Meath 2024

Replying To longroadback:  "Same oul story... too many young lads thrown into senior panel about 3 years before they are ready. We seem to be constantly building a team to be competitive in 3 years rather than attacking the here and now."
Since coyle that's what we seem to have been doing constantly . And every year it seems to reset back to 3 years. In fairness to last manager he brought us on, but then stagnated and we needed change. But I now see the fan club wanting to celebrate finishing 5th or 6th in the weakest div 2 in years. How is that progressing from last year ? Honestly only way we progress is to get promoted or at least be in the hunt on last day. We should beat Longford who have gone back in last few years. Dublin will beat us. We then have a break until the round robin, we have to aim for a minimum of prelim quarter final. And see where that takes us. That surely is not over ambitious for a manager in his
Second year, with an average league opponents. Even if we believe the hype regarding an overrated Armagh.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/12/2023 10:52:54    2515837

Replying To royaldunne:  "The definition of stupidity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. As you said mod tried this and it set us back years. Are we now going to do exactly the same thing in the hope it will work this time ?"
This is a totally different situation. MOD made the mistake of breaking up the 2010 Leinster winning team full of quality players that still had alot to offer. Here, who has Colm O Rourke discarded that has had proven success with Meath?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 07/12/2023 11:23:16    2515842

Managers who think Senior intercounty football is a place for teams in transition and need to "build a new team" are in the wrong job. At intercounty level you have a base of a team and you add a handful of young lads every year to fit into the panel.
And ill harp on about it.... still no top class experienced coach in the setup! how are these young lads meant to develop without a proper coaching structure to help them.
I really thought we would learn our lesson this year and move forward in teh right direction but all I see is a quick trip to Div 3 football next year and and embarrassing championship campaign!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 07/12/2023 12:40:48    2515858

Replying To winatallcost:  "This is a totally different situation. MOD made the mistake of breaking up the 2010 Leinster winning team full of quality players that still had alot to offer. Here, who has Colm O Rourke discarded that has had proven success with Meath?"
To be clear I don't really have an issue with those young lads being called into the panel/development panel. I just think that if the majority of them are getting significant game time then the team won't improve as some people on here seem to think. And as another poster on here said the lack of a proven coach is a real issue for me for next year. We lost Garrigan who had the best coaching record of the management team and Eugene Eivers with a proven S&C track record. And we replaced them with Trevor Giles who is a Meath legend but doesn't have any coaching achievements and Barry Horgan who was already employed by Meath GAA and I thought his role was getting players from under 13 upwards ready for senior, now he is meant to do this and also the seniors. I just don't have much faith in that coaching ticket and thing there will be excuses of us having a young team, even though they chose to pick young players

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 07/12/2023 16:44:55    2515890

Replying To longroadback:  "Same oul story... too many young lads thrown into senior panel about 3 years before they are ready. We seem to be constantly building a team to be competitive in 3 years rather than attacking the here and now."
That would imply that we have a group of more experienced players that are better than these young lads coming in. But that is so far from thr truth, i can confidentley say that Conor Gray, Eoghan Frayne, Brian O'Reilly, Ruairi Kinsella, Alan Bowden and Adam McDonnell are better than a lot of last years panel. Billy Hogan is the best Goalkeeper in meath also. Gray, Frayne and Hogan i'd put my house on being excellent inter county players.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 07/12/2023 18:56:06    2515912

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "To be clear I don't really have an issue with those young lads being called into the panel/development panel. I just think that if the majority of them are getting significant game time then the team won't improve as some people on here seem to think. And as another poster on here said the lack of a proven coach is a real issue for me for next year. We lost Garrigan who had the best coaching record of the management team and Eugene Eivers with a proven S&C track record. And we replaced them with Trevor Giles who is a Meath legend but doesn't have any coaching achievements and Barry Horgan who was already employed by Meath GAA and I thought his role was getting players from under 13 upwards ready for senior, now he is meant to do this and also the seniors. I just don't have much faith in that coaching ticket and thing there will be excuses of us having a young team, even though they chose to pick young players"
This 100%.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/12/2023 07:49:15    2515939

