Dublin and Kildare set-up repeat Leinster MFC final

May 25, 2023

Dublin's Luke O'Boyle with Patrick Kenna of Offaly ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Dublin and Kildare ensured a repeat of last year’s Leinster minor football championship final next Wednesday after both sides progressed through their respective provincial semi-finals last night.

The holders were in dominant form as they handed Offaly a 6-15 to 1-8 defeat in Tullamore, where goals from Paddy Curry and Harry Curley got them off to the perfect start.

Offaly responded with a Cian Bracken goal but the visitors struck more majors via Noah Byrne and Curry to take in a 4-4 to 1-2 lead and Curley and Luke O’Boyle would raise more green flags after the turnaround to help complete the capital lads’ rout.

In Hawkfield, Kildare edged out Meath by 0-13 to 0-12 to stay on course for their first Leinster MFC crown in four years.

Three early points from Cian Commons had the visitors 0-4 to 0-2 in front after 12 minutes, however points at the other end from Kildare’s Donnchadh Kinch, Cathal Moore (free) and Evan Donnelly saw the teams going in all square at the break on 0-5 apiece.

Donnelly shot the Lilywhites ahead within a minute of the restart and Harry Redmond doubled that lead but Meath stayed in the battle until the finish, with a free from Joey Cunningham ultimately proving the difference in the end for the home side.

Most Read Stories