Tailteann Cup

Bottoming Out and maybe some glimpses of lift off............Midfield improving mainly through Jones .his fielding ,workrate,leadership......His partner at midfield .yes a gap here ...jury out for now. Goalkeeping and kickouts maybe too soon to say Defence ..well work in progress ... I like Mc Gill especially his tackling ability, However for me he was very good ,but his form dipped in the last couple of years Whatever happened i dont know. For me there was a form issue .Like anyone elso he can take charge of that himself and work his way back if he wants to. Keoghan the warrior a great player, but he cant be expected to go on forever.
Forwards I think it was a smart move to bring Stephen Bray on board. I was a big fan of his as a player because of his reading and anticipation alone. I still have not seen his influence in the forwards that could help facilitate quick delivery to the forwards. I recall clearly his ability to pick up by finding open spaces for delivery I still see the forwards marking the defenders too often. The backs mark the forwards.Some say thats old fashioned i disagree.
If i met Colm on the street and i dont know the man i ask him Whats Stephen doing? Id like to see his influence
Costello seems the part especially his fielding and he will improve ....well i hope .
I expect better results by the kicking game being modified to show a mixture as required The high ball will always have a value but requires good fielders we dont have enough of those. The running game needs to be more direct to the forwards Stephen come in here to show and advise the forwards. accuracy practise Freetaking I dont accept there is a valid reason why that had not improved. I expect to see improvement there with special focus at training sessions. I do expect to see an overhaul of training sessions generally where TRAINING is structured to deal with CLEARLY INDENTIFIED needs on the playing field. I f that does not happen then it would be very difficult to be optimistic. Its easy to get caught up in this and talk as if years of Colms tenure have elapsed, instead of months. A wiser more patient person would say give him a fair chance let him at it No better man to learn. i think that man is right ,and i wish i could have that wisdom and patience more permanently The very best to Colm and his team ye deserve our full support and i will try to remember yes its early days on the road to recovery

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 12/05/2023 09:41:46    2477772

Replying To royaldunne:  "What do people think of donal ogs comments about the tailteann cup been like a grand national for the also rans. Thought it was highly disrespectful for someone who went on a rant about hurling not been treated fairly. Bit hypocritical to say the least"
He's probably right though it's not the main event, but if meath can get winning again and build momentum then it could end up being beneficial for us, we have a young team and winning this can be huge for them it's a long time since we won anything at senior level, there's a good positive interview from Matthew costello up on twitter and the players seem to be embracing this tournament and at 5-1 now to win it I think its a great bet.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 12/05/2023 09:52:03    2477780

Team is named, Gray into start. O'Regan on the bench and Brennan in goals. Very disappointing that Shane Walsh is still out. He must have destroyed his hamstring in the Limerick game to be out almost 3 months later

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 12/05/2023 10:43:36    2477797

Not convinced at all that Meath will get the win tomorrow, it will be very tight. The starting 15 wouldn't inspire confidence.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 12/05/2023 10:48:43    2477798

Replying To Greenfield:  "No worries.

Enjoy the match Saturday. I have no doubt you'll be there.

Just hope these lads do themselves justice over the next few weeks."
Indeed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2023 14:31:53    2477883

Replying To brian:  "RD responding to a post by greenfield who was responding to contributingtoamelee….

States "my post wasn't aimed at your good self"

Has RD already screwed the pooch on his burner account… I suspected CTAM might've been a burner account and the above post absolutely backs up my thoughts…

And he'd the brass balls to accuse me of multiple accounts…"
Haha. Stop judging decent one account posters by ur own MULTIPLE standards brian.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2023 14:32:41    2477884

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "He's probably right though it's not the main event, but if meath can get winning again and build momentum then it could end up being beneficial for us, we have a young team and winning this can be huge for them it's a long time since we won anything at senior level, there's a good positive interview from Matthew costello up on twitter and the players seem to be embracing this tournament and at 5-1 now to win it I think its a great bet."
Let's hope so. If for nothing more guarantees us Sam competing next year. I am of the belief that to improve you must be playing those ahead of u.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2023 14:34:45    2477887

Replying To atta:  "Don't need fans like you."
Great contirbution to the debate there! Valued input LOL

Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 30/05/2023 12:52:03    2482860

Well didn't see a couple of those results coming. Offaly not getting to quarters shows how bad we were in tullamore. . We hopefully have moved onwards from that farce and seem to have a more defensive plan than we had that day.
Fermanagh getting beat was the real shock for me as Laois are abysmal this year too. We can't draw Down so we will play one of Carlow Laois or Wexford. Again none of them should get within 5 points of us. The top 4 in this comp imo are Meath , cavan, Down , and depending on their day limerick/Antrim and that's the most likely semifinals for me. The only positive thing playing in this is winning it as it guarantees all ire comp next year and takes pressure off in league. That and trying a few young lads is it. It's a bit like the obc great to get a few lads some experience , but it will do us feck all good when we face the likes of Armagh next year in league , as playing against Waterford tipp and Carlow will not help them with the intensity of playing top teams.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2023 08:10:45    2485423

Final 8: Cavan, Meath, Antrim, Limerick, Carlow, Laois, Wexford, Down.

Looking like Meath have a real shot at winning this tournament now lads. The quarter final will be against Laois, Wexford, or Carlow as Meath cannot draw Down again. Indeed, Cavan could draw Down as they cannot play Laois again. The permutations suit Meath at this stage or so it would seem.

