Monaghan GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Replying To veterngaa: "McCarville was good when he came on .. better than Francis hughes who should never be on the panel. McCarron won the free at the end.
Just stop with your childish remarks. Everyone on here is cringing with your scotstown/currin remarks" I find the Currin jibes quite funny. Mainly, I find it funny that they appear to rattle you every time he mentions it.
HB245 (National) - 11/01/2024 11:09:16
Club Football 2019 - 5 Like(s)
Thats the first time Clontibret were at full strength throughout the whole Championship. People writing them off clearly don't understand how good some of these new young lads are, and the old guard, Mansy, Vinny and Dessie are still as reliable as ever. They're goalkeeper is not far off being Beggan's back up keeper, he's been outstanding in all 4 Championship games (they didn't concede one goal the entire Championship). Killian Lavelle bullied, annoyed, and outplayed Kieran Hughes for the full 60, his midfield partner Hughes set the tone for the game with his hit at the beginning. Them lads are only 21 and 23. Serious performance from the whole team.
HB245 (Monaghan) - 21/10/2019 17:44:29
Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
As a neutral, I just can't wrap my head around how Naomh Conaill do it. What an incredible club. I only ever see negativity surrounding them and all it does is drive them on even more. Martin Regan is an absolute genius. People can give out all they want about his style of play, but he's not in the business of impressing neutrals. He's there to win championships and his record is stupidly good. That Glenties team (in my opinion) do not have anywhere close to the calibre of forwards needed to go toe-to-toe with the likes of Eunans or Kilcar, and it would be lunacy to even attempt it, especially without their own marquee forward Eoghan McGettigan. They've got super athletes all over the park and they've got the Rolls Royce in Ciaran Thompson, who is as good a club player as there has been in the country over the last 3 or 4 years. I've seen quite a lot of NC games, and time and time again he delivers on the big day, when needed most.
As for the dive.. and this won't be a popular opinion… For me, you do whatever it takes to win. If one of the lads that plays with my club dived in a county final and got one of the opposition's best players sent off, I'd be over the moon. More power to him.
It sounds crazy but I genuinely love watching Naomh Conaill play. Their defensive set up is impeccable and you can't beat watching a team with a bitta steel. Their ability to grind out wins in tough games is simply unbelievable.
HB245 (National) - 15/10/2022 21:01:23
Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Monaghanfan123: "Well done to the players, they dug deep. Super job. Still think management are poor. Their team selections for other games was debatable and got us into this dog fight no doubt I'll get slatted for been negative against them but don't care." Without doubt the worst post of the weekend. You appear to have some personal vendetta against the management team because how on earth could your immediate reaction to that result be to come on hoganstand and slate the management team? Baffling.
HB245 (National) - 28/03/2023 13:13:05
My dream management ticket, out of all the ones that are somewhat realistic, would be John McEntee and Oisin McConville. Although, not sure how realistic it would be to get McConville. I'd say McEntee knows the Monaghan club scene better than the Armagh club scene at this rate, having been involved with either Clontibret/Inniskeen for 6 of the last 7 years I believe. McConville also would be familiar with loads of the Monaghan players from his time in DKIT and his time with Inniskeen.
HB245 (National) - 21/08/2024 18:23:38
Replying To prideof85: "An alternative monaghan team would definitely put it up to thatMonaghan team today
Shane garland
Grimes killanny
M murnaghan dmoyne
ChrisHanratty inniskeen
Stephen finnegan dmoyne
Shane woods inniskeen
Shane hanratty inniskeen
Aaron lynch carrick
Andrew woods inniskeen
Liam mcdonald dmoyne
Shane Mcguinnes ballybay
P keenan corduff
Garland dmoyne
Aaron mulligan latton
Eddie walsh killanny
All available" As bad as that Monaghan team was today, they're still pumping that team by minimum 20 points. Some of the names you suggested for the county panel have led me to believe you're a troll account.
HB245 (National) - 05/02/2023 19:29:34
Replying To veterngaa: "Wasn't a problem pre 2013….bit like Dublin in many ways. Only a problem when you win! Won't bother anyone in the parish." Which of the 4 parishes are you referring to when you say it won't bother anyone in the parish?
HB245 (National) - 19/07/2024 13:21:56
Massive credit to Banty. No McManus, no Bannigan, no Kieran Duffy, no problem. Banty has kept us in Division 1 twice now and reached an Ulster Final (losing by a point to the eventual All Ireland winners).
No manager in Ireland would have achieved any more with this group of players in that space of time.
Make your apology as loud as the disrespect was.
