Meath V Fermanagh

Honestly don't know what team I'd go with. Probably one of the hogans in goal. Young on Brennan I know who has done well. But I feel Harry has experience at this level. And younger bro looks a real talent. But any one of 3 has claims. My worry is defense. I can't see any strong defenders there without bringing keoghan back.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2024 16:10:09    2520332

Replying To royaldunne:  "Honestly don't know what team I'd go with. Probably one of the hogans in goal. Young on Brennan I know who has done well. But I feel Harry has experience at this level. And younger bro looks a real talent. But any one of 3 has claims. My worry is defense. I can't see any strong defenders there without bringing keoghan back."
Diarmuid Moriarity and Cathal Finnegan were ones to really impress for the current 2nd string the other night. Finnegan has been an excellent club forward for a few years now and good to see him taking his chance so far. Wonder why he wasn't looked at sooner.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 16/01/2024 07:58:55    2520386

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Billy Hogan is an excellent keeper, and I would not be surprised if he does start, and would be very confident in him if he did. There is not much between all three but I just think Sean Brennan has been very solid and composed so far, and has done nothing wrong to lose the jersey. Not a typo at all, and if you were watching, Cathal Hickey played there against Louth, played there again seemingly at the weekend vs Galway, and also plays there for his club."
I think Brennan is the better keeper. His distribution when it mattered versus Antrim and Down was excellent. He also has a presence about him.

Shane Supple doing excellent work it would appear and we are spoilt for choice with our keepers currently.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 16/01/2024 23:57:21    2520589

Replying To Crinigan:  "I think Brennan is the better keeper. His distribution when it mattered versus Antrim and Down was excellent. He also has a presence about him.

Shane Supple doing excellent work it would appear and we are spoilt for choice with our keepers currently."
Shane Supple was an excellent goalie - but with Cluxton around, he never was able to make the Dublin goalies jersey his own.

The ex Dublin goalie is a very talented coach in fairness.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 17/01/2024 08:50:34    2520599

1.Sean Brennan
2.Adam O'Neill
3.Ronan Ryan
4.Donal Keoghan
5.Ciaran Caufield
6.Ronan Jones
7.Sean Coffey
8.Conor Gray
9.Jack Flynn
10.Jack O'Connor
11.Eoghan Frayne
12.Cathal Hickey
13.Shane Walsh
14.Matthew Costello
15.Jordan Morris

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/01/2024 11:46:27    2520789

Replying To grahamc9897:  "1.Sean Brennan
2.Adam O'Neill
3.Ronan Ryan
4.Donal Keoghan
5.Ciaran Caufield
6.Ronan Jones
7.Sean Coffey
8.Conor Gray
9.Jack Flynn
10.Jack O'Connor
11.Eoghan Frayne
12.Cathal Hickey
13.Shane Walsh
14.Matthew Costello
15.Jordan Morris"
Ronan Ryan is injured and also on the opposite side of the world travelling. Gray is also injured as is Morris.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 18/01/2024 13:00:35    2520806

2.Adam O'Neill
3.Ronan Ryan
4.Donal Keoghan
5.Ciaran Caufield
6.Ronan Jones
7.Sean Coffey
8.Conor Gray
9.Jack Flynn
10.Jack O'Connor
11.Eoghan Frayne
12.Cathal Hickey
13.Shane Walsh
14.Matthew Costello
15.Jordan Morris"
Two of the players you have named (Ronan Ryan and Jordan Morris) definitely wont be playing as they are both injured, and Conor Gray also more than likely won't either.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 18/01/2024 13:21:54    2520809

2.Adam O'Neill
3.Ronan Ryan
4.Donal Keoghan
5.Ciaran Caufield
6.Ronan Jones
7.Sean Coffey
8.Conor Gray
9.Jack Flynn
10.Jack O'Connor
11.Eoghan Frayne
12.Cathal Hickey
13.Shane Walsh
14.Matthew Costello
15.Jordan Morris"
I think there's a couple of them injured so won't play against Fermanagh but that would be a great team to have fit come the championship

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 18/01/2024 13:38:40    2520817

