O'Bryne Cup 2016

RD

If he doesn't he won't be in the team.Would not have him in the forwards with the talent available there.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/01/2016 17:29:30    1814718

Jeez lads I thought it was only me that thought Tormey was a bit lacksidaisical . For me he is talented but totally inconsistent and much like the current team, some moments of brilliance but other moments of average play.

This really is the year he need to step it up and show he's a leader on this team. For me having him and biggy in the half forward line just doesn't work as they can be lazy in their willingness to track back, help out there defence and then move forward at speed. Both tend to fizzle out of games and can pick up yellow/ black cards based on lazing tackles. For me if I have to have one of them its biggy all day long. For 5 years I've been saying I can always tell how a game goes based on how biggy does in the opening few minutes of a match, if he gets a score we're in business but if not we're in trouble.

Maybe with Newman at 11 this year Tormey into the edge of the square is a solid option. He's well able to win ball and if he could lay it off to the likes of McMahon, Lenihan and the Wallace boys for scores then maybe that's where we should be playing him.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 05/01/2016 17:53:56    1814722

As silly as this may sound I don't want biggy tracking back as much this year. He was all over the field last year. In forwards one minute next on goal line. Too much work for one man, concentrate on the play making and scores.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2016 18:18:23    1814725

brian - Newman may be a good footballer but I'm not sure he has the work rate for CF even though it is no harm in trying him out there. I am concerned with playing tomorrow night's match in a non sand-based pitch considering the weather forecast for heavy rain. The Carlow pitch which is non sand-based was the main cause of McKeever's injury. I am also concerned with two matches being played in the same pitch on Sunday (its madness) - no pitch in the country is fit for two matches in the same day at this time of year- what's wrong with playing the hurling match in Trim?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 05/01/2016 18:24:04    1814727

He has played there for D/ASH Brian,but he struggles to get ahead of his man.Donal Lenihan could be a better option there imo or Dalton McDonagh

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/01/2016 18:32:26    1814729

Lazy or lackadaisical players in the modern game is a complete no-no, both Tormey and Biggy have a lot of talent but when they get complacent it puts extra pressure on our already vulnerable backs.

I already pointed out these stats last year, but for anyone who missed them. In the 11 championship games we've played under MOD since 2013, in the 20 mins of all them games we've scored 2-37 and conceded 6-48, finishing only 3 of the 11 games as the stronger team and losing the last 20 mins in 8 of the games. So there's either a lack of fitness, talent or attitude, perhaps a combination of the 3, but either way it makes for poor reading.

Ps, the 2 last 20min goals were scored against Carlow in 2014 (who were already buried) and against Dublin (when we were already buried), so we haven't scored a goal after the 50th minute in a tight championship game since Peadar Byrne's against Laois in 2012!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/01/2016 19:17:27    1814733

I am looking forward to tomorrow night game. But I also have concerns for underfoot conditions. Look I know its Ireland and we should be very use to wet ground but this rain and the softness of ground is something I cannot recall before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2016 19:25:31    1814736

Htaem that makes for very interesting reading. It's a bit of a reality check. And yeah I actually think its a combination of all the above, not fit enough, laziness, lack of confidence . And above all a ahh what's the point attitude. There is no or little hunger in the team and I think management have to take a fair share of responsibility too. We will have something like 3'players tomorrow night who played in 13 , some turn around but the problem still remains, look I reluctantly give my backing to mod this year, I have said who should be there and I ain't going into that again. Its done mod is in charge and I pray we are successful, however he has got to change the mindset and attitude of the panel .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2016 19:40:04    1814739

Ziggy I'm not been funny with you, but Andy won't be dropped,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2016 19:42:38    1814740

Agree Htaem

Its not all the fault of the defenders.They are often very exposed.I do think that Reilly worked harder defensively last year.But not sure about Tormey to be honest.McEntee would be a good option for the half forward line.He has the workrate and pace to track back when needed.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/01/2016 20:01:36    1814746

RD have to agree with you that Tormey won't be dropped and that's not right
Also like the idea of McEntee in half forward line I know on a seperate thread is put him in at no. 4 but I'd not be adverse to him being 10/12 etc. The reason I put him at 4 is I expect graham Reilly at 10 and rauiri o'coileain to be 12

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 05/01/2016 21:20:58    1814765

RD

He will if he doesn't perform.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/01/2016 21:31:48    1814769

No ziggy he wont be regardless. Its all politics my friend. Unfortunately.
Yeah brian id like to see McEntee in forwards myself.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/01/2016 21:40:31    1814772

I don't agree with that RD.If he continues to play poorly he won't be in the team.Wait and see.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/01/2016 08:45:01    1814784

RD, I found it hard to back MOD as well, particularly with the farcical way he was returned, but he's the man for another year so we might as well get behind him and the team, no matter how frustrating it is.

Ziggy, McEntee would be a good option in the half forwards, hopefully he gets a shot at it in the league anyway. I'd hate to see Tormey losing his place because he's clearly a talented footballer but if he continues on the same way as last year he could find himself going the same way as Damian Carroll.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/01/2016 09:53:47    1814789

Htaem

Very true..

I see the Ratoath lads are available tonight,but is that wise? I'm sure the Ratoath manager will be biting his nails.Having said that I would like to see Cian O'Brien in midfield.
Plus any chance the game could be off? I doubt the pitch is in the best condition.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/01/2016 10:40:06    1814803

game is in Simonstown

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 06/01/2016 11:24:13    1814815

RD He is our best forward but if he does not tract back and pick up his opposing number then who will do that- In the modern game you cannot expect a defender to mark two players. On a funny side some contributor to this board blamed the goalkeeper for not stopping the goal! there were two forwards inside 15-20m (with no defenders around) running at the keeper-how was he to stop them? use a machine gun! I just wonder what some guys are watching or are the spectacles being issued these days not very good.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/01/2016 11:38:27    1814820

browncows

there were two forwards inside 15-20m (with no defenders around) running at the keeper-how was he to stop them? use a machine gun!

Now there's an idea! We mightn't cough up too many goals then :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/01/2016 11:55:15    1814824

Ziggy

Ye I wouldn't be too happy about seeing my players out with Meath if I was the Ratoath manager either, there's no real need for them to be playing this time of year with an important leinster club game around the corner. I don't know if the game is on or off (probably on I'd say), pity it's not in Ashbourne though, great little set up over there, the CB should look into using it if PT is unavailable.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/01/2016 12:02:24    1814827