HB245 (National) - 27/03/2022 16:42:42
Replying To veterngaa: "Well obviously you have to have parentage connections or live in the club parish. Not as simple as just transferring in anyone. Scotstowns transfer was totally legal in line with the county by laws" Surely you can see why everyone in the entire country sees the transfer in a negative light…? Surely between the 4 parishes you had enough players to field a team without transferring McCurrin in from the smallest club in the county…?
Take off the blue-tinted glasses for a moment. It was wrong and has killed the senior club scene in Monaghan.
HB245 (National) - 12/12/2023 12:05:35
Ulster Club Football Championship - 3 Like(s)
Replying To germac: "Another strange post from you, given the fact that Scotstown havent won it in 22 years , and no Tyrone winner in 20 years , Kilcoo still the team to beat" And why is it a strange post? What happened 20 years ago has no bearing on what happens this year. Kilcoo have stumbled their way through a weak Down Championship, so why on earth would they be favoured over a Scotstown or Glen who have both won competitive championships at their leisure? Strange post from you.
HB245 (National) - 19/11/2021 12:44:14
Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Monaghan37: "That's the way most games this year have gone unfortunately. It's all about who wants to Concede the least and not who wants to score . Blauney done their job conceded 7 points against truagh and 8 against the harps , they will fear nobody . Especially come championship they're a different animal and always have been" "Especially come championship they're a different animal and always have been"… Have you been in a coma for the last 15 years?! I'd say you could count on your fingers how many championship games Castleblayney have won in that time frame. You might not even need to use your thumbs.
HB245 (National) - 27/08/2024 09:47:20
Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To HarriBowe: "on the minors. thought on a team losing to another team twice and still have a chance of beating them in an all ireland final? seems a bit silly and would take away from a victory if ye win" Speaking for myself and everybody else from Monaghan - We will not care and it won't take away from the victory in the slightest. If it takes away from the victory in your opinion, I promise you we are not bothered… at all.
HB245 (National) - 01/07/2023 15:32:36
Club Football 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To FootblockREF: "I'm going to stick my neck out here and say I was right about Scotstown not respecting Clontibret and I think it was their downfall. I think Scotstown thought they had the championship won when they beat Ballybay. They hadnt played Clontibret in championship in recent years and had always beaten the team who had knocked the O'Neill's out. And Clontibret's form in the championship up to the final was patchy at best. I think in that going so close in Ulster in recent years they had one eye on the Cross game. They seemed to have very little homework done on Clontibret and they're attacking plan of lumping ball in Michael McCarville didn't reap any benefits. What was worse was that Conor McCarthy had the beating of his man but they only gave him a couple of balls all day. I'm not slagging off Clontibret, they had their homework done and they got 8/10 at least from virtually every man on the field and the sideline and posters are right, the county could do a lot worse than those 2 midfielders but this is a big "what might have been" for Scotstown." I think you should refrain from making any more comments on the senior club scene! You claimed Clontibret had just the two forwards that would be of any trouble to Scotstown, and you outdone yourself by comparing their chances of winning to that of Harps and Magheracloone a few years back. Anyone that follows club football would know that Clontibret were best placed to end the Drive for Five this year. And if you even remotely believe that Scotstown had no respect for them, I don't know what to tell you!
HB245 (Monaghan) - 23/10/2019 11:16:43
Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I can't think of many, if any, players in that dressing room with ego problems to be quite honest.
HB245 (National) - 26/08/2022 12:42:08
NFL 2021 - 2 Like(s)
Banty maintains Division 1 status and bloods more new players than any Monaghan manager I can't remember. What will the Banty nay-sayers say about this? Master stroke getting Vinny Corey involved in the management team- one of the most respected men in Monaghan football.
HB245 (Monaghan) - 13/06/2021 19:42:46
Replying To Blanket: "Totally agree with this the management has to stand up here they are showing no plan to fix this problem just saying the usual it's the injuries that has us this way ,look at your defence its a shambles ,Ryan O,Toole in my opinion and have seen him in alot of club games is not worth his place on a div4 team he can't man Mark to save his life ,he on team in my opinion from scoring a goal last year,move on vinny look around your county,and the older boys just can't live with the pace ,they have served there county its time to stand down and let the new blood in along with a trainer and manager that knows game plans,look the differ that ger brennan has made to louth already and we turned him away ,probably wouldn't have suited North monaghan and county board .No way guna beat louth or meath with this team ." Didn't Ger Brennan turn us down..?
Everyone loves giving out about RO'T and Wylie.. who in the county is a better corner back? The answer to that question (among players available for selection) is: nobody.