1. Sean Brennan
2. Flood/Murphy (Not convinced either are up to county standard at all but can't think of any other options here with Ryan away)
3. Adam O Neill/Flood
4. Donal Keoghan
5. Ciaran Caufield/Sean Coffey
6. Ronan Jones
7. Cathal Hickey
8. Daithi McGowan (Gray will start come championship and McGowan to 10 or 12)
9. Jack Flynn
10. Jack O'Connor
11. Ruairi Kinsella (Apologies on the spelling)
12. Diarmuid Moriarty
13. Cathal Finnegan
14. Matthew Costello
15. Eoghan Frayne

Harnan is not good enough for top intercounty IMO, to slow and constantly expose, can mix it with Div3/4 teams but that's it.
Walsh blows hot and cold so would like to see either Finnegan or even Curtis given a chance.
Daire Rowe could be in with a shout of featuring, has scored well in O Byrne Cup games
For me the Jury is still out on Campion as well, bad injuries have severely hampered him to be fair but I wasn't sold on him before then (albeit he was/is still quite young)

Still very light in the full back line, a few lads like O Hare with Rathkenny showed well with club and underage but struggling a small bit with the step up to Senior. Can't understand why McGill wasn't approached again this year and see if he could be brought back in and a fresh start made between him and O Rourke but he wasn't so no point in thinking about it.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/01/2024 15:29:58    2520838

Replying To ratlag:  "1. Sean Brennan
2. Flood/Murphy (Not convinced either are up to county standard at all but can't think of any other options here with Ryan away)
3. Adam O Neill/Flood
4. Donal Keoghan
5. Ciaran Caufield/Sean Coffey
6. Ronan Jones
7. Cathal Hickey
8. Daithi McGowan (Gray will start come championship and McGowan to 10 or 12)
9. Jack Flynn
10. Jack O'Connor
11. Ruairi Kinsella (Apologies on the spelling)
12. Diarmuid Moriarty
13. Cathal Finnegan
14. Matthew Costello
15. Eoghan Frayne

Harnan is not good enough for top intercounty IMO, to slow and constantly expose, can mix it with Div3/4 teams but that's it.
Walsh blows hot and cold so would like to see either Finnegan or even Curtis given a chance.
Daire Rowe could be in with a shout of featuring, has scored well in O Byrne Cup games
For me the Jury is still out on Campion as well, bad injuries have severely hampered him to be fair but I wasn't sold on him before then (albeit he was/is still quite young)

Still very light in the full back line, a few lads like O Hare with Rathkenny showed well with club and underage but struggling a small bit with the step up to Senior. Can't understand why McGill wasn't approached again this year and see if he could be brought back in and a fresh start made between him and O Rourke but he wasn't so no point in thinking about it."
I'm with you 100% on Harnan and Campion. Harnan too slow and IMO has never really been amazing for Meath. I never got the whole Campion thing. Another player who never had a good game for Meath. Could never understand why he was in there in the first place in 2019. He's From COR's club so that's the reason he's there this time. It's like Ethan Devine a few years back. Never performed for Meath but was persisted with for 3 years

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 18/01/2024 16:10:14    2520842

Replying To Selwyn:  "I'm with you 100% on Harnan and Campion. Harnan too slow and IMO has never really been amazing for Meath. I never got the whole Campion thing. Another player who never had a good game for Meath. Could never understand why he was in there in the first place in 2019. He's From COR's club so that's the reason he's there this time. It's like Ethan Devine a few years back. Never performed for Meath but was persisted with for 3 years"
You are misremembering Campion's debut season in 2019. 3 from play away to Donegal, 2 from play against Armagh, 1-1 from play against Kerry in the super 8's. He's been plagued by injuries and was off the panel for a while. He wouldn't be starting on my team at the minute because I don't think he's in great form. But I think you're being harsh on him

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 18/01/2024 16:23:24    2520845

