Last three county finals as race for provincial glory heats up

November 06, 2019

Corofin's Micheal Lundy will hoping for more of the same against Ballintubber.

The last three county senior finals for 2019 and a host of provincial action to look forward to this weekend.

Thirteen time champions Dr Crokes are preparing for another Kerry decider. This time against an East Kerry side appearing in their first county final since 1999.

For the second year running, Liam Mellows and St Thomas' will go head-to-head in the Galway SHC final. The last two winners of the Tom Callanan Cup with the Saints coming out on top twelve months ago.

Clonmel Commercials will take on JK Brackens of Templemore at Semple Stadium on Saturday afternoon for the right to be crowned Tipperary SFC champions.

There are eight games across the Connacht, Leinster and Munster club senior football championships. Throw in two Munster club SHC semi-finals and the Ulster club SHC final on a busy Sunday afternoon.

Seven-in-a-row Galway champions Corofin will begin their Connacht title defence as they prepare to lock horns with last year's runners-up Ballintubber at Tuam Stadium.

Other standout provincal football ties include Newtown Blues v Ballyboden St Endas and Garrycastle v Ratoath in Leinster and Miltown-Malbay v Rathgormack in Munster.

Ballygunner's meeting with Limerick's Patrickswell will be televised live on TG4. The Gunners are 60 minutes away from a third successive Munster club SHC final appearance.

The Ulster club SHC final between Dunloy and Slaughtneil has been switched from the Athletic Grounds to Pairc Esler. 2009 was the last time the Cuchullains tasted provincial success at this level while Slaughtneil won the Four Seasons Cup in 2016 and 2017.

Here's the fixtures to keep an eye on over the weekend:


Saturday 9 November


Tipperary SFC final
Clonmel Commercials v JK Brackens, Semple Stadium, 2.30pm

Connacht club IFC semi-finals
Geevagh (Sligo) v The Neale (Mayo), Markievicz Park, 2pm
Tulsk (Roscommon) v Oughterard (Galway), Dr Hyde Park, 2pm

Leinster club IFC quarter-finals
Dunlavin (Wicklow) v Nobber (Meath), Aughrim, 1.30pm
Mullinavat (Kilkenny) v Ballyboughal (Dublin), Thomastown, 1.30pm
Fr Manning Gaels (Longford) v Rosenallis (Laois), Killoe, 1.30pm
Mattock Rangers (Louth) v Monasterevan (Kildare), Stabannon, 2pm

Munster club IFC quarter-finals
Templenoe (Kerry) v St Saviours (Waterford), Templenoe, 1.30pm
Galtee Gaels (Limerick) v St Breckans (Clare), LIT Gaelic Grounds, 1.30pm

Connacht club JFC semi-final
Kilmaine (Mayo) v Ballinameen (Roscommon), MacHale Park, 2pm

Leinster club JFC quarter-finals
Ballynacargy (Westmeath) v Clann na nGael (Meath), Lakepoint Park, Mullingar, 1.30pm
Kenagh (Longford) v Ballymore Eustace (Kildare), Newtowncashel, 1.30pm
Rathgarogue-Cushinstown (Wexford) v Craobh Chiarain (Dublin), O'Kennedy Park, New Ross, 1.30pm
Shannonbridge (Offaly) v Roche Emmets (Louth), Faithful Fields, 1.30pm


Ulster club IHC final
Eoghan Ruadh (Tyrone) v Naomh Eanna (Antrim), Owenbeg, 4pm

Ulster club JHC final
Eoghan Rua (Derry) v Newry Shamrocks (Down), The Dub, 2pm


Sunday 10 November


Connacht club SFC semi-finals
Tir Chonaill Gaels (London) v Padraig Pearses (Roscommon), McGovern Park, Ruislip, 2pm
Corofin (Galway) v Ballintubber (Mayo), Tuam Stadium, 2pm - TG4 (deferred coverage)

Leinster club SFC quarter-finals
Newtown Blues (Louth) v Ballyboden St Endas (Dublin), Gaelic Grounds, Drogheda, 1.30pm
St Patricks (Wicklow) v Portlaoise (Laois), Aughrim, 1.30pm
Garrycastle (Westmeath) v Ratoath (Meath), TEG Cusack Park, 1.30pm
Eire Og (Carlow) v Sarsfields (Kildare), Netwatch Cullen Park, 2pm

Munster club SFC quarter-finals
Miltown-Malbay (Clare) v Rathgormack (Waterford), Miltown-Malbay, 1.30pm
Nemo Rangers (Cork) v Newcastlewest (Limerick), Mallow, 1.30pm

Kerry SFC final
East Kerry v Dr Crokes, Austin Stack Park, 3pm


Munster club SHC semi-finals
Borris-Ileigh (Tipperary) v Glen Rovers (Cork), Semple Stadium, 1.30pm
Ballygunner (Waterford) v Patrickswell (Limerick), Walsh Park, 1.45pm - TG4 (live coverage)

Ulster club SHC final
Dunloy (Antrim) v Slaughtneil (Derry), Pairc Esler, 3pm

Galway SHC final
Liam Mellows v St Thomas, Pearse Stadium, 2.30pm

Munster club IHC semi-finals
Fr O’Neills (Cork) v Broadford (Clare), Midleton, 1.30pm
Ballysaggart (Waterford) v Sean Treacys (Tipperary), Fraher Field, 1.30pm

Connacht club JHC final
Micheal Breathnach (Galway) v Naomh Eoin (Sligo), Connacht GAA Centre, 2pm

Most Read Stories