People of Monaghan need to readjust their expectations. The standard of player in the county now is of a mid table Division 2 standard.
HB245 (National) - 19/05/2024 21:36:44
Malachy's Successor - 2 Like(s)
Replying To hardcore: "More miss information from supporters leading to all sorts of crap been said regarding the management set up...........plus the whole social media abuse of Banty is disgusting,and makes us look like a right shower of you know whats........
Easy know none of thoses people were around Monaghan football in the late 90's until 2005 to see the strides we made and the change in culture around the County squad.......
Before Banty came in we had a division 4 team who couldnt wait to go on the beer on an away match.......2 years later we were leading Kerry by a point with 2 minutes left in an All Ireland Quarter Final (and to this day was the best Monaghan football performance in Croke Park).
Peter Donnelly is S&C coach and will train the squad to a higher standard than they are at now.
Conor Laferty is Sports sicence/coach................both these men are top notch and as the say this Generation football coaches.
David McCague is Selector/Maor Forine............Sharpe man,well got with the players.
Stats men are All Ireland winners
And Banty,old school,blinded by pure passion for the job who rubs people up the wrong way,including me...........but will give everything to this job and thats all we can ask.
He's in a no win situation............if this goes well,all the credit will go to Peter Donnelly.............if this goes bad then its all Bantys fault............thats what you's will all say.
Remember,who was Malachy O'Rourke before he was asked to Manage Monaghan???
He was a selector with Latton in 2012 !!!!
And we all know how that turned out...........
Give this set up a chance." Maybe you didn't know who he was, Hardcore, pretty sure anyone with reasonable football knowledge knew who he was!!
HB245 (Monaghan) - 09/09/2019 19:45:41
Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To doratheexplorer: "Cavan didn't double mark McManus. Faulkner done a great job on him as he usually does. Monaghan really need to blood the young lads. Wylie was so loose unreal. Kieran Hughes was class. Obviously ye were missing players." Faulker had the help of a sweeper being back there at all times, 1 on 1 vs any defender - McManus is giving them the run around. That's no knock on Faulkner.
We need to get our main man on the ball more and it would be a lot easier if he was playing at 11, with maybe Hughes / McCarthy inside. It's worth a try in the qualifiers.
HB245 (Monaghan) - 19/05/2019 15:58:26
Replying To Blueblood4life: "When a senior intercounty manager brings in young players he has massive influence on them, what 18-19 year old is capable of standing up for themselves and demanding they play with the players and team they may have been with since development squads? So to answer question Banty is not allowing them. If they play a senior intercounty game they can not tog out for u20s the same year, this is what happened Aaron Mulligan last year.
Blooding young players can and should be achieved when the players are ready both technically and physically, not just so the manager can say he's doing x, y & z. Aaron Mulligan was (and is) a massive talent, he was rushed through without playing u20 football last year and this year can't get a game, there's a reason why we have age grades, to allow the players develop and avoid injuries or walk aways.
He's now in a position where he's played little to no football for two years.
Jones, due to injury, little to no football for two years.
Gallagher, due to injury, little to no football for two years.
Is this how we develop senior intercounty footballers?
As for your comment on other county's injuries, I don't care, I'm interested in Monaghan and how we run our squads. In the past 2 years the squad has been flattened with a high injury rate last seen…… in bantys last term under McElehenens time. This is arguably a worse period.
Dermot Malone forced into retirement due to a knee injury sustained in the gym, how many more before the issue is addressed?
Your comment, like some of your previous posts stink of propaganda, you preach positivity, more like head in the sand stuff. There is massive issues at multiple levels in Monaghan gaa, if they aren't spoken about, called out or acted on then the impact will be seen for years to come. Like it or not, this stems from or Co.Senior management. They need to be the best representation of everything that is Monaghan football, the man at the helm can't stay out of the papers for two weeks, is that who we want in charge of our young men?" Dermot Malone's retirement was down to an operation he got on his knee cartilage 10 years ago, as he said himself in an interview. Don't spread false information to support your agenda.
HB245 (National) - 04/04/2022 15:11:36
NFL 2021 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To monaghanmad: "Dare I say it. Maybe we are a better all round team without mc manus in the team ? Maybe mc manus on the line takes the best out of mc carthy, mulligan, o hanlon and allows the team to spread out the scores." So we're playing an Ulster Final tomorrow morning, you'd rather have McManus on the bench then? That should give you your answer to that question. Although he's 34, when the going gets tough, he's still our best ball winner, has the best movement, best at winning frees, draws minimum two defenders at all times, best creator, best scorer. Silly question.
HB245 (Monaghan) - 25/05/2021 09:31:44