Only a challenge game but Ronan Jones at 6 is an interesting one, don't think I've ever seen him play there before. We looked lost in that position until Harnan came back last year. Be interesting to see how he goes if he ends up playing there

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 08/12/2023 11:16:06    2515964

Replying To winatallcost:  "This is a totally different situation. MOD made the mistake of breaking up the 2010 Leinster winning team full of quality players that still had alot to offer. Here, who has Colm O Rourke discarded that has had proven success with Meath?"
Conor McGill.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 08/12/2023 11:20:58    2515965

Replying To royaldunne:  "This 100%."
What coaching record did Garrigan have at men's senior intercounty level?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 08/12/2023 12:31:32    2515993

Replying To winatallcost:  "What coaching record did Garrigan have at men's senior intercounty level?"
Did he say he had a coaching record at inter county level ?? He said he had the best coaching record of the management team... Which is an absolute fact. He does.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 08/12/2023 13:24:27    2516008

Replying To winatallcost:  "What coaching record did Garrigan have at men's senior intercounty level?"
This was Garrigans first intercounty men job but I think winatallcost he has a better coaching record than all the rest of the management team in relation to what successful teams he has been with in the last number of years.

HARRYM (Wicklow) - Posts: 64 - 08/12/2023 13:38:48    2516013

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Did he say he had a coaching record at inter county level ?? He said he had the best coaching record of the management team... Which is an absolute fact. He does."
Outside of the Meath Ladies success, very impressive in my opinion but not comparable please explain his success at adult or underage levels which demonstrates this. For example has he actually had more success than Colm O Rourke himself in this regards?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 08/12/2023 14:42:22    2516023

Replying To winatallcost:  "Outside of the Meath Ladies success, very impressive in my opinion but not comparable please explain his success at adult or underage levels which demonstrates this. For example has he actually had more success than Colm O Rourke himself in this regards?"
I think you are mixing up being a coach and being a manager .

COR is a manager Garrigan is a coach. Difficult to compare their success as they were in 2 different roles. Although Garrigan did win a championship with Baltinglass in 2016 as a manager as well as a Wexford senior championship with Castletown as a coach in 2022 and the majority of roles he has done with teams are coaching based .

COR has won 2 Meath senior championships as a Manager so yes I would say Garrigan has more of a track record in coaching than COR or the rest of the management.

Anyway my point was the poster you were replying hadn't mentioned Garrigan having coaching record at mens senior inter county level. You added that bit in.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 08/12/2023 15:36:33    2516029

Replying To winatallcost:  "Outside of the Meath Ladies success, very impressive in my opinion but not comparable please explain his success at adult or underage levels which demonstrates this. For example has he actually had more success than Colm O Rourke himself in this regards?"
So outside Meath Ladies success as far as I know I stand corrected but has senior county championships in Wicklow, Carlow and Wexford . Has worked with Leinster GAA for years as a coach as well. Colm has 2 Senior championships in the one county I think with the same team so hard to compare but Garrigan is in his early 40s and has championships in numerous counties and the success with ladies team which in my opinion is comparable as its coaching a team whether its male or female to huge success id say he has more success than Colm this point

HARRYM (Wicklow) - Posts: 64 - 08/12/2023 15:56:04    2516032

VALUE FOR MONEY ( to assist with performance improvement)