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "You are misremembering Campion's debut season in 2019. 3 from play away to Donegal, 2 from play against Armagh, 1-1 from play against Kerry in the super 8's. He's been plagued by injuries and was off the panel for a while. He wouldn't be starting on my team at the minute because I don't think he's in great form. But I think you're being harsh on him"
Agree with that. 2019. He had a great year. But injuries have badly affected him. We will probably see him b Fermanagh but he needs to get back to level of 19 to be considered a regular again. Similar for walsh. Great first year then injury hit. Not sure have they hindered him going forward. Again we will see him v Fermanagh. McGill is a huge loss in backs, but he won't be playing under cor. Too much water under that bridge I'd say. Has the 2 mcentees stepped aside too ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/01/2024 16:51:21    2520855

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "You are misremembering Campion's debut season in 2019. 3 from play away to Donegal, 2 from play against Armagh, 1-1 from play against Kerry in the super 8's. He's been plagued by injuries and was off the panel for a while. He wouldn't be starting on my team at the minute because I don't think he's in great form. But I think you're being harsh on him"
Jaysus I don't remember that. Maybe I'm confusing him with Devine's performances

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 18/01/2024 17:11:36    2520860

Replying To Selwyn:  "I'm with you 100% on Harnan and Campion. Harnan too slow and IMO has never really been amazing for Meath. I never got the whole Campion thing. Another player who never had a good game for Meath. Could never understand why he was in there in the first place in 2019. He's From COR's club so that's the reason he's there this time. It's like Ethan Devine a few years back. Never performed for Meath but was persisted with for 3 years"
My memory of both Campion and Devine in their first and second senior year is that they both done well. In fact I saw Devine scoring the winning goal against Armagh in Pairc Tailteann and a goal against Galway in the same venue. He scored two or three points against Mayo in Croke Park. And I am sure there were loads more incidences of both these young men doing well for their County. Bringing up who did and didn't play well 5 years ago is counter productive to the performances needed this year. Those 2 lads and others were blown up in forums on this site and then destroyed just like what will happen to the current crop of young "stars" by people who I would hazard a guess never owned a pair of football boots. No player ever picks themselves to play.

Brownscows (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 19/01/2024 14:04:27    2520962

Replying To Brownscows:  "My memory of both Campion and Devine in their first and second senior year is that they both done well. In fact I saw Devine scoring the winning goal against Armagh in Pairc Tailteann and a goal against Galway in the same venue. He scored two or three points against Mayo in Croke Park. And I am sure there were loads more incidences of both these young men doing well for their County. Bringing up who did and didn't play well 5 years ago is counter productive to the performances needed this year. Those 2 lads and others were blown up in forums on this site and then destroyed just like what will happen to the current crop of young "stars" by people who I would hazard a guess never owned a pair of football boots. No player ever picks themselves to play."
Destroyed....... Calm down will ye. Keyboard warriors like us on here are hardly the reason both and in particular Campion have had a nightmare few years with injury .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 19/01/2024 15:03:22    2520976

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Destroyed....... Calm down will ye. Keyboard warriors like us on here are hardly the reason both and in particular Campion have had a nightmare few years with injury ."
Exactly. No one was destroyed. A bit of perspective here.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 19/01/2024 18:10:16    2521016

I give up with some people

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/01/2024 19:26:28    2521027

Replying To Fionn:  "Shane Supple was an excellent goalie - but with Cluxton around, he never was able to make the Dublin goalies jersey his own.

The ex Dublin goalie is a very talented coach in fairness."
Heard him on Smaller Fish podcast last year. Had great insights and highlighted something I've often wondered- how so many GAA keepers dive out of the way for shots hit straight at them, it's hilariously bad at times, watch out for it. He trains his keepers to stand tall and big for as long as possible and not to come out off his line too quickly in a one on one so that the attacker has more of a decision to make and can't be instinctive.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 20/01/2024 00:26:54    2521058

Tickets got. Let's hope this year is better than last.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2024 18:56:12    2521387

1. Billy Hogan
2. Keoghan
3. O'Neill
4. Murphy
5. Hickey
6. Jones
7. Coffey
8. Flynn
9. McGowan
10. O'Connor
11. Frayne
12. Kinsella
13. Lynch
14. Costello
15. Walsh

I think that with the current injuries, this is the strongest lineup for Saturday. I could also see either of the other keepers starting as well as Caulfield.

LocalRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 21/01/2024 21:31:19    2521418