenton was instrumental around the centre during the Dubs’ run to a first Sam Maguire Cup triumph since 2020 as was Rogers as Derry retained their Ulster crown before going down to a late All-Ireland semi-final defeat at the hands of Kerry.

There are also two Derry representatives up for PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year in Ethan Doherty and Eoin McEvoy, with Roscommon’s Conor Carroll the other player nominated for the prestigious individual gong.

Most Read Stories