Im surprised Fermanagh are out if Im honest, I watched some of Laois/London and I wasnt much impressed by Laois. Carlow had the legs on New York yesterday but had to work for it. Not sure what to make of Wexford but is anyone? Offaly could have (and should have) aimed to finish in the top 8 or even 4.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 11/06/2023 14:17:14    2485494

Replying To Young_gael:  "Final 8: Cavan, Meath, Antrim, Limerick, Carlow, Laois, Wexford, Down.

Looking like Meath have a real shot at winning this tournament now lads. The quarter final will be against Laois, Wexford, or Carlow as Meath cannot draw Down again. Indeed, Cavan could draw Down as they cannot play Laois again. The permutations suit Meath at this stage or so it would seem.

Im surprised Fermanagh are out if Im honest, I watched some of Laois/London and I wasnt much impressed by Laois. Carlow had the legs on New York yesterday but had to work for it. Not sure what to make of Wexford but is anyone? Offaly could have (and should have) aimed to finish in the top 8 or even 4."
In with a good shout, Wexford impressive yesterday scored majority if not all from play, tough season finally caught up with Offaly. Fermanagh played second half with 14 men expected them to do better, but on a hot humid day need the full team. Down the team others will want to avoid, talent is there and they can win it out if the find their shooting boots.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 11/06/2023 14:45:45    2485503

It's hard to know what's going on with Offaly. After coming very close to making the Leinster final I'm sure they would have fancied a real go at the Tailteann Cup. They were poor against Laois and Cavan and I wasn't one bit surprised that Wexford beat them.

So it's one of Wexford, Laois or Carlow for us in a home quarter final. All 3 teams operating at a similar level. At this stage we can't look past our next game but the competition is starting to take shape with the last eight pretty much as expected apart from Fermanagh.

Looking forward to the draw on Monday morning. Nothing for us to fear in those 3 potential opponents although they will not fear Meath either.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1996 - 11/06/2023 15:01:28    2485505

Wexford next. Is the path to the final set yet, as in, do we know which quarter finalist winner will meet which quarter finalist winner?

Kingroyal (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 12/06/2023 09:55:37    2485715

Should be comfortable beating Wexford. Down and Cavan game should be interesting also expect Antrim to win to potentially set up a game against them for us or is the draw known already for semi finals

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 12/06/2023 11:39:31    2485770

If Meath reach the Tailteann Cup final, will this effect the start date for club championships?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 12/06/2023 11:45:07    2485778

Replying To BigJoe14:  "If Meath reach the Tailteann Cup final, will this effect the start date for club championships?"
Don't see why it would. Final is to played 2 weeks before the Meath Club championships start

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 12/06/2023 12:07:37    2485789

No idea why they didn't complete the semi-final draw this morning too, would have assumed it QF1 vs QF2 and Q3 vs Q4.So we'd be looking at the winners of Antrim or Carlow should we win, but in classic GAA fashion, nobody has a clue what's going on.

I'm fairly sure that's how they did it last year, and they might retrospectively come out and announce that's the path as it would make the most sense, assuming all results go as they should, we should get a Meath vs Cavan/Down final. Not disrespecting any of the other teams left as a few other teams have the potential to pull of a result. Antrim could be tough for us with the McEntee factor but we really should be making a final here.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 12/06/2023 13:54:31    2485849

Replying To hyperache:  "No idea why they didn't complete the semi-final draw this morning too, would have assumed it QF1 vs QF2 and Q3 vs Q4.So we'd be looking at the winners of Antrim or Carlow should we win, but in classic GAA fashion, nobody has a clue what's going on.

I'm fairly sure that's how they did it last year, and they might retrospectively come out and announce that's the path as it would make the most sense, assuming all results go as they should, we should get a Meath vs Cavan/Down final. Not disrespecting any of the other teams left as a few other teams have the potential to pull of a result. Antrim could be tough for us with the McEntee factor but we really should be making a final here."
But if they completed the draw for the semi final this morning, then Larry McCarthy wouldn't be able to go on morning Ireland again next week and do another draw on prime time morning radio show, this is how he views 'marketing' the Tailteann Cup. That is literally why they do this. RTE and the GAA's marketing of competitions is horrific.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 12/06/2023 14:53:07    2485876

Replying To BigJoe14:  "But if they completed the draw for the semi final this morning, then Larry McCarthy wouldn't be able to go on morning Ireland again next week and do another draw on prime time morning radio show, this is how he views 'marketing' the Tailteann Cup. That is literally why they do this. RTE and the GAA's marketing of competitions is horrific."
Well when they have a bad apple who apparently is a good hurling pundit ostracising the tournament, the same guy who forced a genuinely hurling great within his own county out of the job in the early 00's and the same guy was on the Sunday Game last night, what hope do our games have!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 12/06/2023 15:34:21    2485893

Replying To Meathfor@life:  "Should be comfortable beating Wexford. Down and Cavan game should be interesting also expect Antrim to win to potentially set up a game against them for us or is the draw known already for semi finals"
Why should we beat Wexford comfortably?
They beat Offaly, who knocked us out of Leinster, scoring 1-22 doing so
I can't remember the last time we got near 23 scores in a game, far from a foregone conclusion in my opinion especially the way this year is going

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 12/06/2023 15:36:02    2485896