Doing the usual trawl through insta, X and facebook dor highlights from games. Did anyone see the two pointer Murphy took for the Pats, by jaysus it was a cracker. Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 17/08/2025 08:22:41 2632207 Link 0 |
Got two lovely frees off the ground, O'Halloran got the complete better of him , didn't score from play I don't believe
Meathfootball12 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 17/08/2025 10:52:15 2632220 Link 1 |
A very valid post !! Cillies have had consistent underage success in the sense of getting to division 1 finals or being their or their abouts yet have seemed to make no noticeable progress and are completely reliant on conlon
Meathfootball12 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 17/08/2025 11:27:58 2632229 Link 1 |
Meath Hill vs Dunshaughlin. Was a good game for about 20 minutes and then Dunshaughlin took over. Always seemed in control after getting the goals. Kinsella was class and Costello had his moments but I felt it was the fact Meath Hill were missing Slevin and Breslin and with them two they could have made more of a game of it. UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 439 - 17/08/2025 12:27:29 2632239 Link 0 |
You would wonder if Simonstown will put in an appeal into the referee allowing the game to continue after the hooter went for full time. Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 598 - 17/08/2025 13:15:46 2632244 Link 1 |
I was at it too, it was proper old school championship football. Good intensity inside wire and outside. Nicky Potterton not being available was the difference , without him Ballivor just didn't have the cutting edge in forwards, too statics
dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 869 - 17/08/2025 14:55:31 2632258 Link 0 |
The hill power on !! Frayne kicking them to a critical victory. Meathfootball12 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 17/08/2025 17:39:29 2632276 Link 1 |
Wasnt at it, only saw this bit and the scoreline. How did they play??? I love watching them always make an effort to watch when they are in my neck of the woods, i have my three favourites over there, im sure i will catch them on the podcasts. Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 17/08/2025 18:04:40 2632281 Link 0 |
Ballivors shooting in first half was wasteful didn't make full use of it , was very impressed with the full forward line Landy and the other quick corner forward both scored a couple from play
Meathfootball12 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 17/08/2025 18:47:17 2632287 Link 0 |
If Lenihan doesn't shoot the lights out Dunboyne are very poor. They seem to be at a crossroads now. Need younger lads to drive it on, you'd wonder where their heads will be at for the Kells game. Was a poor game but thought Eoghan Frayne completely took it over late. Think he finished with 1-9.
Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 17/08/2025 19:42:15 2632320 Link 0 |
Just my own view on it but it appears the ref allowed play to continue on the basis that the ball was out of play before the hooter sounded and that the game would end after the next play. I accept the rules are the rules and there was controversy in the Championship with this in the Donegal v Monaghan game in Ulster when the ball was put out over the sideline before the hooter sounded and the hooter sounded before the line ball was taken which resulted in the ref ending the game. Similarly in the Meath v Galway match when Frayne kicked a deliberate wide a free and the hooter sounded before the keeper got his kick out away. My personal view on it would be that the game the game is only over when the ball is put dead post-hooter, i.e. once the clock is "in the red". In other words, putting the ball out of play at 69.50 should enable for play to recommence so that the game can be ended post-hooter. It would be more logical and fair. Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 17/08/2025 22:40:49 2632360 Link 0 |
What about O Halleron and Gannon??? How did they get on?
Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 17/08/2025 23:43:19 2632379 Link 0 |
O'Halloran was ok but didn't really stand out for a county player. Gannon looked fairly disinterested. Ballivor have seriously regressed this year and are further now from winning a championship than they ever were. realistically St pat should have won by more.
Rickoshay (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 18/08/2025 10:05:54 2632406 Link 0 |
Jes, another belter of a weekend in d'football. RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 18/08/2025 10:24:20 2632410 Link 1 |
Dunboyne disappoint yet again, unfortunately for them the injuries to Jones, Kinlough & Byrne had already ruled them out of winning the Keegan Cup (and if it weren't for those injuries they would have been in the mix). Not having anyone really bar Lenihan to score has been their downfall. When games were there for the taking this year (including towards the end of the league, Dunboyne were not able to take them by the scruff of the neck). From the outside looking in, I think Andy McEntee's inclusion in the management team is not helping Dunboyne's cause and at this stage I think they would probably be better off without him. madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 99 - 18/08/2025 10:41:04 2632417 Link 0 |
That's fairly critical, a ballivor man beside me said there seven from last years starting team. Brian o halloran was definitely Ballivors standout player. Completely stoped pats main threat in Murphy and kept him on the backfoot scoring from play. Gannon isn't young anymore his marker from pats definitely got the better of him. All in all there not up too it this year will be lucky to see past Walterstown
mrmagican (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 18/08/2025 11:38:28 2632433 Link 0 |
Been at a couple of club games where I've seen points scored from outside the arc where the ball bounces over the bar which should be given as 2 points but the referee only awarding 1 point for it. Stretch289 (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 18/08/2025 11:47:06 2632436 Link 0 |
You are entitled to your view on it but the rules are very clear on this. It is not at the referees discretion to end the game as it has to be ended when the hooter sounds if the ball is out of play for a sideline or a goal kick. Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 598 - 18/08/2025 11:57:43 2632438 Link 0 |
Referee is correct in this instance. The rules state the ball must go straight over the bar, it can't be touched by anyone or bounce over it's a 1 pointer. I also believe if it hits the post and goes over it's a also a one pointer but would need or double check that. Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 64 - 18/08/2025 13:15:30 2632460 Link 0 |
Strange take on Dunboynes issues and Andy McEntee. I stayed behind to watch that game . Did McEntee injured those 3 lads you were talking about himself? Is he the reason they don't see to have any forwards capable of scoring consistently in big games apart from Lenihan. Anyone who has followed the club scene in the last 10 years or more will know this is an ongoing issue with Dunboyne and not just since McEntee came in as coach last year in which by the way they lost the championship semi final by a point and reached the league final this year. Ive no real opinion on the man one way or another but its a strange take on their situation particularly if you were in Navan yesterday and seen kick the amount of wides they kicked to somehow attribute that to a man standing on the sideline for the last years particularly when this has been an on going issue with this team for the best part of a decade Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1084 - 18/08/2025 13:21:49 2632465 Link 0 |