The Irish Examiner report saying the Manager and selectors in Meath were very expensive for 2023 presses 2 buttons for me.......Firstly it is not a properly constructed report when it gives a figure for just Meath alone. "Expensive "when compared to what or who ? I wonder what is the figure for Dublin for example??? The old chestnut maybe media anti Meath so what....nothing new there maybe ....just saying! Much more importantly however, value for money is very important in trying to upgrade standards in key areas. I make no apologies for harping on about this again. I simply cannot see evidence that the formulae for Review......rectify....install and monitor....review again is evident on or off the field in the last few years...WHY??? WHY HAVE TRAING SESSIONS ? I say there is only 1 answer to improve performance though working/coaching on weaknesses in order to try to improve So training sessions HAVE TO BE STRUCTURED to meet NEEDS identified .I find it unforgivable that we have not DEVELOPED a player showing potential as a freetaker at intercounty in the last few years to the required standard of consistency....no excuse for that ! There are several other examples of key skill areas that contribute to annoyance by apparent neglect by lack of coaching... Yes thats negative because we can be a lot better with proper vision and leadership. Not concerned about WHO is coaching who but i am concerned at this stage about WHAT coaches do Perhaps the AGM if it happens and afterwords will energise us all with plans to stop the lights ,and really look for value for money just like in any other business Accountability has to be at the top of every agenda if we really wish for CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT and nothing else!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 08/12/2023 18:44:52    2516050

Replying To HARRYM:  "So outside Meath Ladies success as far as I know I stand corrected but has senior county championships in Wicklow, Carlow and Wexford . Has worked with Leinster GAA for years as a coach as well. Colm has 2 Senior championships in the one county I think with the same team so hard to compare but Garrigan is in his early 40s and has championships in numerous counties and the success with ladies team which in my opinion is comparable as its coaching a team whether its male or female to huge success id say he has more success than Colm this point"
I think he said it himself but while successful with Castletown, it was a brief stint at end of 2022 just for a few weeks. Don't think any great surprise that Baltinglass had success. Colm obviously built something really special at Simonstown to win two County championships. Not done before or since with that club. Perhaps Garrigan is more traveled but he has had no success or experience with any male teams in Meath at club or county level. I think it helps too to have played at the highest level or at least at intercounty level to understand the requirements. There are some great exceptions but they are getting more rare by the day!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 09/12/2023 12:59:25    2516104

yes it is true that Garrigan did not have the experience at senior men and it was right to move him on but unfortunately it is also true that the coaches that are in there now are not better than him!
It is very worrying and Im afraid the hammering tonight is a sign of things to come for the year!! of course it was only the first challenge but you can be guaranteed that Cork wanted to continue their progress from the outset! Playing players way out of position show that COR has learned nothing from last year if he has to start trying his players in other positions!
We are in trouble this year and already leaking 3-12 in games!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 09/12/2023 18:32:30    2516141

Replying To JonnieG:  "yes it is true that Garrigan did not have the experience at senior men and it was right to move him on but unfortunately it is also true that the coaches that are in there now are not better than him!
It is very worrying and Im afraid the hammering tonight is a sign of things to come for the year!! of course it was only the first challenge but you can be guaranteed that Cork wanted to continue their progress from the outset! Playing players way out of position show that COR has learned nothing from last year if he has to start trying his players in other positions!
We are in trouble this year and already leaking 3-12 in games!!"
Hardly helped today that five or the six backs that started in TC final were unavailable. Wouldn't read a huge amount into a challenge two weeks before Christmas without so many regulars. Anyone know who showed well and how did new lads do?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 09/12/2023 20:51:55    2516152

Replying To JonnieG:  "yes it is true that Garrigan did not have the experience at senior men and it was right to move him on but unfortunately it is also true that the coaches that are in there now are not better than him!
Jesus Christ man will you give it a rest, its mid December, if you have the brilliant ability to predict the year based on a challenge match two weeks from Christmas then I advise you do the lotto in the week ahead.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/12/2023 01:51:25    2516164

My god that post is depressing so you have written off meaths chances in 2024 after they lost a challenge game against cork in December 2023, challenge games are indeed the time to try different things thats what there for so I applaud Colm for that, to quate Eddie Jones I think you need a shower just to wash all the negatively off ye.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 10/12/2023 09:27:31    2516169